OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Having Fried Chicken in "Clinic" OK Nov 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean Fried Chicken

For more information and reviews, check out my post http://www.hazeldiary.com
Chi-Maek referring to perfect combination of Chicken and Beer which is loved by Koreans like the drama “ My Love from The Star”. This combination is still going strong in F&B Singapore lately and Chicken Clinic is the latest addition. Chicken Clinic located at Thomson V Two (walking distance from Marymount MRT Station) specialized in Japanese and Korean style Fried Chicken. Nic and I was there around 4plus and the shop was empty and we were greeted by the staff with the menu and an order chit. We browsed through the menu and tick on our orders before handed back to the staff.

 
Since, the shop space is limited; we can actually get a glimpse on how the foods are prepared. The indoor seating can only fit up to 8 pax and there are few tables for outdoor seating area.Once the order is placed, we waited for approximately 10-15 minutes time for the foods to serve.
Seasoned Spicy Chicken S$19.50

 
We were being warned that there is certain spiciness level in it. Fried chickens dipped in Korean style sweet chili sauce look fiery red and I was expecting it to be fiery spicy too. But, it turned to be mild spicy with more sweetness in it. I don’t take spicy but I can handle the spiciness here. As I had more of it, I can taste the garlicky taste in it too. The set comes with sides of a small pail of fries, salad and also the seasoned pickles.
The unique of Chicken Clinic here is that the sauce is served in syringe form and you seem like having doing an ‘operation’ to eat it.
Watermelon Soju 400ml S$15.90

 
It is a refreshing fruity alcoholic drink to enjoy with the fried chicken. If you notice, there are lemon slices in the watermelon soju enhance the tangy taste in it. We were served with 2 small soju cups and it was quite hassle to keep pouring it as we finish it at one gulp each time. After few rounds of drinking, I can feel the alcohol kick starting to take effect.
Buta Yakiniku Dong S$10.50

 
Steam Rice with pork dipped in soy sauce. The pork slices were as thin as 0.2mm were served. It would be nice if pork slices can be thicker and more gravy added in so that overall meal is not too dry.
Overall the services here are friendly and approachable. The lady gave us suggestions before we decide on our orders. The Korean chef was in smiles all the time and you can feel their polite manners to the customers.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Watermelon Soju
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Tom Yum Lobster OK Oct 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

Golden Mile Complex is known as “Little Thailand” in Singapore. As you step into the complex, most of the restaurants are selling thai cuisines. There are mini mart selling Thai ingredients as well. Most people who comes to this place to satisfy their Thai cuisine cravings. So many restaurants to choose from and there are new openings too. One of the recent F&B venture is the Abb Zabb with their signature Tom Yum Lobster.

 
Abb Zabb is owned by a couple where the husband is Singaporean and the wife is Thai. The stall is located at Level 2 where they share the space with other stall owners. The stall sells the signature dish along with other Thai foods for further varieties.

 

 

 
Tom Yum Lobster (Luxe Version S$38.00 | Deluxe Version S$15.00)
There are two version of the Tom Yum Lobster -Luxe Version and Deluxe Version. For the luxe version, it comes with one whole boston lobster, abalone slices, squids, mussels, scallops seafoods. It is quite luxurious seafood serving with affordable pricing. As for the deluxe version, it comes with half lobster with seafoods ingredients except for the abalone slices. With the combination of seafoods, the soup base tasted sweet and not overwhelmed with spiciness. However, I find the lobster meat is slightly overcooked though.
All versions come with a choice of straight glass noodles or the curly instant noodles.

 
Fresh Oysters with Chilli Condiments S$12.00.If you are an oyster lover, you will love this raw plate to spice up your appetite.

 
Thai Basil Chicken Kuay Tiew S$6.00.If you ask me which is my favourite of all, I will vote for this. Delish and value for money. Mixed of fusion style with kuay tiew as the serving and aromatic thai basil minced chicken definitely fill up your empty stomach within minutes.

For more food reviews, check out my blog : http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner with Sunrise Bistro & Bar OK Sep 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Bars/Lounges | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

For more food reviews, check out my blog http://www.hazeldiary.com

I was introduced to Sunrise Bistro & Bar which is located at Big Splash, East Coast of sunny Singapore last month. The bistro serves all day breakfast dishes and also dinner dishes. Sunrise Bistro & Bar also offers extensive wine and beer list with small bites and savory ala-carte to enjoy as well.

