OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant



It was an impromptu dinner affair with ex-colleagues last friday. It was my first time to Marina Keppel Bay and many thanks to Jo for bring me over to enjoy the night view at keppel bay. It was silent romance night view for me. The lights of the cables and the Reflections' Building lights have light up the dark night. Awesome place for romance! Too bad i am with girls not guy.

TCC (The Connoisseur Concerto) has a branch here as well. I also get to know TCC GSS promotion special going on til 22nd July 2012. So why not? It was full house when we reached there around 8 plus and we waited for approximately 15 minutes outside before we can get a seat inside the cafe. One of the service staff was extremely friendly and professional. He served us ice water while we are waiting and chat with us which at the same time recommend the main course to us.

Took a picture of the menu as the staff explained that the branch here has different design of menu and choices as well. Totally match with the keppel by the bay concept smile
Menu

Menu

 
Since the promotion is one for one main course, we ordered 4 sets to share with 3 persons. Sound like a glutton here. So they will charge whichever higher price for 2 main courses out of 4 main courses. Awesome isn't it? You get to try different type of it and come back for more next time.

Grilled Kurobuta Pork Loin with Rosemary Wine Jus S$27.80
Combination of kurobuta pork loin, roasted fingerling potato,carrot stick, US asparagus served with rosemary wine jus and apple puree. Fantastic i would say but i would prefer the meat texture is be not to hard to cut/ slice it. I had difficulties to cut it into slices. Although it seems to be hard to cut, but it's not hard to chew. The sauce prepared soften the meat texture of the pork loin and you can enjoy chewing it.

 
Homely-Style Beef Stew S$20.80
It's the combination of braised beef stew, asparagus and baked new potatoes. The beef was nicely done. The fats or we called it collagen and the meat texture was soft and tender. It blend into the sauce prepared. It was just nice to share among friends as i think it's too much of meat for me. But overall was awesome. I can find the satisfaction for the beef stew.

 
Jalapeno Salmon S$22.50
Pan-smeared salmon, spicy lotus root, broccolini, baked new potatoes, capscium salsa and jalapeno cream. Not a fan of cooked salmon though but this dish turned out to be acceptable one for me. I would prefer salmon sashimi then. The salmon was medium well done as per requested and the skin is cripsy. The salmon colour is beautiful and so is the taste. I love the jalapeno cream which goes perfectly well with the salmon.

 
Chicken & Turkey Bacon Lasagne S$16.50
Smoked turkey bacon slices, mozzarella cheese, tomato mushroom sauce and parmesan cheese ring bouquet. The combination turned out to be delicious. It was served hot and you can smell the mixture of cheese and tomato sauce. The ingredients are rich and you can taste the chicken and smoked turkey bacon slices for almost each mouth.

 
Finally have a nice dinner to end the tiring week. Working has been very taxing with the deadlines and responsibilities. So i told myself to reward myself with good foods.

TCC is also well known with their drinks and we ordered some to try. Forget the name of the drinks but it was recommended by the staff and it turned out to suit my tastebud though.

 

 
Ended the friday night enjoying the view from the restaurant and chit chatting all the way. Totally feel relaxed as if celebrating the countdown of weekend.

How to get there: Telok Blangah MRT (CC28) and exit A with a walking distance approximately 12-15 minutes.Alternatively, you can take Bus 10, 30, 57, 61, 93, 97, 97E, 100, 131, 143, 145, 166, 188, 408 and walking
distance of 10 minutes. I would prefer to have own transportation if were to dine here as it is really inconvenience.

Spending: Approximately $25-$35 per pax
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Homely-Style Beef Stew,Grilled Kurobuta Pork Loin with Rosemary Wine Jus
 
Date of Visit: Jun 15, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fried Char Kuay Teow Smile Dec 25, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Food Court

Christmas Day today and my friend and I went to the largest SEA aquarium for a tour. So, after we ended the tour, we went to Malaysia Food Street to use our S$5dollar voucher given when we purchased the entrance ticket for SEA Aquarium. We were searching high and low of Malaysia Food Street and the direction isn't clear for us although it is next to USS only.

We were amazed with the design of the place. It gives the feeling that we are back to Malaysia!
Random photos taken in the daytime.

