OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Dinner with Sunrise Bistro & Bar OK Sep 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Bars/Lounges | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

For more food reviews, check out my blog http://www.hazeldiary.com

I was introduced to Sunrise Bistro & Bar which is located at Big Splash, East Coast of sunny Singapore last month. The bistro serves all day breakfast dishes and also dinner dishes. Sunrise Bistro & Bar also offers extensive wine and beer list with small bites and savory ala-carte to enjoy as well.

 
It was a private food tasting session with a group of foodies. We were introduced to Executive Chef & Owner, Vincent Teng (41 years old) of the bistro.
Starter

 
Seafood Chowder Soup
Creamy seafood soup S$12.00++ with seasonal fresh seafood topped with chopped chives and extra virgin olive oil. There is a slight sweetness taste with tomato based in the soup. Although the price is a the steep side for starter, the soup has the seasonal seafood ingredients included.

 
Seared Foie Gras S$19.00++ was my favourite. Seared goose liver on brioche bread layered with mango with citrus jam and berry compote. The goose liver texture was literally rich and smooth flavour texture with the fruity taste to kick off the night.
Main Course

 
Sunrise “Fish & Chips” S$26.00++ is served with crispy fried red snapper with lemon myrtle pepper served with mango salsa, tartare sauce and French fries. Instead of dory fish which is commonly used for fish & chips, Chef Vincent opt for red snapper. It gives me a fusion taste of this dish.

 
Cereal Crusted Cod Fish S$28.00++ is the baked codfish with cereal crust served with seasonal vegetable braised in sesame oil, mirin and ginger shoyu broth.I am totally in love with the fish texture. Crispy crusted codfish skin and soft fish meat in the inner part. Along with the sides served, this dish is well-received that night.

 
Asian Five Spice Duck Leg Confit.S$28.00++ Delicately sous vide 8 hours crispy duck leg infused with five spice served with citrus salad and passionfruit sauce. Crispy skin with tender meat is perfect for a meal.

 
Marmite Canadian Pork Shoulder S$26.00++ is also one of the dish that is sous vide for 12 hours. The pork shoulder is marinated with marmite before grilling it and followed by sous vide and served with seasonal vegetable. Thus, the texture of the pork shoulder is juicy and tender. Diners can comfortably enjoy with smooth cut on plate.

 
BBQ Beef Short Ribs S$32.00++ is sous vide for 24hours so that it can be tender and roast with homemade BBQ sauce served with seasonal vegetables. I would recommend you to give this a try with the delicate preparation of long hours to achieve the tenderness and juiciness of the meat.
Dessert

 
Tiramisu Semi Freddo S$12.00++ served in semi frozen mascarpone cheese layered with coffee liquer jelly sponge topped with milo crunch and tuile biscuit.60% of the mascarpone cheese gives a tangy finish for tiramisu and the idea of adding in milo crunch is to give the texture of the dessert. It’s a different way of serving tiramisu that gives a touch of asian mixture.

 
Salted Egg Yolk Custard Molten Chocolate Cake S$14.00++ was the dope that night. Warm chocolate cake with melting salted egg yolk custard in the centre served with vanilla ice-cream.
Sides

 
Luncheon Chips S$9.00++. Luncheon meat thinly sliced and tasted so crispy that we couldn’t stop eating. It’s best to pair it with beers.
French fries with truffle oil S$5.00++
In summary, the foods served here are delicately created by the Chef Vincent with the French and Chinese inspired cuisine. Although the location seems to be out of place, it is ideal for some romantic dinners or celebration choice. The prices are within the range of general restaurant pricing but you can enjoy the luxury spacious dining ambience here. They also served breakfast brunch during the day time. You can always opt to give a try on their daytime menu.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Porridge/Congee

For more reviews, check out : http://hazeldiary.com

ChaoZhou Porridge is where epicureans can step back in time and relish the erstwhile Teowchew dishes. The head chef has over 10 years of experience and is learned in the way of Teochew cooking. Located at River Valley Road, the restaurant offer a range of dishes which include the Chaozhou signature and Chaozhou porridge. The restaurant is fully air-conditioned with marble round tables and wooden stools to enjoy the meal. There is also soft comfortable music that diners can enjoy throughout the session.

 
We started off with Steamed Meat Ball with Porridge Water S$5.50/ pc. It is my first time trying and the meatball served is big. It has the mixture ingredients of pork and vegetables. Although the meatball tasted slightly salty with the pork meat in it, it goes well with the porridge water.

 
Big Sotong with Homemade Sauce S$6.90. The squids are first steamed and then chilled making it into a cold appertiser. It is served along the sweet sour sauce tinged with a spicy note. I enjoyed the chewy texture of the squid that goes pretty well with their homemade sauce. We even ordered for second servings.

 
Cold Bean Curd with Preserved Radish S$4.80 is also one of the winning dish. It is best to pair with a bowl of porridge with the savoury sauce topped with spring onions.

 
Clams with soy sauce S$6.90 served as a cold dish.
ChaoZhou Porridge S$0.70 prepared by immersing rice into boiling water and then cooked under high heat. Such a process splits and separates the rice grains. Each rice grain then becomes softened. The water also turns into a light porridge base. When presented, the bowl of porridge reflects the divide between mountain and the sea. The porridge follows an authentic Teochew recipe. Little did I know that cooking a bowl of porridge takes a skill and knowledge as well. Sometimes small little things does make a difference in taste, texture and also in our life.

 
Braised Delight Platter S$16.90 (Duck, Pork Belly, Large Intestines, Egg, Bean Curd, Tau Pok) is best for sharing and for those who wants to have more choices on the table. I enjoyed the large intestines with the sauce. Overall, it is a pocket friendly dish for sharing.

 
Preserved Radish Omelette S$2.50 (S), S$4.50 (L). My favourite dish of the night. It’s my childhood favourite often cooked by my grandma and mother. And you will never go wrong with porridge. The dish here has the crispy bites from the fried egg at the edges and you can taste the preserved radish in between the spread. But if you are a huge fan of preserved radish, you will find it less enjoyable as the spread of the preserved radish is limited in my point of view.

 
ChaoZhou Steamed Mullet based on seasonal pricing. The whole fish is steamed in the pot first before having its gut removed. The fish texture remains juicy and soft but I find it ordinary and no much of ‘wow’ factor in it. Vegetables are added in for crunchy bites as well.

 
Crisp-fried Taro Rolls with minimum 3 pieces S$2.30/pc. Desserts are served with a crispy exterior that encases cotton ball, soft taro. I would think the taste would be great if it is served piping hot.
Overall, there are hit and misses dishes served here in ChaoZhou Porridge. The consistency of the taro/ yam needs to be improved. Other than this, there is a station in the restaurant which showcase a range of selection of Chinese side dishes to go with a bowl of porridge. If you wish for visual references on dishes to order, you can walk over to the station to choose your selections. I still think that having Teochew porridge for breakfast or even supper would be ideal choice. It is a comforting and filling dish and best for a family sharing.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome Dinner Deals Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Seafood

For more food reviews, check out my blog : http://hazeldiary.com

I have always wanted to try The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill but I am concerned my pocket will burn a hole. Since it was one of the Eileen’s birthday, we decided to have it here. Thanks to The Entertainer App, we get to enjoy the foods with affordable bill.
Located along One Fullerton, The Pelican has an al-fresco bar that caters to customers especially people working around the area to enjoy the drinks with light snacks with a view. The restaurant is well-known with it’s fresh seafood and we are so excited to try. I love the interior design of the restaurant with the yellow lighting with tear drop shape to lift up the ambience. The dining view overlooking the waterfront is also the plus point to enhance the dining experience.

 

 
Starters
Poached Lobster S$28.00. The lobster is poached in a vegetable stock and served on a bed of fennel and avocado dressing. I am impressed with the presentation which delights our pleasure to kick start of the night. All I want to say is that everything fresh is so worthy to enjoy. Although, I find it pricey, but the lobster claw meat served was quite big.
Sides

 
Blue Cheese Creamed Spinach S$12.00. If you are a cheese lover, give this a try and you will love it.
Mains

 
Panfried Baramundi S$42.00 served with sides, carrots and shallots. The plating style was beautiful and neat. Crispy texture of the fish skin with the tender barramundi meat was a good choice as a main.

 
Snapper Pie S$40.00 is the recommendation dish in the menu. The dish served with asparagus, mushroom and cream sauce. It was presented with the wrapped pie with crusty and fragrance smell from the kitchen. Once we cut open the pie, we can see the thick cream sauce along with the ingredients. It is definitely worth the calories.

 
Glacier 51 Toothfish S$45.00 which is known as Patagonian Toothfish. It’s my choice of the day and I enjoyed the fish coated with brioche crust. The crust tasted like bread crumbs texture and the fish texture was smooth with firm texture. Along the side was the olives, saffron corn sauce and kalian. This is my first time trying it and it has similarity with cod fish.

 
Clam Linguini S$32.00 tossed with garlic, chili and parsley. The clams are generous in servings and tasted fresh with the linguini.

 
The Pelican Burger S$35.00, is the Daily Catch recommendation in the menu. Burger serving with chopped steak, smoked ketchup and fries. I would prefer sharing for this as it can be quite filling. The chopped steak was nicely done with the juicy texture in it. We took quite a while to take photo and the patty is surprisingly still tender.

 
When the Steamed Halibut with Beetroot served on the table, we were caught into surprise on the plain appearances. As there is a saying, never judge a book by its cover. This applies here as well. Halibut was fresh and I felt healthy having it but I will not order it as my choice of main. I personally feel that the average price of S$40.00 for mains should be more impressive than this.
Dessert

 
Dessert that serves as a ‘birthday cake’ , the classic Whoppie Pie S$16.00. The staff was kind enough to prepare it with attaching firework sparks candle for few seconds of enjoyment. The shape is like having a chocolate mini cake and some even said like a burger shape. We love the rich chocolate flavour made from 66% Valrhona chocolate. Sinful and feeling satisfied having it.
Since we dine in as 4 pax, we are allowed to redeem 2 x BUY 1 FREE 1 main course with The Entertainer App. Truly pocket friendly dinner affairs. And of course beforehand, we did highlight to the staffs before placing the order to check with them on the available items under the app. The staff was kind enough to explain to us with patience. Kudos to their great services while dining with them. I will definitely be back to try other dishes but first, I need to start saving for a worthwhile meal here.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Whoopie Pie,Poached Lobster
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 29, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable Western Foods OK Aug 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta

Sometime back I joined the foodies for an invited tasting at Fish Tales. Located in ‘SCAPE’ which is a walking distance from Somerset MRT station, Fish Tales is a seafood place that specialized in all types of fishes with a range of pastas and sides. The seating areas are scattered along the shopping aisles where you are open to public while dining.

