OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Affordable Western Cuisine Smile Jan 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Steaks and Grills

It was a fruitful day on Christmas as we visited S.E.A Aquarium for the whole day. After the sight-seeing, we decided to have Astons for dinner. Astons has many branches around singapore which served affordable and delicious western cuisine.We went to one of the branch located at upper thomson road coffeeshop.

Since it is located at the coffeeshop, it is self-sevice counter where we placed order and make payment on the spot.We then wait for our foods to be ready and self- collection is required.
Display menu

Display menu

 
Here goes the foods that we ordered that night. I decided to go for chargrill chicken with 2 choice of side dishes @ S$6.50. I choose baked potato and corn on the cob. Chargrill chicken is my all time favourite choice as the chicken is nicely grilled and goes well with the sauce.

 
My friend ordered Chicken Burger @S$4.90. The portion was just nice for us as bread can be filling. No much comment of the burger but the hamburger meat was tender and chewy with the cheese and sauce.

 
If you are looking for affordable and decent western cuisine, why not try Astons? The price is decent and par value with the serving portion.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chargrill Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Roasted Meat

I have read good reviews of Poulet Bugis+ from social media and long to give it a try. I knock off early than usual and managed to reach Bugis+ around 7.15pm. Surprisingly the queue has not started yet. We managed to get our seats within 10 minutes. Once we are seated, i saw the queue started to line up after 7.30pm.

Poulet is actually a French casual dining restaurant at Bugis+ which is opened by Thai Express group. The restaurant offers affordable French classics to the masses. It is an open concept theme located at level 4 of Bugis+. The restaurant design gives a contemporary and pleasant dinning place for group gathering and couples. We also get to see chefs on action with this new concept.

 
The menu was simple and it has the effiel tower picture to compliment with with concept.
Menu

Menu

 
Here comes the main course that we ordered. Braise de Canard @S$15.80 which serves braised duck leg in sweet wine sauce on baby spinach topped with cranberry and glazed shallot. The meat texture was surprisingly soft and tender and the duck meat was nicely done. However, the sauce wasn't generous enough as i wiped off the sauce before the duck meat finishes.

 
Here comes the signature dish. Braise de Poulet @S$13.80 which is served slow cooked chicken leg with potato, onion, garlic and leek in white wine sauce. The chicken was slow roast until the skin becomes golden brown. The combination of the roasted chicken with the creamy sauce is splendid.

 
Next we have Escargot de Bourgogne, $8.80.Escargots baked with tomato fondue infused with garlic butter.It was chewy and nice but it has less garlic taste.

 
Dessert is a must after dinner. We ordred Tiramisu @S$7.80. Combination of mascarpone cheese, sponge finger soaked in espresso and rum syrup. The serving is generous and it is just nice for two of us to share. We can taste the tiramisu moist and it is just as delicious as it's look.

 
To summarize, Poulet serves affordable price and decent French cuisine. We paid S$56.73 which inclusive of 10% service charge and 7%GST for 2 pax.The food is acceptable and par value with the price to pay. As for the services, the staff was friendly when we seek for opinions when ordering. They are quite attentive to customers' orders. The serving time was within 10 minutes which is pretty quick. Thus, this explains their high turnover on lunch and dinner time.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Escargot de Bourgogne,Braise de Poulet,Tiramisu
 
Date of Visit: Jan 30, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Table Manners OK Jan 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Salads

My colleague and I decided to have our dinner at Changi City Point shopping mall. Since, we never been there before, we decided to give it a try at the available restaurant. We were surveying around the mall and decided to try Table Manners.

We were attracted by the designs and atmosphere of Table Manners. The restaurant provides indoor and outdoor seats. The outdoor seats at the pavilion were fully occupied by the time we arrived. It would be lovely to dine outdoor with the koi pool around the pavilion and also the windy weather that night. Nevertheless indoor seating provides another nice feeling as well. Clean and classy interior design attracts us to dine in comfortable. My colleague commented that the concept is like IKEA with the colours of the furniture and also the wall finishes.

 

 

 

 
I ordered Arcadian Chicken @S$16.00 which consists of roasted Cajun spiced chicken leg with herb potato wedges and side vegetables. The portion was just nice to fill the hungriness. Love the herb potato wedges that taste crispy on the outer layer and soft in the inner part. The chicken meat texture was soft and tender to cut and eat.

 
My colleague ordered Beef Stroganoff @ S$16.00 which consists of sautéed beef cubes in sour cream sauce and mushroom with fettuccine. The linguini pasta blends into the sauce and the beef texture was soft tender to go with.