 

 

 
I decided to use my S$5 dollar meal voucher to purchase the fried kuay teow. The queue was long and i waited for around 15 minutes to get my food. However, the queue was systematic. We placed our order to the cashier counter and receive the receipt from payment with the written waiting number. The staff will call out the numbers once the kuey teow was ready to serve.
Stall

Stall

 

 
The food was presented nice and the prawn size was quite large compared to the ones that you try at normal coffeeshop in other places. The kuey teow texture was good and not too soft or soggy. It turned out fine for me.

So if you wish to try Malaysia local food delights, you can take the monorail from vivocity to Waterfront station. Alight the station and walk towards to USS direction. You will find the Malaysia Food Street building is just next to it. Alternatively, you can use sentosa broadwalk to walk to Sentosa but it will take much more time.

 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

First Try on Indian Foods OK Dec 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian

 
My friend was craving for Indian food. So i google searching for nice reviews on any indian restaurant in town. We are not a fan to indian cuisine thus little research need to be done before we choose the right one to try.

On another hand, she was pregnant with the second child. Thus, explain to her craving on Indian food. We decided to try Tandoori Restaurant at Serangoon Plaza. It is a walking distance from exit H from Farrer Park MRT station.So it wasn't hard to find.

The staffs are attentive to us as the whole restaurant was only occupied by 2-3 tables only. They are prompt to our request and the foods are served withing 15 minutes.

 
Tandoori Chicken (Quarter) S$9.90
Spring chicken marinate with the spices and cream and grilled in clay oven. Thus explain the fragrance of the tandoori chicken when it is served. The outer layer of the chicken was nicely grilled and the texture of the meat is tender and smooth. I don't really like the taste of the green sauce. So i prefer the original taste of the chicken.

 
Cheese Naan S$5.50 per pc (slice into 4 pieces). It is home-made cheese and mozzarella cheese stuffed in the bread. You can taste the strong taste of the cheese. I am not a cheese lover so i don't really enjoyed it. But my friend tasted it and love it instantly.
& Garlic Naan S$ 3.50 (Slice into 2 pieces). Leavened bread with garlic which i personally love it very much.

 
Naan is best to go with butter chicken. Butter Chicken S$ 17.00.
The butter chicken is marinated chicken cooked in thick, rich, creamy gravy.
Superb taste! It is not spicy at all. Not to mention the texture of the chicken. It is tender and chewy to enjoy. However, the price is quite pricey for the portion given.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Naan,Tandoori Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Tasting @ Noodle Around Smile Dec 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Fusion | Restaurant | Seafood | Kids-Friendly


It was a fruitful Sunday as I was honoured to be invited for food tasting at Noodle Around at Bugis Cube. It is accessible by Bugis MRT and also buses. There is one bus stop just right in front of the restaurant. It is a walking distance once you tap out of Bugis MRT and cross the road which is same row heading towards Liang Seah Street.

We started off with appetizer, Salmon Salad and also seafood salad. It was served with beautiful colour presentation combination of green lettuce, red tomatoes with chuncks of salmon. It is made with special dressing sauce and it was recommended to taste it originally without the lemon squeeze followed by the lemon squeeze. I would prefer the original taste once i taste the difference. Nevertheless both taste gives a different tastebuds.

 
There are chicken wings and their signature tofu which has the combination of smooth inner with fish paste and the cripsy outer part. Everyone gives a praise on the signature tofu.

Prawn Noodles with strawberry sauce.It's a great innovation works. It does not taste sour or too sweet at all. It is surprisingly nice.

 
Seafood Platter Noodle-combination of crayfish with prawns and mussels. There are very generous with the portion and they uses the prawn soup base which blend well with the juicy seafoods.

 
I love the desserts served. This is one of my favourite- chrysanthemum jelly with wolfberry. I ate the chrysanthemum flower with the jelly!Smoothing throat and you can taste the wolfberry too!

 
One of my favourite and choice for the dessert. Jelly with Ice Red wine which gives everyone the expression of 'WOW' when they put the ice cube red wine and jelly into their mouth. The ice cube red wine melts into your mouth with the lemongrass jelly taste blends perfectly well.