 
There are free flow fruit-infused water available at the corner for self-service. I think this is best for those who prefer to order mains only.
So, what’s are the dishes you can find in Fish Tales?
Sides

 
Truffle Fries S$7.50 with generous portion serving,

 
Mozzarella Cheese Sticks S$4.80 that is so cheesy that we tried to see how long can the cheese extend.
Mains

 
Sambal Prawns S$8.90 , known as the best seller dish. The sample sauce is made in-house with their secret recipe. If you are a spicy lover, go for this as the spiciness gives you a good kick start of the meal.

 
Soft Shell Crab Pasta S$12.90 that serves the whole soft shell crab serving. Crispy texture of the soft shell crab with meaty taste would be a pretty decent choice.

 
Salmon Carbonara S$6.90 (Light Catch)/ S$10.90 comes with the creamy sauce combination. Decent I would say with the price offer and the serving portion but do not expect a big cubes of salmon meats in it.

 
Squid Ink S$12.90 which leaves the squid ink black colour on your lips.Best not to order this if you are going for a dinner date.

 
Original Classic Fish & Chips S$5.90 (Light Catch) / S$9.90. Decent pricing with well-balanced of serving.
Beaurre Au Citron S$7.90 (Light Catch) / S$11.90 served with garlic, butter and lemon.

 
Citron Sea Bass S$13.90 served with classic garlic lemon butter sauce.
Fish Tales offers a pocket friendly pricing especially in Orchard area. They do strategically price their foods at a reasonable price so that students can afford the western cuisine. However, there are also hit and misses dishes but given the overall range of foods served and quality, I still think Fish Tales did a pretty job in securing their niche market at SCAPE. And most importantly there is no GST and service charges applicable.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 16, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Malaysia Delicacies OK Aug 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Café | Curries | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Halal | Rice

Agrobazaar Malaysia @ Singapore is a one stop place for shopping, dinning and chilling out with friends, family and loved ones. It is a hub of promotion solely for Malaysian grown and Malaysian produced goods, café (KopieSatu) and a restaurant named Verandah. There have 2 levels where the 1st level is the shopping hub with the café. Going up to level 2, it is the restaurant with indoor and alfresco dining.

 

 

 
I was here for the tasting session few weeks ago and had a mini tour around the shopping area at level 1 before proceeding to level 2. Once we arrived at level 2, the alfresco dining area, we had a mini game before the tasting session began. Each group has to produce fruits art and the best winner will win away some prizes.

 
Foods were served in buffet style instead of their standard serving. Thus, the photos shown here are all based on our own proportioning and plating. However, the foods served are all in the menu with their standard portion and pricing. Here are the overall foods shot that I took in buffet style.
Homemade Chicken Satay S$7.90. Tender chicken marinated in spices.The satays were grilled and served with coconut influse peanut sauce. I personally enjoyed the texture of the satay with minimal fats in it.

 
Tauhu Bakar S$4.90. Grilled crisp tofu packets served with spicy peanut sauce which is one of the signature dish for Malay cuisine. There are spicy version ones and I am glad the one here doesn’t taste that spicy. With the add on peanut sauce, it gives the crunchy bite.

 
Mee Bandung ‘Muo” S$8.90. It is known as a popular Malaysian noodle dish with distinctive gravy of mashed potatoes,chicken stock, tamarind, blended chilli and curry powder. I used to have this during my recess time at school times.

 
Penang Asam Laksa S$8.90. It is ranked 7th most delicious food in the world by CNN. If you are a fan of asam laksa, go for it.

 
Rainbow Durian Cake S$8.80/slice. A rainbow coloured sponge cake with durian goodness. Instagram-worthy colour and visual satisfying. However, I find the durian taste was not strong though.
Chendol S$4.00. Traditional dessert made with shaved ice, coconut mild, green starched noodles with pandan flavouring and palm sugar. There are choices with cut fruits S$4.50 and with durian S$5.00
Crispy Banana Fritters S$4.90 for 7 pcs and Crispy Cempedak Fritters S$6.90 for 7pcs are available too.

 
Ice blended caramel S$7.00 are available at level 1. We were served the sample portion so fret not with the price offer, they do serve a standard portion for the drink.
Traditional Teh Tarik S$2.00 for hot and S$2.50 for cold are available as well.
Overall, we have a fun time with the owners and foodies. The foods have strong and rich flavours. The local delights are appetizing and delight our tastebuds.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0