OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
The Flamming Pineapple Smile Oct 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Fusion

For more foods reviews, check out my blog http://hazeldiary.com
Tung Lok Group latest venture, Lokkee is located at Plaza Singapura. The restaurant uses part of Lao Beijing Restaurant’s space to operate. Lokkee concept is inspired by the chinese take-out foods in Chinatown across the cosmopolitan cities. Thus, the foods served have the mixture of east meets west cuisine.

 
Interior of the Restaurant
Once we entered into the restaurant, we were greeted by the cute star wars statue drinking bubble tea at the front entrance. The reception cum cash counter is on the right side.
The restaurant is designed with modern concept with detailing on the walls and tables are in black colour and chairs are in deep red colour. There are Chinese brush paintings of Star Wars hanging at the walls of the dining area. VIP rooms are available in the restaurants as well.
And if you observe, each table has a big bottle of Sriracha sauce. Let’s move on to the foods we ordered that day:-
Foods
Appetiser
Sichuan ‘Mala’ Fish Fries S$14.00

 
Fried cut fish served with numbing spice Sichuan seasoning. It is an interesting way of serving fish in fries. I can have it as my mains with the portion served.
Poultry & Meat
Awesome Flaming Pineapple Beef S$28.00

 
Lokkee’s version of coconut braised beef served in a dug-out pineapple. The pineapple was set on fire upon serving giving everyone a visual treats. The braised beefs were tender and juicy. The gravy of the dish after digging it towards the end of the pineapple has a sweet taste in it.
Firecracker Chicken Nest S$24.00

 
Deep-fried diced chicken served with chopped dried chilies and mango puree. It comes with 4 mango purees around the plating and additional one will cost S$3.00 each. It resembles ‘egg yolk’ for the first glance and eye-catching for photography.
The service staff advises us to enjoy the chicken first followed by the mango puree. Loving the crispy bites of the deep fried chicken and careful the power of the dried chilies in between the meats. The mango puree spheres give bursts upon the bite and it is good for aftertaste of the spicy delights.
Shredded Crispy Duck with Thin Flour Skins S$16.00

 
Shredded deep-fried duck confit served with thin flour skin wraps was pretty decent. Since it is duck confit, the duck skin is expected to be slightly tougher. Nevertheless, the mixture with the slice of cucumber and the sides make up the wraps tasted flavourful.
Beancurd & Vegetables
Mapo Tofu S$16.00

 
Freshly in-house made tofu with numbing spice minced beef sauce. We can request for less spicy if required. Nice and smooth tofu to go with a bowl of white rice.
Bao
Pork Cracklins Bao S$13.00

 
Crispy pork cracklins with fermented beancurd sauce comes in two pieces only. I enjoyed the crackling skin and the soft tender pork texture in it. However, I would prefer more sauce in it as the pork taste bland in its own.
Rice & Noodles
Uni Pasta S$24.00

 
Uni Pasta with cream sauce and there are bits of uni traces on this plate of pasta. I find it too creamy but others find it just nice. Thus, the taste is quite subjective based on individual preferences.
Shrimp Garlic Noodles S$16.00

 
Stir-fried noodles with shrimp and garlic. Nothing much to rave with it but this plate of noodles are nicely prepared and the shrimps are fresh and big.
Dessert
Banana Egg Roll S$10.00

 
Banana spring rolls served with coconut sorbet was just nice for 5 of us. The coconut sorbet was refreshing and compliments well with the crispy spring rolls and soft banana texture in it. I would say it is a creative way to enjoy ‘pisang goreng’.
The dining experience was pleasant as the service staffs are well-trained. They are polite and put on a smile to customers. The foods here are innovative and inspired with fusion style. I would visit again for the foods and services here.
Sub-total bill was S$201.50 but we managed to enjoy 15% off by using UOB credit card. Thus, the final amount was S$211.32 inclusive of 10% service charges and 7% GST. The amount includes our drinks as well.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Awesome Flaming Pineapple Beef,Firecracker Chicken Nest
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $43(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Reasonable & Delish Breakfast Smile Sep 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Brunch

I have been eyeing on the opening of Clinton St. Baking Company and Restaurant whenever I pass by everyday at work. Finally it’s open for soft opening on 19 September which is a week ago. Located along Purvis Street, the restaurant is just a walking distance away from City Hall MRT or Bugis MRT station. This is the first branch in South East Asia holding several “Best Titles” across the media with its’ legendary pancakes.
We arrived around 8.10am on 24 September which is Selamat Hari Raya Haji (Public Holiday) and surprisingly, families and friends started to flood into the restaurant for breakfast.The streets are so quiet early morning of public holiday but the restaurant was filled with the crowd. We managed to get the seats before the crowd came.

