OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4599 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲728 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
A little tough for me OK Dec 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | BBQ

I tried their bak kwa for 3 pieces (手工) $5. Though it looks nicely grilled, I find the meat a little tough though. Apparently I think the are also the suppliers for other brand names due to the packaging seen. Anyway there were only 2 types of bak kwa available - the hand made ones and the machine mixed meat. But I'm sure nearer to CNY, the prices will increase. Its already quite highly priced now IMO. $40/kg for dried pork. The location of this stall is right opposite the temple after quality hotel. They also sell other confectionery like tau sar piah etc.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bak Kwa
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hot Di Sum Serving OK Dec 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Dim Sum

you love and hate this stall. love them for the freshly made dim sum, steamed on the spot after u order. hate them for always not delivering it when they claim they would. twice I ordered I was told to take a seat it will be delivered but both occasion I needed to go back and take the food after 10min of non delivery. the owner feels a little impatient IMO.

to the food. I was impressed with the fan choy. it wasnt dry and hard, its actually soft and moist, u will feel its made just this morning. the pork ribs as well you do not feel the starch sauce but nice non clumped pork ribs. qty wise could be improved though. my 2 dim sum adds up to $3.70. not thr cheapest for coffeeshop prices but its a good bf option for hot food

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Impressive interiors Smile Oct 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

First of all I must say the restaurant really catches one attention with its name. Was honored to be shared by the owner himself that it was named after his 2 daughters. It also has a meaning to him as he went against all odds and even sold his house to fund this restaurant business, the "can do" spirit which alot of us should really learn from.

 

From car plates from US states to roman helmets to nazi headgear to golden record labels to variety of musical instrument...these were just some of the very nostalgic feel decorations you can find in the shop. In my opinion, just running thru each of them with yr eyes will probably take you hours I kid you not. We were told the highlight of the deco include the very old look standing hair steamer which is just placed beside a white metal sliding gate. Yes there's a old school sliding gate in the shop.

Furniture wise was non uniform ranging from sofas to glass tables to small tools and old school chairs, but it perfectly blends with the vast variety of interior deco. The owner also shared that they are gaining increasing popularity as a wedding photography option. I could simply understand why just looking at the efforts in dolling up the place.

For drinks, I tried the sunset boulevard which taste like a fruit version of ice lemon tea. It was nice and refreshing, served in one of those cool glass mugs.

 
 I also like my mains - chicken curry with bread. The curry reminds me of Steam Sia version and is served in this nice saucer with a matching porcelain pot. For $10.90 it's not the best but good enough for me. My other guest who tried the pasta wasn't too impressed though but we are agreed the place's design do make up for it. 
chix curry with bread

chix curry with bread

 

 

Food dun seem to be a main focus here as it was hard to tell what cuisine they specialize in but u do see a couple of interesting drinks and dish name on the menu.

 


I would recommend this for small group gathering of 3 to 4pax. And I'm sure you can be free from the usual noisy diners blabbering/chats and enjoy nice cosy conversation with friends. mad


 
Recommended Dish(es):  Curry Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Oct 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Keep up the standard Smile Oct 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Steaks and Grills

Dun recall seeing this stall last time. The name seems to imply it moved from sim lim square last time. I ordered the black pepper steak which seems to be the only steak option here. Waiting time took around 4min which is acceptable. You will be given 2 satchet of chilli but no serviette which they should. I was pleasantly delighted by its taste and sauce and immediately made comparison with char grill bar. If only they hv given more coleslaw or baked beans, it could hv been a clear favorite. The slice bread is cut into 2 but it does bear the garlic spread taste. It was also good their steak did not come with too much fatty loin section. Overall a decent eat. mad
$7.50 Bps

$7.50 Bps

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

For the Healthy Snack Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine

Got a packet of this dried fruit food snack at $3. It was not labelled with the name but i love trying out such healthy snacks. It sure looks like sun dried raisins, it looks a little big for normal raisin but too small to be a prune. Maybe its thompson or muscat based grapes. Or maybe its fruits i'm not sure. But i like it that its not too sweet, seedless and certainly feels healthy smile. They also serve other kinds of nuts and seeds.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 10, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0