OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Peri Platter Smile Apr 25, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steaks and Grills

The family went to the Tampines branch for dinner. When we arrive there was a short queue, but we did not have to wait too long for our turn.

We ordered the Peri Platter which is enough for 4 persons. You get 4 quarters of chicken, choice of 3 large sides, one Portuguese Salad and one Bolo bread.
Peri Platter $58

Peri Platter $58

 
You can choose different levels of heat for the different quarter of chicken. There is 4 levels from Lemon and Herb to Extra Hot Peri-Peri. The grilled chicken is moist and has a nice grilled flavour. The Portuguese Salad is a nice mixed of green consisting of rocket leaves, tomato, green olive and a vinaigrette. The other 3 Sidelines we picked were Spiced Rice, Coleslaw and Peri Corn.

The Coleslaw is nice and crunchy. The Spiced Rice is not bad and corn taste like the usual steam cor
Angry Mango Burger $13.90

Angry Mango Burger $13.90

 
Sis wanted to try the Angry Mango Burger which comes with 1 side order. The Angry Mango Burger is grilled chicken sandwich topped with bits of Mango to give it a tangy taste. For the Sides we picked the Peri Chips which is actually French Fries coated with some spicy powder.
Madeira Red

Madeira Red

 
I tried their Madeira Red drink which is pomegranate lemonade drink with sprite. I think they forgot to put a sugary rim on my glass. I like the refreshing drink with crunchy bits of pomegranate.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Peri Peri chicken,Madeira Red
 
Date of Visit: Apr 21, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Classy Clifford Smile Apr 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hotel | Restaurant

We managed to get a last minute cancellation for Clifford on a weekday lunch. Even though it cost $5 more than other dinning star restaurant at $45 it was worth every cents.

I was mistaken that I can see Marina Bay Sand from the full glass window. You only get a partial view at the outdoor sitting. From the inside you face Custom House. The restaurant is designed by Andre Fu which has a high ceiling and natural light coming from the full glass window. The classy layout is similiar to St Regis's Saveur.
Bread & Butter

Bread & Butter

 
We were served multi-grain buns and French loaves to go with butter and delicious duck pate.The lightly salted pate goes well with the bread.
Duck Pate & Multi-Grain Bun

Duck Pate & Multi-Grain Bun

 
As part of Restaurant Week Menu we had 2 choices of Starters and Main Courses. Since there were 2 of us, we pick both to share. When Thong the service staff heard we were sharing, he provided us with 2 sets of plates and put the different courses in the center of the table.
Tuna Escabece

Tuna Escabece

 

Tuna Escabece consist of 3 pieces of 1cm thick tuna served with pickle onion, on a side a crispy toast with pickled herring. Tasting the tuna on its own has no taste until you combined with the pickle vegetables to produce a sweet sour combination on the jelly texture tuna.
Champagne Terrine

Champagne Terrine

 
Champane Terraine is the starter I like between the two. It is like a slice of meat loaf made up of minced pork and chicken liver and do not taste of liquor.The outer layer seem to be covered with bacon. It goes very well with bread and the accompanied house pickled vegetable to balance the taste. The other side dishes of lentil was just right, not too soft or hard.
Signature Duck Confit

Signature Duck Confit

 
The Signature Duck Confit and Baked Loupe De Mere were the main courses. The light brown duck was tender and not salty which is a perfect combination for the salty black garlic. The very smooth and creamy Truffle Potato Mousseline served in a copper pan feel like eating warm ice cream.
Baked Lup De Mere

Baked Lup De Mere

 
The baked fish sits on a bed of confit tomatoe and artichoke. The fish is lightly salted as most of their dishes has subtle taste which the accompanied sides bring it to the next level.
Petits Four, Coffee & Tea

Petits Four, Coffee & Tea

 
For coffee they served Fullerton Bay Blend Coffee and TWG tea. They have a choice of English Breakfast, Darjeeling and Earl Grey. I picked Earl Grey which French Earl Grey was served in a heavy sliver tea pot. A plate of chocolate, macaroons and Kuih Lapis (layer cake) was served with our coffee & tea.
Trio Crème Brulee

Trio Crème Brulee

 
To end the meal on a sweet note, we were served not one but a trio of Crème Brule. It is the first time I eating Crème Brule not from a dessert bowl but like a egg tart. The shell is like a biscuit filled with egg custards and sprinkled with caramilsed sugar. The 3 flavours are chocolate, original and pandan. It also served with fluffy mini citrus madeleine.

