OpenRice Index
  
This is RandyRKO living in Bishan. I am a Clerk, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Alexandra. American, Latin American/South American, Middle Eastern/Mediterranean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Café.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review24 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity819 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos40 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant5 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
RandyRKO  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 24 Reviews in Singapore
Hattendo Smile Nov 23, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery | Café

Hattendo - a Japanese cafe specialising in cream buns situated at Tanjong Pagar Centre.
Kurimupan. Amai! Oishii!!

Kurimupan. Amai! Oishii!!

 

Check out the stuff I got from the cafe - three cream-filled buns, one in brown being chocolate-flavoured, one in red filled with azuki bean cream and one in green having matcha cream. The buns appeared to be like the ones produced by Gardenia but smaller enough to be snacks or desserts. They are soft, fluffy and chewy on the outside. The cream in every bun is very smooth. The chocolate cream looks, in colour, and tastes like chocolate milk. Enjoying the chocolate cream bun is like having bread served with chocolate milk. The azuki bean-flavoured cream is faintly red and appears to have bits of the red beans in it. It tastes sweet with a sandy mouthfeel. The whole azuki cream bun gives anpan lovers a new tasting experience. The matcha-flavoured cream is light green in colour and has its distinct leafy bittersweet taste. The special thing about the buns is that they come with an ice pack. This not only stops the cream in the buns from having a rancid taste but also ensures that the cream-filled bun is eaten as cold as posible. I guess the meticulousness of the Japanese can be seen from here. 

Love the sweets from there. Oishii! smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cream Buns
 
Date of Visit: Feb 06, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $7.5(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

It All Comes with Fries Smile Jun 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches

Everything with Fries in Orchard Central is one place in Singapore where there is great fast food like nice burgers. I did not want to go there to eat at first when I looked at the restaurant as I did not prefer fast food. However, after a while, I thought that there was nothing wrong with having burgers and other stuff there. Also, I wanted to have a quick meal as it was getting late. The food at the fast food restaurant could be affordable too. Hence, I headed there to sample the things on offer.  

When I stepped into the place, I thought of having only a burger initially. Then, I decided to have more than the burger. At Everything with Fries, anything can come with fries. The fries are special as they are available in different flavours everyday. To me, a burger alone is not enough for a fast food meal. Adding the fries is sufficient to complete such a meal. If that was not enough, I felt like getting a drink as well. A drink is optional but it goes well with the food in a meal. It can quench one's thirst before, while and after eating. I believed that I had a good chance to have the fries and the drink too given the budget I had. Hence, I ordered the set meal which also consists of a soft drink other than the burger and the fries as I thought this was the cheapest option for me. 

The burger and the fries are served on grease-resistant paper in a black food container. The paper is like the kind used in most fast food chains. 

Now, on to the burger. It was the tandoori chicken burger I had. The burger bun looks like either a muffin or it is made using cornmeal. Not only is it very crispy, it is also softer and chewier than those from fast food restaurants like KFC and McDonald's. The patty is a chicken fillet that looks like KFC's Roasta fillet. It is bigger and thicker than the Roasta fillet other than tender. The chicken is covered in a sauce that looks like curry in the way that it is orange and contains bits of chilies. It gives the burger a spicy flavour and tastes a bit sweet. The vegetables are fresh. The lettuce and the onions are crunchy. The tomatoes are soft and sweet. The onions not only are a bit sweet and spicy but give a burning sensation that can numb the taste buds as well. 

Next, the fries I had which are the garlic fries. The fries are very crispy and filling. They are coated with garlic powder which makes the fries look orange red. The powder adds a spicy taste to the fries. This makes the fries flavourful that they can be eaten on its own.

Last but not least, the soft drink. I had the sparkling apple drink for the beverage of my meal. It is prepared on the spot by mixing soda water with apple juice drink. The drink is fizzy and refreshing. However, what is disappointing is that there is too much soda water in the drink, so the bitterness of the soda water masks the sweetness of the ready-to-drink apple juice. Hence, it tastes very bitter and a bit sweet. 

The restaurant has a shelf inside near the counter where people obtain disposable utensils from. This makes things like forks and knives more readily available. It is better than having to go to the counter to ask for utensils which can take a bit of trouble.
Supplementary Information:
There is good food and good service in this place. This fast food restaurant is one good place for fast food meals. There are burgers, fries and others the restaurant offers such as cakes and milkshakes I may think of having when I dine there another time. The sparkling apple drink needs to be improved.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 13, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cha Cha Cha! Smile Dec 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Mexican

I was looking for something to eat to warm me up because I was feeling cold. It is December now and the weather is chilly. Mexican food came to my mind all of a sudden. It is known for its spiciness that can make people feel hot. I chose to head to this Mexican restaurant for a meal because I enjoy dining in Holland V's environment which is quiet at day but lively at night.
Sopa de Mariscos

Sopa de Mariscos

 
There are two dishes I had for my meal. The first dish is the sopa de mariscos. It is clear red seafood soup garnished with parsley. It looks like tomato soup because it is red and there are tomatoes in it but it tastes very hot and spicy. I believe a lot of chilies is used in making the soup. Luckily, the sweetness of the tomatoes and carrots in the soup can help to balance the soup's spiciness. The soup is not thick but as watery as Chinese soups. The vegetables are cooked till very soft. The prawns and fish in the soup are tender. The parsley not only makes the bowl of soup look delicious but also adds a refreshing taste to the soup. tongue
Enchiladas de Rez