 

 

 
Since it’s early morning, the Chicken & Waffles are not available. So, if you are craving for this, come after 11:30 am onwards. Since most of the social media has been reviewing about Buttermilk Biscuit Sandwich, we thought of trying other dish from the menu instead. So, we ordered Clinton St. Omelette S$18.00 with the choice of two filling. The staff recommended us to have cheese and mushrooms omelette served with hash browns and sourdough toast. There is also option to substitute egg whites or greens for S$3.00 and additional fillings S$2.00 each. But, I think the portion is just nice for 1 pax and do not need to add on anymore. I can’t even finish it all by myself so sharing is possible for small eaters. The combination of mushroom and cheese with the eggs was pretty decent. The cheese taste was not overwhelming and I can taste the mushroom juiciness within the omelette. Although the presentation is not photogenic compared to the Buttermilk Biscuit Sandwich, but I think the overall taste was good and filling at a reasonable pricing.

 

 
Next, we had the famous Pancakes with Warm Maple Butter S$18.00. There are three options available – wild blueberries, banana walnut or chocolate chunk. We decided to go with wild blueberries. Thick stacks of pancakes with wild blueberries as the topping was served on the table.I enjoyed the pancakes texture as it was fluffy with the blueberries sweetness in it.Not forgetting the warm maple butter drizzled over the pancakes makes a sweet ending to the meal.

 
Lastly, we ordered Sugar Cured Bacon S$7.00 as ala-carte. It was a good choice as we are in love with the crispy and sweet coated layer of the bacon. It reminds me when I first tried at Morganfield’s but this is absolutely delish. It’s like a snack or appertizer for your meal to kick off.

 
As for our drinks, I had Grapefruit juice S$7.00 and Janel got Latte S$6.00. Pure grapefruit juice taste with nice fragrance of latte smell to perks the morning wake.
I have not been to New York to try the Clinton Street Baking Company so thankful for their first branch here in Singapore. I foresee myself returning to try other foods in the menu other day. Thus, hopefully the foods quality and consistency will maintain during my next visit. If you are planning give a try, do anticipate the waiting time. We were there early morning and they seem like short of manpower and customers will need to wait for a while before they can get seated. Thus, bear with the operation flows and enjoy the meal. The staffs do greet the customers with a smile even before and after the meal. This marks a sweet dining experience with Clinton Street Baking Company at Purvis Street.
Total Bill S$65.91 inclusive of 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sugar Cured Bacon,Pancakes with warm maple butter
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $33(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Meatless Lunch Session Smile Sep 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Vegetarian

For more food reviews, check out: http://hazeldiary.com

It has been a while since I last had a vegetarian meal. Elemen 元素 located at Millenia Walk is the newly 2 months old vegetarian restaurant which was introduced by Eileen over the tasting last weekend. It is accessible via Promenade MRT station. We were shared that the restaurant is operated under the subsidiary of the Koufu Management. And they are going to have second outlet opening at Thomson in few weeks time.

 
The restaurant offers 5-course lunch set meal S$23.80++ which is available from Monday till Friday and 8 course set meal S$32.80++ . There was quite a range of selection for the individual categories (Starters, Mains, Drinks & Desserts). Here are some of the choices that we tried the other day:
Elemen Appertizer

 
Once the appertizer was served on the table, the staff advises us to eat from left to right. We started off with the rolled cucumber stuffed with lotus paste and sauce. Followed by the black sesame tofu and ended with cherry tomato in plum sauce.

 
Quinoa Salad
This is definitely a healthy choice. Quinoa served along with the greens and slices of beetroots give the extra crunchy bites as a start of the meal.

 
Mushroom Salad
It’s my first time trying Chinese style mushroom salad. The salad is nicely plated on the table with three different types of mushroom with sauce.

 

 
There were 4 choices of soup which includes the chinese-style and western style. We were served with Maca Soup and Mushroom Soup with white truffle oil. Maca Soup is a tonic soup which I can have the mushroom soup all by myself with the fragrance taste of truffle oil.
Main Course

 
Avocado Roll in Japanese Style.You can even enjoy Japanese style food served in vegetarian restaurant.

 
Wild Mushroom and White Truffle Pizza. I love the thin crusted layer with the spreads of cararnalised arugula leaves and sautéed wild mushrooms. The pizza topped with shaved cheese and white truffle oil is definitely a plus point for me.

