OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
All Day Breakfast OK Jan 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

We decided to have a light dinner as we were still full from our New Year Eve buffet lunch. Since we were shopping at Takashimaya, we decided to try Pique Nique.

Even though it was not very crowded, we were told there is a wait for our dink as the person making the drink is also doing the cashier.

We ordered the Pique Nique Big Breakfast & Chili Seafood Pasta to share. Drink were nothing fancy but hot tea and Coffee and Root Beer.
Pique Nique Big Breakfast $15.80

Pique Nique Big Breakfast $15.80

 
The portion is very big and comes with one hot drink for the Big Breakfast. It consist of bacon, toast, Lettuce, tomato, baked bean and scrambled eggs. The bacon is fried to brown and crispy. The egg is lightly scrambled.
Chili Seafood Pasta $18.80

Chili Seafood Pasta $18.80

 
The pasta is slightly spicy sauce coating the Al Dente noodle with squid, prawn and mussels. The taste is quite good.

Overall the place is a casual setting but service were a bit slow even though they are not really that pack for a early evening. I believed this is due to New Yea Eve they were short handed.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  All Day Breakfast
 
Date of Visit: Dec 31, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Popiah OK Jan 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Food Court

Popiah

Popiah

 
After shopping at 112 Katong, we decided to have a drink and a light snack at the upstairs Food Republic. I am surprised a lot of the stalls in this food court have closed down. I decided to settle for a Popiah.

Popiah also know as a spring roll but not the fried version. It is a kind of wrap which is filled with shredded Yam beans, cucumber, hard boiled egg crumbles, and sprinkle of chopped peanuts. The skin is first lay down and a spread of sweet black sauce and if you like it spicy you can request for chili paste to be added. the vegetable mixture is added and roll up in a little oblong shaped roll. Then the server cut the roll up into 5 portion.

This stall popiah is not bad and has cucumber and peanut to gives a crunchy texture. It cost $2 a roll. It is nice and light healthy snack.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Popiah,Kueh Pi Ti
 
Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chinese Satay. OK Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Stall / Kiosk | BBQ

I have always wanted to try this satay stall but it is always closed in the day time. Last Saturday I happened to be their in the early evening and saw a group of people sitting outside the stall waiting for their takeaway order.

I could smell the grilled meat as I approached the stall, so I decided to order a mixture of pork and chicken satay for dinner. Each stick cost 50 cents regardless of whether it is pork, chicken or mutton. I put in my order and waited for about 10 mins as there were many orders ahead of me.
Pork & Chicken Satay

Pork & Chicken Satay

 
I took it home and it was still warm, the Aunty gave me a small tub of the peanut sauce. The sauce is not the thick version but but of a runny version which is quite good in taste. The chicken satay was lean and well marinated. I found the pork satay a bit on the tough sides but still can bit into it. It has the char grilled smell. The rice cake has a"QQ" texture and it also sells for 50 cents. I wish they gave some sliced onions instead of just sliced cucumber.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Satay
 
Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Korean Grill OK Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean BBQ

We decided to visit the new mall Star Vista to celebrate my friend birthday. She picked Bornga 본가 as it is a new Restaurant to try and we both loved Korean food.

 
Bornga is a famous Korean BBQ Restaurant chain by renowned celebrity Chef Jong Won Paik. This is the 1st time it opened in Singapore and the 13th Restaurant outside Korea.

We had high expectation of the food. We were directed to a table for 2 by the glass wall with a view looking outside the Restaurant. The table had a gas stove built into it. Looking at the menu, we realized they served mainly beef items. This limit my choice of food which I could order as I do not take beef. I am actually a fan of Korean BBQ and was disappointed that I could only order the Belly Pork and they do not have chicken.

They also required us to order 2 portions of Belly Pork. Since there is only 2 of us, we could only order 1 other dish which is seafood pancake.

