OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Vietnamese Noodle Bar OK Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese

Company Logo

Company Logo

 
This is a new Vietnamese Noodle Bar that is opened in Raffles City. This place is an offshoot of Annam Vietnamese Restaurant.
Summer Rolls, Cracker & Drink

Summer Rolls, Cracker & Drink

 
We order some Summer rolls which is the Vietnamese fresh Spring Rolls, crackers. The Crackers is crispy but do not have any prawn taste.
Condiments

Condiments

 
On each table there are 3 types of sauce; Hoi Sin Sauce, Maggi Seasoning and Chili Sauce.
Soft Crab Noodles

Soft Crab Noodles

 
You get a whole Soft Shelled Crab on top of the noodle. The crab is crispy and the noodle is served in a orange colour broth. The soup is tasty and served with mint and a wedge of lemon .
Chicken Mouse Tail Noodle

Chicken Mouse Tail Noodle

 
The mouse tail noodle is a literary translation of the chinese word "Loh Si Fan". The noodle is short tails and is served in a clear chicken broth with shred of chickens.
Beef Balls Noodle

Beef Balls Noodle

 
The beef ball comes with thin rice noodle with 5 beef balls and lime.
3 Colors Drinks

3 Colors Drinks

 
This is a Vietnamese Dessert similar to our Chendol. It has red beans, Mung Bean and Green jelly. It iserved in a class with crushed ice.

The tables and chairs are placed very closed together and not a place where you can sit and chat. It is a place where you have a quick meal and leave. I found the place too cram. They are also not flexible as I wanted to eat their pork chop with noodle instead of rice but it not in their menu. I opt to buy just pork chop, they will not sell me too. Generally the food is ok and cheap for cafe sitting.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Soft Shell Crabs Noodle
 
Date of Visit: Nov 23, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $12

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ipoh Food OK Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hakka | Chinese | Restaurant

If you are missing the taste of Ipoh, you can try this cafe in Bedok Point. The food is decent and it serve Ipoh Coffee and Tea, but I find the hot tea and Coffee tastes like 3 in 1. The set meal it comes with a drink.
Ginger Duck Rice

Ginger Duck Rice

 
Ginger Duck Rice.
I like the Ginger Duck which comes with lots of ginger and generous with the gravy. It is served with steam rice. The dish is tasty but too oily. It cost $6.70 for the meal.
Char Siew Noodle

Char Siew Noodle

 
Char Siew Noodle.
The Noodle is dry wanton noodle with black sauce similar to what you get in KL. The noodle is cooked al dente and has slices of Char Siew and a crispy beancurd skin. The Beancurd Skin gives a crunchy texture to the dish. It cost $5.5o as a meal which has a choice of hot tea or coffee.
Curry Noodle

Curry Noodle

 
Curry Noodle.
The Curry Noodle is spicy but gravy not that thick. It comes with fish cake and Yong Tau Foo. This set cost $5.50. Their Dry Curry and Curry. You can opt for non curry version which also comes with dry or soup.
Yong Tau Foo

Yong Tau Foo

 
Yong Tau Foo.
We order another portion of mixed Yong Tau Foo to try. It comes with fish paste stuffed in red and green chilli, bitter guard , tofu and fish balls. The taste is normal and nothing special.

The food is ok but nothing fantastic.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shao Xing Wine Chicken Rice and Ginger Duck Rice
 
Date of Visit: Nov 10, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Homemade Black Carrot Cake OK Nov 15, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

After hearing so much about Whampoa Makan Place, we finally got to try this hawker center. Since it is our first time here, we did not realise that there is 2 different blocks adjacent to each other. We ended up in the quiet section, which most stalls open later.

One of the item we order is this black carrot cake.
Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

 

According to the sign board their carrot cake is homemade. It has a soft texture and cut into small cubes.
It is nicely fried with sweet black sauce and sprinkle with chopped spring onions. The taste is not bad but nothing special
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carrot Cake
 
Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Vietnamese Noodle OK Oct 25, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup

This is one the new stall located in this coffee shop. It basically sells Vietnamese Street Food like Pho and rice with dishes.

We wanted to try the Pho but they only have beef stock. Since we do not take beef, we could not try any of them. I ended up having "Bun Nem Nuong" which is dry Vermicelli with Pork Ball". This is the only version of noodle which I can try. The Pork ball was tasty and nicely grilled and you have to pour the fish sauce and chilli combination to the noodle to enhance the flavour. I would prefer to have a soup version.
Menu

Menu

 
We also wanted to have Vietnamese Pork chop Rice and it is only available during dinner time.

We ended ordering a plate of "Cha Lua Vietnam" which is different types of Vietnamese ham. Such as pork ham, pork ham with pigs ear and some sour sausage. It cost $5 a plate but was very thinly sliced which was not satisfying. The ham should be sliced thicker and not paper thin.

They did not even have rice available and the boss had to order steam rice from next door stall so that we could have our hams with the rice.

This stalls need lots of improvement as they serve some popular Vietnamese Street food, but lots of items was not available during lunch time. Taste was not bad for the items we tried, but they should have 2 types of stock available such as chicken or seafood available for those that do not take beef.



 
Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nonya Cafe OK Oct 24, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya

This is the new Nonya Cafe that is open after Tampines Mall Basement is renovated.
It has a open concept where shoppers can looked into the cafe. It basically sells Nonya dishes in set meal of less than $10.

We decided to try the different sets which comes in 1 glass of barley.
Bakwan Kepeting Goreng $3

Bakwan Kepeting Goreng $3

 
We ordered the Bakwan Kepeting Goreng which is basically 2 small pieces of fried meat balls & some lettuce. The taste was nothing special and I thought at $3 it was rather expensive for it size
Lok Bak Set $6.90

Lok Bak Set $6.90

 
The Lok Bak Set is basically steam rice with a portion of braised soy sauce pork and hard boiled egg. The taste was just normal. It is not like the fried Lok Bak which Penang is famous. It came with stored bought Acar and some green vegetables.
Assam Sambal Fish Rice

Assam Sambal Fish Rice

 
The Assam Sambal Fish Rice Set is the best of the sets that we ordered as it has a nice tangy taste and come with lady finger and egg plant. The gravy make you want to eat more steam rice. It also comes with a bowl of plain soup.
Ayam Buah Keluak Rice Set $7.90

Ayam Buah Keluak Rice Set $7.90

 
As a fan of Ayam Buah Keluak, this was disappointing as it taste like normal curry and it was not very spicy. You get the same sides as Loh Bak Set

Overall the food its ok and price affordable but do not go expecting high quality Nonya Food.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 28, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0