 
Tomato with Mozzarella Pizza. Thin crusted pizza with the sun-dried tomatoes and spreaded with mozzarella pizza would be a delight choice for the kids.

 
Braised Golden Brown Pumpkin with Glutinous Rice served in Hot Stone. Everyone went ‘Wow’ when it was served on the table with the hot bubble sizzling. This is quite an interesting dish as the glutinous rice is fried and served along with the pumpkins, green apple, king oyster mushrooms braised in red wine and teriyaki sauce. You can taste the chewy glutinous rice and pairing it with other ingredients is decent.

 
Mushroom Risotto with Black Truffle. It seems like well-received among foodies with the texture of the risotto and taste of the black truffles in it.
Desserts
There were 4 choices and we decided to try everything. Ice-cream with Chocolate Lava Cake was my favourite dessert. The lava cake was moist and soft paired with vanilla gelato is always a great combination. I find myself couldn’t stop enjoying it and best part is that the gelato has a lower fat content so you can indulge without guilt.
Chilled Coconut Puree.This dessert will be the best option for such a hot weather. Cooling refreshing coconut taste.
Osmanthus Flower with Grass Jelly which tasted mild for my tastebud.But I do enjoy the jelly texture with the combination of osmanthus flower.
Panna Cotta with Raspberry Sauce. Freshly made raspberry sauce as the topping of the dessert.

 
Drinks are served after the meal when dining with Elemen. There are quite a few selections from the menu. Here are the four types of ice drinks for your visual satisfaction. From your left: Lychee Green Tea, Lemongrass Tea, Iced Passionfruit Tea and Grapefruit Mojito.
Overall it’s quite an experience dining in Elemen enjoying the vegetarian dishes. I personally feel that vegetarians can give it a try as the selections are quite wide and the creation of dishes is fusion-style. Thus, you can also enjoy the delicacies from different culture which the chef creatively created for diners. Although I find it the price not cheap as no meats are served, the foods, services and ambience here are the plus point to your dining experience. Staffs are trained well with equip knowledge on the dishes with the benefits of it. These enable diners to be educated and informative on the dishes presented on the table.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ice-cream with Chocolate Lava Cake,Maca Soup,Mushroom Soup with white truffle oil
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome Dinner Deals Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Seafood

For more food reviews, check out my blog : http://hazeldiary.com

I have always wanted to try The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill but I am concerned my pocket will burn a hole. Since it was one of the Eileen’s birthday, we decided to have it here. Thanks to The Entertainer App, we get to enjoy the foods with affordable bill.
Located along One Fullerton, The Pelican has an al-fresco bar that caters to customers especially people working around the area to enjoy the drinks with light snacks with a view. The restaurant is well-known with it’s fresh seafood and we are so excited to try. I love the interior design of the restaurant with the yellow lighting with tear drop shape to lift up the ambience. The dining view overlooking the waterfront is also the plus point to enhance the dining experience.

 

 
Starters
Poached Lobster S$28.00. The lobster is poached in a vegetable stock and served on a bed of fennel and avocado dressing. I am impressed with the presentation which delights our pleasure to kick start of the night. All I want to say is that everything fresh is so worthy to enjoy. Although, I find it pricey, but the lobster claw meat served was quite big.
Sides

 
Blue Cheese Creamed Spinach S$12.00. If you are a cheese lover, give this a try and you will love it.
Mains

 
Panfried Baramundi S$42.00 served with sides, carrots and shallots. The plating style was beautiful and neat. Crispy texture of the fish skin with the tender barramundi meat was a good choice as a main.

 
Snapper Pie S$40.00 is the recommendation dish in the menu. The dish served with asparagus, mushroom and cream sauce. It was presented with the wrapped pie with crusty and fragrance smell from the kitchen. Once we cut open the pie, we can see the thick cream sauce along with the ingredients. It is definitely worth the calories.

 
Glacier 51 Toothfish S$45.00 which is known as Patagonian Toothfish. It’s my choice of the day and I enjoyed the fish coated with brioche crust. The crust tasted like bread crumbs texture and the fish texture was smooth with firm texture. Along the side was the olives, saffron corn sauce and kalian. This is my first time trying it and it has similarity with cod fish.

 
Clam Linguini S$32.00 tossed with garlic, chili and parsley. The clams are generous in servings and tasted fresh with the linguini.

 
The Pelican Burger S$35.00, is the Daily Catch recommendation in the menu. Burger serving with chopped steak, smoked ketchup and fries. I would prefer sharing for this as it can be quite filling. The chopped steak was nicely done with the juicy texture in it. We took quite a while to take photo and the patty is surprisingly still tender.

