OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Dining & Chill out Place OK Nov 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

It has been a while since my last OpenRice tasting. This time round is at CATO , the modern Asian restaurant and bar located just opposite the Sri Mariamman Temple. CATO offers an extensive list of craft beers, spirits and quirky tapas or bar bites. The 4 months old (opened on July 2015) is well-known with its craft beers but we are here to try their food for this session instead.

 

 
CATO occupied the first and second level of the shop house. The first level is the restaurant concept theme while the second level is in bar concept. We had our session at second level where the interior designs are rustic style with rough brick walls and wooden flooring. And the lighing at the bar was very dim so for those who opt for food photography, I would suggest to just relax with the music in-house, foods and drinks. Set aside on the photography!
Starter/ Appertizers/ Bites
Prawn Bisque with Homemade Cod Fish ball & Coriander Leaf S$12.00

 
The description of the dish pretty much explains the ingredients in the broth. The broth was prepared using the prawn stock and the cod fish ball added in to give a good start to chill as a bar snack. It comes in a size as an espresso cup.
Garlic Fries S$8.00

 
The fries served with roasted garlic and Cajun seasoning. I find the garlic taste was overwhelming but some find it not. Thus, it depends on individual preferences.
Chicken Noodle Salad S$16.00

 
Trust me! If you are not a spicy lover, you may want to skip this. I took the first bite and I can immediately feel the numb at my mouth and my throat is burning hot! So, be sure you inform the staff if you want the spiciness level to cut down.
Crispy Squid In Thai Style Glaza S$12.00

 
Fresh whole baby squid coated in flour and spice batter and seasoned with fish sauce before deep frying it. I would prefer to enjoy it with less batter so that I am able to taste the meaty squid in it. Neverthless, it’s a good order to go with beers.
CATO Wings in Homemade Chili Glaze S$15.00

 
Mild chili wings with slight sweetness taste at the outer layer of the skin.
Mains
Acai Cured Salmon S$18.00

 
Salmon was served in big cube chunks together with marinated starfruit, ceyhice and acai jelly. Too many flavours in the plate and I cannot really find the focus taste of this dish.
Steam Baked Pork Cheek S$28.00

 
Tender pork cheek wrapped with a fata cooking oil along with seasonal vegetables. There is an Aladdin lamp shape jar filled with mushroom and port wine mustard sauce at the side. The pork cheek was tender and juicy and the sauce enhanced the flavour of the meat.
Aunty Jasmine’s Fish Curry S$25.00

 
This is highly recommended as it’s the secret recipe by the Chef’s family member. The fish that they used was New Zealand Ling fish along with the okra , eggplant, carrots, yellow squash, olive infused caviar, chunks of breads and garnished with fried onions. The curry was made from stretch was thick and solid savory.
Desserts
Papaya Nougat Glace S$14.00

 
Beautifully plated on a nice round plate was served on the table. The nougat is homemade and topped with fresh fruits of papaya. raspberries, blueberries and caramelized almond. Fruity taste as whole.
Varlhona Warm Pistachio Chocolate Cake S$14.00

 
Chocolate cake served with almond ice-cream and some fresh pomegranate in between the plating. Although the chocolate lava cake does not flow as we expected, the chocolate cake was moist and rich flavour. I enjoyed having it with the pomegranate at the side. Plus, you will never go wrong to pair it with a scoop of ice-cream.
Overall there are some hits and misses on the dishes but if you are looking for a good place to chill out, CATO bar would be an ideal option as their specialty on craft beers were well-received. On top of these, they also have the S$1.00 special for fresh oysters starting 6pm on Wednesday Specials.

For more food reviews; http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Draft Beers
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Having Fried Chicken in "Clinic" OK Nov 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean Fried Chicken

For more information and reviews, check out my post http://www.hazeldiary.com
Chi-Maek referring to perfect combination of Chicken and Beer which is loved by Koreans like the drama “ My Love from The Star”. This combination is still going strong in F&B Singapore lately and Chicken Clinic is the latest addition. Chicken Clinic located at Thomson V Two (walking distance from Marymount MRT Station) specialized in Japanese and Korean style Fried Chicken. Nic and I was there around 4plus and the shop was empty and we were greeted by the staff with the menu and an order chit. We browsed through the menu and tick on our orders before handed back to the staff.

