OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, International are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Pleasant Dining Smile Jan 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian

 
Nothing beats with a perfect dinner ending after a whole day of hard work. Elaine and I decided to head to One Fullerton Bay for dinner. The place is known with it’s magnificent view of the Marina Bay Front.

We decided to pamper ourselves and headed to Forlino.The restaurant is located on the 2nd floor of One Fullerton with a beautiful view of the Marina bay front and overseas the view of Esplanade as well. Totally in love with the comtemporary italian dining interior design here. We were like walking from reality to Alice in Wonderland?Sound magicals but we were passing a maze of blue walls upon arriving the entrance of the restaurant. The staff greeted us at the reception/ waiting lounge and direct us to the dinning place.

 
The staff greeted us with a broad smile and gave us the menu for ordering. The staff will then share with us today’s special menu. They are all well-trained with the food knowledge and servicing in front line.
After browsing the menu, we had our order placed. We were then served with the complimentary starter before dinner.
Forlino’s signature freshly baked Foccacia Bread. The beauty of the bread is the top layer of the bread. It is crispy and slightly caramelized and soft fluffy at the bottom of the bread. It is just nice to eat plain and even with the raspadura cheese. Thumbs up!Raspadura cheese. Awesome I would say. I totally in love with it. I had them with the bread.

 
Here comes my main course- La Cotoletta @S$35.00.
It’s the herb crusted kurobuta pork loin with arrabbiata spicy tomato sauce. The tomato sauce was not spicy at all. It taste sweet and goes well with the pork loin. The kurobuta pork loin was nicely done.Crispy on the outer layer and soft and moist meat texture once you chew it into your mouth. Not to mention that the art food presentation makes our appertize grows.

 
Elaine had Filetto di Ippoglosso @S$38.00.
Pan Fried Halibut fillet with mussel,taggjana olive & spelt risotto,saffron jerusalem artichoke cream. It is a good choice. The chef is indeed displayed a splendid cooking skill as the skin of the fish was nicely pan fried but able to retain the juicy,smooth and soft texture of the inner of the fish. My friend describe that she feels like floating in the sea when she had it in her mouth. Sound exaggerating but truly enough that’s the feeling at that moment. Risotto was nicely done as well. The portion was quite generous and it is a very filling main course.

 
We ordered House’s Signature Dessert- Salty Butter Caramel Lava Cake @S$15.00.
This is very sinful and filling. The butter-infused caramel will make anyone saliva dropping non-stop. The service staff will ‘pop’ the dessert for you. But i choose to do it myself because i want to enjoy the flowing moment. it’s a perfect combination with the salty ice-cream!

 
We also ordered il Tiramisu al te verde @S$15.00. Truly a good choice for Tiramisu lover. This is slightly different from the ones we normally had. It is served in green tea powder layed on top of the two layers of light sponge cake. It’s an alcoholic coffee tiramisu with unique combination.
Recognition

Recognition

 
Sorry for the poor quality photos taken using iPhone 4s. Great place for quiet birthday celebration with partner and small group. It’s a place that worth paying a hefty price tag but you get to enjoy the ambience of the place with good quality of foods and services. You will be spoilt by their attentiveness and meticulous service. Ladies are provided stool to place their handbags and any special requests required. Reservations are adviseable if you are planning for celebration.No wonder it is recognized with excellence reviews and services from different social media platform. I have attached one of the recognition here to share with you guys.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  il Tiramisu al te verde,Filetto di Ippoglosso,La Cotoletta,Salty Butter Caramel Lava Cake
 
Date of Visit: Jan 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $61(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet Tooth Smile Dec 12, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes

This dessert shop is recommended by a friend when we met at Marina Square on early August. It's her date with the bf and it is a good place for sweet tooth session as well. It is absolutely taste like the name of the dessert shop.The design of the shop is simple and comfortable. I will definitely pay a visit again to try other desserts listed in the menu.
It is located at B1 , Marina Square Mall.

The owner was friendly and it is self-service basis. We will place order at the counter and they will deliver the dessert to us.