 
When the Steamed Halibut with Beetroot served on the table, we were caught into surprise on the plain appearances. As there is a saying, never judge a book by its cover. This applies here as well. Halibut was fresh and I felt healthy having it but I will not order it as my choice of main. I personally feel that the average price of S$40.00 for mains should be more impressive than this.
Dessert

 
Dessert that serves as a ‘birthday cake’ , the classic Whoppie Pie S$16.00. The staff was kind enough to prepare it with attaching firework sparks candle for few seconds of enjoyment. The shape is like having a chocolate mini cake and some even said like a burger shape. We love the rich chocolate flavour made from 66% Valrhona chocolate. Sinful and feeling satisfied having it.
Since we dine in as 4 pax, we are allowed to redeem 2 x BUY 1 FREE 1 main course with The Entertainer App. Truly pocket friendly dinner affairs. And of course beforehand, we did highlight to the staffs before placing the order to check with them on the available items under the app. The staff was kind enough to explain to us with patience. Kudos to their great services while dining with them. I will definitely be back to try other dishes but first, I need to start saving for a worthwhile meal here.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Whoopie Pie,Poached Lobster
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 29, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

"Heritage Flavours" Buffet Feast Smile Aug 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Multi-Cuisine | High Tea | Buffet

For more photos, check out my blogpost:http://hazeldiary.com/2015-08-ellenborough-market-cafe-swissotel-merchant-court/

August has been a fabulous month with the celebration of SG50, Golden Jubilee of Singapore and also my birthday month. I had a foodolicious over the jubilee weekend. One of the highlight is the food tasting session with foodies at Ellenborough Market Café, Swissotel Merchant Court. It was my second visit and you can read about my first visit here as a pay customer last year.

 

 
What’s so different of this month buffet is that they are having “Heritage Flavours” from 6th August till 23rd August 2015. In conjunction with Singapore reveling in her 50th birthday of the month, the dinner buffet here showcase the tastes, sights and sounds of Little Red Dot’s pioneering traditional cuisine on top of it’s usual dishes. And mega love with the bounteous offering of Fresh Durians and durian-based dishes to delight your palate.

 

 
There are live stations for satay, teh tarik ‘pulled’ right in front of you, deep-frying fried durians, pick up roasted nuts from the Kacang Puteh station and many more. What attracts me is the free flow of Mao Shan Wang durians where freshly-opened durians are served on the spot! Look at the mega display! Warning Sign: Try other dishes before indulging in durians as it can be very filling! But if you are aiming on the durian feast, this would be an ideal buffet for you too!

 
Other than the King of fruit and fried durians, there are durians and bacon fried rice to explore! It is my first time trying this and I think the durian taste mid in the fried rice. Nevertheless, it’s a good try dish for nostalgia moments. Durian Pengat and some other durian desserts are served at the dessert counter.

 
Grandma’s home cooking dishes are available during “Heritage Flavours” such as Chicken Feet Kerabu, Achar Awak (Nyonya Pickled Vegetables), Lor Ark (Braised Duck) and Steamed Patin Fish with Nyonya Sauce. Their signature slippery lobsters with black pepper sauce were well-received. It was clear every time I walked past and the staffs are quite efficient in re-filling the portions to cater to diners.

 

 
On top of these, their usual spreads are available as well. Do not miss the DIY kueh pie tee where you can customize your own ingredients for savoury. Local fried carrot cake and some of the signature hawker foods are available as well. And their chili crabs are served separately with mantou/ buns to dip with the gravy. Peranakan cuisines such as Ayam Buah Keluk is available.
Desserts stations are not to be missed. Serving all kinds of traditional and western style desserts that spoilt you with choices. There is also pandan flavored fondue instead of the usual chocolate fondue to suit the theme of the buffet.Kudos to the chef and management for being so innovative on the dishes.
There are hit and misses on some of the dishes but overall it’s worth pocket friendly buffet. Especially paying S$68.00++ for the buffet that includes international dishes and free flow durians. I would say give it a GO!

 
Supplementary Information:
Snap a Selfie Contest: Dress up in swinging 60s chic, snap a selfie, check-in at Swissotel Merchant Court and stand a chance to win a pair of Weekend High-Tea Vouchers at Ellenborough Market Café! Contest Ends 26 August 2016.

Three pairs of vouchers to be won.

Winners will be notified via Facebook.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Durians,Slippery Lobster with Black Pepper,Fried Durians
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0