OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Homemade Ice-cream Treats OK Aug 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

 
The Hideout is located at Old Airport estate and walking distance from Mountbatten MRT station.The cafe is a new addition to the estate with only 2 months old. It has gained its popularity with their homemade speciality ice-creams and cakes.

 
Besides specializing in ice creams & cakes, there are new addition of pizza flavors and pasta available.And of course coffee and tea are available as well.
The Buttermilk Waffles with a scoop of ice-cream S$8.90.The waffles is crispy and soft and slightly buttermilk taste in it.A choice of a scoop ice-cream makes it perfect. You can also opt for choice of chocolate fudge, mixed berries sauce, salted caramel fudge or maple syrup.

 
A Fishy breakfast (Savoury) S$12.90 serves with smoked salmon, poached egg and hollandaise sauce.The breakfast comes with waffles instead of usual toasted bread which is quite filling.

 
Tagliatelle olla carbonara with bacon and mushroom S$12.90. Loving the texture of flat noodles. The carbonara is creamy and cheesy and mixed thoroughly with the spaghetti.

 
Various of interesting homemade ice-cream flavors are available here. Premium Mao Shan Wang durian ice-cream was a hit. It is my favourite of all and in spur moment, I thought i was having the real fruit. They are generous with the ingredients used to enhance the true flavors of the fruit in ice-cream or sorbet form.Some interesting flavors such as passionfruit beer sorbet, bubblegum, chocolate earl grey and more are cool ideas from the owner.

 
Takeaway ice-cream is available as well. S$12.90 for 1 pint of ice-cream that able to fit in two flavors. However, premium Mao Shan Wang durian ice-cream is offering at S$16.90 instead.
If you are around Old Airport Road area, perhaps you would like to drop by this neighbourhood cafe for their homemade ice-cream. The cafe is one suitable place to visit to chill in the hot weather.
P/S: The cafe does not charge 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Waffles with ice-cream,Carbonara Spaghetti
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 31, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Afternoon High Tea Set Smile Jun 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

Salt Grill & Sky Bar by Luke Mangan is no strangers to most of us. Located at level 55 and 56 of ION Orchard provides an awesome panoramic view of the bustling city. All-day dining restaurant that is accessible from Sky Concierge Desk on level 4 followed by exclusive lifts that bring you up to the sky top.

 

 

 
Three-tier set of Afternoon Tea Platter S$30++ per person inclusive of a tea or coffee was served. The platter comes with assortment of pastries in beautiful setting.

 
Close up foods

Close up foods

 
Here are the lists according to the tier breakdown.
1st Tier : Raspberry macaron , Pate de fruits, Mini Orange Tarts.
The macaron sweetness isn’t overwhelmed and has a strong taste of blueberries and jam. The tarts are quite decent and the proportion was just fine for taste bud.
2nd Tier : Smoked Salmon, cucumber, chive, crème cheese on rye , Coronation chicken sandwich and Ham & turkey Croque Madame.
I enjoyed this tier of savoury delicacies as the filling was generous and filling. It’s quite an idea to compliment in between desserts serving.
3rd Tier: Chocolate delice, Almond & Cranberry Florentines and Chocolate & Jam Lamington.
I couldn’t miss the last tier as chocolate is my all time favourite. Loving the rich and sweetness taste of chocolate that flows into my mouth.

 
Scones are served as well and it is best to go with vanilla cream and jam.

The mini delicacies spread on the platter with a spectacular view and an affordable pricing would be ideal for an afternoon tea session with your loved ones or friends.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Afternoon High Tea Set
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seafood Varieties Buffet Choices Smile Jun 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Seafood | Halal | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

 
Aquamarine Marina Mandarin is one of the top few Halal restaurants in a 5-star hotel in Singapore. Located at Level 4 of the hotel, Aquamarine offers a wide buffet spread of International and Asian cuisines.
We were greeted by the smell of seafoods when we stepped into the restaurant. There is a seafood section right in the heart of the restaurant that drawn my attention. Various selections of seafoods are displayed beautifully on the section with labels on the side. Fresh oysters, snowcrabs and fresh prawns are the ones that you wouldn’t want to miss out.

 
Western cuisines and Chinese cooked sections are available at the right corner of the restaurant. Choices for Chinese cooked foods are limited. As for western cuisines, foods such as roasted chicken, pizza and spaghetti are available for serving as well.

 
Indian foods are found in one of the section where briyani rice, naans and various curries are served. I tried the naans and it was quite decent with the mutton curries.

 
There is also hands-on section where diners can customize their version of Singapore Laksa and kueh pie tee. Ingredients are readily available on the display.
Appertizer section that provides the salad selections and various cheeses are available too.
Japanese cuisine section is not a miss when comes to buffet. Fresh sashimi is a must to have for myself. There are three different types of sashimi served that day- Salmon, Tuna and sea bream. The chef will prepare the portion of the choice of sashimi on the spot upon request. I requested for 2 persons and he is quite generous with the portion and end up I didn’t went for the second serving. Tempuras, assorted sushi and chawanmushi are available at the section too.

