OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Rich Flavour Soup OK Aug 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Chinese Soup

It has been a while since my last tasting with OpenriceSG. Thanks to Reka for extending the invitation. Located along the heart of Marina Parade Central, Seattle Pike Chowder flagship store is attached together with Giovanni L’s gelato at an outdoor dining area. If you are first time here, you might want to look for McDonalds location as it is just opposite the store.
Seattle Pike Chowder serves 6 types of Chowders and their ingredients are freshly imported daily from Seattle. As for the bread bowl, it is locally sourced if you curious about it. The price range from S$12.90 to S$14.90 with bread bowl and if you opt without bread bowl, the price is from S$8.90 onwards.
So, we are here to try 3 different types:-

 
New England Clam Chowder
It was served with the bread bowl and we took quite a while to enjoy the soup as we are busy taking photos. Surprisingly the soup is still warm in the bread bowl. I enjoyed the broth as it is rich and creamy with generous ingredients such as chopped ocean clams, potatoes, celery, onions, white pepper, sea salt and clam stock. You can imagine how flavourful the taste in it with the different types of ingredients is placed together.

 
Seafood Bisque
If you are a seafood lover, you can enjoy this rich flavour of seafood chowder. There are salmon, cod, crab, bay shrimp, garlic, black pepper, sea salt, tomato basil cream broth, shellfish stock, cream, butter and flour. The broth is creamy with savoury taste of all the seafood ingredients.

 
Smoked Salmon Chowder
You can taste the strong smokey smell of the chowder. So, either you like it or you opt out. This is not my cup of soup but some of the openricers enjoyed the broth. Ingredients such as smoked salmon, cream cheese, capers, potatoes, onions, celery, tomato, garlic, smoked salt, black pepper, shellfish stock, cream, milk, butter and flour. I prefer salmon sashimi over smoked salmon. Thus, the smell and taste of the smoked salmon is overwhelming for my preference. But the broth less creamy compared to the first two flavours.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 13, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

For more food reviews, check out my blog: http://hazeldiary.com

I finally got the chance to try Bedrock Bar & Grill last weekend.We were rushing down before the last order at 2.30pm. The restaurant is located next to 313 Somerset and to be exact, next to Marche with a door away.

 

 

 
We settled down and browse through the menu and discover that there are lunch deals and SG50 express lunch set available. Thus, we decided to order the lunch menu instead of using the app. Complimentary flat breads were served after our orders are placed. I love the texture of the freshly breads from oven and best spread with garlic infused oil and butter.
Seafood & Poultry 3- Course Set Lunch S$38

 
As for the starter, we decided to go with Classic Lobster Bisque with chive cream. I can taste the strong seafood flavour in it and chive cream perfects the soup with its touch of creamy taste.

 
There are few choices for the mains and I decided to try Baked Barramundi Fillet served with asparagus, sundried tomato and olive tapenade. Chef did a good job on the fish with crusty skin and soft meat that absorbs the olive tapenade that gives a fragrance in it. Although the plating looks slightly oily but taste wise isn’t as it looks.

 
As for dessert, we decided to go with sticky stout and toffee pudding served with gingernut ice-cream. Absolutely one of the best I tried so far. Well-balance fine tuning that delights us for the sweet ending. There are zesty pomegranates served together as well.
SG50 Express Lunch S$50

 

 
We decided to try this limited offer deal of the month since steaks are available in the menu. Instead of ordering the usual mains, this deal seems affordable for our first try here. There are only two choices available for this SG50 menu and we opt for Slow-Cooked Oyster Blade Steak with fries and salad. Perhaps we are expecting more on the steak standard here as I find the taste wise is lack of the sparks on the expectation in me. The taste wise is reasonably good and the meat is soft and juicy with the slow cooked method. It’s my first time trying slow cooked steak and I think I will stick to grilled steak though.
This set comes with a glass of Terrazas Altos Del Plata Malbec but unfortunately it was not served. Thus, I didn’t get to enjoy it with the steak. We only realized when we left the restaurant. We emailed the restaurant and they replied on the issue. We were told that a complimentary of a glass of red wine for 2 pax and a snack bar when we dine in with them again.
Overall, the dining experience is still pleasant. The service staff was well-trained on the serving although they forget the glass of wine totally. Total amount bill inclusive of 10% service charges and 7% GST was S$103.58. 

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $51(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

"Heritage Flavours" Buffet Feast Smile Aug 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Multi-Cuisine | High Tea | Buffet

For more photos, check out my blogpost:http://hazeldiary.com/2015-08-ellenborough-market-cafe-swissotel-merchant-court/

August has been a fabulous month with the celebration of SG50, Golden Jubilee of Singapore and also my birthday month. I had a foodolicious over the jubilee weekend. One of the highlight is the food tasting session with foodies at Ellenborough Market Café, Swissotel Merchant Court. It was my second visit and you can read about my first visit here as a pay customer last year.

 

 
What’s so different of this month buffet is that they are having “Heritage Flavours” from 6th August till 23rd August 2015. In conjunction with Singapore reveling in her 50th birthday of the month, the dinner buffet here showcase the tastes, sights and sounds of Little Red Dot’s pioneering traditional cuisine on top of it’s usual dishes. And mega love with the bounteous offering of Fresh Durians and durian-based dishes to delight your palate.

 

 
There are live stations for satay, teh tarik ‘pulled’ right in front of you, deep-frying fried durians, pick up roasted nuts from the Kacang Puteh station and many more. What attracts me is the free flow of Mao Shan Wang durians where freshly-opened durians are served on the spot! Look at the mega display! Warning Sign: Try other dishes before indulging in durians as it can be very filling! But if you are aiming on the durian feast, this would be an ideal buffet for you too!

 
Other than the King of fruit and fried durians, there are durians and bacon fried rice to explore! It is my first time trying this and I think the durian taste mid in the fried rice. Nevertheless, it’s a good try dish for nostalgia moments. Durian Pengat and some other durian desserts are served at the dessert counter.

 
Grandma’s home cooking dishes are available during “Heritage Flavours” such as Chicken Feet Kerabu, Achar Awak (Nyonya Pickled Vegetables), Lor Ark (Braised Duck) and Steamed Patin Fish with Nyonya Sauce. Their signature slippery lobsters with black pepper sauce were well-received. It was clear every time I walked past and the staffs are quite efficient in re-filling the portions to cater to diners.

 

 
On top of these, their usual spreads are available as well. Do not miss the DIY kueh pie tee where you can customize your own ingredients for savoury. Local fried carrot cake and some of the signature hawker foods are available as well. And their chili crabs are served separately with mantou/ buns to dip with the gravy. Peranakan cuisines such as Ayam Buah Keluk is available.
Desserts stations are not to be missed. Serving all kinds of traditional and western style desserts that spoilt you with choices. There is also pandan flavored fondue instead of the usual chocolate fondue to suit the theme of the buffet.Kudos to the chef and management for being so innovative on the dishes.
There are hit and misses on some of the dishes but overall it’s worth pocket friendly buffet. Especially paying S$68.00++ for the buffet that includes international dishes and free flow durians. I would say give it a GO!

 
Supplementary Information:
Snap a Selfie Contest: Dress up in swinging 60s chic, snap a selfie, check-in at Swissotel Merchant Court and stand a chance to win a pair of Weekend High-Tea Vouchers at Ellenborough Market Café! Contest Ends 26 August 2016.

Three pairs of vouchers to be won.

Winners will be notified via Facebook.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Durians,Slippery Lobster with Black Pepper,Fried Durians
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soft Serve Treats OK Jul 31, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

As I was craving for sweet bites over the weekend, I went to HoneyComb to satisfy my craving but I was welcome with new born brand taking over the space. Brother Bird is actually under the same people behind Stateland Café currently having soft opening for almost a week now. There aren’t many changes on the interior design of the space though.

 
There are only 2 signature artisanal soft serve available at this moment which is Honeydew Sago and Cookie Butter Softserve at S$5.50 each. The ordering and payment to be made at the counter. The staff will then serve the softserve.
I ordered both to try. Both stood out with individual taste and I prefer Honeydew flavor. It has the fruity taste and feels refreshing with the combination. Cookie Butter is not bad too but I would prefer to share as the sea salt taste is slightly stronger and almond crunch is quite addictive to munch.
Hopefully they will come out for more flavours so that I can return to try again. If I were to choose, I would prefer this than Honeycomb. Coffees are available too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Honeydew Sago
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5.50(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fusion Ramen  OK Jun 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

For more food reviews: http://hazeldiary.com

 

 
I decided to try Xin Hao Ramen which located at Bugis Cube for lunch with colleagues. It is located just opposite Bugis Junction mall and next to Liang Seah Street which is easily noticeable. Oh well.. It’s my first time stepping into Bugis Cube mall. Believe it or not!
Since it’s lunch time with limited time, we headed to level 3 for the ramen lunch. The menu was just outside the restaurant with the tags on respective description. It’s is quite unique as compared with other ramen stall. All prices and descriptions are stated on the wood board on the wall.
So, once you decide your choice, take the tag and proceed to the counter to make payment. They only accept cash at this moment.
I had Salted Ramen S$10.50 which is tonkotsu ramen seasoned with sea salt and grilled meat, hanjuku egg and deep fried enoki mushroom. It was nicely presented with a big bowl with the katsuobushi ( dried bonito flakes) as toppings. I personally find that the broth is clear and not too heavy taste. The grilled meat tasted like Chinese style grilled meat rather than Japanese version. Thus, do not expect to taste Japanese ramen here. It’s fusion style with Chinese taste twist in it.

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $11(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0