OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

Sisters and I spent our Saturday together to settle my sister's wedding stuffs. We settled down for early dinner at Delicious located at basement of Scotts Square. It is walking distance from Orchard MRT station and easily accessible.

Delicious Cafe is well-known across the neighbouring country especially at Kuala Lumpur. The cafe is decorated with whimsical display of birdcages and colour theme of turquoise. The combination colour of tiffany’s blue and white colour makes the overall ambience feel comfortable.

 

 

 
Menu

Menu

 
Sister ordered fresh fruit juice combination of orange and celery @S$5.00. Another sister of mine tried Spiced Apple Tea @S$4.00 which wasn’t a good choice. It is tasteless and doesn’t have the apple tea taste at all.

 
I had Tall Latte @S$7.00 for my choice of drink.

 
We ordered two main course to share among three of us. Teriyaki salmon steak @S$22.90 served with stir-fried soba noodles, pea sprouts and asparagus. Stir-fried soba noodles tasted a bit salty but the teriyaki salmon steak was nicely done. The skin salmon was crispy and the salmon texture was moist and smooth.

 
Next main course, Smoked Salmon Angel Hair @S$16.50. Tossed in cream and served caviar and parsley. The angel hair mixed well with the rich cream sauce but I can’t rarely tasted the caviar and parsley.

 
Total bill was S$65.20 inclusive 10% service charge and 7% GST. Overall serving time was within 20 minutes. The staffs are attentive to customers’ needs as well. The price offered is quite reasonable for cafe standards. Delicious would be ideal for group gathering and dating place too. The place is not crowded with customers and you can slowly savor your foods and enjoy the peaceful moment.

For more photos, check out my blog : http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Smoked Salmon Angel Hair,Teriyaki Salmon Steak
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $22(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads

I had the opportunity to explore to this hidden gem located at Science Park II to start off on week. BlooiE’s Roadhouse Bar & Grill has already been for 12 years and counting! The owner, Sarge Sargeant, a Harley Davidson aficionado married a pretty Taiwanese wife. They had their first love pet named Blooie which has passed on. They named their restaurant by their previous dog.

The casual bistro which has a spacious indoor dinning area and Al Fresco dinning located at Science Park II was a nice choice for those who loves to have cosy and comfortable dinning session with companion. If you are going by public transport, alight at Haw Par Villa MRT Station and cross the road to take Bus 143, 200 and stop at the second stop. Walk about 5 minutes along the Science Park Road and you will see the restaurant. The North American roadhouse has a homey feeling and it is a good place to chill out with a bunch of friends and families.

 

 

 
Cobb Salad @S$15.80. Garden fresh iceberg lettuce surrounded with diced avocado, bacon bits, grilled cajun chickens, blue cheese and tomato served with lemon vinegaratte dressing. You can control the amount dressing output you need as it is served seperately. I personally love the lemon taste and it gives me a good start off of the dinner.

 
BlooiE’s Roadhouse Quesadillas @S$16.90. Quesadillas are panned fried till lightly burnt on the sides and served hot with a trio of drips.There are salsa sour cream and guacomole, align with Mozzarella cheese & Cheddar Cheese mixed in the folds. Not too much of cheesy taste and it was just perfect for my tastebud.

 
BBQ Chicken Wings @S$13.90. Chicken wings are marinated with home-made Cajun spices and grilled with zesty BBQ sauce tasted like a homely cooked wings. The sauce was just sufficient and not too much of overflowing which is good to pair with beer for happy hours.

Here are some highlights for the Main Course which you might want to consider when you are dropping by :-

 
BlooiE’s Bacon Mushroom Cheese Burger @S$16.90. Grilled 180g all beef patty smothered in cheese with bacon and mushrooms served on a fresh hot bun. Bun was soft and the beef patty was decent filling with the bacon and the homemade mushroom sauce definitely added flavour to the burger.

 
Blackened Dory @S$18.90 served with homemade mashed potatoes truly taste differently from the normal ones we had at other restaurant. Dory is marinated in cajun spices then pan-fried in a skillet with a creamy garlic sauce. Homemade mashed potatoes served tasted quite bland for those who prefer stronger flavor but for me, I am loving it especially when it goes with the portobello mushroom sauce.

 
Pepperoni Pizza @S$22.90. Thin-crusted layer of pizza with pepperoni spread over tomato sauce topped with mozzarella cheese. The pepperoni portion was quite generous and spread evenly over the pizza. It is best to have it while it is served pipping hot as the cheeser will melt into your mouth.