 
Desserts section was an eye candy for me.The colourful spread of choices which tempt you to try almost all of it. The cakes are in a small portion so that we, diners can try a bit of everything. I think it is a good way to reduce wastage as well. Durian pengat is available too.I am loving it! Freshly cut fruits are available. There is also ice-kacang maker machine available for us to customize. Topping choices for ice-creams and ice-kacang are nicely spread across the section. Nyonya kuehs are found at the other side of the section next to the desserts.

 

 
Services are good as the service staffs are polite and smile to customers. Foods served on the sections are consistently filled by the staffs promptly. It is quite consistent and I think Aquamarine did a good job on this. Our buffet ended with a cup of tea served towards the end of the dinner. It was a pleasant dinning experience with Aquamarine.

For more photos and review, check out my post :http://hazeldiary.com/aquamarine-marina-mandarin-hotel/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Seafood Spread,Japanese Section,Desserts
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Zi Char Dinner OK Nov 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

 
Our team was at Keong Siak Road for a training session and it ended just nice around 6.30pm.So, it’s time for dinner so we decided to have ‘Zi Char’ at Kok Sen Eating House. The coffee shop tucked away in a little street is a winner of Green Book awards for many years.This old coffee shop has no air-condition and always crowded and some of the customers will have to eat at the dark back alley. No much of renovation of the coffeeshop but the foods served here are delicious and affordable price.

Here are the dishes that were served within 15 minutes time. I would say it is quite fast and efficient with the quality of foods served.

Golden Dragon Chicken.It is highly recommended by the staff and only available during the weekend. The chicken meat was removed and replace by seafood paste and deep fried. I would suggest to try it with the sauce to make the meat taste flavourful. Otherwise, it would be quite bland taste.

 
Claypot Yong Tau Foo which is one of the specialty dish. Most of the tables are served with this dish. Yong Tau Foo is deep fried and simmers in puckering bean paste gravy. Fish paste filled in brinjal, chili and beancurd pockets were not soggy at all. It absorbs the sauce well and it is best to enjoy it with a bowl of rice.

 
Soupy Chinese Spinach with salted egg and century egg. This vegetable dish most commonly served at zi char’s stall. The stock was rich and vegetables are soft and tasty.

 
Fish curry served with lady fingers and brinjals. The curry sauce does go well with plain rice. Taste wise is just fine only.

 
Spring Onion and ginger frog legs is a well-known dish to be try at Geylang. The dish was quite dry and the frog leg meat was moist and crust. Not recommended to order as I think Geylang’s version taste better.

 
Bittergourd with Braised Pork with the wok hei taste made the dish taste delicious. The bittergourd was not bitter as the sauce blends into it. The meat texture is tender and soft and compliments well with the thick sauce.

Overall dinner was pleasant as the waiting time was short. The dishes are served within 20 minutes. Thus, this explains their turnover for dinner time was quite fast. People don’t really need to queue for long to get a seat in the coffeeshop.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Claypot Yong Tau Foo
 
Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pocket Friendly Thai Cuisine OK Nov 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Halal

Jai Thai has been serving authentic Thai food in Singapore since year 1999. It is well recognized as the most wallet friendly Thai restaurant in Singapore. They also provide catering services.

Jai Thai menu has broad categories from appertizers, curry, tom yum, seafoods, chicken, vegetables, rice and noodles, drinks and many more. Each individual categories has a list of dishes to choose from. Most of the dishes come with 3 sizes – Small, Medium & Large and price ranging between S$5.00~ S$8.00 with the exception of steamed fish which is slightly higher.

 
We finally settled with the choice of dishes and waiting for the foods to be served. The serving time is quite fast and efficient. We are quite pleased with the speed of serving.

So here are the foods that we ordered for dinner:-
Mixed Platters @S$14.00 (L) shared by 6 of us. Platter consists of thai spring rolls, fish cakes, deep fried bean curd and prawn cakes. All are nicely fried and not too dry. It goes well with the thai chili sauce and makes a pretty tasty starter.

 
Pandan Chicken @S$2.00 per piece. It is one of their signature. Pandan chicken wrapped with a piece of pandan and deep fried chicken. They are quite generous with the chicken piece serving. Totally worth the price paid.

 
Pad Thai @S$7.00 (M) was nicely presented. Pad thai was Q enough and it must eat with lots of peanuts, chili flakes and also sugar. This will gives the dish taste of crunchiness and sweetness.

 
Fried Kang Kong @S$7.00 (M) is a must order dish to go with rice. It will never go wrong when you are having this with rice.

 
Steamed Tofu with chicken basil @S$6.00(S) served with generous sauce overflowing the steamed tofu. Sweet with a little spicy sauce is all over chicken basil and the soft, bouncy tofu is our favourite dish of the night too. We enjoyed it with our rice as well.

 
Tom Yam Seafood Clear Soup @S$5.00 (S) was spicy for me but my sister enjoyed it though. It has the seafood sweetness flowing into the soup as well.

 
Deep fried Seabass fish with sweet & sour sauce @S$18.00. Don’t expect much of the freshness with the value offer. Nevertheless, when it is deep fried and drenched with sweet & sour sauce, it still tastes decent.

 
Overall dinner was pocket friendly and shared among 6 of us. The foods are satisfying and we don’t burn our pocket holes at the same time. Location wise is quite convenient and the place was quite spacious. We had a great bonding time together.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pandan Chicken,Mixed Platters
 
Date of Visit: Aug 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0