 
It was a private food tasting session with a group of foodies. We were introduced to Executive Chef & Owner, Vincent Teng (41 years old) of the bistro.
Starter

 
Seafood Chowder Soup
Creamy seafood soup S$12.00++ with seasonal fresh seafood topped with chopped chives and extra virgin olive oil. There is a slight sweetness taste with tomato based in the soup. Although the price is a the steep side for starter, the soup has the seasonal seafood ingredients included.

 
Seared Foie Gras S$19.00++ was my favourite. Seared goose liver on brioche bread layered with mango with citrus jam and berry compote. The goose liver texture was literally rich and smooth flavour texture with the fruity taste to kick off the night.
Main Course

 
Sunrise “Fish & Chips” S$26.00++ is served with crispy fried red snapper with lemon myrtle pepper served with mango salsa, tartare sauce and French fries. Instead of dory fish which is commonly used for fish & chips, Chef Vincent opt for red snapper. It gives me a fusion taste of this dish.

 
Cereal Crusted Cod Fish S$28.00++ is the baked codfish with cereal crust served with seasonal vegetable braised in sesame oil, mirin and ginger shoyu broth.I am totally in love with the fish texture. Crispy crusted codfish skin and soft fish meat in the inner part. Along with the sides served, this dish is well-received that night.

 
Asian Five Spice Duck Leg Confit.S$28.00++ Delicately sous vide 8 hours crispy duck leg infused with five spice served with citrus salad and passionfruit sauce. Crispy skin with tender meat is perfect for a meal.

 
Marmite Canadian Pork Shoulder S$26.00++ is also one of the dish that is sous vide for 12 hours. The pork shoulder is marinated with marmite before grilling it and followed by sous vide and served with seasonal vegetable. Thus, the texture of the pork shoulder is juicy and tender. Diners can comfortably enjoy with smooth cut on plate.

 
BBQ Beef Short Ribs S$32.00++ is sous vide for 24hours so that it can be tender and roast with homemade BBQ sauce served with seasonal vegetables. I would recommend you to give this a try with the delicate preparation of long hours to achieve the tenderness and juiciness of the meat.
Dessert

 
Tiramisu Semi Freddo S$12.00++ served in semi frozen mascarpone cheese layered with coffee liquer jelly sponge topped with milo crunch and tuile biscuit.60% of the mascarpone cheese gives a tangy finish for tiramisu and the idea of adding in milo crunch is to give the texture of the dessert. It’s a different way of serving tiramisu that gives a touch of asian mixture.

 
Salted Egg Yolk Custard Molten Chocolate Cake S$14.00++ was the dope that night. Warm chocolate cake with melting salted egg yolk custard in the centre served with vanilla ice-cream.
Sides

 
Luncheon Chips S$9.00++. Luncheon meat thinly sliced and tasted so crispy that we couldn’t stop eating. It’s best to pair it with beers.
French fries with truffle oil S$5.00++
In summary, the foods served here are delicately created by the Chef Vincent with the French and Chinese inspired cuisine. Although the location seems to be out of place, it is ideal for some romantic dinners or celebration choice. The prices are within the range of general restaurant pricing but you can enjoy the luxury spacious dining ambience here. They also served breakfast brunch during the day time. You can always opt to give a try on their daytime menu.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Porridge/Congee

For more reviews, check out : http://hazeldiary.com

ChaoZhou Porridge is where epicureans can step back in time and relish the erstwhile Teowchew dishes. The head chef has over 10 years of experience and is learned in the way of Teochew cooking. Located at River Valley Road, the restaurant offer a range of dishes which include the Chaozhou signature and Chaozhou porridge. The restaurant is fully air-conditioned with marble round tables and wooden stools to enjoy the meal. There is also soft comfortable music that diners can enjoy throughout the session.

 
We started off with Steamed Meat Ball with Porridge Water S$5.50/ pc. It is my first time trying and the meatball served is big. It has the mixture ingredients of pork and vegetables. Although the meatball tasted slightly salty with the pork meat in it, it goes well with the porridge water.

 
Big Sotong with Homemade Sauce S$6.90. The squids are first steamed and then chilled making it into a cold appertiser. It is served along the sweet sour sauce tinged with a spicy note. I enjoyed the chewy texture of the squid that goes pretty well with their homemade sauce. We even ordered for second servings.

