OpenRice Index
  
csy123
This is csy123 living in Tanjong Pagar. I am a nil, work in Tiong Bahru. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Tanjong Pagar, Orchard. Japanese, Korean, Singaporean, nil are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, nil and Buffet , Ramen, Steaks and Grills, nil.
Member 60 First(s)
No. of Review178 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity6376 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos568 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲149 Follower(s)
csy123  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 178 Reviews in Singapore
Sashimi rice Smile May 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly

 
I used to patronise this chain of restaurants for sushi fix. I liked their variety of sushi serving on the conveyor bell and most importantly prices were affordable. Then I stopped going for a long time due to some reason.

After knocking off and feeling famish, I wanted to have something light and filling. Sashimi is a good choice. I walked by Icon and found that they have an outlet there. It wasn’t too many dinners at around 6+pm, I thought it would get more people while reaching the dinner time, it wasn’t though, instead it was getting less and less. Anyway, it won’t bother me, as long as food is served fresh and good, I am happy.

I have a bowl of sashimi rice. Frankly, it is a bowl of ordinary Japanese sashimi rice, nothing to “wow” to but I have to say sashimi are fresh and rice texture is just right. Having said that it may not fill up a big stomach, it was just right to me.
 
Date of Visit: May 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chips with sour cream and cheese Smile May 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Halal

 
To have this meal, it was because of the sour cream and cheese. I love chips dip with them, it fills my mouth and stomach with satisfaction. It also loaded tons of calories!

The whole meal comes with 2 pieces of crispy chicken, mashed potato, chips with sauces and a fizzy drink. It was such a satisfying meal with a really reasonable price. This location is always packed of patrons. It isn’t easy to get a seat though.

After the high calorie meal, I walked many rounds of Plaza Singapura to burn off some calories, I hoped!
 
Date of Visit: Mar 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chilli Crab Smile May 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant

 
My mom was here in visiting me. As she doesn’t eat much meat nowadays, she prefers seafood and vegetable more. So chilli crab was our best option and I wanted her to try this local dish.

After reading so many reviews for chilli crab, this one was getting the most positive reviews, furthermore it was near my place and didn’t need to travel to East Coast area.

We didn’t make reservation and reached there around 12 noon. The restaurant was quite packed already. The captain who served us was really polite, he brought us to our table and apologies for it was near the toilet, he said if there was table available, he could move us. Anyway, we were pleased for his thoughtfulness.

I ordered chilli crab, no doubt and checked on the captain for any recommendation. Actually, my eyes are bigger than my mouth, I want to order cold crab dish as well but the captain advises try it next time as the chilli crab is a big dish, it is well enough for the 2 of us. It seems popiah is one of their signature dish and I like popiah, why not have a try.

This popiah size is the biggest I have tried and of course charges are steep too. It has so many ingredients. Taste wise, it isn’t my type of popiah. I prefer kopitam or hawker’s popiahs, humble and yet flavouring.

We were impressed for the chilli crab dish. It was such a huge dish! The weight of the crab stated 1.5~1.8kg. We added 6 mini steamed buns to go with the chilli sauce. We liked the sauce, it wasn’t too spicy or too thick, the sauce itself was a winner already. We have our giant pincer first, it was so satisfying, the meat was bouncy and tasteful, it could tell that the crab was live before cook! When my mom took the crab shell and started eating the crab roe, I starred at her….then she ate half and gave the other half to me to enjoy! We all know crab roe is high in cholesterol, we should limit our consumption. Nevertheless, we managed to finish the whole crab. Half way through the meal, the captain came and asked us about the dishes, it was such a warm greet.

If it wasn’t the positive reviews, I wouldn't think that we could have chilli crab in a traditional Chinese restaurant, moreover, this restaurant is one of the oldest and famous in Chinese cuisine in Singapore.

We enjoyed our meal so much and gratify for our choice. We should try the cold crab dish on our next visit.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $65(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Vegetarian dish Smile May 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

 
I like to come here for executive lunch, I have no doubt on their quality on food and service. This time round, I was alone and wanted to have something good. The worse was I didn’t have big appetite, I wanted to have more but I didn’t want to waste food. Therefore, I ordered just one plate of deep fried bean curd with mix mushrooms. A very simple vegetarian dish went with plain rice.

I am really choosy on gravy. If a dish can go without it, I am more delighted. I would say this was the only gravy I would love. The rich taste would bring out the mushrooms and bean curd taste a level higher. A deep fried bean curd, what does it expect normally? Nothing much, right? This one isn’t the same, you have to try it then you will know. My guess, it was slow fry till golden brown, the technique is difficult, the flame and oil temperature are precisely to be correctly set.

This is a place worth to spend for quality Chinese dishes.
 
Date of Visit: May 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wasabi fried prawns Smile May 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Kids-Friendly

 

 
I love wasabi!

Dining alone and I wanted to have a decent meal. This is the place I will go for usually. I like their authentic Cantonese dishes and prices are reasonable.

I used to have steam fish but I wanted to have a change this round. I ordered wasabi fried prawns with plain rice. It was piping hot when served, I couldn’t wait to try it. Wasabi was well blended with the thin crust on the prawn. Taste wise, it wasn’t overpower and it was just nice to taste bud. Prawn was crunchy and big enough for one mouthful. Overall it was a satisfying dish.

Service was usual, prompt and polite.
 
Date of Visit: May 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0