OpenRice Index
  
This is RandyRKO living in Bishan. I am a Clerk, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Alexandra. American, Latin American/South American, Middle Eastern/Mediterranean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Café.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review24 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity871 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos40 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant5 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
RandyRKO  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 24 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European

I had long been wanting to try out Russian cuisine since Secondary 3, when I studied Elective History on USSR and wanted to know what Russian cuisine was like. Finally, the time came. I decided to visit this Russian restaurant as it offers a wide variety of Russian dishes and many people believed that the food there looks and tastes good. Inside the restaurant, I learnt of the set meal on reading the menu. I decided to have the set meal as it is the cheapest.
Rye Bread

Rye Bread

 
Before the set meal, I was served a basket of rye bread with a small dish of butter beside it. The bread looks to me as dark as chocolate bread. Its exterior is crisp and its interior is as fluffy as sponge cake. The butter comes in small hemispheres. They are soft, smooth and add a fatty flavour to the bread.
Chicken Noodle Soup

Chicken Noodle Soup

 
After that, I had chicken noodle soup as the starter of the meal. The soup is served in a small bowl that takes the shape of a vat. The bits of herbs on the surface of the soup make the dish more appealing. The soup is watery, clear and smooth. The small cubes of potatoes and carrots in the soup are soft. The pieces of chicken are soft and chewy. The strips of noodles are small and inconsistent in shape. They are as chewy as the skin of dumplings.
Beef Stroganoff Pie

Beef Stroganoff Pie

 
Next is the main course of the meal being beef stroganoff pie. The big rectangular pie is cut into three pieces and served with salad. The vegetables are dark green and crunchy. The vinegar adds sweetness and sourness to the greens. The crust is crisp and flaky. The beef is tender, juicy, sweet and sour.
Blinis

Blinis

 
Finally, I had came to the dessert, the last part of the meal, which is a plate of blinis served with sour cream, blueberry sauce and condensed milk. The blinis are garnished with fruits and cocoa powder. They are as soft and thin as napkins like crepes but chewier than crepes. The sour cream, blueberry sauce and condensed milk are each served on a small dish on a bigger plate. The sour cream is white like yoghurt and thick like mayonnaise. It is indeed sour and has a slight milky taste. It is also smooth. This is my first time tasting sour cream. The blueberry sauce is sweet. What surprises me about the sauce is that it has notes of alcohol. The condensed milk is smooth and runny. It has a sweet milky taste.

The food looks delicious and it really is. Not only can we dine in the restaurant, we also can buy food and drinks from the restaurant such as vodka and rye bread. I hope I can go there for other Russian dishes another time.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 05, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice Chinese Pastries Smile May 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Bakery

It was my break after work. I was feeling a bit hungry and tired, so I was looking for something sweet to eat to perk me up. Then, I was thinking that there are shops in Chinatown that sell Chinese pastries. Hence, I made a tour to Chinatown and visit this Chinese bakery.
Chinese Pastries on Dislpay

Chinese Pastries on Dislpay

 
There, I saw many different pastries on display. All of them look appealing to me. I had no idea what to choose considering the cost and my taste preferences. After much thought, I picked on the wife pastry and the lotus seed pastry with egg yolk. The wife pastry appears glossy and golden brown. The skin is flaky. The filling is clear white, sweet and chewy. It looks and tastes like mochi. The lotus seed pastry with egg yolk is a bit glossy and likewise golden brown. It looks to me like something I've had before but I can't remember... Ah yes, it is a mini Shanghai mooncake, just that it has sesame seeds on the top of it instead of pine nuts or almonds to make it more appealing. Like the wife pastry, the skin is flaky too. The lotus paste is sweet and as sandy as red bean paste. The salted egg yolk is bright orange. It is crumbly and not so salty. The salted egg yolk complements with the lotus paste as the saltiness of the egg yolk balances the sweetness of the lotus paste. lol

These pastries not only look good, they taste good too. There are other pastries the shop sells such as egg tarts and sponge cakes. Well, I do not mind going there another time. smile
 
Date of Visit: May 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hot Sweet Soup @ Maxwell FC  Smile Apr 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup

I was out of a job interview. I was feeling nervous while answering the questions the interviewee gave and less energetic after the interview. I decided to find some hot dessert to cool me down. I happened to come across this stall which sells peanut soup. Well, I decided to have a bowl of it.

