OpenRice Index
  
csy123
This is csy123 living in Tanjong Pagar. I am a nil, work in Tiong Bahru. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Tanjong Pagar, Orchard. Japanese, Korean, Singaporean, nil are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, nil and Buffet , Ramen, Steaks and Grills, nil.
Member 60 First(s)
No. of Review178 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity6376 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos568 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲149 Follower(s)
csy123  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 178 Reviews in Singapore
Casual Japanese dinner Smile Dec 17, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Nagasaki Ramen

Nagasaki Ramen

 

 
Konbu Dashi Nabe

Konbu Dashi Nabe

 
Before we decided to have dinner at Watami, we called up a few places for buffet dinner, they were all full-house, so we have to change our dinning place to Watami. I like this place because their variety of choices and reasonable prices.

We reached there around 6+pm, it was still early for dinner. Right from entering the place, all service staff would greet us in Japanese “Welcome”. I bought this meal for our office’s cleaning auntie, she is so good to me and chat with me whenever we have time. With her age, she can’t eat raw fish or big meal, so she just chose a bowl of Nagasaki ramen. I chose Konbu Dashi Nabe, a shabu shabu dish, it contains fatty pork, chicken, scallop and clam are the main ingredients. I added Teppen Bou Gyoza, it has mince pork and shrimp+black fungus, quite a big gyoza with generous filling.

Auntie likes her ramen so much as ingredients are generous with shrimp, pork and veggie, bone soup based is thick and rich, she says it isn’t thirsty after the meal.

I like my shabu shabu too, meats are raw when serve and cook in front of diner with a mini steamboat stove, service staff would refill soup if it has less. Ingredients are fresh. Soup is a bit too salty to my taste.

Gyoza is fried with a lace floured, it is crispy at the side and soft inside. Best eating it when hot, once it is cooled down, the oil taste is too strong and dough skin becomes tough. I soak it in the shabu shabu broth, it helps to soften the skin and better in texture.

When we finished our meal, the restaurant was filled with full of diners. It is a popular place though.
Teppen Bou Gyoza

Teppen Bou Gyoza

 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 16, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pork Knuckle Smile Dec 17, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : German | Bars/Lounges | Steaks and Grills

 

 
Winterbier 1pint

Winterbier 1pint

 
Dunkles 300ml

Dunkles 300ml

 
Actually we wanted to try the Buffet Town but the perpetual long queue put us off. Then we thought we haven’t been Brotzeit for more than 2 years, why not gave it a try again. It was still early before lunch crowd, plenty of seats were available.

We have ordered pork knuckle, cheese sausage and 2 beers. I wasn’t a beer person so I have a small glass of Dunkles, I liked freshly tap beer though, it was refreshing to go with oily food. Whereas my friend has a pint of seasonal beer-Winterbier, I taste a mouthful, it was crisp at first note then followed by bitterness.

This is my first time to try German cheese sausage, frankly I didn’t like the texture, it was too soft to my liking, taste wise, it was all right, having said that potato salad made up the whole dish. Here came the pork knuckle, it was really mouth-watering dish, golden brown and crispy skin, a mouthful it gave the best crunchiness and smooth oil mixed. We liked sauerkraut so much, it was the best with the crispy knuckle, neutralised the oiliness. Whereas mashed potato mixed with sour cream, it was a bit overwhelm to me.

We couldn’t finish up all food and requested to pack up. They were happy to do so and packed into two boxes to separate meat and side dish.

Casual ambience, good food and service, definitely will return.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $42(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Early dinner Smile Aug 03, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

 

 

 

 

 

 
We were walking around the shopping mall and decided to have an early dinner at 4+pm. Searching for dinner idea, we saw this restaurant with 1~2 table dinners only.

We noted that the prices of their steaks were reasonable. The service crew carried a smile when we made our orders. Wait not long the meals were served. Presentation and potion wise were fine. I have my steak in medium and my friend has his in rare! Both steaks were cooked to the right requirement, rare was really rare, almost could see blood. Beef must be fresh then could serve in rare otherwise it could taste like dead meat. Side dishes were well proportion. We both like the baked potato with sour cream.

This is value for money steak, worth to return in future.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 23, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Old Flavour Peanut Pancake Smile Aug 03, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 

 

 
One day a Hongkong friend of mine sent me an email in asking me peanut pancake here as she will be coming for tour soon. I use to buy this at Jollibean because of its convenient location and consistent standard. Due to special request, I did a quick search at internet for more info. Dr Leslie the famous food blogger has endorsed a lengthy blog for this snack. It created my immediate interest in trying it.

I have to buy it before work as it opens in the morning section only. I reached there around 8+am, 2~3 patrons before me, my turn, the lady owner asked for my order smilingly. Her action is smooth and fast wrap up my order. Then I took a bus back to office. During the bus ride, the peanut fragrance was so strong that I could smell it through. It tempted me to eat it immediately, hold it, I couldn’t eat in the bus. All right, all right, no eating! Once I reached the office and sat down with my cup of coffee, couldn’t wait further, took one piece out and bite it full mouthful! Heavenly, fragrance peanut with a chewy pancake, the taste was really an old flavour! The strong fragrance attracted my colleague’s attention, I quickly shared a piece with him.

To experience a slice of Singapore’s history and nostalgia for the good old days, head down to this stall and have a slice of their peanut pancake, you will understand. They have yam and red bean filling as well. The choice is yours.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 13, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $0.6(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Vegetarian soba Smile Aug 03, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vegetarian

 

 

 

 

 

 
We will keep coming back for their cold soba because they mix their own secret soba sauce which makes the soba so palatable. Moreover, we like the way they cook the vegetarian dishes, they would use mostly vegetables for ingredients. Unlike some stalls use mock meat to create meat dishes without the real meat, hence it is vegetarian meatless dish!

Their fresh ingredients will never fail us, they are really fresh, crunchiness vegetables burst in your mouth. On top of that they add some crumble crispy rice, every mouthful will keep you busy on munching them, eating and exercising of your face at the same time, isn’t it good! Eating such a meal will definitely provide you more nutrients and subsequently good to health. We have ordered a veggie sushi roll too, taste is sweet and sour, it is such a light food, you won’t feel guilty by eating more. Don’t forget their dessert, made by sea coral, it says it is sea bird nest, rich in vegetable collagen. The smooth texture of jelly like desert, eat it with good reason, you won’t feel load up your calories!

They carry some dry vegetarian food stuff on sale. Some of their ingredients are available if someone wants to cook it at home. We noted that they have increased their prices for cooked food. Nevertheless, we will still come back.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 23, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0