 
Chocolate fondant @ S$7.90
Warm self saucing cake with green tea ice-cream. I always tried chocolate brownie with vanilla ice-cream. But i never expect the combination with green tea ice-cream would turn out to be perfectly yummy as well. Warm chocolate cake with the cold ice-cream blend into your mouth. Aww...saliva is drooling now!

 
The owner recommended Aussie Pavlova @ S$6.90 per serving
Meringue with whipped cream, fresh fruits, passion fruit pulp sauce. It's full of sweetness but not overdose. Personally feel refresh with the fruits to compel with the whipped cream. You won't feel so fattening in terms of psychology minds?haha! I totally buy over by this dessert.

 
Blogpost here with more photos of the dessert place: http://hazelnutlife.blogspot.sg/2012/08/sweet-sweet-tooth-dessert-marina-square.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Aussie Pavlova,Chocolate fondant
 
Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fusion Cuisine for Dinner Smile Mar 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood

The Oyster & Crab Restaurant located at 100 Tras Street #01-08, Tanjong Pagar was opened 2 months ago. It’s a newly opened fusion cuisine restaurant (japanese and western cuisine) that specialize oyster and crabs. It would be best to make reservation if you wish to dine in.

 
My friend & I decided to give it a try and headed over for dinner. We had our seats at the sushi bar counter. We ordered Omakase Sashimi Platter “Ume” for 2 pax @ S$38.80. Since it’s Hokkaido season for the month, we are lucky enough to try seasonal sashimi from Hokkaido that night! Loving the freshness of the sea urchin! It just gone when you put into the mouth. The karei texture was delicious as well! All the types of sashimi have brought us the sea breeze feel when we tasted it.

 
We also tried wrapped oyster bacon with crushed black pepper @S$8.80 which is recommendation from Asai-san. True enough that who will thought of such combination would turned out to be awesome. Squeeze some lemon on top of the teppanyaki oyster bacon and take a bite of it. The oyster juice are all squeeze out into your mouth.

 

 
Next, we have air flown mussel in white wine sauce @S$12.80. I was quite skeptical when the chef recommended this dish as this is not an authentic japanese dish. But I am wrong! The white wine sauce blend extremely well with mussels.

 

 
Lastly we ordered Wok Fried Crab Fried Rice @S$20.80. The presentation is like chinese fried rice but the taste wise is totally different from chinese fried rice.

As for the service wise, the staffs are attentive and prompt to respond. They are well trained as front service staffs.We were greet when we walked in and left the restaurant. That’s the japanese culture in the restaurant you can find.

They also introduced set lunch of S$8.80 which is quite a good deal for those who are working nearby. Understand from the chef that the response was quite good when the set lunch menu was introduced. Perhaps you would like to drop by to try them out
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mussel in white wine sauce,Wrapped Oyster Bacon with crushed black pepper,Sashimi Platter
 
Date of Visit: Mar 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

9th Aug is Singapore National Day Cum Laurel's Birthday. It is a special day as we have cousins this time round to celebrate her birthday. Rebecca suggested Roadhouse @ dempsey road. Most of the places are fully booked and thus we ended here. It was not bad in terms on the environment and food. But kinda pricey here. The services are ok and staffs are prompt to our request.

The foods taste delicious and fragance. We also able to ordered Kids menu and their kids portion is enough for an adult.

This pizza is from the kids menu.Mini Margherita which is not mini at all. We shared among 8 of us and the pizza is simply crispy delicious!!It comes with a milkshake.

S$12 for the kids menu

 
Roasted Vegetables- S$6

(Dutch baby carrots, sweet peas,brussel sprouts, yellow zucchini with garlic chips & cajun spices). This taste roasted as in really roasted chicken taste. Simply love it!

 
Big Ass Onion Ring- S$6

It comes with sweet & Spicy ranch sauce. Cannot underestimate the sauce as it really taste different from the sauce that i ever tried.It goes well with the fried onion ring and fries. The outer onion ring batter taste crispy and it is not like normal fried onion ring as the batter mix with some ingredients that brings out the dullness of the batter. Good job and it really gigantic for an onion ring!

