OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Cheap & Tasty Xiao Long Bao Smile Feb 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

This La Mian (noodle) stall actually does a very good Xiao Long Bao. and Guo Tie.
Xiao Long Bao $4

Xiao Long Bao $4

 
The Xiao Long Bao is handmade by the lady boss. It takes about 7 minutes to steam the little morsel in the bamboo basket.
For $4 you get 6 very thin skin baos. Pick up the little bao in a spoon and bit into it , pipping hot soup will flow out. The minced pork is soft and you can finish it in 2 mouthfuls.
Guo Tie $4

Guo Tie $4

 
The dumplings are also handmade by the lady boss. You can have the boiled version or the fried version know as Guo Tie. You will get 10 dumplings for the price of $4. I normally order the fried ones and the skin is fried till golden brown. The skin is crispy but the pork filling is still moist. If you love her dumpling, you can order the frozen ones for $10 a packet It has 30 pieces.

She also serves La Mian with different toppings from about $3.80 per bowl.

She starts selling for lunch till dinner time. If you are in this area, do try her version of Xiao Long Bao and Guo Tie.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Xiao Long Bao,Guo Tie
 
Date of Visit: Mar 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious Malay Food. Smile Feb 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Noodles | Rice

This stall has opened for more than 1 year taking over the previous Malay stall and the food is tasty but more expensive than the previous stall.
Lontong $2.50

Lontong $2.50

 
The Lontong is popular here, and it cost only $2.50 a bowl. It has a piece of fried beancurd and 1 hard boiled egg and mixed vegetable. It is not very spicy and the curry gravy is light yellow but when you stir in the sambal chili it will turn into bright orange colour. The unique part of the vegetable mix is that it contains nangka (Jackfruit) added to the gravy. The Nangka is cooked until soft.
Fried Pomfret $6.50

Fried Pomfret $6.50

 
It also sells Fried Black Promfet fish with sweet Sambal. The fish cost around $5-$6 depending on sizes. The fish is marinated with salt and tumeric and fried until very crispy. Then topped with a sweet chili sauce.

On weekend the lady boss has Rendang (dried curry) which is beef or chicken. The chicken rendang is very yummy with all the spices and it is cheaper to opt for the set. The set consists of chicken, potato cutlets, sambal goreng and cost $4.50.
The Black Sotong dish is very good too but it cost at least $4 for 1 serving.

The prices of the Malay food here is pricey than most Malay stall but it is very tasty.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Rendang Set,Fried Black Promfret,Lontong
 
Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Black & White Dessert Smile Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Desserts and Cakes

I walked pass this famous dessert stall one week day morning on the way to the book shop. I decided to try this branch. There was no crowd as it was before lunch time.

I asked the waitress to recommend a dessert for my cough. She suggest that I take Almond Tea. As I do not like the smell of the strong Almond, she suggest I mixed it with Black Sesame Paste. I decided to take her suggestion.
Black Sesame & Almond Tea $3.90

Black Sesame & Almond Tea $3.90

 
Not long a hot pipping bowl of Black and White was served to my table. The Black color came from the Black Sesame and the white color is the Almond Tea. It cost only $3.90 for a mixed version. I was surprised that I could take the smell and taste of the Almond Tea. When I mixed both of them together it actually taste good as the black sesame has a nice fragrant and do not have the burnt taste which you sometime gets from other dessert stall. The dessert was like super smooth and milky with no lump. This is one of the best traditional that I have tasted.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Sesame & Almond Tea
 
Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ramen Champion. Smile Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

About 1 year ago, at the basement 2 of Changi Airport T3 opened Ramen Champion. It is a concentration of different stalls from different part of Japan competing for the most popular Ramen. The winner will open a shop in Singapore.
Black Ramen $13.95

Black Ramen $13.95

 
This time I tried the Black Ramen from Menya Iroha. Black Ramen is actually refer to Roasted Garlic flavour Ramen. It does not look very presentable but the taste of Garlic in the broth is yummy for me. As I love Garlic, this is just the broth for me. Noodle was cooked with the right timing.

Spicy Ramen $12.50

Spicy Ramen $12.50

 
We ordered another Ramen, this time a big bowl of noodle in a bright orange broth. This is the spicy Miso Ramen from the Gantetsu stall. The spice level has the right level of kick and the I love that the noodle is neither too soft or hard.
Curry Prawn Rice

Curry Prawn Rice

 
The Japanese Prawn curry is not hot and the prawn is coated with bread crumbs and deep fried till crispy and golden brown.
Gyoza & Shishamo

Gyoza & Shishamo

 
We order the sides dishes of Gyoza and Shishamo from another stall. The Gyoza is fried dumpling topped with some some sauce and spring onion. The Shishamo is pregnant fish as the fish is fried with the roe intact.

This place is good for those fan of Ramen, as you can try different style of Ramen under one roof.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Ramen & Spicy Miso Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Designer Swiss Rolls Smile Jan 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Bakery

I heard so much about this shop that I wanted to try this place. Decided to order the Swiss Roll as a special cake for my mum Birthday. They required 3 working days and for order about $80 it is free delivery. Therefore I ended ordering 2 Swiss Rolls and some Shepherd Pie to make up the amount.
Longevity Swiss Roll $28

Longevity Swiss Roll $28

 
My Mum Birthday Swiss Roll was imprinted with the Chinese Word " 寿 " meaning Longevity for her Big Birthday. On top of the Roll there is 4 Chocolate shaped in Peach with the Chineses Saying " 寿比南山". Each Pink Peach inscribed with one chinese characters.

The filling of the Swiss Roll I opted for Peach. It has a lot of white cream filled with the Peach. The cake was super soft and the cream was not too heavy. One of this designer roll is enough to feed 10 person depending on the thickness when you sliced them up.
Twin Star Swiss Roll

Twin Star Swiss Roll

 
The Twin Star Swiss Roll was lychee filling and the print of the Twin Star was nicely done up with the right color combination.
Shepherd Pie

Shepherd Pie

 
The Individual cup of Shepherd pie is chicken filling topped with generous portion of mashed potato. The Ratio of Chicken to Potato should be adjusted as I find the chicken filling was too little and cannot really taste it.

Overall if I want to place an order, I would consider their Designer Roll but not Shepherd Pie. For Shepherd Pie I prefer Dad's Shepherd Pie which taste better. Refer to my earlier review;http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/commentdetail.htm?commentid=41498
I like that they delivered for $80 and above and do delivery on weekend.smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Designer Roll
 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0