The service staff Thong accompanied my elderly dad to the Gent and when Thong find he took a long time coming out he even went to check on him. For his excellent service and beyond his call of duty he should be nominated for Excellent Service Award.

Please note that Mineral water are extra cost.

This is the Best Resturant out of the 3 which I have attended during Restaurant Week. It has beautiful food presentation, nice combination of taste, and excellent service which makes the whole experience very satisfactory.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Duck Pate,Duck Confit,Champagne Terrine
 
Date of Visit: Mar 19, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shunde Cuisine Smile Feb 17, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

We had a Chap Goh Mei dinner at the new Canton Paradise Restaurant. It serves a different branch of Cantonese’s Cuisine which is Shunde.
Yu Shang $38

Yu Shang $38

 
As it is the last day of Chinese New Year, we ordered Yu Shang. The medley of colourful shredded vegetables and ingredients gives it a cheerful start to the dinner. We toss the vegetables high with each Auspicious phrases to wish each other for the year. The final result is the right balance of different taste of sweetness and tangy taste.
Double boil Watercress Soup $16.80

Double boil Watercress Soup $16.80

 
They serve 3 daily soups from the soup sections of the menu. We love the double-boiled soup which is clear and its nourishing property.
Steam Lingzhi Tofu with Minced $12.80

Steam Lingzhi Tofu with Minced $12.80

 
We finally get to taste the Steam Lingzhi tofu which was recommended in the previous newspaper review. I find this dish bland compared to all the other sharp taste dishes we order. The grey colour tofu look dull but cannot fault the smooth like silk tofu.
BBQ Pork Belly with Honey $15.80

BBQ Pork Belly with Honey $15.80

 
The Char Sui is a different version which is BBQ Pork with Honey. It is closer to the Malaysian style black char sui except that is uses Belly Pork. Surprisely it is very tasty with the honey coating and does not feel fattening. I highly recommended this dish.

Below is the 2 items we tried when the Restaurant first open. We were there for dinner on the 2nd day of their opening around 8.30pm and most of their recommended dishes were sold out. Luckily this time we managed to try it.
Wok-fried Mustard Leaf with Minced Duck $12.80

Wok-fried Mustard Leaf with Minced Duck $12.80

 
The wok-fried mustard green with cube of duck. It goes well with rice or porridge as the chopped mustard green has a crunchy texture.
Custard Glutinous Rice Ball with Grated Oats $4.80

Custard Glutinous Rice Ball with Grated Oats $4.80

 
The custard glutinous rice ball with grated oats was different from the usual rice ball served with grated peanut. It was served warm with the liquid custard oozing out when you bite into it.

I gave a lower score for Service as they make 2 mistakes on my order but corrected it without any fuss. The 1st mistake was that I ordered the big pot of soup to be shared but they brought 2 individual bowls of soup. Another was that we ordered the BBQ Pork but they serve us roast duck. At least the bill was correct.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Double Boiled Soup,BBQ Pork Belly with Honey,Wok-fried Mustard Green with Duck Minced,Watercress Honey Drink
 
Date of Visit: Feb 06, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

French Fine Dining Smile Oct 25, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Hotel | High Tea | Brunch

Menu

Menu

 
We booked this nice French Restaurant during Restaurant Week as part of a family celebration. For this restaurant we had a choice of 3 Entree, 3 Main Courses and 2 desserts. It cost $40++ per head for lunch & does not include drinks.
Butter & Bread

Butter & Bread

 
Bread Roll
We were served a basket of 2 type of slice bread accompanied with individual round serving of butter with their St Regis logo.
Cucumber with liquid Potatoe