 
For durian and cheese lover, you can try Durian Cheesecake which uses D24 durian to make. The durian taste is surprisingly not too strong and you can even taste the cheese taste after the bite.

The environment is good with the friendly staffs and chef. It is an open kitchen concept and we can even see what are the chefs cooking on the spot. Each table was labelled with the wi-fi password for customers' convenient too. The place is suitable for gathering or bonding place as well.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Jelly with Ice Red wine,Signature tofu,seafood platter,chrysanthemum jelly with wolfberry
 
Date of Visit: Dec 09, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dining & Chill out Place OK Nov 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

It has been a while since my last OpenRice tasting. This time round is at CATO , the modern Asian restaurant and bar located just opposite the Sri Mariamman Temple. CATO offers an extensive list of craft beers, spirits and quirky tapas or bar bites. The 4 months old (opened on July 2015) is well-known with its craft beers but we are here to try their food for this session instead.

 

 
CATO occupied the first and second level of the shop house. The first level is the restaurant concept theme while the second level is in bar concept. We had our session at second level where the interior designs are rustic style with rough brick walls and wooden flooring. And the lighing at the bar was very dim so for those who opt for food photography, I would suggest to just relax with the music in-house, foods and drinks. Set aside on the photography!
Starter/ Appertizers/ Bites
Prawn Bisque with Homemade Cod Fish ball & Coriander Leaf S$12.00

 
The description of the dish pretty much explains the ingredients in the broth. The broth was prepared using the prawn stock and the cod fish ball added in to give a good start to chill as a bar snack. It comes in a size as an espresso cup.
Garlic Fries S$8.00

 
The fries served with roasted garlic and Cajun seasoning. I find the garlic taste was overwhelming but some find it not. Thus, it depends on individual preferences.
Chicken Noodle Salad S$16.00

 
Trust me! If you are not a spicy lover, you may want to skip this. I took the first bite and I can immediately feel the numb at my mouth and my throat is burning hot! So, be sure you inform the staff if you want the spiciness level to cut down.
Crispy Squid In Thai Style Glaza S$12.00

 
Fresh whole baby squid coated in flour and spice batter and seasoned with fish sauce before deep frying it. I would prefer to enjoy it with less batter so that I am able to taste the meaty squid in it. Neverthless, it’s a good order to go with beers.
CATO Wings in Homemade Chili Glaze S$15.00

 
Mild chili wings with slight sweetness taste at the outer layer of the skin.
Mains
Acai Cured Salmon S$18.00

 
Salmon was served in big cube chunks together with marinated starfruit, ceyhice and acai jelly. Too many flavours in the plate and I cannot really find the focus taste of this dish.
Steam Baked Pork Cheek S$28.00

 
Tender pork cheek wrapped with a fata cooking oil along with seasonal vegetables. There is an Aladdin lamp shape jar filled with mushroom and port wine mustard sauce at the side. The pork cheek was tender and juicy and the sauce enhanced the flavour of the meat.
Aunty Jasmine’s Fish Curry S$25.00

 
This is highly recommended as it’s the secret recipe by the Chef’s family member. The fish that they used was New Zealand Ling fish along with the okra , eggplant, carrots, yellow squash, olive infused caviar, chunks of breads and garnished with fried onions. The curry was made from stretch was thick and solid savory.
Desserts
Papaya Nougat Glace S$14.00

 
Beautifully plated on a nice round plate was served on the table. The nougat is homemade and topped with fresh fruits of papaya. raspberries, blueberries and caramelized almond. Fruity taste as whole.
Varlhona Warm Pistachio Chocolate Cake S$14.00

 
Chocolate cake served with almond ice-cream and some fresh pomegranate in between the plating. Although the chocolate lava cake does not flow as we expected, the chocolate cake was moist and rich flavour. I enjoyed having it with the pomegranate at the side. Plus, you will never go wrong to pair it with a scoop of ice-cream.
Overall there are some hits and misses on the dishes but if you are looking for a good place to chill out, CATO bar would be an ideal option as their specialty on craft beers were well-received. On top of these, they also have the S$1.00 special for fresh oysters starting 6pm on Wednesday Specials.

For more food reviews; http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Draft Beers
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0