OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Chinese Cuisine for Dinner OK Jan 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Chinese Noodles

There are reviews from bloggers' blogs about the famous and colourful xiao long bao. Finally got the chance to try. We headed over for dinner @ ION Orchard on Sunday. It was a long queue when we headed over for dinner. So we had to wait for a while before we managed to get a seat.

A must try signature dynasty dumplings S$13.80 for 8pcs.Each colour of dumplings bring out different flavors. From top, orange for crab roe, green for ginseng, white for classic,pink for szechuan, peach for foie grass,middle black for black truffle, yellow for cheese and lilac for garlic.There were served pipping hot clear broth. The taste wise is quite innovative and the skin is very thin. There is a little chewiness in the skin's texture. Overall is quite refreshing and taste is pretty alright but i won't queue and wait to have this.
Signage

Signage

 

 

 
Steamed Chive Dumplings in 6 pieces @ S$4.80. (Not uploaded here).
This dumplings' skin is slightly thick than the xiao long bao. The taste wise is fine and the fillings are quite rich.

 
My pick of that day: La Mian in Signature Pork Bone soup and Deep fried Pork Rib S$11.80.
It was surprisingly good for me especially deep fried pork rib. It was nicely deep fried pork rib. The softness of meat texture attracts my taste bud. The noodle's texture is springy and the soup base is compatible with the noodle.

 
Chilled Slice Pork with special sauce and minced garlic @ S$7.80
Love this dish. It is my favourite dish.It is very appetizing and it goes well with the sauce.

 
La Mian with Sliced Pork with signature pork base soup.
The slice pork is thin and goes well with the compatible soup base.

 
La Mian with Poached Marble Beef Style in szechuan style @ S$12.80
The soup base is extremely spicy and we cannot take it. I think it will be a good choice for spicy lover.

 
Overall the service staffs are prompt and efficient. The servings were very fast and less than 20 minutes. So i believe the turnover sales for the restaurant is quite good. It's a decent place for dining. However i think i will not queue if the queue is long.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  La Mian in Signature Pork Bone soup and Deep fried Pork Rib,Chilled Slice Pork with special sauce and minced garlic
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Dinner OK Jan 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Finally after reading many reviews of Itacho Sushi, I had the chance to dine here. It was a mini gathering with ex-colleagues and we knock off around 7 plus instead of 10pm on one of the weekdays for the dinner. It's super tough to get to knock off that early on usual time smile

We decided to queue for this japanese restaurant. The queue is approximately 15-20 minutes before we were given a place to dine. The restaurant seems to be short handed of staff as the staffs are not prompt to react to customers' needs. We keep putting up our hands but nobody came to attend us. My friend has to go to their counter and get the tablespoon.One of the reason is because the restaurant is full house.

 

 

 
We ordered handroll as I was craving for salmon sashimi.I still prefer salmon avocado with mayonnaise and ebbiko handroll. Nevertheless the handroll seaweed is crispy and the salmon is quite fresh as well.

Crab meat salad @ S$4.80
Good start as an appetizer before the main course. It's quite refreshing and the crab meat, cucumbers are nicely sliced into thin layers and mixed well with the mayonnaise sauce with the ebbiko topping on top of it.

 
Salmon with soy sauce @ S$0.40 per pc.
Roasted squid leg sushi @ S$2.30 per pc
Since this is a special offer, every customer is only applicable to 2 pieces for the sushi.
Taste wise is acceptable.
Squid leg is chewy when we bite.Salmon with soy sauce taste fine for me but i would prefer to go for salmon sashimi.
Binchou Tuna with Citrus Sauce @ S@2.50 per pc
It's a bit dry for me and we are able to taste the citrus sauce.
Not much preference of this sushi but it definitely taste fine.

 
Roasted scallop with flying fish salad @ S$1.50 per pc.Roasted scallop is nice. The scallop is quite thick and you able to taste the sweetness of the scallop. The flying fish salad sauce added flavor onto the taste and also the colour of the sushi.

 
Curry sliced pork with rice @ S$11.00 per serving.
Presentation is fine and the taste is acceptable for my colleagues. I didn't tried so no much comment from my side. But my colleague commented that the pork are nicely sliced and they are able to taste the softness texture of the meat and able to chew easily.

 
Sliced pork with udon which i forget the price.
The portion is just nice for one and not to full to consume.

 
As for my own preference, i wouldn't spend time to queue for it. Price wise is affordable as a chain of japanese restaurant. The restaurant is located at basement of Bugis Junction Shopping mall. It is accessible through Bugis MRT Station.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crab meat salad,Roasted scallop with flying fish salad
 
Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seafood Feast OK Jan 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood | Zi Char

Sometime ago we headed to Trade Hub 21 for seafood feast.This is a Zi Char stall located inside a coffesshop and you can actually reach this place by private or public transport. It was recommended for their famous crab. Kimly Live Seafood can't really consider as restaurant as it shares the premises with a food court.It's like a tze char stall in a neighbourhood but this is located at business area.

