OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
French Crepes Smile Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches



We wanted a light dinner and decided to try this French Crepe shops. We select 1 Sweet and 1 Savoury Crepe to be shared.
Strawberry Crepe

Strawberry Crepe

 
For the Sweet Crepe we picked the Strawberry. The crepe is paper thin and filled with generous strawberry slices and folded into a flatten cone.
Smoked Salmon & Cheese Crepe

Smoked Salmon & Cheese Crepe

 
The Smoked Salmon Crepe with cheese was a nice combination except it s a bit too salty. I like that their Crepe are thin and crispy and you have paper holder which you can eat on the go without making a mess.

For both crepes it cost less than $11. It is a nice light meal.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Smoked Salmon Cheese Crepe
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chinese Satay. OK Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Stall / Kiosk | BBQ

I have always wanted to try this satay stall but it is always closed in the day time. Last Saturday I happened to be their in the early evening and saw a group of people sitting outside the stall waiting for their takeaway order.

I could smell the grilled meat as I approached the stall, so I decided to order a mixture of pork and chicken satay for dinner. Each stick cost 50 cents regardless of whether it is pork, chicken or mutton. I put in my order and waited for about 10 mins as there were many orders ahead of me.
Pork & Chicken Satay

Pork & Chicken Satay

 
I took it home and it was still warm, the Aunty gave me a small tub of the peanut sauce. The sauce is not the thick version but but of a runny version which is quite good in taste. The chicken satay was lean and well marinated. I found the pork satay a bit on the tough sides but still can bit into it. It has the char grilled smell. The rice cake has a"QQ" texture and it also sells for 50 cents. I wish they gave some sliced onions instead of just sliced cucumber.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Satay
 
Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Traditional HK Dessert Smile Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

This is one of my favorite traditional dessert. This chain came from Hong Kong. It started in 1995 in Sai Kung District in Hong Kong before they branch out to more accessible part of Hong Kong. One of their well known dessert is the mango roll. It has pieces of mango and fresh cream wrapped in a crepe.
Almond Tea with Walnut Cream $3.90

Almond Tea with Walnut Cream $3.90

 
I prefer their more traditional dessert like Walnut Cream, Sesame Cream. I tried the Almond tea with Walnut Cream as I heard Chinese Almond can help coughing. As I do not like the strong Almond taste, I have it mixed with Walnut Cream, which turn out good for me. The dessert is very creamy and smooth almost like drinking hot milk. With the mixed combination, I can still stomach the strong Almond tea taste.

This is one of the best place for Traditional Chinese Dessert and you can also try some of their new cold creations.
Prices is reasonable for a air-con setting.

The place is not crowded and you can sit and chill out with a book or your ipad.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sesame Paste,Walnut Cream,Almond Tea
 
Date of Visit: Jan 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chilli Crab@Airport T2 Smile Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

Mum wanted Chineses Food at Changi Airport for her Birthday. Picked the airport for the easy parking and do not have to worry about rain which the elderly will find it slippery to walk.

We decided to try Seafood Paradise at T2 which we had not tried since they open here.

We ordered the Set Menu and only change the rice to noodles since it was a big Birthday. We also added another order of Chili Crab.
Chilled Assorted Seafood with Spicy Sauce

Chilled Assorted Seafood with Spicy Sauce

 
Chilled Assorted Seafood with Spicy Sauce
This has a medley of seafood like squids, prawns & jelly fish in a light spicy sauce and topped with shredded spring onion. It is an appertiser dish which is not bad.
Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine

Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine

 
Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine
This dish looks like fish soup. The Chunky Marble Goby has lots of fish meat but must be careful with the bone. The broth is cooked with wine and I like the gravy which I can drink like a soup.
Pan Fried Sea Prawn with Supreme Soya Sauce

Pan Fried Sea Prawn with Supreme Soya Sauce

 
Pan Fried Sea Prawn with Supreme Soya Sauce
I love this Soya Sauce Fried Prawn dishes which used to be an old childhood favorite. Used to be available at Zhi Char stall and seldom see in their menu in recent years. The Prawn skin is coated with this yummy sauce and fried till crispy.
Stewed Chineses Spinach with Canopy & Crab Roe

Stewed Chineses Spinach with Canopy & Crab Roe

 
Stewed Chinese Spinach with Canopy & Crab Roe
I found this dish nothing special in taste , the soft Spinach with Canopy and Crab Roe cooked with egg has a thick gravy.
Fried Mee Sua

Fried Mee Sua

 
Fried Mee Sua
The family loved the fried Mee Sua which is fried with a "Wok Hei" taste and not soggy. This is not an easy dish to cooked as the Mee Sua can get soggy if not handled properly.
Chilli Crab with Fried Mantou

Chilli Crab with Fried Mantou

 
Chili Crab with Fried Mantou
Their version of Chili Crab came with lots of tasty spicy tomato gravy which is good to dipped our fried Mantou. For Local, this is not very spicy but for 1st time tourist this may be spicy. The Sri Lankan Crab was meaty and enough for 4 person. Even you missed Chili Crab just before flying, you can consider this version in the Airport. Specially good for those overseas visitor who are flying out and lack of time to try our famous National Dish.
Osmanthus Jelly with Diced Apple and Longan

Osmanthus Jelly with Diced Apple and Longan

 
Osmanthus Jelly with Diced Apple and Longan
Our Set Meni came with this Jelly. I like the smell of the Osmanthus flower and the diced Apple and Longan is a nice combination. This is a nice sweet note to end the meal, which is not too heavy.

Service was fast and good for those in the hurry to catch the plane.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Poached Marble Goby with Chinese Wine and Chilli Crab
 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

HK Cafe Cry Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Café | Kids-Friendly

I came across this HK Cafe as I was shopping in Centrepoint and decided to stop here for lunch thinking they served authentic HK Cafe food.

I decided to order their Ice Lemon Tea and Pork Chop buns. The ice tea came in a Jam Jar looking type of Cup and had slices of lemon in the ice tea. The taste was quite similar to those in HK.

 
Next my pork chop bun was huge with a soft bun and slices of lettuces combined with a slice of pork chop. They gave me disaposable gloves to eat with my hand. This is the 1st time in Singapore I am given plastic gloves to eat my food with my hand. I like this thoughtfulness. I normally find disposable gloves given out in China when eating fast food Roast Chicken.

The taste could be improved if they toasted the bun so that it has a slight crisp, and the pork chop should have been marinated longer so that it taste better.

I tried ordering other common HK cafe food and traditional dessert but they do not serve it . Based on what I order, the taste wise can be further improved to give it a more authentic taste of HK Cafe.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Chop Buns.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0