OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Vietnamese Noodle Bar OK Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese

Company Logo

Company Logo

 
This is a new Vietnamese Noodle Bar that is opened in Raffles City. This place is an offshoot of Annam Vietnamese Restaurant.
Summer Rolls, Cracker & Drink

Summer Rolls, Cracker & Drink

 
We order some Summer rolls which is the Vietnamese fresh Spring Rolls, crackers. The Crackers is crispy but do not have any prawn taste.
Condiments

Condiments

 
On each table there are 3 types of sauce; Hoi Sin Sauce, Maggi Seasoning and Chili Sauce.
Soft Crab Noodles

Soft Crab Noodles

 
You get a whole Soft Shelled Crab on top of the noodle. The crab is crispy and the noodle is served in a orange colour broth. The soup is tasty and served with mint and a wedge of lemon .
Chicken Mouse Tail Noodle

Chicken Mouse Tail Noodle

 
The mouse tail noodle is a literary translation of the chinese word "Loh Si Fan". The noodle is short tails and is served in a clear chicken broth with shred of chickens.
Beef Balls Noodle

Beef Balls Noodle

 
The beef ball comes with thin rice noodle with 5 beef balls and lime.
3 Colors Drinks

3 Colors Drinks

 
This is a Vietnamese Dessert similar to our Chendol. It has red beans, Mung Bean and Green jelly. It iserved in a class with crushed ice.

The tables and chairs are placed very closed together and not a place where you can sit and chat. It is a place where you have a quick meal and leave. I found the place too cram. They are also not flexible as I wanted to eat their pork chop with noodle instead of rice but it not in their menu. I opt to buy just pork chop, they will not sell me too. Generally the food is ok and cheap for cafe sitting.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Soft Shell Crabs Noodle
 
Date of Visit: Nov 23, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $12

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ipoh Food OK Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hakka | Chinese | Restaurant

If you are missing the taste of Ipoh, you can try this cafe in Bedok Point. The food is decent and it serve Ipoh Coffee and Tea, but I find the hot tea and Coffee tastes like 3 in 1. The set meal it comes with a drink.
Ginger Duck Rice

Ginger Duck Rice

 
Ginger Duck Rice.
I like the Ginger Duck which comes with lots of ginger and generous with the gravy. It is served with steam rice. The dish is tasty but too oily. It cost $6.70 for the meal.
Char Siew Noodle

Char Siew Noodle

 
Char Siew Noodle.
The Noodle is dry wanton noodle with black sauce similar to what you get in KL. The noodle is cooked al dente and has slices of Char Siew and a crispy beancurd skin. The Beancurd Skin gives a crunchy texture to the dish. It cost $5.5o as a meal which has a choice of hot tea or coffee.
Curry Noodle

Curry Noodle

 
Curry Noodle.
The Curry Noodle is spicy but gravy not that thick. It comes with fish cake and Yong Tau Foo. This set cost $5.50. Their Dry Curry and Curry. You can opt for non curry version which also comes with dry or soup.
Yong Tau Foo

Yong Tau Foo

 
Yong Tau Foo.
We order another portion of mixed Yong Tau Foo to try. It comes with fish paste stuffed in red and green chilli, bitter guard , tofu and fish balls. The taste is normal and nothing special.

The food is ok but nothing fantastic.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shao Xing Wine Chicken Rice and Ginger Duck Rice
 
Date of Visit: Nov 10, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yummy Chicken Satay Smile Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

Chicken Satay

Chicken Satay

 
The raw chicken satay is grilled when you put your order. After about 10 mins, the yummy tender satay is served to your table with sliced cucumber and sliced onions. You also get pipping hot peanut sauce to go with it. I like than the chicken fillet is not tough and moist with a nice char taste.Yet it is not burn. It cost only 50 cents a stick.

This satay stall I will definitely ordered when I am in this Haig Road Hawker Center.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Satay
 
Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

X'mas Party Pack Smile Dec 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

I ordered the Coffeeb Bean Xmas Party which cost $40 for 20 pieces. If order online it cost only $32. It consist of 4 types of Sweet Xmas cakes in mini version. They are Mini Stollen, Mini Linzer Tart, Mini Chocolate-Mint Tart, and Virginia Brownie. Each type has 5 pieces.
Christmas Party Pack $32

Christmas Party Pack $32

 
Mini Stollen
It looks like swiss roll but has bits of raisins in the center. I could not taste the Mazipan and found it a bit dry.

Mini Linzer Tart
This is like almond cake sandwich with raspberry jam. The jam gives it a tart taste to the crumbly cake.

Chocolate-Mint Tart
I like the chocolate tart in the shape of a min teacup with smooth chocolate and a hint of mint. I like this best among the sweet choices.

