OpenRice Index
  
hushpuppy
This is hushpuppy living in Sengkang. I am a enthusiast in the land of foodies..., work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, homecook are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, food and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Chicken Rice, junk food.
Member 93 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4599 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1443 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews132 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow213 Following
粉絲728 Follower(s)
hushpuppy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
MeatBall FTW OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Hawker Centre | Noodles

Finally had the chance to try the handmade meatballs. Opted for the $5 big bowl, i get around 5 meatballs and 5 fishball, pretty generous i must say. Meatball was nice and big, thumbs-up. I actually prefer the meatball over the fishball, wonder if they have a all meatball $5 version LOL.

 

 

 
But today the meepok was a little off form, All clumped up after a while and chilli was over aggressive in quantity.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Countryside Dining OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Exploring the countryside brought us to this place, also opened to public, you get free parking and a nice view while you have your meal. Ordered the Fried Hokkien Mee $7.30 in dark sauce and 1/2 dozen deep fried chicken wing $8.90 and ice cendol on glass $3.30. The hokkien mee is actually normal ci car style, not too bad i must say, its served on a metal mini work instead just on a plate. But the chicken wing was disappointing, had a wierd taste and perhaps attributed to bad marination of the powder on it. The dessert was nice to cool down on a hot day, i actually find it quite decent though golfers behind me was whining about that its not nice.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Location Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Live Sports Broadcast

They have since shifted from their little india location to the St James area, nested within St James Wine Bar & Bistro. It may be a little confusing for diners now as no signage can be seen. The place was pretty empty when we reached at 815pm. The place is a little dark as its more pub style inside but there were large screen tv screening soccer. There is live band on certain days apparently. The usual nostalgic decorations of antique items are still around. On top of that, there seems to be a steamboat option now, available from 6pm onward from Mon to Sat, and on Sun from 1pm onward. Anyway we gladly took a seat near it. Ordered the signature chix curry and tom yum spaghetti seafood. Both the signature dish standard did not disappoint. Though i wish the portion to be a little more. The bread went well with the curry gravy which is thick and flavorful. The pasta was on the spicy side and feels like dry version of a laksa. The bill adds up to be $43.20.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

HongKong Cuisine OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Zi Char | Kids-Friendly

2nd visit here after many years. Will focus on the dish naming and prices. Sesame cashew nuts $7 per plate. One claypot of soup 老火汤, good for 4 pax to share $28. They will dish out the pork spare ribs and put it on a plate, you will just be served the soup. Half a Peking duck $34 即烧片皮鸭, we opt for the skin and duck meat to be both wrapped with the egg skin. Sauce was pretty standard, and cucumber slices are rpovided. Foe gras beef cubes $28 鹅肝葱爆牛柳粒, this comes with lots of onion, leeks and red pepper. Triple egg Chinese spinach $24, rice at $2 per bowl, this dish was a little weak though with the Yi Jia South standard being much better. Dessert mango pomelo and sago at $7 each. Total bill was $185 inclusive of $8 cover charge, service charge $15.80 and GST $12.17.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A little siagon OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Coffeeshop

It looks like a authentic vietnamese restaurant from some of the Facebook postings seen online. The shop is also blessed by some vietnamese priest. there are 2 outdoor seats and the rest are indoors. When we were there there was a huge group of vietnamese students i think, speaking in their native language. Anyway i got to know that the owner married a Vietnam wife and its the wife that helms the kitchen now. They are assisted by an old lady whom i guess is the mother.

 

 

 
Now to the food, fried ong choy is actually our kang kang $5, interesting to have this veggie stir fried instead of sambal style, not too bad. Chicken wings were nice, coated with what seemingly feel abit like marmite coating. The spring rolls $2.80 for 3, were average though, losing out to the NamNam noodle bar type. Beef pho $6.50 was also average only with lots of green onion and onions added.

 

 

 

 

 
There was an interesting grass jelly coconut $3 though, recommended for those with a sweet tooth. Also don't order the cheap vietnamese tea at $1, its tasteless. Overall i would just rate this place average, with quite a slow service and long waiting time despite not being crowded, i will probably not return again.

 

 
 
Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0