Enchiladas de Rez

 
The second and last dish I had is the enchiladas de rez. The enchiladas are topped with chili con carne, cheese as well as raw carrots and onions. The tortillas are made from ground maize, judging from its colour which is yellow. I have never seen a traditional Mexican dish made using corn tortillas. The tortilla is sheer and chewy. The shredded beef is tender. The chili con carne is gritty and adds a spicy flavour to the dish. The cheese is stretchy and makes the dish taste a bit salty. The crunchy raw vegetables gave the dish a refreshing flavour. The strips of carrots are a bit sweet while the pieces of onions are a bit pungent. There can be more enchiladas on the plate because in my opinion, the serving is not sufficient.

Overall, the dishes look and taste awfully great. I would want to have a dish of sopaipillas for dessert and a glass of tequila sunrise, both offered by the restaurant as well, to end the meal but I could not afford for either of the two anymore. I hope I can come to this restaurant at Holland Village another time for more Mexican delights. mad
 
Date of Visit: Dec 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chee Cheong Fun and Juk OK Nov 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Porridge/Congee | Kids-Friendly

I learnt about this eatery from a Channel 8 show hosted by Bryan Wong and I thought it had been closed at first when I checked about it on the Internet. However, when I checked again, I found that the eatery is still available. Hence, I decided to make a tour to there for a meal.
Boat porridge

Boat porridge

 
The boat porridge is the first dish I had for my meal. It is served garnished with deep-fried wanton skins and raw lettuce. There are fish, cured cuttlefish, jellyfish and peanuts in the porridge. This is the first time I had jellyfish in porridge. The porridge is not so gritty. It is thick and smooth but a bit bland. Luckily, there is soy sauce provided for me to enhance the porridge's taste. The fish, jellyfish and cured cuttlefish are tender. The strips of jellyfish are crunchy. The pieces of cured cuttlefish are smooth and chewy. The peanuts are hard and crunchy. However, I find the ingredients in the porridge a bit too little. The deep-fried wanton skins are golden brown. They appear to be hard but after being dipped in the porridge for a while, they are soggy. The pieces of raw lettuce are crunchy but a bit unfresh.
Durian Chee Cheong Fun

Durian Chee Cheong Fun

 
The durian chee cheong fun is the next and last dish I had after the porridge. It is one of the creative dishes I ever had. I had seen pancakes and cream puffs containing durian filling but I had never seen chee cheong fun with durian filling. The chee cheong fun is served in small pieces topped with grounded peanuts. The sheer chee cheong fun is white and as smooth as silk. The creamy durian filling is bittersweet. The grounded peanuts that make the dish appealing are hard and gritty so they add another texture to the dish. They are sweet too. That helps to balance the bitterness of the durian filling when the chee cheong fun is eaten with the grounded peanuts. smile

The taste of the chee cheong fun is superb but the porridge in my opinion needs improvement. The eatery also offers other dishes such as tangyuan and fried rice. I hope to come there the next time for better dishes.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Durian Chee Cheong Fun
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $11(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Truly Old Style Cafe Smile Aug 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

I first learnt of this cafe while reading a food review about it on a page of an 8 Days magazine. I never knew before that somewhere in Singapore has a cafe that offers localised Western cakes and pastries. The food reviewer actually believes the food there tastes good. Hence, while touring around Kampong Glam during Hari Raya Puasa, I decided to visit this shophouse cafe.
The Whole Interior of the Cafe

The Whole Interior of the Cafe

 
Memorabilia from the Past

Memorabilia from the Past

 
Cakes and Pastries with Tea

Cakes and Pastries with Tea

 
Inside the cafe, I was amazed by the 1960s style furniture and decor. The tables function as showcases displaying objects from the olden days of Singapore. There is a collection of oldies played. It was like I was teleported back to Singapore's past. There are many kinds of cakes and pastries shown inside the cake display. Not only do they look appealing, they are also sold at low and affordable prices. I had a pineapple tart, an almond finger and an apple aloe vera cake together with a cup of teh. The appearance of the pineapple tart is different from those one often sees during Chinese New Year. It takes the shape of a sampan and that reminds me of the days when there were traders and settlers moving along the Singapore River by such boats. It is served in a paper cup. The crust is hard, crumbly and eggy and the pineapple filling is gritty, sweet and a bit sour. The almond finger is long and wide and has a light brown meringue topping. The whole pastry is crumbly and a bit soft. The almond bits add a crunchy texture and a bit of its nutty flavour. The taste somehow reminds me of nougats. Like the pineapple tart, the apple aloe vera cake is served in a paper cup. The cake is soft, firm and bouncy. The cream is thick and smooth. The apple aloe vera preserve is smooth, runny, sweet, sour and refreshing. The teh is milky, has the fragrance of tea, not too sweet and goes well with the food. It can also help to wash down any bits of food stuck in the teeth.

It was a relaxing dining experience to have a tea break and enjoy the environment of the restaurant at the same time. The cafe also offers toast and scones and sells spreads such as strawberry jam and lemon curd. I do not mind having local style afternoon tea at the cafe another time.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pineapple Tart,Almond Finger,Apple Aloe Vera Cake
 
Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0