Ssamcheban (Vegetables Wrap)
Different vegetables leaves were served on a long tray and looked pretty impressive. See photo below :
Vegetables Wrap

Vegetables Wrap

 
The Vegetables consist of different colors lettuces, cabbages, spinach, carrot sticks and a few large green chilies. It was fresh and crisp and the portion was too much for 2 paxs.
Free Sides Dishes

Free Sides Dishes

 
Sides Dishes.
As most Korean place, we were served with free sides. We were given 4 sides dishes such as Shredded Leeks, a cold Kimchi Soup, Radish Kimchi & Lettuces Salad. It is mostly vegetables which I am not a fan.sad I only like the spicy Radish Kimchi which was shredded in thin slice and has a spicy kick. I would prefer the usual stewed potatoes, anchovy, braised egg which is served at other Korean place.
Cold Kimchi Soup

Cold Kimchi Soup

 
Pork Belly
The raw pork belly was sliced thick, the server came and help us to grill leaving us free to enjoy our meal instead of worry about the food getting burn.smile
Raw Belly Pork

Raw Belly Pork

 
After grilling one portion of the pork belly, they actually change the grilling metal plate and put a new grilling plate ready for the next session of grilling. They remembered to come back and help us grilled the remaining pork belly. Service was good as they actually attend to the grilling. My pork turn out nicely grilled and was not burnt. The only problem was I found the pork bland in taste by itself as it was only seasoned lightly with salt. You have to dipped it in the accompanying sauces. We were given sesame oil with salt, WooSamGyup & raw garlic.

Our clothes did not smell after the meal as there were hardly any smoke during grilling.
Belly Pork on Griller

Belly Pork on Griller

 
Seafood Pancake
Seafood Pancake

Seafood Pancake

 
Our Seafood Pancake look like small version of the a Pizza has it is served in a Pizza Pan. I found the pizza soft on the inside with lots of seafood and not crispy on the outside. I found this a bit bland too and had to dipped into the Korean sauce for extra taste. For people who do not take salt or have light taste buds than this may suit you.
Omija Tea  오미자 차

Omija Tea 오미자 차

 
A
t the end of the meal we were served with this icy cold Omija Tea 오미자 차 (Schisandra Berry Tea). This is my favourite among the items I had taken in this Restaurant. It is a cordial drink make from berries. It has a refreshing, not too sour taste which wake up the taste buds and is nice end to the meal. I wish I know where I can buy this drink.

Prices are quite high as the total bill came to $70 for 2 paxs. It will be too expensive for regular lunch for people working in the area. If you are fan of Beef, and prefer light taste, than this maybe a place for you. This place is not for me as a I love Korean BBQ but do not eat beef, so there is not much choice of BBQ meat for me and I do not like the all Vegetarian sides dishes which I was served.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value For Money Western Fare OK Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

It been a long time since we went shopping at City Square, we decided to visit this mall. On arrival, we decided to fuel up before hitting the shops.. We wanted to try something new and came across Barbacoa.

According to their facebook, the name Barbacoa means slow cooking of meat over the fire by the Taino people in the Carribbean.

 
Ambience
It is setup simply like a Cafe, on one side of the wall you have enlarge photos of the dishes in the menu. It is decorated with a Wild West and Mexican theme. You can see the chefs cooking in the glass window kitchen.

The menu is mostly western food like spaghetti, pork chops and ribs. We ordered different Mains to be shared.

 
Pasta Mushroom Aglio Olio with Bacon
The spaghetti was nicely cooked ala denta with olive oil and mushroom. We topped up $2 for bacon. It may look plains but the bacon bits and mushroom gives it a crunchy and soft bite at the same time.

 
Signature Ribs.
This is one of their specialty. We were served with tender pork ribs which the meat easily come off the bone. It has a smoky flavour. It is served with thick fries and vegetables. You can opt for different sauces such as Hickory Smoked BBQ, Honey Cranberry, Black Pepper BBQ, Pineapple BBQ etc.
Pork Chop

Pork Chop

 
Flamed Grilled Pork Chop
The pork chop has the criss cross mark of the flamed grilled. Pork was tender and has a Pepper sauce to be eaten with the meat. It also comes with fries and vegetables.

 
Mixed Sausages
It is basically 3 different types of jumbo sausages served with a kind of Mustard sauce. It has Pork and Chicken Sausage which is of decent quality. For Kids who loves Sausages this could be a dish to order. This was an Appertizer dish.
Cream of Mushroom Soup

Cream of Mushroom Soup

 
All the main dishes comes with free soup of the day which was Cream of Mushroom and Ice Cream.
Ice Cream

Ice Cream

 
Overall the food is decent and value for money considering you get a Soup and Dessert with the Main Course.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Chop
 
Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend