OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Disappointing dining experience  Cry Feb 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Sisters and I decided to have an early pre- Chinese New Year gathering with a couple friend. We decided on japanese cuisine so we chose Ichiban Boshi located at Centrepoint, Somerset. It is a walking distance from Somerset MRT station. We arrived around 7pm and we able to get a seat immediately. Restaurant was not full house and there are seats at every part of the restaurant.

 

 
We are seated at the end corner of the restaurant which is able to fit 6 pax of us. Menu was served the moment we are seated. After browsing the menu, we decided to place an order. However, we have difficulties getting attention from the staffs. We put our hands up and wave to get attention from the staff but failed.

 
After several attempts, we managed to get our attention from the staff. We placed our orders and waited for more than 20 minutes to have our order served. We ordered Salmon Avocado handroll @S$2.40++ and California handroll as well. We were expecting the handrolls to serve first before the main course. But, the main course came first before the handroll. So, we called the staff to check on our order and follow up on our order as well. Salmon avocado handroll was served after our follow up but it is not what is shown in the menu. The handroll does not come with avocado and I requested for an exchange. California handroll came much later after 2 main courses were served.

 
Sister ordered Chicken Nanban Wazen @S$18.90++ . This set menu comes with side dish (chilled tofu), salmon sashimi, soft shell crab, deep fried chicken cutlet with in-house dressing cream and of course includes a bowl of rice, miso soup and fruit. The chicken cutlet is nicely fried and tasted crispy on the outer skin. The meat texture is tender and juicy. Sister was very filling with this set. However, the side dish was served frozen with ice. We are quite skeptical with it and decided to check with the service staff. When we checked with the staff, he replied that it was supposed to be like that. However, i was not convinced and request the staff to check further with the kitchen staff. True enough, the staff brought back another brand new tofu which has been fully defrost and smooth.

 
My friend ordered Kurobuta Nabe Gozen @ $23.90++. The set comes black pork with assorted vegetables in dashi stock, salmon & brocolli with spicy cod roe maynnoise & cheese, smoked duck roll, udon, appertizer & fruit. She was quite pleased with her choice as the slices of black pork was just nice to go with soup base. We can even request to top up the soup base without additional charges.

 
We also ordered Ishiyaki Kurobuta Rice Set @ $17.90++ which comes with black pork with capsicum on rice in hotstone, salmon sashimi & miso soup. The menu has stated the waiting time is 20-25 minutes long. Hotstone was sizzling hot when it is served so we need to mixed them as soon as possible to avoid the bottom rice get burnt.

 
I ordered Tokusen Beef & Foie Gras Don @ $22.90++. This order comes with sliced premium beef on rice topped with goose liver & spicy cod roe mayonnaise served with miso soup. I think the price is reasonable and decided to give it a try. The premium sliced beef tasted juicy and tender which compliments well with the sauce.Combination of the beef and foie gras was awesome.

 
We also ordered ala-carte -Fried Salmon Skin @ $2.40++. It comes with crispy salmon skin with mayonnaise.This can be quite addictive when you start having it.

 
Justin ordered ala-carte- Hotate Cheese Yaki @ $11.90++. Served on hotplate and it was pretty cheesy as the menu stated. It is best to have it with rice otherwise it could be quite salty by having it alone.

 
Lastly, we ordered Yu Sheng called Celebration @ $21.80++ for our first ‘lo hei’ for year 2014. This is best served for 2-3 persons as stated in the menu. We ordered the smallest portion as we are quite full with our main course. The Yu Sheng comes with 12 slices of salmon and of course the symbolic meaning for each yusheng ingredients ( Red sweetened ginger, peanut crunch , pickled leek , chuka kurage, winter melon, pickled cucumber, chuka wakame , pok chui biscuits , pickled melon ,sweetened lime , five spice, cinnamon and pepper powder).

We requested the staff to clear the tables before we order Yu Sheng. The staffs are not attentive at all and we need to get attention to get them to clear the tables before we placed our order for Yu Sheng. We told the store manager to clear the tables and refill the tea but she wasn’t really paying attention on what we told her. So, when the young lady came to refill our tea, we told her again. Finally, a young lady staff cleared the tables all by herself and get our order processed.

 
Overall dinner services are quite disappointing. So, I wrote an email to highlight on the issues above. They came back with explanation and apologize on the staff services and food quality.They also replied on the actions taken upon my email and closed the case. I hope that the services in this particular outlet will improve and noted on our feedback.

Read more on my blogpost: http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tokusen Beef & Foie Gras Don,Fried Salmon Skin
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not A Wise Choice Cry Dec 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Belgian | Bars/Lounges | Kids-Friendly

 

 
My friends and I decided to have a drink on Christmas Eve. We headed to Brussels after dinner. We were approached by the staff to try on their Christmas special menu. I decided to give it a try on the special edition appetizer called Magnum & Vienetta @S$18++. It is actually the white asparagus & parma ham with vienetta ice-cream and foie gras & almond magnum. The combination triggers my interest so I decided to give it a try. I was quite disappointed with the presentation and the portion given. As for the taste wise, I don’t feel the combination taste right. White asparagus with the vienetta ice-cream taste bland and the parma ham tasted much more stronger. Taste of the foie gras is there but I think the combination with magnum ice-cream tasted weird. I can’t taste the magnum taste too.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 24, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brunch Not a Choice Cry Mar 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

Had a brunch date with a friend on last Saturday at Plaza Singapura shopping mall. It’s accessible from dhoby ghaut MRT station. Since he is back from overseas and craving for asian cuisine, we decided to have it at Xin Wang Café located at level 6 of the shopping mall.

I ordered Iced HK Milk Tea @S$3.50. Taste wise is normal and no much comment on it.
Followed by French Toast @S$4.90 for sharing of 2 persons before we have our main course. The French toast taste is just fine. The texture is fluffy and you can taste the honey sweetness with the butter spread over the French toast.

 

 

 
I ordered Luncheon Noodle @S$7.50 which I think totally not worth it. The noodle texture is hard to chew. So is the luncheon meat.Totally hard to chew. I ended up leaving the plate unfinished. Totally wasted.

 
My friend ordered Beef Sauteed Hor Fun @S$9.90. Totally disappointing taste! There is no wok taste and the sauce doesn’t even blend well with the hor fun. Tasteless I would say. However, the portion is quite generous though.

Overall the food is quite disappointing for us. We don’t really enjoyed it and I personally think the price paid is not worth for it. However, the staff service is quite friendly. The old lady served us with a smile. Total bill was S$31.54 inclusive the above mentioned items and 1 Kopi ‘Xi” @S$1.00 and 10% Service Charge + 7% GST.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not much liking on the foods Cry Feb 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant

I had a dinner date with my friend on Sunday and we purposely choose Chinatown as our dinner location. My friend said wants to feel the Chinese new year mode. We headed to Chinatown Point shopping mall for our dinner.

We decided to try Eat At Taipei which is located at level 1. It’s bright and colourful interior concept design with Taiwan style. We were served by the staff immediately when we stand in front of the entrance. They were quite attentive to customers.
Signage

Signage

 
Menu

Menu

 
Foods that we ordered to try:-
Spring Onion pancake @S$4.50. We were quite disappointed with the presentation. It looks and taste like prata. I don’t taste the spring onion in the pancake too.

 
‘San Bei’ Chicken with basil @S$15.90. It has the similar concept like chicken hotpot. The chicken texture was tender and savour which is acceptable for us.

 
Tainan ‘Coffin’ Toast @S$2.90 which was one of the recommendation dish. The toast is a thick toast bread which the centre of it filled with seafood and creamy soup. I personally do not enjoy it. The soup taste milky and it can be very filling after a few bites. It will be best to share among friends if you wish to try.

