OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, International are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Homemade Ice-cream Treats OK Aug 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

 
The Hideout is located at Old Airport estate and walking distance from Mountbatten MRT station.The cafe is a new addition to the estate with only 2 months old. It has gained its popularity with their homemade speciality ice-creams and cakes.

 
Besides specializing in ice creams & cakes, there are new addition of pizza flavors and pasta available.And of course coffee and tea are available as well.
The Buttermilk Waffles with a scoop of ice-cream S$8.90.The waffles is crispy and soft and slightly buttermilk taste in it.A choice of a scoop ice-cream makes it perfect. You can also opt for choice of chocolate fudge, mixed berries sauce, salted caramel fudge or maple syrup.

 
A Fishy breakfast (Savoury) S$12.90 serves with smoked salmon, poached egg and hollandaise sauce.The breakfast comes with waffles instead of usual toasted bread which is quite filling.

 
Tagliatelle olla carbonara with bacon and mushroom S$12.90. Loving the texture of flat noodles. The carbonara is creamy and cheesy and mixed thoroughly with the spaghetti.

 
Various of interesting homemade ice-cream flavors are available here. Premium Mao Shan Wang durian ice-cream was a hit. It is my favourite of all and in spur moment, I thought i was having the real fruit. They are generous with the ingredients used to enhance the true flavors of the fruit in ice-cream or sorbet form.Some interesting flavors such as passionfruit beer sorbet, bubblegum, chocolate earl grey and more are cool ideas from the owner.

 
Takeaway ice-cream is available as well. S$12.90 for 1 pint of ice-cream that able to fit in two flavors. However, premium Mao Shan Wang durian ice-cream is offering at S$16.90 instead.
If you are around Old Airport Road area, perhaps you would like to drop by this neighbourhood cafe for their homemade ice-cream. The cafe is one suitable place to visit to chill in the hot weather.
P/S: The cafe does not charge 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Waffles with ice-cream,Carbonara Spaghetti
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 31, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Korean Cuisine Smile Jul 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | BBQ

 
Crystal Jade Korean Ginseng Chicken & BBQ restaurant celebrates it’s 10th anniversary at a new location with larger seating capacity at Basement 2, Takashimaya. It is walking distance from Orchard MRT station.With the new expansion of restaurant, they have come up with new dishes to provide more varieties to customers.

Whenever we think of Korean cuisine, we will be expecting whole spread of banchan varieties that comes complimentary. However, with the new location and revamping, banchan /side dish set here is available in 6 varieties of Korean appetizer per serving (S$10.00). Neverthless, it is refillable. The 6 different types of appertizers are changes daily. For today, we have spicy kimchi, spicy radish and spicy cucumber which are available separately at S$4.00 per serving.Spicy kimchi is freshly made every 5 days. I personally love the spicy water chestnut which is a good start before the main course

 
Authentic Korean Ginseng Chicken Soup @S$28.00 per serving. The portion can serves 2-4 persons. This is my favourite dish and absolutely in love with the taste of the essence soup. It reminds me of the one I tasted during my Seoul trip. Fresh whole young chicken stuffed with glutinous rice, red dates and gingko nuts and immersed in ginseng water and ginseng. Flavorful soup base that I couldn’t stop sipping it.

 
Stewed Top Grade Beef Short Rib @S$29.00 per serving that serves 2-4 persons. The chef did a good job on this dish. The prime Australian beef ribs are tenderly braised for several hours with rock sugar, pepper, sesame, red dates, ginger, garlic, apples, pears, carrots and radish. Absolutely amazed with the tenderness of meat that retains the flavorful and juiciness.

 
Korean Imperial Hotpot with assorted vegetable @S$39.00 which can serve 2-4persons. It comes with the choice of beef, pork and chicken.Hotpot is presented beautifully with ingredients served on table with ingredients like vegetables, silken tofu, golden enoki mushrooms and straw mushrooms. It is quite value of money with the generous portion of ingredients.

 
Fresh Korean Handmade Noodles @S$3.00 per serving. These are freshly handmade using eggs and high grade Korean flour. Thus, this explains the fresh, springy texture.

 
We also tried the BBQ session. Marinated Beef Short Rib @S$28.00 per serving. The ribs are marinated for over 3 hours in a secret recipe that made the taste after BBQ remains flavorful and juicy. Ox Tongue S$25.00 per serving can be one of the BBQ option. The ox’s tongue is juicy and succulent after it has been lightly barbequed. Lastly, we tried Pork Collar @S$22.00 per serving. Fresh and beautifully marbled pork which is juicy and flavorful after barbequed.

 
We ended with Double-boiled snow pear with ‘Chuan Bei’ and Dried Longan @S$5.00 per serving. The traditional chinese version using whole Snow Pears double boiled with ‘chuan bei’, dried longans and rock sugar. It can be served either hot or cold. We had the cold version which is totally refreshing and soothing particularly after a spicy meal or barbeque.

