OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Soy Sauce Chicken Rice Set OK Oct 24, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

I was craving for good Soy Sauce Chicken when I came cross this stall at Marina Bay Sand selling at $8 a set. It came with a portion of the soy sauce chicken, 1/2 braised hard boiled egg, 2 slice of bean curd, some pickled vegetables and a bowl of soup.
Soya Sauce Chicken Set

Soya Sauce Chicken Set

 
The chicken meat was tender and the skin was nicely brown but did not taste like the famous Cross Street Soy Sauce Chicken. The gravy that was pour over it was thicker but not the nice soy sauce that I come to know of this dish.

You have a option of yam rice or white rice. I opt for the yam rice which was nicely cooked and not soggy. It has a dark brown color with yam.

Overall the food is ok but I expected better standard as I was told this food court consist of the hand picked stalls. Prices is expensive in this food court due to the location of MBS.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 15, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Coffee Museum OK Oct 22, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

Happened to walk past this coffee shop near chinatown and decided to stop by for a drink. I ordered the Ice Blended Lime Juice with Plum. It was very refreshing with a balance of sour and salty taste. It was icy cold.
Ice Blended Lime Juice with Plum

Ice Blended Lime Juice with Plum

 
We did not try the local food which consist of dark Bak Kut Teh, Sooh Kueh etc as we just had lunch.

As we were seated right at the back, we discovered there is a collections of old coffee related memorabilia which makes up the hidden from view Coffee Museum. It is very tiny and located near the toilet. You see some coffee filter bags,Coffee bean roaster, milk tin to hold takeaway coffee etc. May be interesting information for kids who has not seen them as they grew up in the Starback era.
Coffee Museum

Coffee Museum

 
The ambience is nothing fancy with small wooden table and chair that look like the place was very cheaply put together. The colour theme is red and black. Menu consist of laminated pages string together.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 12, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

This is a new cupcakes stall located in the former Republic Theatre. I happened to come across it as I walked pass and decided to buy 2 cup cakes. I picked their Chrysanthemum Wolfberry & Red Velvet Cake. They claim to e the only place to sells Chrysanthemum Wolfberry.
Chrysanthemum & Red Velvet Cupcake $2.50 each

Chrysanthemum & Red Velvet Cupcake $2.50 each

 
The cupcake has a nice fluffy texture. For the Chrysanthemum Wolfberry cupcake, you get bits of Wolfberry inside the vanilla cake, like eating raisins. The yellow cream has very light Chrysanthemum flavour and not too swee.

The Red Velvet was a disappointment in the cheese frosting at it was extremely salty even if you eat it the cream cheese with the cake. The cupcake was a read colour chocolate and texture was soft.
Box Packaging.

Box Packaging.

 
If you order less than 6 cupcakes, each cupcake is packed individually in a transparent cake container. On another day, I order 6 cupcakes and was packed in a big box which has 6 placeholder to hold the cupcakes as seen in the photo, but it was not a good fits as the cupcake was a bit too small, so some of my cupcakes was out of portion and cream slightly damaged when I brought it home.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 28, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Almond Butter Cake OK Oct 16, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

There is a stall inside the Coffeeshop next to Siglap NTUC selling cake. About a year ago it took over the famous Vadai stall in Siglap. This new stall still sells Vadai but combined with Otak. The Vadai is not the crispy type but soft and chewy version.

I always pass this stall when I stop to buy dinner at the very popular cooked food rice stall.

I decided to buy the small portion of the cake at $2.50 and Walnut Cake is $3. It comes packed in a transparent plastic box. Each cake gets you about 4-5 small slices.
Walnut Cake & Almond Butter Cake

Walnut Cake & Almond Butter Cake

 
The Almond cake is butter cake topped with slice Almond. It has a light butter fragrant but the cake is the more dense version compared to the soft and fluffy type. Same with Walnut Cake except you get chopped Walnut and chocolate chips as topping.

The taste is not bad except that I prefer a stronger butter smell and moist texture.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 04, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Melaka Chicken Ball Rice OK Sep 21, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian

This cafe is decorated with old toys and a "Kampong" Look. It serves a range of Malaysian food representing different part of East and West Malaysia. Like JB Noodle, Melaka Chicken Ball Rice , Ipoh Hor Fun and Kuching's Triple colour tea or Coffee.
Melaka Chicken Ball Rice $5

Melaka Chicken Ball Rice $5

 
Chicken Ball Rice
This is Malacca style chicken rice where the rice is served in little golf ball accompanied with boiled white chicken. I found the rice sticky and soft and cannot taste each fluffy grain of rice. This was not to my liking, as I like to be able to taste each grain of rice. I have not tasted the original Chicken Ball Rice in Malacca so do not know if the rice ball texture is supposed to be sticky. The boiled chicken is served in a separate plate with a layer of beansprouts. The chicken was not tender and moist.
Pontian Wanton Noodles $3.50

Pontian Wanton Noodles $3.50

 
Pontian Wanton Noodle
This is the popular Pontien Wanton Noodle which has a "QQ" texture and served in dark black sauce unlike our local version which is chilli sauce or tomato sauce. It comes with both fried and boiled wanton.
Penang Assam Laksa $5

Penang Assam Laksa $5

 
Assam Laksa
Taste is quite good with the right type of thick bee hoon and mint, accompanied with watered down Prawn Paste.
Popiah $3

Popiah $3

 
Popiah & Pie Tie
The filling of both Popiah and Kuah Pie Tie is the same shredded yam beans excepts the former is in a wrap and the later is is in a cup. I like both of this snacks as the filling is cooked just right and is has the right amount of sweet sauce and the right hot chilli sauce for the little bite size cup.
Kuah Pie Tie $3.50

Kuah Pie Tie $3.50

 
Triple Delight Kopi/ Tea

If you like the Triple Delight Kopi / Teh found in Sarawak, you can find it here. It is a layer of liquid Gula Melaka (Brown Sugar) , Kopi/Tea and Evaporated Milk. Not the best as the original town but it is ok. It cost $3 a glass.

Overall the food has some good and bad ones but if you really missed Malaysian Food, this place is to go for its reasonable prices as most item is around $5 or below. So it is a cheap fixed to anyone who craved for Malaysian food. So far it is the only chain cafe in Singapore where I can find the Triple Delight Coffee or Tea.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 08, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0