 
Vermicelli with oysters and pig’s intestines @S$7.20. The soup is rather diluted and not strong.

 
I think I will not be dropping by any sooner as I am not fancy with the foods served. Neverthless, if you wish to a nice place to hang out for tea breaks, you can consider dropping by for a try.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Dining & Chill out Place OK Nov 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

It has been a while since my last OpenRice tasting. This time round is at CATO , the modern Asian restaurant and bar located just opposite the Sri Mariamman Temple. CATO offers an extensive list of craft beers, spirits and quirky tapas or bar bites. The 4 months old (opened on July 2015) is well-known with its craft beers but we are here to try their food for this session instead.

 

 
CATO occupied the first and second level of the shop house. The first level is the restaurant concept theme while the second level is in bar concept. We had our session at second level where the interior designs are rustic style with rough brick walls and wooden flooring. And the lighing at the bar was very dim so for those who opt for food photography, I would suggest to just relax with the music in-house, foods and drinks. Set aside on the photography!
Starter/ Appertizers/ Bites
Prawn Bisque with Homemade Cod Fish ball & Coriander Leaf S$12.00

 
The description of the dish pretty much explains the ingredients in the broth. The broth was prepared using the prawn stock and the cod fish ball added in to give a good start to chill as a bar snack. It comes in a size as an espresso cup.
Garlic Fries S$8.00

 
The fries served with roasted garlic and Cajun seasoning. I find the garlic taste was overwhelming but some find it not. Thus, it depends on individual preferences.
Chicken Noodle Salad S$16.00

 
Trust me! If you are not a spicy lover, you may want to skip this. I took the first bite and I can immediately feel the numb at my mouth and my throat is burning hot! So, be sure you inform the staff if you want the spiciness level to cut down.
Crispy Squid In Thai Style Glaza S$12.00

 
Fresh whole baby squid coated in flour and spice batter and seasoned with fish sauce before deep frying it. I would prefer to enjoy it with less batter so that I am able to taste the meaty squid in it. Neverthless, it’s a good order to go with beers.
CATO Wings in Homemade Chili Glaze S$15.00

 
Mild chili wings with slight sweetness taste at the outer layer of the skin.
Mains
Acai Cured Salmon S$18.00

 
Salmon was served in big cube chunks together with marinated starfruit, ceyhice and acai jelly. Too many flavours in the plate and I cannot really find the focus taste of this dish.
Steam Baked Pork Cheek S$28.00

 
Tender pork cheek wrapped with a fata cooking oil along with seasonal vegetables. There is an Aladdin lamp shape jar filled with mushroom and port wine mustard sauce at the side. The pork cheek was tender and juicy and the sauce enhanced the flavour of the meat.
Aunty Jasmine’s Fish Curry S$25.00

 
This is highly recommended as it’s the secret recipe by the Chef’s family member. The fish that they used was New Zealand Ling fish along with the okra , eggplant, carrots, yellow squash, olive infused caviar, chunks of breads and garnished with fried onions. The curry was made from stretch was thick and solid savory.
Desserts
Papaya Nougat Glace S$14.00

 
Beautifully plated on a nice round plate was served on the table. The nougat is homemade and topped with fresh fruits of papaya. raspberries, blueberries and caramelized almond. Fruity taste as whole.
Varlhona Warm Pistachio Chocolate Cake S$14.00

 
Chocolate cake served with almond ice-cream and some fresh pomegranate in between the plating. Although the chocolate lava cake does not flow as we expected, the chocolate cake was moist and rich flavour. I enjoyed having it with the pomegranate at the side. Plus, you will never go wrong to pair it with a scoop of ice-cream.
Overall there are some hits and misses on the dishes but if you are looking for a good place to chill out, CATO bar would be an ideal option as their specialty on craft beers were well-received. On top of these, they also have the S$1.00 special for fresh oysters starting 6pm on Wednesday Specials.

For more food reviews; http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Draft Beers
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0