 
Ultimate Breakfast S$22

(2 eggs, breakfast pork sausage,hash brown,sauteed mushrooms, roasted tomatoes,baked beans & wild rocket salad). Nothing much to comment on the breakfast set but i would like to highlight the scrambled eggs which taste totally different from normal scramble egg. Mm..it is more on the flavoring part that makes the egg taste different.

 
Egg Any Style S$16

with the choice of breakfast pork sausage with scramble eggs and bread. No much comment on this except the egg which taste nice and same as the ultimate breakfast.

 
BBQ Kurobuta Baby Back Ribs S$26 (Half rack)

with crispy cajun onion rings with in house special sauce. The sauce goes well with the rib and the meat is tender as well. Made a good choice smile

 
Cheesecake & Mango stack S$12

Alternate layers of light fluffy cheesecake with fresh honey mango marinated with fresh yoghurt. We in love with the mango and it taste sweet!

The cheesecake layer looks like ordinary slice of bread but it isn't. It is very spongy cake and just nice with the mango to fill up the cravings.

 
Since it's a birthday day and we got her the Oreo Mud Pie S$12 - Oreo cookie based with triple chocolate ice-cream , oreo crumble and valrhona chocolate sauce. Despite the long name of the dessert all i can say SINFUL!! The chocolate absolutely melts into our mouth and feels happy having it!

 
We did ordered other foods as well. The place was great with good companion. Simple elegant and classy design of the place perks the appetize of ours. However, it is located at Dempsey so we took a cab to the place. The place is only accessible by own transport or taxi. Thus, you will need to fork out some money for taxi fare if you want to hop to dempsey areas for foods.

More foods to see click my blogpost here : http://www.hazelnutlife.blogspot.sg/2011/08/laurels-birthday-roadhouse-dempsey-road.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roasted vegetables,Oreo Mud Pie,Cheesecake & mango stack
 
Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chocolate Lover Choice Smile Dec 11, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Wimbly Lu is a little cafe located at in the heart of Serangoon. It is surprisingly to find such an interesting cafe in neighbourhood that serves really good chocolate desserts. Thanks to my lady boss for the recommendation and brought me over to indulge with the goodness of hidden gems.

We went there after work and it was an impromptu decision. Thus, the photo effects aren't that decent and i didn't take photo of the cafe ambience. But you can always go to their Facebook page to get the overall view of the cafe.But it is definitely not a miss list in for chocolate lovers. I would definitely want to be back for more if I have car. The place is totally hidden between the neighbourhood and need to walk in.

Since we cannot have chocolate without a proper meal, we ordered baked rice to share before we enjoy the sinful chocolate. But it's quite disappointing. So do not expect much from the main course as Wimbly Lu served more dessert choices rather than main course and what caught the interest of the cafe is the CHOCOLATE. So no much comment of the dish, but more to blackout cake. Sorry no clear picture of the blackout cake but it is super rich chocolate slice of cake. The cake moist texture is just taste sinful!

 
Thumbs up for the root beer float cake as per shown in picture below. It's a slice of chocolate fudge cake with root beer and vanilla ice-cream. This taste marvelous i would say as you scoop and put into your mouth, you will not regret. I am clearing my throat away while describing it. Aww...i wish to have one now!!

 
There are many other choices of desserts displayed as well. Mostly are chocolate desserts and you will be tempted which to choose.

We are spoilt with the available choices smile

 

 
The service crews are friendly and put on smile on their face when they serve client. We were spoilt with the choices and the staff will give us suggestions on the foods or desserts to order. They are very pro-active to satisfying customers’ requirement I would say.
It was a pleasant dinning experience. But it is quite inconvenient as it is not near to MRT stations or bus stops. It is located at residential areas and those who does not own transport will have difficulties patronizing this café.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  rootbeer float chocolate cake
 
Date of Visit: May 25, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0