 

 
Below are the dishes that we ordered that day:-
Vegetables are a must in every dish of tze char.

 
Crispy Fish Skin Served w/ Fragrant Brinjal.The taste is awesome.You can feel the crispiness of the fried skin and softness of the brinjal.

 
Fried beehoon with chicken, mushroom and vegetables.
Nothing special of the beehoon and the taste is fine for us.

 
Forget the actual name of the dish but the pork rib that goes with the special sauce is superb delicious.
The pork rib is nicely done.

 

 
Famous Crispy Yam with Salted Egg crab. It's their signature dish and different from the one i tasted before. It's dry, cracked salted egg style. The yam strips are crispy though but i don't see any connection with the salted egg crab.

 
The price is not that cheap though. It is like a price of restaurant. There is no service charges but they do charge for the towel. There is parking area if you are going to drive over.

Below are the parking charges for your reference:-
Monday – Friday (All Day):
Free: 1st hour
Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday (All Day):
Free Parking
Subsequent: $1.00 / hour
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Famous Crispy Yam with Salted Egg crab,Crispy Fish Skin Served w/ Fragrant Brinjal
 
Date of Visit: Mar 18, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sister's Birthday Treat Smile Jan 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

It was a friday night few days before my birthday. My sister suggested to have sisters' gathering and we decided to meet up at Raffles City Shopping Centre after work. It is accessible by City Hall MRT Station.
I turned up almost 9pm and we decided to go for Canele Patisserie for dinner cum desserts.
The foods that we ordered that night:-

Pancake style which is quite similar with roti canai style. Combination of fresh vegetables and turkey hams and delightful sauce to go with the crepe.

 

 
Spaghetti with mushroom sauce and ham. Not sure the actual name of the dish but it is definitely a creamy one. It is awfully sinful for me as i feel that my weight increase with the creamy sauce.

 

 

 
My sister ordered sandwiches with eggs and hams if i am not mistaken. It's surely a big portion one and she can only stuffed part of it.
Very filling one!

 
Desserts that we ordered:-
Le Royale is definitely a good choice for chocolate lover. A slice that costs S$7.48 is surrounded by the wall of chocolate glaze and almonds and topped with the heavenly bubble dark chocolate that melts into your mouth.

 
In love with their desserts. No wonder Canele is always in the dessert list if you google search through website. It definitely live up with their reputation. The desserts are very rich with ingredients and presentation. The presentation has taken the limelight of the day as it will attracts sweet tooth lovers to order. I do admit i am one of the sweet tooth lover. It totally brighten up the day when it slips into my mouth. I sound exaggerate? But i am chocolate lover and this dessert really satisfied my cravings for chocolate taste.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Le Royale
 
Date of Visit: Aug 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Foods OK Dec 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 
Tomo in Japanese means "friends".This japanese restaurant named Tomo Izakaya located at Esplanade is a nice place for dining. The decoration of the restaurant are mostly in woods and placed origami handicraft on the wall. They also have sake bottles to be used as decorations as well. The nearest MRT is Esplanade MRT station. You can reach there by City Hall MRT station. It will be a walking distance around 15minutes. It is located at level 1 of esplanade mall wich has the outdoor dinning area as well.

 

 
Below are the selection of foods that we ordered:-

Zaru Soba @ S$9
I like the cold noodle which taste refreshing. The texture of the noodle is very Q and the sauce that goes with the spring onion, wasabi and sesame is splendid.
A snap of photo after we combine all the ingredients into the sauce taken below for reference.

 

 
This is something new to me.Ton-Shabu Salad S$12.50
Thinly sliced boiled pork with onion and mixed salad in sesame dressing. Simply splendid! The thickness of the boiled pork is not more than 5mm and combination with the salad gives the refreshing taste.

 
Dashimaki Tamago S$7.00
The tamago is something different from the taste one we had normally.
The texture is smooth and not so sweet as well.

 
Ninniku Jyako Fried Rice S$10.50
We don't enjoy it. The fried rice is dried and we need to drink ocha to digest the fried rice.

 
Overall the foods here are delicious except for the fried rice.It is quite disappointing though.
However, the staff services are great. They are attentive and prompt to our order. They provide suggestion for our dinning choice as well. Definitely a nice place to dine in with friends.

Address:-

Tomo Izakaya @ Esplanade Art Centre
8 Raffles Avenue,
#01-09, Esplanade Art Centre
Singapore 039802

Tel: 6333 0012
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ton Shabu Salad
 
Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0