 
N.Z. Striploin Steak @S$29.80. Served with 250g of N.Z Striploin steak char-grilled to your preferred doneness and served with your choice of sauce (Black Pepper Sauce or Shitake Mushroom Sauce). The presentation of the dish was quite appealing and you can see the nicely grilled mark on the steak. Meat texture is a bit hard when we are slicing it and the chewiness is not so smooth. Overall taste was not bad though.

 

 
Highlight of the night is the BBQ Beer Butt Chicken @S$38.80. You will need to pre-order at least 1 day in advance and confirm your arrival date as the preparation will based on your arrival timing. Understand from the lady boss, the whole fresh chicken marinated with their own special spices and seasonings. They will chill the chicken over night to allow the spices and seasonings flow into the meat. Before they start to cook the chicken, they will open a can of beer, add a little of the spice and seasonings and insert the can to the chicken butt. The chicken was set as the photo shown on the BBQ and grilled to delicious and juicy dish. The seasoning and the special way of making the grilled chicken makes the meat infused with light beer flavour tasted softer and tender. I seldom take breast meat as it taste hard and dry but the breast meat here was surprisingly juicy and tender.

The staff will present the whole original chicken with the butt stuffed with the spices and seasoning beer can for your visual satisfaction before cutting it into smaller pieces. Not to mention that it comes with the generous portion of fries.

 
Molten Chocolate Cake @S$6.80 was a perfect ending for the dinner session. Molten chocolate is super rich and flavourful and goes perfectly well with a scoop of ice-cream. 75% cocoa was used and that's explains why.

It was a great night with friendly host & companions of the night. The atmosphere was cosy and comfortable and also the smoothing music made us feel relaxed after a long day of work.

For more food reviews & Photos : http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ Beer Butt Chicken,Blackened Dory,Cobb Salad
 
Date of Visit: Oct 28, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

In Love with the Place Smile Aug 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

 

 
Chye Seng Huat Hardware (CSHH) is a coffee bar located at the industrial area which has been raving about over the media reviews. I finally got a chance to drop by the unique architectural design. The place is restored to its original hardware store decoration and well-maintained with the gems. The entrance of CSHH is the metal swing gates with the ‘towing zone’ sign.

It is approximately 10-15 minutes walking distance from Lavendar MRT station. 150 Tyrwhitt Road is in the part town between Lavendar Street and Jalan Besar Road, passying by Stadium on your left. Towards the end to a T-junction till you spot a convenient store, it’s nearby there. You will see traditional hardware shops along the area and the entire streets are quiet.

 
Menu

Menu

 
Inside the Coffee Bar, the 360 degree interaction of coffee bar counter outshines the uniqueness of the place as well. Baristas and customers are able to interact together.

Once you step into CSHH, you will need to find place to seat first. There are many people flowing in especially during holiday and weekend. No reservations are allowed. Customers will have to be self-service and order and make payment at the cashier counter. Orders will be served by the staff after that.

 
We ordered 2 sets of scrambled eggs with bacon @ $11.00 per set. Scrambled eggs was moist and smooth and the bacon served was crunchy. Nothing much to rare about it but the overall taste is fine.

 
My friend ordered a cup of daily hot brew @ $5.00. Smell of fragrance black coffee brighten up her day No wonder people are coming back for their coffee.

 
I am not a coffee person so I ordered Earl Grey Tea @ $7.00 which comes with a pot of tea and a cup. The presentation is clear and classy. Loving the taste of the earl grey.

 
Total bill inclusive 7% GST was S$34.00 for 2 persons. CSHH was full house when we went over that day. So i would suggest not to drop by during weekend and also public holidays. I would definitely be back for the ambience and try their desserts and other foods. It is a cosy comfortable place to hang out with friends.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://hazeldiary.com/?p=2099
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Scrambled eggs with bacon,daily brew coffee
 
Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Crepes for Dinner? OK Aug 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant | Pasta

 
Raffles City Shopping Centre located at a strategically location which is accessible to City Hall mrt station is always one of the option to meet up with friends who are staying different parts of Singapore and overseas friend. I met up with my friend who was in town during first week of July 2013 (4/7/2013 to be exact) and rest of the friends.

The shopping mall has wide varieties choices of foods from restaurants,individual stalls and also food courts. We decided to try Out of the Pan which is located at the basement one surrounding the central fountain. I always pass by thinking that the foods served are quite pricey. Thus, it never crossed into my mind to try until we saw the signage of One-to-One offer for main course. And of course there isn’t any queue so we managed to get our seats straightaway.

