OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Korean Grill OK Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean BBQ

We decided to visit the new mall Star Vista to celebrate my friend birthday. She picked Bornga 본가 as it is a new Restaurant to try and we both loved Korean food.

 
Bornga is a famous Korean BBQ Restaurant chain by renowned celebrity Chef Jong Won Paik. This is the 1st time it opened in Singapore and the 13th Restaurant outside Korea.

We had high expectation of the food. We were directed to a table for 2 by the glass wall with a view looking outside the Restaurant. The table had a gas stove built into it. Looking at the menu, we realized they served mainly beef items. This limit my choice of food which I could order as I do not take beef. I am actually a fan of Korean BBQ and was disappointed that I could only order the Belly Pork and they do not have chicken.

They also required us to order 2 portions of Belly Pork. Since there is only 2 of us, we could only order 1 other dish which is seafood pancake.

Ssamcheban (Vegetables Wrap)
Different vegetables leaves were served on a long tray and looked pretty impressive. See photo below :
Vegetables Wrap

Vegetables Wrap

 
The Vegetables consist of different colors lettuces, cabbages, spinach, carrot sticks and a few large green chilies. It was fresh and crisp and the portion was too much for 2 paxs.
Free Sides Dishes

Free Sides Dishes

 
Sides Dishes.
As most Korean place, we were served with free sides. We were given 4 sides dishes such as Shredded Leeks, a cold Kimchi Soup, Radish Kimchi & Lettuces Salad. It is mostly vegetables which I am not a fan.sad I only like the spicy Radish Kimchi which was shredded in thin slice and has a spicy kick. I would prefer the usual stewed potatoes, anchovy, braised egg which is served at other Korean place.
Cold Kimchi Soup

Cold Kimchi Soup

 
Pork Belly
The raw pork belly was sliced thick, the server came and help us to grill leaving us free to enjoy our meal instead of worry about the food getting burn.smile
Raw Belly Pork

Raw Belly Pork

 
After grilling one portion of the pork belly, they actually change the grilling metal plate and put a new grilling plate ready for the next session of grilling. They remembered to come back and help us grilled the remaining pork belly. Service was good as they actually attend to the grilling. My pork turn out nicely grilled and was not burnt. The only problem was I found the pork bland in taste by itself as it was only seasoned lightly with salt. You have to dipped it in the accompanying sauces. We were given sesame oil with salt, WooSamGyup & raw garlic.

Our clothes did not smell after the meal as there were hardly any smoke during grilling.
Belly Pork on Griller

Belly Pork on Griller

 
Seafood Pancake
Seafood Pancake

Seafood Pancake

 
Our Seafood Pancake look like small version of the a Pizza has it is served in a Pizza Pan. I found the pizza soft on the inside with lots of seafood and not crispy on the outside. I found this a bit bland too and had to dipped into the Korean sauce for extra taste. For people who do not take salt or have light taste buds than this may suit you.
Omija Tea  오미자 차

Omija Tea 오미자 차

 
A
t the end of the meal we were served with this icy cold Omija Tea 오미자 차 (Schisandra Berry Tea). This is my favourite among the items I had taken in this Restaurant. It is a cordial drink make from berries. It has a refreshing, not too sour taste which wake up the taste buds and is nice end to the meal. I wish I know where I can buy this drink.

Prices are quite high as the total bill came to $70 for 2 paxs. It will be too expensive for regular lunch for people working in the area. If you are fan of Beef, and prefer light taste, than this maybe a place for you. This place is not for me as a I love Korean BBQ but do not eat beef, so there is not much choice of BBQ meat for me and I do not like the all Vegetarian sides dishes which I was served.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Customized Milk Shake Smile Jan 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Stall / Kiosk | Desserts and Cakes

We ended trying this stall as I won a 1-for-1 Customized Milk Shake from the Mall lucky dip. Since we were full from our Korean Lunch, we decided to takeaway.

You can choose the suggested combination milk shake or customized your choice. Since our prize required us to design our own milk shake, we decide to be creative and select our own toppings. It comes in 2 sizes, we pick the large cup for $5.30 and got 1 extra same siize cup free.