Virginia Brownie
The chocolate brownie is rich with chocolate and a decorated with a red and white mushroom decorations.

All the sweet snacks has Xmas decoration on top. The best decoration is the Santa Claus with different poses on top of the Chocolate-Mint Tart.

This is a nice Xmas party pack which lets us try different Xmas Goodies in small portions. One pack is good for small family to share or for Office Party. You can order multiple pack if bigger group.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Christmas Party Pack
 
Date of Visit: Dec 22, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Punggol East Gem Smile Nov 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Zi Char

We were invited by OpenRice for this food tasting session at Uncle Leong Seafood last Saturday. It was our first time here. What a surprise to find a cluster of eating places behind Riviera LRT (PE4) station. Among them Uncle Leong Seafood Restaurant is hidden behind a Billiard Room and along the jogging track of Punggol East waterway. There is a prawning pond beside it.

Ambience

As we enter the Restaurant, you will notice there is a lots of huge crabs shells decorated around the place. It has an air-con section and a second door led to a covered outdoor patio which overlook the jogging track of Punggol.

Golden Beancurd

Golden Beancurd

 

The tofu was a combination of seafood and beancurd lightly pan fried to golden brown. The texture is soft and suitable for both children and elderly folks. It look like pieces of gold bar which is Auspicious to order during Chinese New Year. To me the taste of this dish is average and dipping the tofu into the plum sauce greatly enhanced it.

Chineses Spinach with Eggs

Chineses Spinach with Eggs

 

The Spinach is cooked with 3 types of Eggs. The chicken Egg helps to thicken and gives a smooth gravy. The Salted egg and Century Egg gives it a contrasting taste and texture. It has crispy Anchovies sprinkle on top for added dimension.

Fortune Chicken

Fortune Chicken

 

A whole spring chicken is used for this dish cooked in Chinese Herb. It has a light herb taste with lots of gravy cooked with mushroom and fish maw.

Chye Poh Steam Fish

Chye Poh Steam Fish

 

The Steam Red Garoupa with Chye Poh (Preserved Vegetables) has a light Soya Sauce and sprinkle with light golden brown crunchy chye poh. This dish could be improved if more ginger is used when steaming the fish. This will help get rid of the slightly fishing taste.

Guinnnes Pork Ribs

Guinnnes Pork Ribs

 

The pan-fried pork ribs is tender and nicely fried with a thin batter coating. Then a yummy liquid black gold sauce made from Guinness Stout coats the pork ribs. This is one of the best Guinness Pork Ribs that I have tasted.

Claypot Crab Bee Hoon Soup

Claypot Crab Bee Hoon Soup

 

This dishes looks like a relaxing crab sitting in a Sauna Bath with it claws up in the air. It look pretty impressive and the taste matches it. This Claypot Crab Bee Hoon Soup has a sweet and tasty broth made from the crab and served with thick Bee Hoon. It can be a meal by itself.

Shimmering Sand Crab Delight

Shimmering Sand Crab Delight

 

Their Signature Crab is the Shimmering Sand Crab Delight. It is a light creamy sauce made of butter, white pepper and curry leaves. It is sprinkle with oats which gives it a sandy look. This is the owner Uncle Leong's creation. I like that the sauce is not a heavy based cream and the curry leaves and oat add a nice touch to the dish.

Yam Paste and Longan Sea Coconut

Yam Paste and Longan Sea Coconut

 

We were served with 2 types of desserts. Yam Paste with Gingko and Longan with Sea Coconut. I found the Yam Paste too sweet, especially the coconut milk.

Service
The service could be improved if they provide finger bowls when serving crabs dishes instead of just wet tissue. They should change plates for each customer half way during the meals and not at the end of the meals.

Overall their Signature and Recommended dishes are very well cooked and executed but the other dishes we tasted were average to me. They seem to specialized in Crab dishes. I noticed one of the table nearby ordering Black Pepper Crab which looks very good. Even the boss son Jeff mentioned they do a very good Chili Crab. He was attentive and receptivity to our comments and suggestion for improvement.

As a suggestion for more business, they could create a Special Crab Banquet Menu with their Signature Crab dish and other dishes using crab meat at Reasonable Price . I am sure it will be popular with those Crab lovers in Singapore.

We enjoyed the food very much that we ordered Fried Mee Sua and Guinness Pork Rib as takeaway for our parents to try. We paid for our takeaway.

Thanks to the Generousity of Uncle Leong and OpenRice, I found another Seafood Place where I can take my family and overseas visitors.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shimmering Sand Crab Delight,Claypot Crab Bee Hoon Soup and Guinness Pork Rib
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0