OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Ramen Champion. Smile Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

About 1 year ago, at the basement 2 of Changi Airport T3 opened Ramen Champion. It is a concentration of different stalls from different part of Japan competing for the most popular Ramen. The winner will open a shop in Singapore.
Black Ramen $13.95

Black Ramen $13.95

 
This time I tried the Black Ramen from Menya Iroha. Black Ramen is actually refer to Roasted Garlic flavour Ramen. It does not look very presentable but the taste of Garlic in the broth is yummy for me. As I love Garlic, this is just the broth for me. Noodle was cooked with the right timing.

Spicy Ramen $12.50

Spicy Ramen $12.50

 
We ordered another Ramen, this time a big bowl of noodle in a bright orange broth. This is the spicy Miso Ramen from the Gantetsu stall. The spice level has the right level of kick and the I love that the noodle is neither too soft or hard.
Curry Prawn Rice

Curry Prawn Rice

 
The Japanese Prawn curry is not hot and the prawn is coated with bread crumbs and deep fried till crispy and golden brown.
Gyoza & Shishamo

Gyoza & Shishamo

 
We order the sides dishes of Gyoza and Shishamo from another stall. The Gyoza is fried dumpling topped with some some sauce and spring onion. The Shishamo is pregnant fish as the fish is fried with the roe intact.

This place is good for those fan of Ramen, as you can try different style of Ramen under one roof.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Ramen & Spicy Miso Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Designer Swiss Rolls Smile Jan 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Bakery

I heard so much about this shop that I wanted to try this place. Decided to order the Swiss Roll as a special cake for my mum Birthday. They required 3 working days and for order about $80 it is free delivery. Therefore I ended ordering 2 Swiss Rolls and some Shepherd Pie to make up the amount.
Longevity Swiss Roll $28

Longevity Swiss Roll $28

 
My Mum Birthday Swiss Roll was imprinted with the Chinese Word " 寿 " meaning Longevity for her Big Birthday. On top of the Roll there is 4 Chocolate shaped in Peach with the Chineses Saying " 寿比南山". Each Pink Peach inscribed with one chinese characters.

The filling of the Swiss Roll I opted for Peach. It has a lot of white cream filled with the Peach. The cake was super soft and the cream was not too heavy. One of this designer roll is enough to feed 10 person depending on the thickness when you sliced them up.
Twin Star Swiss Roll

Twin Star Swiss Roll

 
The Twin Star Swiss Roll was lychee filling and the print of the Twin Star was nicely done up with the right color combination.
Shepherd Pie

Shepherd Pie

 
The Individual cup of Shepherd pie is chicken filling topped with generous portion of mashed potato. The Ratio of Chicken to Potato should be adjusted as I find the chicken filling was too little and cannot really taste it.

Overall if I want to place an order, I would consider their Designer Roll but not Shepherd Pie. For Shepherd Pie I prefer Dad's Shepherd Pie which taste better. Refer to my earlier review;http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/commentdetail.htm?commentid=41498
I like that they delivered for $80 and above and do delivery on weekend.smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Designer Roll
 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Buffet Galore !  OK Jan 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Seafood | Buffet

We went to Buffet Town on a Friday Lunch time and there was a queue even before the actual starting time.
You pay before you enter and the serving staff will take you to your table. We asked for a table near the buffet, so that my elderly dad do not have to walk to far to the table. They catered to our request.

Opening Hours.
Lunch
11.30am – 3pm

Dinner
6pm – 10pm

You pay one price and you can have all the different varieties of food and drink. For a Friday Lunch it was $25.80++. Dinner is $30.80++ for week day. During weekend ad d$5++ more per head.

They serve International Seafood, Mixed Grilled & Teppanyaki. During the time we were there, they had a Nonya food promotion, where a section of the place is serving Nonya food. Some dishes where good, others where not that Great.
Satay & Chicken Wing

Satay & Chicken Wing

 
I tried their Grilled Chicken Satay and Chicken Wing. The taste is quite good and well marinated. I would recommend their Grilled item.
Seafood

Seafood

 
Near the exit is where they put the cold boiled Seafood. They have medium size prawn , scallops and wedges of lemon to good with it. There were quite a lot even though I only discovered it toward the end of my meals.
Tempura

Tempura

 
Near where I was sitting, is a station serving Tempura. It has Tempura Prawn, Vegetables, Pumpkin etc. The batch of freshly fried Tempura Prawn is gone as soon as it comes out. You help yourself to the Dipping Sauce.
Chicken Rice

Chicken Rice

 
I like the Tender White Chicken Rice and you can help yourself to the amount of rice. I wish the rice was more fragrant as the boneless chicken was tender and they have good dark sauce and ginger sauce.

 
They have a varieties of dessert from mini cake, ice cream, waffles and ice kachang etc.

The Nonya section was not good as the Nonya cake was hard and the Nonya dishes were so so.

Overall if you are a big eater or one to bring overseas friend to try different type of food, you can bring them to buffet town. Recommend the Grilled items and the Seafood. The cheapest timing is weekday lunch.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled items and Seafood.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 19, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pork Ribs Noodle Smile Jan 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Teochew | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

This noodle stall always has a queue when I am there. You can order the dry or soup version.
The dry version noodle is cooked well but what is special is the very soft pork ribs that practically melt in the month.

I always request for super soft pork ribs for my elderly dad and the lady always obliged but taking the trouble to look for soft bone pork rib.
Pork Ribs Noodle

Pork Ribs Noodle

 
I saw the hard boiled egg was well braised to a dark soy color which look like the hard type which my family like, so I added the hard boiled egg and braised chicken wings as extra order. The chicken wings look a bit like the HK Swiss Chicken Wing. You can tell that it has been cooked for a long time, as one bit, the meat tear off easily.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Ribs Noodle
 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch Set OK Jan 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Thai | Restaurant | Curries | Pasta

The Caffe Bar finally moved back to Parkway from Siglap. It offer set lunches from $9.80
There is a choice of Thai and Western Set. It comes with soup, main course and a drink. Initially they even offer dessert for the Thai Set.
Green Curry Set Lunch

Green Curry Set Lunch

 
For the Thai Set, the soup is not Thai soup but we had a creamy tomato soup that day. You can choose Green or Red Curry and a choice of meat such as chicken, beef or prawn. If you opt for prawns add $3 more to the set.

We picked Chicken Green Curry and it comes with steam white rice and Thai Ice Tea. The chicken curry has fillets of chicken with a yummy green curry and some egg plant. Taste authentic like what you get at Thai place. I like the orange color Thai Ice Tea which is similar to what you get in Thailand.
Red Curry Set

Red Curry Set

 
The Red Curry Chicken was equally tasty and it is more spicy than the Green Curry. You also get quite a number of chicken fillets and egg plant.
Tapioca

Tapioca

 
The dessert for the Thai Set was Tapioca with coconut milk. Tapioca is soft and drizzled with thin coconut milk.
Spaghetti Aglio Oilio

Spaghetti Aglio Oilio

 
For the western set, we had Spaghetti Aglio Olio which is pasta with oil and has sliced garlic and mushroom. This was cooked just right and it is like a dry version of pasta. The Western Set also allow you to help yourself to bread roll. It cost $13.80.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Set Meals.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 13, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0