The concept is open air and we could hear the water flowing sounds from the fountain. The dinning area is surrounded with people walking here and there and customers get the opportunity to watch and observe the surrounding.

Here are the crepes that we ordered:-

 

 

 

 
One of the best seller is Peking Duck Crepe ($15.50) with thin whole choice of crepe wrapping around roasted duck with sambal olek,lychees and plum sauce. It dark salty sweet sauce and the slices of roasted duck was a great combination. The lychees gives the sweetness taste into the combination. It’s the fusion creation from the original Chinese peking duck I would say.

Korean BBQ Pork ($14.50) with flavoured pork and Korean chilli paste served with kimchi. Surprisingly not spicy at all. The pork texture was tender and soft but I couldn’t taste much of the kimchi taste though.

Norwegian Salmon ($16) that consists of the crepe wrapped with smoked salmon and creamy pistachio cheese and chutney. The portion of the smoked salmon meat was quite generous. The combination of the creamy sauce with the fish was just perfect.

Red Wine Beef Stew ($15) that consists of the braised beef shank cube with potato and carrot in red wine sauce. The braised beef shank was nicely done. Just right taste to blend into the taste bud.

 

 
As for the drinks, we had Mango Fruit Juice ($5) which is concentrated mango juice and freshly made Mint Lemonade ($5) which stated that it’s from fresh pressed lemons, touch of sugar and fresh mint leaves lengthened with soda water. This is way too good for have some before main course. It widens up the appetizer.
Dessert choice was Stamford Brownies ($11). Rich chocolate walnute cake served with vanilla ice-cream and chocolate fudge sauce. It’s totally sinful and awesome to satisfy the chocolate craving.

 
The service is considered acceptable. The staffs weren’t that attentive during peak hours. Maybe they were too busy to notice the request. However, the ordering staff was quite friendly to provide recommendation when we were indecisive what to order.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Stamford Brownies,Peking Duck Crepe
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brunch On Sunday Morning OK Jul 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

I have always wanted to explore café in Singapore and finally got a chance after a pre-wedding shoot for my sister on Sunday morning. We headed to Kith Cafe located at Park Mall shopping mall for our brunch. The café is accessible by taking the train to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station and approximately 5 minutes walk from the station.

We were quite lucky that we managed to secure indoor seating that morning. The café has the choice of indoor and outdoor section where by the outdoor can accommodate about 30pax and indoor less than 20 pax. The interior design was designed with mass-manufactured furniture and has a studio home feel. However, the indoor space was quite limited as bar counters and open kitchen are all in one.

 
The breakfast menu serve till 3pm daily. We got there around 11am so there is still time for it. Big Breakfast S$16.50 was my choice that day. It comes with poached eggs, bacon, smoked bratwurst, sauteed mushrooms, grilled tomato, toast and nutella. We were provided choice of toast breads such as white, multigrain & etc , choice of eggs such as poached, scrambled, omelette & etc and also the choice of spread that available in peanut butter,nutella, homemade strawberry jam & vegemite. The greasy appearance of the bacon and the smoked bratwurst makes us feel so hungry. I love the sautéed mushrooms. It was a well done breakfast choice.

 
Sister ordered Corn Omelette S$16.00 which comes with corn omelette, choice of toast, avocado,tomatoes and bacon. The corn serving was generous and we love the freshness of the avocado and tomatoes.

 
Sister ordered Mixed fruit salad, vanilla yoghurt S$8.00. It comes with the seasonal mixed fruit with yoghurt. Truly a healthy choice breakfast but it is not filling for those we are used to have heavy breakfast. However, I personally think the price is slightly pricey for the amount served.

 
I would not suggest ordering the drinks. We are quite disappointed with the taste. The drinks are all quite bland and tasteless.
The drinks that we ordered that day:
Mango Smoothie, S$8.50 per serving. The mango taste wasn’t that strong and taste bland. Ice Honey Milk Latte, S$7.00 per serving. Totally no latte taste at all. Ice Teas-Rooibos lemon myrtle, S$6.50 per serving
Fresh fruit coolers - lemon, lime & mint S$8.50 per serving

 

 

 
Overall the dining experience was fine. The service staff was prompt and served with a smile. The crowd getting bigger as we sat down and most of the seats are occupied. So if you wish to drop by during the weekend, I would suggest you to go early or make a reservation.

For more photos: http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Big Breakfast
 
Date of Visit: Jun 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0