You have a choice of milk flavours such as vanilla or chocolate, and 1 sweet topping and 1 nut topping. Mine was Vanilla Milk with Mars Chocolate, and Walnut. As part of the price, I got Cocoa Crunch free. Everything was blended together.
Milk Shake

Milk Shake

 
I was surprised that my milk shake did not turn out too sweet from all the chocolate and the combination has different texture with the crunchy bits from the Cocoa Crunch and sticky feeling from the caramel of Mars. Only thing the sticky caramel turn to stick to the teeth. I would have prefer Milky Ways but it was not available. It is like drinking melted Ice Cream and the milk shake was not too thick as you can suck it out from the straw. I would try this again if it was available near my place but a different combination.

I wish they had other fruits other than banana for a more healthy version of milk shake which I can create. For example Power Miilk Shake with added powder Ginseng or Ginko nut for extra boost to the immunity of the system.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Customized Milk Shake
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Croquette Ball Smile Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

I have been wanting to try this Croquette ball since reading about it.
I looked for it specially but missed it the 1st time I walk passed it. I finally found it after walking around the B2 basement again.
Mixed Flavours Croquette

Mixed Flavours Croquette

 
The cup of 5 potato balls was less than $3 and you can choose different flavour. I ordered the Crab Croquette Ball and other flavours to try. The frozen ball is fried on the spot. It is nice to eat it hot with the Japanese Sauce drizzled over it. The ball is coated with bread crumbs to give it a thin layer of crispness and inside it is soft and smooth almost like a creamy texture. You can opt for special sauce at addition cost. I like this snack and wish it is sold elsewhere as well.

This is a takeaway stall with no seating available.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crab Croquett
 
Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chill out@Starbuck Smile Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

After an afternoon shopping, we decided to rest at this Starbuck. It has an indoor and outdoor Patio seating area facing the water fountain. It was rather crowded for a Saturday afternoon and we were lucky to get a table fairly quickly.
Starbuck Drink

Starbuck Drink

 
We ordered the Hot Matcha Tea, Iced Mocca, and Hot Mocca. The hot drink came served in Tall glass while the cold drink is served in a Plastic Cup. The drinks standards taste the same as any other Starbuck. I like my hot Matcha Tea which is my 1st time trying as I mostly drink the cold version. It uses good quality Green Tea Powder and Milk which the sweetness level was just right for me.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Matcha
 
Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value For Money Western Fare OK Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

It been a long time since we went shopping at City Square, we decided to visit this mall. On arrival, we decided to fuel up before hitting the shops.. We wanted to try something new and came across Barbacoa.

According to their facebook, the name Barbacoa means slow cooking of meat over the fire by the Taino people in the Carribbean.

 
Ambience
It is setup simply like a Cafe, on one side of the wall you have enlarge photos of the dishes in the menu. It is decorated with a Wild West and Mexican theme. You can see the chefs cooking in the glass window kitchen.

The menu is mostly western food like spaghetti, pork chops and ribs. We ordered different Mains to be shared.

 
Pasta Mushroom Aglio Olio with Bacon
The spaghetti was nicely cooked ala denta with olive oil and mushroom. We topped up $2 for bacon. It may look plains but the bacon bits and mushroom gives it a crunchy and soft bite at the same time.

 
Signature Ribs.
This is one of their specialty. We were served with tender pork ribs which the meat easily come off the bone. It has a smoky flavour. It is served with thick fries and vegetables. You can opt for different sauces such as Hickory Smoked BBQ, Honey Cranberry, Black Pepper BBQ, Pineapple BBQ etc.
Pork Chop

Pork Chop

 
Flamed Grilled Pork Chop
The pork chop has the criss cross mark of the flamed grilled. Pork was tender and has a Pepper sauce to be eaten with the meat. It also comes with fries and vegetables.

 
Mixed Sausages
It is basically 3 different types of jumbo sausages served with a kind of Mustard sauce. It has Pork and Chicken Sausage which is of decent quality. For Kids who loves Sausages this could be a dish to order. This was an Appertizer dish.
Cream of Mushroom Soup

Cream of Mushroom Soup

 
All the main dishes comes with free soup of the day which was Cream of Mushroom and Ice Cream.
Ice Cream

Ice Cream

 
Overall the food is decent and value for money considering you get a Soup and Dessert with the Main Course.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Chop
 
Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend