OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Having Fried Chicken in "Clinic" OK Nov 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean Fried Chicken

For more information and reviews, check out my post http://www.hazeldiary.com
Chi-Maek referring to perfect combination of Chicken and Beer which is loved by Koreans like the drama “ My Love from The Star”. This combination is still going strong in F&B Singapore lately and Chicken Clinic is the latest addition. Chicken Clinic located at Thomson V Two (walking distance from Marymount MRT Station) specialized in Japanese and Korean style Fried Chicken. Nic and I was there around 4plus and the shop was empty and we were greeted by the staff with the menu and an order chit. We browsed through the menu and tick on our orders before handed back to the staff.

 
Since, the shop space is limited; we can actually get a glimpse on how the foods are prepared. The indoor seating can only fit up to 8 pax and there are few tables for outdoor seating area.Once the order is placed, we waited for approximately 10-15 minutes time for the foods to serve.
Seasoned Spicy Chicken S$19.50

 
We were being warned that there is certain spiciness level in it. Fried chickens dipped in Korean style sweet chili sauce look fiery red and I was expecting it to be fiery spicy too. But, it turned to be mild spicy with more sweetness in it. I don’t take spicy but I can handle the spiciness here. As I had more of it, I can taste the garlicky taste in it too. The set comes with sides of a small pail of fries, salad and also the seasoned pickles.
The unique of Chicken Clinic here is that the sauce is served in syringe form and you seem like having doing an ‘operation’ to eat it.
Watermelon Soju 400ml S$15.90

 
It is a refreshing fruity alcoholic drink to enjoy with the fried chicken. If you notice, there are lemon slices in the watermelon soju enhance the tangy taste in it. We were served with 2 small soju cups and it was quite hassle to keep pouring it as we finish it at one gulp each time. After few rounds of drinking, I can feel the alcohol kick starting to take effect.
Buta Yakiniku Dong S$10.50

 
Steam Rice with pork dipped in soy sauce. The pork slices were as thin as 0.2mm were served. It would be nice if pork slices can be thicker and more gravy added in so that overall meal is not too dry.
Overall the services here are friendly and approachable. The lady gave us suggestions before we decide on our orders. The Korean chef was in smiles all the time and you can feel their polite manners to the customers.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Watermelon Soju
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Flamming Pineapple Smile Oct 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Fusion

For more foods reviews, check out my blog http://hazeldiary.com
Tung Lok Group latest venture, Lokkee is located at Plaza Singapura. The restaurant uses part of Lao Beijing Restaurant’s space to operate. Lokkee concept is inspired by the chinese take-out foods in Chinatown across the cosmopolitan cities. Thus, the foods served have the mixture of east meets west cuisine.

 
Interior of the Restaurant
Once we entered into the restaurant, we were greeted by the cute star wars statue drinking bubble tea at the front entrance. The reception cum cash counter is on the right side.
The restaurant is designed with modern concept with detailing on the walls and tables are in black colour and chairs are in deep red colour. There are Chinese brush paintings of Star Wars hanging at the walls of the dining area. VIP rooms are available in the restaurants as well.
And if you observe, each table has a big bottle of Sriracha sauce. Let’s move on to the foods we ordered that day:-
Foods
Appetiser
Sichuan ‘Mala’ Fish Fries S$14.00

 
Fried cut fish served with numbing spice Sichuan seasoning. It is an interesting way of serving fish in fries. I can have it as my mains with the portion served.
Poultry & Meat
Awesome Flaming Pineapple Beef S$28.00

 
Lokkee’s version of coconut braised beef served in a dug-out pineapple. The pineapple was set on fire upon serving giving everyone a visual treats. The braised beefs were tender and juicy. The gravy of the dish after digging it towards the end of the pineapple has a sweet taste in it.
Firecracker Chicken Nest S$24.00

 
Deep-fried diced chicken served with chopped dried chilies and mango puree. It comes with 4 mango purees around the plating and additional one will cost S$3.00 each. It resembles ‘egg yolk’ for the first glance and eye-catching for photography.
The service staff advises us to enjoy the chicken first followed by the mango puree. Loving the crispy bites of the deep fried chicken and careful the power of the dried chilies in between the meats. The mango puree spheres give bursts upon the bite and it is good for aftertaste of the spicy delights.
Shredded Crispy Duck with Thin Flour Skins S$16.00

 
Shredded deep-fried duck confit served with thin flour skin wraps was pretty decent. Since it is duck confit, the duck skin is expected to be slightly tougher. Nevertheless, the mixture with the slice of cucumber and the sides make up the wraps tasted flavourful.
Beancurd & Vegetables
Mapo Tofu S$16.00

 
Freshly in-house made tofu with numbing spice minced beef sauce. We can request for less spicy if required. Nice and smooth tofu to go with a bowl of white rice.
Bao
Pork Cracklins Bao S$13.00

 
Crispy pork cracklins with fermented beancurd sauce comes in two pieces only. I enjoyed the crackling skin and the soft tender pork texture in it. However, I would prefer more sauce in it as the pork taste bland in its own.
Rice & Noodles
Uni Pasta S$24.00

 
Uni Pasta with cream sauce and there are bits of uni traces on this plate of pasta. I find it too creamy but others find it just nice. Thus, the taste is quite subjective based on individual preferences.
Shrimp Garlic Noodles S$16.00

 
Stir-fried noodles with shrimp and garlic. Nothing much to rave with it but this plate of noodles are nicely prepared and the shrimps are fresh and big.
Dessert
Banana Egg Roll S$10.00

 
Banana spring rolls served with coconut sorbet was just nice for 5 of us. The coconut sorbet was refreshing and compliments well with the crispy spring rolls and soft banana texture in it. I would say it is a creative way to enjoy ‘pisang goreng’.
The dining experience was pleasant as the service staffs are well-trained. They are polite and put on a smile to customers. The foods here are innovative and inspired with fusion style. I would visit again for the foods and services here.
Sub-total bill was S$201.50 but we managed to enjoy 15% off by using UOB credit card. Thus, the final amount was S$211.32 inclusive of 10% service charges and 7% GST. The amount includes our drinks as well.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Awesome Flaming Pineapple Beef,Firecracker Chicken Nest
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $43(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Tom Yum Lobster OK Oct 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

Golden Mile Complex is known as “Little Thailand” in Singapore. As you step into the complex, most of the restaurants are selling thai cuisines. There are mini mart selling Thai ingredients as well. Most people who comes to this place to satisfy their Thai cuisine cravings. So many restaurants to choose from and there are new openings too. One of the recent F&B venture is the Abb Zabb with their signature Tom Yum Lobster.

 
Abb Zabb is owned by a couple where the husband is Singaporean and the wife is Thai. The stall is located at Level 2 where they share the space with other stall owners. The stall sells the signature dish along with other Thai foods for further varieties.

 

 

 
Tom Yum Lobster (Luxe Version S$38.00 | Deluxe Version S$15.00)
There are two version of the Tom Yum Lobster -Luxe Version and Deluxe Version. For the luxe version, it comes with one whole boston lobster, abalone slices, squids, mussels, scallops seafoods. It is quite luxurious seafood serving with affordable pricing. As for the deluxe version, it comes with half lobster with seafoods ingredients except for the abalone slices. With the combination of seafoods, the soup base tasted sweet and not overwhelmed with spiciness. However, I find the lobster meat is slightly overcooked though.
All versions come with a choice of straight glass noodles or the curly instant noodles.

 
Fresh Oysters with Chilli Condiments S$12.00.If you are an oyster lover, you will love this raw plate to spice up your appetite.

 
Thai Basil Chicken Kuay Tiew S$6.00.If you ask me which is my favourite of all, I will vote for this. Delish and value for money. Mixed of fusion style with kuay tiew as the serving and aromatic thai basil minced chicken definitely fill up your empty stomach within minutes.

For more food reviews, check out my blog : http://www.hazeldiary.com
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Reasonable & Delish Breakfast Smile Sep 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Brunch

I have been eyeing on the opening of Clinton St. Baking Company and Restaurant whenever I pass by everyday at work. Finally it’s open for soft opening on 19 September which is a week ago. Located along Purvis Street, the restaurant is just a walking distance away from City Hall MRT or Bugis MRT station. This is the first branch in South East Asia holding several “Best Titles” across the media with its’ legendary pancakes.
We arrived around 8.10am on 24 September which is Selamat Hari Raya Haji (Public Holiday) and surprisingly, families and friends started to flood into the restaurant for breakfast.The streets are so quiet early morning of public holiday but the restaurant was filled with the crowd. We managed to get the seats before the crowd came.

 

 

 
Since it’s early morning, the Chicken & Waffles are not available. So, if you are craving for this, come after 11:30 am onwards. Since most of the social media has been reviewing about Buttermilk Biscuit Sandwich, we thought of trying other dish from the menu instead. So, we ordered Clinton St. Omelette S$18.00 with the choice of two filling. The staff recommended us to have cheese and mushrooms omelette served with hash browns and sourdough toast. There is also option to substitute egg whites or greens for S$3.00 and additional fillings S$2.00 each. But, I think the portion is just nice for 1 pax and do not need to add on anymore. I can’t even finish it all by myself so sharing is possible for small eaters. The combination of mushroom and cheese with the eggs was pretty decent. The cheese taste was not overwhelming and I can taste the mushroom juiciness within the omelette. Although the presentation is not photogenic compared to the Buttermilk Biscuit Sandwich, but I think the overall taste was good and filling at a reasonable pricing.

 

 
Next, we had the famous Pancakes with Warm Maple Butter S$18.00. There are three options available – wild blueberries, banana walnut or chocolate chunk. We decided to go with wild blueberries. Thick stacks of pancakes with wild blueberries as the topping was served on the table.I enjoyed the pancakes texture as it was fluffy with the blueberries sweetness in it.Not forgetting the warm maple butter drizzled over the pancakes makes a sweet ending to the meal.

 
Lastly, we ordered Sugar Cured Bacon S$7.00 as ala-carte. It was a good choice as we are in love with the crispy and sweet coated layer of the bacon. It reminds me when I first tried at Morganfield’s but this is absolutely delish. It’s like a snack or appertizer for your meal to kick off.

 
As for our drinks, I had Grapefruit juice S$7.00 and Janel got Latte S$6.00. Pure grapefruit juice taste with nice fragrance of latte smell to perks the morning wake.
I have not been to New York to try the Clinton Street Baking Company so thankful for their first branch here in Singapore. I foresee myself returning to try other foods in the menu other day. Thus, hopefully the foods quality and consistency will maintain during my next visit. If you are planning give a try, do anticipate the waiting time. We were there early morning and they seem like short of manpower and customers will need to wait for a while before they can get seated. Thus, bear with the operation flows and enjoy the meal. The staffs do greet the customers with a smile even before and after the meal. This marks a sweet dining experience with Clinton Street Baking Company at Purvis Street.
Total Bill S$65.91 inclusive of 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sugar Cured Bacon,Pancakes with warm maple butter
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $33(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Meatless Lunch Session Smile Sep 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Vegetarian

For more food reviews, check out: http://hazeldiary.com

It has been a while since I last had a vegetarian meal. Elemen 元素 located at Millenia Walk is the newly 2 months old vegetarian restaurant which was introduced by Eileen over the tasting last weekend. It is accessible via Promenade MRT station. We were shared that the restaurant is operated under the subsidiary of the Koufu Management. And they are going to have second outlet opening at Thomson in few weeks time.

 
The restaurant offers 5-course lunch set meal S$23.80++ which is available from Monday till Friday and 8 course set meal S$32.80++ . There was quite a range of selection for the individual categories (Starters, Mains, Drinks & Desserts). Here are some of the choices that we tried the other day:
Elemen Appertizer

 
Once the appertizer was served on the table, the staff advises us to eat from left to right. We started off with the rolled cucumber stuffed with lotus paste and sauce. Followed by the black sesame tofu and ended with cherry tomato in plum sauce.

 
Quinoa Salad
This is definitely a healthy choice. Quinoa served along with the greens and slices of beetroots give the extra crunchy bites as a start of the meal.

 
Mushroom Salad
It’s my first time trying Chinese style mushroom salad. The salad is nicely plated on the table with three different types of mushroom with sauce.

 

 
There were 4 choices of soup which includes the chinese-style and western style. We were served with Maca Soup and Mushroom Soup with white truffle oil. Maca Soup is a tonic soup which I can have the mushroom soup all by myself with the fragrance taste of truffle oil.
Main Course

 
Avocado Roll in Japanese Style.You can even enjoy Japanese style food served in vegetarian restaurant.

 
Wild Mushroom and White Truffle Pizza. I love the thin crusted layer with the spreads of cararnalised arugula leaves and sautéed wild mushrooms. The pizza topped with shaved cheese and white truffle oil is definitely a plus point for me.

 
Tomato with Mozzarella Pizza. Thin crusted pizza with the sun-dried tomatoes and spreaded with mozzarella pizza would be a delight choice for the kids.

 
Braised Golden Brown Pumpkin with Glutinous Rice served in Hot Stone. Everyone went ‘Wow’ when it was served on the table with the hot bubble sizzling. This is quite an interesting dish as the glutinous rice is fried and served along with the pumpkins, green apple, king oyster mushrooms braised in red wine and teriyaki sauce. You can taste the chewy glutinous rice and pairing it with other ingredients is decent.

 
Mushroom Risotto with Black Truffle. It seems like well-received among foodies with the texture of the risotto and taste of the black truffles in it.
Desserts
There were 4 choices and we decided to try everything. Ice-cream with Chocolate Lava Cake was my favourite dessert. The lava cake was moist and soft paired with vanilla gelato is always a great combination. I find myself couldn’t stop enjoying it and best part is that the gelato has a lower fat content so you can indulge without guilt.
Chilled Coconut Puree.This dessert will be the best option for such a hot weather. Cooling refreshing coconut taste.
Osmanthus Flower with Grass Jelly which tasted mild for my tastebud.But I do enjoy the jelly texture with the combination of osmanthus flower.
Panna Cotta with Raspberry Sauce. Freshly made raspberry sauce as the topping of the dessert.

 
Drinks are served after the meal when dining with Elemen. There are quite a few selections from the menu. Here are the four types of ice drinks for your visual satisfaction. From your left: Lychee Green Tea, Lemongrass Tea, Iced Passionfruit Tea and Grapefruit Mojito.
Overall it’s quite an experience dining in Elemen enjoying the vegetarian dishes. I personally feel that vegetarians can give it a try as the selections are quite wide and the creation of dishes is fusion-style. Thus, you can also enjoy the delicacies from different culture which the chef creatively created for diners. Although I find it the price not cheap as no meats are served, the foods, services and ambience here are the plus point to your dining experience. Staffs are trained well with equip knowledge on the dishes with the benefits of it. These enable diners to be educated and informative on the dishes presented on the table.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ice-cream with Chocolate Lava Cake,Maca Soup,Mushroom Soup with white truffle oil
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0