The peanut soup is as white as homemade soy bean milk with large white peanut splits in it. The soup is hot, sweet and not thick. It has the distinctive nutty taste of peanuts. The peanuts are soft and mushy. There are also small cuts of you tiao in the soup. The cold chewy cuts of you tiao become warm, softer and easier to be bitten when drenched in the soup. The soup tastes better with some tang yuan. The skin is soft and chewy and the filling is sweet and gritty for every tang yuan. The tang yuan goes well with the peanut soup. lol

The whole bowl of peanut soup is very tasty. The stall sells tau suan and red bean brown rice soup, something that few dessert stalls sell, too. I hope to come there for hot desserts next time when I am free. smile
 
Date of Visit: Apr 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nasi Padang @ Boat Quay Smile Mar 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Indonesian | Halal

It was lively that night at Boat Quay because St. Patrick's Day Festival has begun. A lot of people are there drinking while making merry. I chose to move away from the crowd as I did not want to get into trouble with anybody there. It was dinner time. I happened to find this quiet dining place that offers nasi padang. I doubt that the food there tastes good at first. However, after seeing the reviews inside about the eatery, I decided to have a plate of nasi padang.
Nasi Padang on a Real Banana Leaf

Nasi Padang on a Real Banana Leaf

 
I had rice with beef lungs, sayur lodeh, kentang belado and some sambal. Often, I had nasi padang served on plates that resemble banana leaves. This nasi padang is served on a round piece of banana leaf on a plate. It was hard to find rice served on banana leaves these days. The appearance of the dish reminds me of South Indian banana leaf rice. The rice is soft and chewy. It tastes good when served on the banana leaf as the leaf gives the rice its own fragrance. The strips of beef lungs are soft and chewy. They are like chewing gum because they are hard to be torn apart in the mouth. The chillies help to make the beef lungs taste spicy hot. About the sayur lodeh, it tastes mildly spicy. The gravy is soupy. While other vegetables such as carrots and long beans come in small pieces, others such as cabbages and cauliflowers come in big chunks. That is fine because that makes the vegetables more crunchy. As for the kentang belado, the potato wedges appeared to be deep fried before stir-frying. The potatoes are soft and pulpy, with the outer layer being soft and firm. Likewise, they also taste mildly spicy. The anchovies add to the potatoes its salty fishy flavour. The sambal tastes very spicy, salty and a bit sweet. It also has a fishy taste maybe because it has a hint of anchovies in it. The rice can complement with the sambal and the dishes as it can relieve any spiciness. smile

The whole nasi padang is very tasty. Eating within the shophouses by the river makes me feel that I was going back to the days when traders and coolies work and eat by the river. This is an amazing dining experience and I hope to come there for another plate of nasi padang. lol
 
Date of Visit: Mar 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet Potato Balls Smile Mar 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

I was having lunch at Maxwell Food Centre. I happened to pass by this stall. It sells a delicacy I bet it cannot be found anywhere else in Singapore, deep fried sweet potato balls. I believe that makes the stall so special so many people came for the delicacy and that is why there are good reviews about the sweet potato balls the stall sells. The last time I came to the stall, it was closed. Today, I just have the chance to try the sweet potato balls. smile
Sweet Potato Balls of Different Flavours

Sweet Potato Balls of Different Flavours

 
When I came to buy the balls, the ones containing pandan coconut and red bean fillings are sold out. Guess they are popular among the people. I ordered one pure sweet potato ball and one with split mung bean filling. The balls appear crispy and golden brown. Both are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. The interior of the pure sweet potato ball looks orange is doughy and chewy. The whole ball tastes a bit like deep fried New Year cake with sweet potato. The sweet potato ball with split mung bean filling is puffy. It is split mung bean filling wrapped in skin made from sweet potatoes. The skin is thin, crispy and a bit chewy. The split mung bean filling is sweet and a bit salty. It looks and tastes like the one in ang ku kueh. The split peanut on the ball improves the appearance and gives the ball a bit of its crunchy texture. tongue

The sweet potato balls look and taste good. There are other flavours available - peanut and vegetarian. Every ball is sold at low prices. I do not mind coming there for the sweet potato balls another time. lol
 
Date of Visit: Mar 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0