 
If you are looking for decent and affordable fare, you can give Table Manners a try. The foods are just average but the price wise is reasonably. Basically, we paid to enjoy the combination of vibe, atmosphere and overall concept of the restaurant.
Not to mentioned that the service staffs are friendly. They always put their smiling face when they attend to customers. However, one thing to take note that the staffs need to be attentive as we put up our hand to call for order and payment, it took them some time to saw us.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Arcadian Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quick Dinner Option OK Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta


It’s my second visit to Pizza Place with my cousins and sisters. It is located at basement 1 of Raffles City Shopping mall. There wasn’t a queue when we arrive so we managed to find a seat for 6 pax easily. Since it is self-service concept, we need to place order at the cashier counter and pay for the orders. The staff will then serve our order accordingly.

We ordered Carbonara linguine @S$9.80. It’s spaghetti with cream sauce topped with beef bacon bits. They are generous with the cream sauce but we find it a bit bland compared to our first visit.

 
My sister ordered Tomato linguine @S$8.80 which consists of unique blend of tomatoes, sundried tomatoes and herbs. She commented tomatoes taste was there and it blend into the linguine. Overall taste is ok.

 
As for ala carte, we ordered chicken Caesar salad @S$6.80. Presentation is appealing and the lettuces are fresh and greenish. Love the freshness taste and the chicken was nicely cut portion to consume.

 
The dinner was pleasant with the serving time is less than 15 minutes upon ordering. I personally think that their services are quite good in terms of attending to customers order and ensure the turnover orders are manageable. The location is convenient to access if you are looking for quick and affordable dinner. They do not charge service charges here but you still enjoy the staff friendly. However, it is not an ideal place if you plan to chat over dinner during dinner hours because customers are flocking in and the staffs will give you hint to leave by clearing your dinning table clear. That’s the usual practice in most of the restaurants.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Caesar Salad
 
Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Italian Dinning  Smile Jan 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta


We had a lovely dinner on Wednesday night at an italian restaurant located at 14 Stanley Street. It is a walking distance from Tanjong Pagar MRT Station. It is a recommendation by my friend as the one of the owner is her client. We made reservation before dropping by the restaurant named PepeNero.As shown in their website, PepeNero means black pepper in Italian,which refers back to the most popular and commonly used spice in the world. It finds its way into nearly everything from Indian curries to Italian cuisines.

This is a contemporary fine restaurant located in the downtown area. It is ideal for executives who are working nearby for quick business lunch and after work happy hours. The environment and ambience of the place allows a quiet evening with your love ones or private dinning. The restaurant is decorated with wine bottles and square frame pictures to fill up the apple green wall. Understand from one of the owner, the interior design of the restaurant is done by them. Simple and elegant i would say. Good job for them!

 

 
Portebello Mushroom @$S12.00 served as appertizer as well. Love the presentation and the colour combination of it.

 
Homemade White Truffle stuffed Tortelloni with truffle emulsion light cream @S$30.00 per serving. It's a seasonal dish and we were in luck to try white truffle. The cream taste is fantastic. It's a beautiful piece art presentation which taste as nice as it looks. The white truffles are shaved thinly and stuffed with pork meat into the ring-shaped pasta.

 
Pan Seared Tuna Goulash with Grilled Leeks and Crustacean Reduction @S$30.00 per serving. The tuna was cooked in a special way as it is presented in cube sizes where you can see the middle part is raw and outer is well cooked. You can feel the difference of the fish texture. Love the combination with the sauce.

 
Spaghetti seafood in "cartouche" sauteed with white wine and light tomato sauce @S$29.00 per serving. Everyone love this dish. The dish was served in a wrapped bag. The staff unwrapped it in front of us and we can see the vibrant colour of the spaghetti.

 
Homemade Tiramisu with marinated Cheeries @S$12.00.Wonderful piece of dessert. The softness and smooth layer of tiramisu cake melts into the mouth. The taste is different from tiramisu cake that i had previously.

 
It was a fruitful dinner as we are educated with the culture and the knowledge of italian cuisine. The staff will approach us and ask for feedback and comments after the dinner. They will treat customers like friends and chat with us to input us with more information about italian cuisine. It is one of the way to educate customers on the cuisine. Understand from them,they will change their menu every 2-3 months. Some are seasonal menu such as the white truffles to give an example. So whenever you drop by the restaurant, they will be something new and surprise waiting for you to explore. The exquisite homemade foods shows the effort of the chef in his job.

I would definitely visit them again with their kind and warm welcome hospitality. It makes you feel comfortable and happy dinning with them. Afterall the food quality is par value with the price. I like the contemporary fine feel to the restaurant and yet not pay through my nose for good food.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Portebello Mushroom,Tiramisu
 
Date of Visit: Jan 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0