 
Cold Bean Curd with Preserved Radish S$4.80 is also one of the winning dish. It is best to pair with a bowl of porridge with the savoury sauce topped with spring onions.

 
Clams with soy sauce S$6.90 served as a cold dish.
ChaoZhou Porridge S$0.70 prepared by immersing rice into boiling water and then cooked under high heat. Such a process splits and separates the rice grains. Each rice grain then becomes softened. The water also turns into a light porridge base. When presented, the bowl of porridge reflects the divide between mountain and the sea. The porridge follows an authentic Teochew recipe. Little did I know that cooking a bowl of porridge takes a skill and knowledge as well. Sometimes small little things does make a difference in taste, texture and also in our life.

 
Braised Delight Platter S$16.90 (Duck, Pork Belly, Large Intestines, Egg, Bean Curd, Tau Pok) is best for sharing and for those who wants to have more choices on the table. I enjoyed the large intestines with the sauce. Overall, it is a pocket friendly dish for sharing.

 
Preserved Radish Omelette S$2.50 (S), S$4.50 (L). My favourite dish of the night. It’s my childhood favourite often cooked by my grandma and mother. And you will never go wrong with porridge. The dish here has the crispy bites from the fried egg at the edges and you can taste the preserved radish in between the spread. But if you are a huge fan of preserved radish, you will find it less enjoyable as the spread of the preserved radish is limited in my point of view.

 
ChaoZhou Steamed Mullet based on seasonal pricing. The whole fish is steamed in the pot first before having its gut removed. The fish texture remains juicy and soft but I find it ordinary and no much of ‘wow’ factor in it. Vegetables are added in for crunchy bites as well.

 
Crisp-fried Taro Rolls with minimum 3 pieces S$2.30/pc. Desserts are served with a crispy exterior that encases cotton ball, soft taro. I would think the taste would be great if it is served piping hot.
Overall, there are hit and misses dishes served here in ChaoZhou Porridge. The consistency of the taro/ yam needs to be improved. Other than this, there is a station in the restaurant which showcase a range of selection of Chinese side dishes to go with a bowl of porridge. If you wish for visual references on dishes to order, you can walk over to the station to choose your selections. I still think that having Teochew porridge for breakfast or even supper would be ideal choice. It is a comforting and filling dish and best for a family sharing.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Western Foods OK Aug 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta

Sometime back I joined the foodies for an invited tasting at Fish Tales. Located in ‘SCAPE’ which is a walking distance from Somerset MRT station, Fish Tales is a seafood place that specialized in all types of fishes with a range of pastas and sides. The seating areas are scattered along the shopping aisles where you are open to public while dining.

 
There are free flow fruit-infused water available at the corner for self-service. I think this is best for those who prefer to order mains only.
So, what’s are the dishes you can find in Fish Tales?
Sides

 
Truffle Fries S$7.50 with generous portion serving,

 
Mozzarella Cheese Sticks S$4.80 that is so cheesy that we tried to see how long can the cheese extend.
Mains

 
Sambal Prawns S$8.90 , known as the best seller dish. The sample sauce is made in-house with their secret recipe. If you are a spicy lover, go for this as the spiciness gives you a good kick start of the meal.

 
Soft Shell Crab Pasta S$12.90 that serves the whole soft shell crab serving. Crispy texture of the soft shell crab with meaty taste would be a pretty decent choice.

 
Salmon Carbonara S$6.90 (Light Catch)/ S$10.90 comes with the creamy sauce combination. Decent I would say with the price offer and the serving portion but do not expect a big cubes of salmon meats in it.

 
Squid Ink S$12.90 which leaves the squid ink black colour on your lips.Best not to order this if you are going for a dinner date.

 
Original Classic Fish & Chips S$5.90 (Light Catch) / S$9.90. Decent pricing with well-balanced of serving.
Beaurre Au Citron S$7.90 (Light Catch) / S$11.90 served with garlic, butter and lemon.

 
Citron Sea Bass S$13.90 served with classic garlic lemon butter sauce.
Fish Tales offers a pocket friendly pricing especially in Orchard area. They do strategically price their foods at a reasonable price so that students can afford the western cuisine. However, there are also hit and misses dishes but given the overall range of foods served and quality, I still think Fish Tales did a pretty job in securing their niche market at SCAPE. And most importantly there is no GST and service charges applicable.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 16, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0