Cucumber with liquid Potatoe

 
Cucumber with Liquid Potato
We were served this complementary cool appetizer. It is a mixture of liquid Cucumber and Potato. It has a refreshing taste.
Escargots en Persillade

Escargots en Persillade

 
Escargots en Persillade
I like that the Escargots are de-shelled so that it easy to eat. You get 6 escargots sitting on round cut toasted bread which gives a crunchy texture.
Crabe et Avocat

Crabe et Avocat

 
Crabe et Avocat
This is French Crab mixed with Avocado and has a balsamic sorbet topped with bread crisp. Eating crispy bread with this creamy mixture & balance with a sour taste open our appetites for more refine gourmet food to come.
Poitrine De Porc

Poitrine De Porc

 
Poitrine De Porc
I picked this slowed cooked Belly Pork as my main course. The belly pork was moist and has slight crispy skin served with a light flavour sauce. The mash potatoes were creamy and smooth. The vegetable has a slight crunch to it. This is was yummy with subtle taste.
Dorade

Dorade

 
Dorade
This is Pan-Seared French Sea bream which the skin is crispy. It has accompanied potatoes and fennel and serves with a seafood sauce.
Pomme Verte

Pomme Verte

 
Pomme Verte
This tangy dessert has a slow baked apple topped with calvado cream and apple sorbet. It is a refreshing taste & cool feeling.Araguani Passion
This chocolate concoction is Araguani & passion fruit sandwich between chocolate sheet and serve with Raspberry sorbet. It has a bitter sweet taste from the chocolate and sour taste from the Passion fruit and Raspberry sorbet. It is decorated with small pieces of passion jelly.

Service was attentive except when paying the bill, they took a long time to return my credit card but they apologise for it.Overall the Place has a high class ambience with refine food served in beautiful culinary. Good place to entertained guest.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Escargots en Persillade,Poitrine De Porc,Dorade,Pomme Verte,Araguani Passion
 
Date of Visit: Oct 14, 2011 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Braise Smile Oct 25, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant

Palawan Beach

Palawan Beach

 
This restaurant is located at Palawan Beach on top of Silk Road Restaurant. We had a window seat with partial view of the beach.

 

 
The place is bright and lots of natural light coming through the place. This restaurant has only 1 main course for Restaurant Week lunch. It is Slow-Cooked Chicken Breast. As my mum could not eat chicken, she asked for a change and they were very kind to oblige. They changed the main course to cod fish for her.
Bread Roll & Bread Cracker

Bread Roll & Bread Cracker

 
The basket of bread came with bread roll & bread crisp which was yummy and has little black sesame seed.
Mesclun - Olive, Avocado & Pamesan Shaving

Mesclun - Olive, Avocado & Pamesan Shaving

 
The salad was avocado with olive and parmesan shaving. Salad was fresh and a generous portion.
Slow Cooked Chicken Breast

Slow Cooked Chicken Breast

 
The main course of chicken came artistically arranged with different colour of vegetable and lotus crisp. The chicken came in a decent portion and the light sauce brings out the flavour of the chicken. The vegetable was cooked just right, not too hard or soft.
Cod Fish

Cod Fish

 
Even my mum's cod fish was beautifully arranged surrounded with potatoes, carrots and other colour vegetables. It comes with more gravy.
Turkish Chocolate

Turkish Chocolate

 
After the main course, they serve us Turkish Delight Chocolate and Coffee/Tea which is included in the meal.Their signature dessert Chempedak Crème Brulee was served. It has a nice egg custard with burnt sugar. If you do not mind the Chempedak smell, you will enjoy this dessert.

As this was my Dad's Birthday Celebration, we brought a Birthday Cake and Longevity Bun to be served after dessert. They were kind enough to bring new dessert plate and fork for the Birthday cake.

I like that they serve plain water without charging unlike other place where they make you buy expensive Mineral Water. Service was good as they clean away the crumbs before they serve you dessert and was happy to bring new plates for our Birthday cake.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chempedak Creme Brulee, Slow-cooked Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Oct 15, 2011 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $48(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0