 
For more food reviews, check our my blog : http://hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Side Dishes,Korean Ginseng Chicken Soup,Stewed Top Grade Beef Short Rib,Korean Imperial Hotpot with assorted vegetable,Double-boiled snow pear with ‘Chuan Bei’ and Dried Longan
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Indian Cuisine for Lunch OK Jul 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian

 
My sister and I will go Jurong area at least once a month. This time round, we decided to settle our lunch at Westgate mall. As we were walking around the mall deciding what’s for lunch, we chanced upon this classic modern style serving Indian cuisine. We decided to give it a try. Zaffron Restaurant serves north, south Indian cuisine and as well local Indian foods. The interior design of the restaurant is classy with wall glasses at the entrance of the restaurant and westernize bar when you step in. We were introduced to their online ordering system instead of having the traditional ordering. Thus, this explains why they only have 2 service staffs for the whole restaurant.

 
The mini Ipad ordering was easy and user-friendly. We took our time browsing through the online menu and placed our order. The whole process took us less than 10 minutes and waited patiently for our orders to process.
Menu

Menu

 
Drinks that we ordered were Ice Kopi S$4.50 and Teh Tarik S$3.50. Sisters ordered Chat Masala Fries @S$5.00 as the starter for the main course. The fries are crispy with light masala taste. Dum Chicken Bryani S$13.50 serving was generous. The dish was served sealed with a thin layer of dough with hidden briyani, chicken thigh and egg. Something different in terms of presentation and at the same time retains the flavors and taste of the dish. I ordered Garlic Naan S$4.50 and their signature Butter Chicken S$16.00 to complete the meal.Chicken Tikka marinated in a delightful yogurt and spice mixture with butter flavored gravy perfect for the naan. The ambiance of the restaurant was perfect for dinning as a couple or in small group. Pleasant and peaceful moments with cosy chatting session over the lunch as the restaurant is quite empty. Service staffs were quite friendly and provide suggestion on foods recommendation.

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Garlic Naan,Butter Chicken
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 22, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch Buffet Smile Jul 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | International | Seafood | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

I have always wanted to try Todai as it is well known as the “Mother of all Seafoods”. Finally has the chance to visit the restaurant as we bought a deal S$38.00nett for lunch buffet on weekdays. We made prior reservation before heading to the restaurant to avoid any disappointment.
The restaurant is very spacious and huge compared to other buffet restaurants that I visited. Each section has their individual open concept kitchen where the chefs perform their tasks. All chefs are busy preparing for the foods and the display are nicely filled with beautiful decorated foods. Basically, chefs are doing their job on individual sections to ensure the turnover of foods servings.
Since it is a lunch buffet, fresh oysters are not served. But snowcrabs are served for lunch though. Salmon sashimi is available as well. There is a chef at the counter slicing the sashimi live to meet the customers’ demand.
I personally enjoyed the salads section.There are quite a various selections for salads and are nicely presented on the display. It is something different from the usual buffets. Different kind of dressings are mixed with the ingredients. This tempts me to try all of it. Unlike most of the restaurants, salads bar does not have choices like these.

Live Italian pasta is available in request. Diners can request for the available choices of pasta of the day for chef to prepare on the spot. Foods are always taste better when it is served hot. Korean section is available with some of the korean specialty foods at the section. Churrasco section has the well- grilled meats that are nicely grilled and juicy taste.Desserts section is not to miss with its variety of desserts available on the counter. Crème brulee and different flavors of mini slices of cakes are available. The portion of the cakes is just perfect for buffet session. This can reduce the food wastage and diners able to taste a bit of everything.
The restaurant has an excellent culinary standard as the chefs delicately prepared the foods and did the art plating as well. Service staffs were prompt with their services. Plates are cleared away after I am back from my next serving. I will definitely visit to try the dinner session next round.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Lunch)

Dining Offers: Deal Voucher


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cheesecake Yummy! Smile Jun 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts and Cakes

 
Uncle Tetsu Cheese Cake started their first branch in Singapore recently. The brand is very popular for producing Japanese style cheesecake. Uncle Tetsu originated from Kyushu, Japan and has outlets in Japan, China and Taiwan.

 

 

 
All cheesecakes are baked fresh daily in the stall. Due to the high demand and limited quantities for each batch, there will be new batch fresh from oven over times.There are two types of cheesecake offered here which is the original flat cheesecake and the dome shape cheesecake.It comes with 3 different flavours – Mango, Strawberry and Chocolate S$13.90 for Dome shape cake.
The original cheesecake S$9.90 was soft, light and fluffy It does not taste too cheesy at all. It sort of melts into the mouth especially the ones that are freshly out from oven.
Store Manager shared some insider information about Uncle Tetsu during the session. The secret to their cheesecake is that they will steam the cake before baking them. Thus, this explains the differences on the texture of the cheesecake with others. No added preservation in their cake at all and best to store in fridge. The cake only can last for 3 days.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0