 
Since, the shop space is limited; we can actually get a glimpse on how the foods are prepared. The indoor seating can only fit up to 8 pax and there are few tables for outdoor seating area.Once the order is placed, we waited for approximately 10-15 minutes time for the foods to serve.
Seasoned Spicy Chicken S$19.50

 
We were being warned that there is certain spiciness level in it. Fried chickens dipped in Korean style sweet chili sauce look fiery red and I was expecting it to be fiery spicy too. But, it turned to be mild spicy with more sweetness in it. I don’t take spicy but I can handle the spiciness here. As I had more of it, I can taste the garlicky taste in it too. The set comes with sides of a small pail of fries, salad and also the seasoned pickles.
The unique of Chicken Clinic here is that the sauce is served in syringe form and you seem like having doing an ‘operation’ to eat it.
Watermelon Soju 400ml S$15.90

 
It is a refreshing fruity alcoholic drink to enjoy with the fried chicken. If you notice, there are lemon slices in the watermelon soju enhance the tangy taste in it. We were served with 2 small soju cups and it was quite hassle to keep pouring it as we finish it at one gulp each time. After few rounds of drinking, I can feel the alcohol kick starting to take effect.
Buta Yakiniku Dong S$10.50

 
Steam Rice with pork dipped in soy sauce. The pork slices were as thin as 0.2mm were served. It would be nice if pork slices can be thicker and more gravy added in so that overall meal is not too dry.
Overall the services here are friendly and approachable. The lady gave us suggestions before we decide on our orders. The Korean chef was in smiles all the time and you can feel their polite manners to the customers.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Watermelon Soju
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Flamming Pineapple Smile Oct 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Fusion

For more foods reviews, check out my blog http://hazeldiary.com
Tung Lok Group latest venture, Lokkee is located at Plaza Singapura. The restaurant uses part of Lao Beijing Restaurant’s space to operate. Lokkee concept is inspired by the chinese take-out foods in Chinatown across the cosmopolitan cities. Thus, the foods served have the mixture of east meets west cuisine.

 
Interior of the Restaurant
Once we entered into the restaurant, we were greeted by the cute star wars statue drinking bubble tea at the front entrance. The reception cum cash counter is on the right side.
The restaurant is designed with modern concept with detailing on the walls and tables are in black colour and chairs are in deep red colour. There are Chinese brush paintings of Star Wars hanging at the walls of the dining area. VIP rooms are available in the restaurants as well.
And if you observe, each table has a big bottle of Sriracha sauce. Let’s move on to the foods we ordered that day:-
Foods
Appetiser
Sichuan ‘Mala’ Fish Fries S$14.00

 
Fried cut fish served with numbing spice Sichuan seasoning. It is an interesting way of serving fish in fries. I can have it as my mains with the portion served.
Poultry & Meat
Awesome Flaming Pineapple Beef S$28.00

 
Lokkee’s version of coconut braised beef served in a dug-out pineapple. The pineapple was set on fire upon serving giving everyone a visual treats. The braised beefs were tender and juicy. The gravy of the dish after digging it towards the end of the pineapple has a sweet taste in it.
Firecracker Chicken Nest S$24.00

 
Deep-fried diced chicken served with chopped dried chilies and mango puree. It comes with 4 mango purees around the plating and additional one will cost S$3.00 each. It resembles ‘egg yolk’ for the first glance and eye-catching for photography.
The service staff advises us to enjoy the chicken first followed by the mango puree. Loving the crispy bites of the deep fried chicken and careful the power of the dried chilies in between the meats. The mango puree spheres give bursts upon the bite and it is good for aftertaste of the spicy delights.
Shredded Crispy Duck with Thin Flour Skins S$16.00

 
Shredded deep-fried duck confit served with thin flour skin wraps was pretty decent. Since it is duck confit, the duck skin is expected to be slightly tougher. Nevertheless, the mixture with the slice of cucumber and the sides make up the wraps tasted flavourful.
Beancurd & Vegetables
Mapo Tofu S$16.00

 
Freshly in-house made tofu with numbing spice minced beef sauce. We can request for less spicy if required. Nice and smooth tofu to go with a bowl of white rice.
Bao
Pork Cracklins Bao S$13.00

 
Crispy pork cracklins with fermented beancurd sauce comes in two pieces only. I enjoyed the crackling skin and the soft tender pork texture in it. However, I would prefer more sauce in it as the pork taste bland in its own.
Rice & Noodles
Uni Pasta S$24.00

 
Uni Pasta with cream sauce and there are bits of uni traces on this plate of pasta. I find it too creamy but others find it just nice. Thus, the taste is quite subjective based on individual preferences.
Shrimp Garlic Noodles S$16.00

 
Stir-fried noodles with shrimp and garlic. Nothing much to rave with it but this plate of noodles are nicely prepared and the shrimps are fresh and big.
Dessert
Banana Egg Roll S$10.00

 
Banana spring rolls served with coconut sorbet was just nice for 5 of us. The coconut sorbet was refreshing and compliments well with the crispy spring rolls and soft banana texture in it. I would say it is a creative way to enjoy ‘pisang goreng’.
The dining experience was pleasant as the service staffs are well-trained. They are polite and put on a smile to customers. The foods here are innovative and inspired with fusion style. I would visit again for the foods and services here.
Sub-total bill was S$201.50 but we managed to enjoy 15% off by using UOB credit card. Thus, the final amount was S$211.32 inclusive of 10% service charges and 7% GST. The amount includes our drinks as well.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Awesome Flaming Pineapple Beef,Firecracker Chicken Nest
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $43(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Tom Yum Lobster OK Oct 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

Golden Mile Complex is known as “Little Thailand” in Singapore. As you step into the complex, most of the restaurants are selling thai cuisines. There are mini mart selling Thai ingredients as well. Most people who comes to this place to satisfy their Thai cuisine cravings. So many restaurants to choose from and there are new openings too. One of the recent F&B venture is the Abb Zabb with their signature Tom Yum Lobster.

 
Abb Zabb is owned by a couple where the husband is Singaporean and the wife is Thai. The stall is located at Level 2 where they share the space with other stall owners. The stall sells the signature dish along with other Thai foods for further varieties.

 

 

 
Tom Yum Lobster (Luxe Version S$38.00 | Deluxe Version S$15.00)
There are two version of the Tom Yum Lobster -Luxe Version and Deluxe Version. For the luxe version, it comes with one whole boston lobster, abalone slices, squids, mussels, scallops seafoods. It is quite luxurious seafood serving with affordable pricing. As for the deluxe version, it comes with half lobster with seafoods ingredients except for the abalone slices. With the combination of seafoods, the soup base tasted sweet and not overwhelmed with spiciness. However, I find the lobster meat is slightly overcooked though.
All versions come with a choice of straight glass noodles or the curly instant noodles.

 
Fresh Oysters with Chilli Condiments S$12.00.If you are an oyster lover, you will love this raw plate to spice up your appetite.

 
Thai Basil Chicken Kuay Tiew S$6.00.If you ask me which is my favourite of all, I will vote for this. Delish and value for money. Mixed of fusion style with kuay tiew as the serving and aromatic thai basil minced chicken definitely fill up your empty stomach within minutes.

For more food reviews, check out my blog : http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Reasonable & Delish Breakfast Smile Sep 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Brunch

I have been eyeing on the opening of Clinton St. Baking Company and Restaurant whenever I pass by everyday at work. Finally it’s open for soft opening on 19 September which is a week ago. Located along Purvis Street, the restaurant is just a walking distance away from City Hall MRT or Bugis MRT station. This is the first branch in South East Asia holding several “Best Titles” across the media with its’ legendary pancakes.
We arrived around 8.10am on 24 September which is Selamat Hari Raya Haji (Public Holiday) and surprisingly, families and friends started to flood into the restaurant for breakfast.The streets are so quiet early morning of public holiday but the restaurant was filled with the crowd. We managed to get the seats before the crowd came.

 

 

 
Since it’s early morning, the Chicken & Waffles are not available. So, if you are craving for this, come after 11:30 am onwards. Since most of the social media has been reviewing about Buttermilk Biscuit Sandwich, we thought of trying other dish from the menu instead. So, we ordered Clinton St. Omelette S$18.00 with the choice of two filling. The staff recommended us to have cheese and mushrooms omelette served with hash browns and sourdough toast. There is also option to substitute egg whites or greens for S$3.00 and additional fillings S$2.00 each. But, I think the portion is just nice for 1 pax and do not need to add on anymore. I can’t even finish it all by myself so sharing is possible for small eaters. The combination of mushroom and cheese with the eggs was pretty decent. The cheese taste was not overwhelming and I can taste the mushroom juiciness within the omelette. Although the presentation is not photogenic compared to the Buttermilk Biscuit Sandwich, but I think the overall taste was good and filling at a reasonable pricing.

 

 
Next, we had the famous Pancakes with Warm Maple Butter S$18.00. There are three options available – wild blueberries, banana walnut or chocolate chunk. We decided to go with wild blueberries. Thick stacks of pancakes with wild blueberries as the topping was served on the table.I enjoyed the pancakes texture as it was fluffy with the blueberries sweetness in it.Not forgetting the warm maple butter drizzled over the pancakes makes a sweet ending to the meal.

 
Lastly, we ordered Sugar Cured Bacon S$7.00 as ala-carte. It was a good choice as we are in love with the crispy and sweet coated layer of the bacon. It reminds me when I first tried at Morganfield’s but this is absolutely delish. It’s like a snack or appertizer for your meal to kick off.

 
As for our drinks, I had Grapefruit juice S$7.00 and Janel got Latte S$6.00. Pure grapefruit juice taste with nice fragrance of latte smell to perks the morning wake.
I have not been to New York to try the Clinton Street Baking Company so thankful for their first branch here in Singapore. I foresee myself returning to try other foods in the menu other day. Thus, hopefully the foods quality and consistency will maintain during my next visit. If you are planning give a try, do anticipate the waiting time. We were there early morning and they seem like short of manpower and customers will need to wait for a while before they can get seated. Thus, bear with the operation flows and enjoy the meal. The staffs do greet the customers with a smile even before and after the meal. This marks a sweet dining experience with Clinton Street Baking Company at Purvis Street.
Total Bill S$65.91 inclusive of 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sugar Cured Bacon,Pancakes with warm maple butter
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $33(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0