OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, International are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Malaysia Delicacies OK Aug 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Café | Curries | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Halal | Rice

Agrobazaar Malaysia @ Singapore is a one stop place for shopping, dinning and chilling out with friends, family and loved ones. It is a hub of promotion solely for Malaysian grown and Malaysian produced goods, café (KopieSatu) and a restaurant named Verandah. There have 2 levels where the 1st level is the shopping hub with the café. Going up to level 2, it is the restaurant with indoor and alfresco dining.

 

 

 
I was here for the tasting session few weeks ago and had a mini tour around the shopping area at level 1 before proceeding to level 2. Once we arrived at level 2, the alfresco dining area, we had a mini game before the tasting session began. Each group has to produce fruits art and the best winner will win away some prizes.

 
Foods were served in buffet style instead of their standard serving. Thus, the photos shown here are all based on our own proportioning and plating. However, the foods served are all in the menu with their standard portion and pricing. Here are the overall foods shot that I took in buffet style.
Homemade Chicken Satay S$7.90. Tender chicken marinated in spices.The satays were grilled and served with coconut influse peanut sauce. I personally enjoyed the texture of the satay with minimal fats in it.

 
Tauhu Bakar S$4.90. Grilled crisp tofu packets served with spicy peanut sauce which is one of the signature dish for Malay cuisine. There are spicy version ones and I am glad the one here doesn’t taste that spicy. With the add on peanut sauce, it gives the crunchy bite.

 
Mee Bandung ‘Muo” S$8.90. It is known as a popular Malaysian noodle dish with distinctive gravy of mashed potatoes,chicken stock, tamarind, blended chilli and curry powder. I used to have this during my recess time at school times.

 
Penang Asam Laksa S$8.90. It is ranked 7th most delicious food in the world by CNN. If you are a fan of asam laksa, go for it.

 
Rainbow Durian Cake S$8.80/slice. A rainbow coloured sponge cake with durian goodness. Instagram-worthy colour and visual satisfying. However, I find the durian taste was not strong though.
Chendol S$4.00. Traditional dessert made with shaved ice, coconut mild, green starched noodles with pandan flavouring and palm sugar. There are choices with cut fruits S$4.50 and with durian S$5.00
Crispy Banana Fritters S$4.90 for 7 pcs and Crispy Cempedak Fritters S$6.90 for 7pcs are available too.

 
Ice blended caramel S$7.00 are available at level 1. We were served the sample portion so fret not with the price offer, they do serve a standard portion for the drink.
Traditional Teh Tarik S$2.00 for hot and S$2.50 for cold are available as well.
Overall, we have a fun time with the owners and foodies. The foods have strong and rich flavours. The local delights are appetizing and delight our tastebuds.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rich Flavour Soup OK Aug 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Chinese Soup

It has been a while since my last tasting with OpenriceSG. Thanks to Reka for extending the invitation. Located along the heart of Marina Parade Central, Seattle Pike Chowder flagship store is attached together with Giovanni L’s gelato at an outdoor dining area. If you are first time here, you might want to look for McDonalds location as it is just opposite the store.
Seattle Pike Chowder serves 6 types of Chowders and their ingredients are freshly imported daily from Seattle. As for the bread bowl, it is locally sourced if you curious about it. The price range from S$12.90 to S$14.90 with bread bowl and if you opt without bread bowl, the price is from S$8.90 onwards.
So, we are here to try 3 different types:-

 
New England Clam Chowder
It was served with the bread bowl and we took quite a while to enjoy the soup as we are busy taking photos. Surprisingly the soup is still warm in the bread bowl. I enjoyed the broth as it is rich and creamy with generous ingredients such as chopped ocean clams, potatoes, celery, onions, white pepper, sea salt and clam stock. You can imagine how flavourful the taste in it with the different types of ingredients is placed together.

 
Seafood Bisque
If you are a seafood lover, you can enjoy this rich flavour of seafood chowder. There are salmon, cod, crab, bay shrimp, garlic, black pepper, sea salt, tomato basil cream broth, shellfish stock, cream, butter and flour. The broth is creamy with savoury taste of all the seafood ingredients.

 
Smoked Salmon Chowder
You can taste the strong smokey smell of the chowder. So, either you like it or you opt out. This is not my cup of soup but some of the openricers enjoyed the broth. Ingredients such as smoked salmon, cream cheese, capers, potatoes, onions, celery, tomato, garlic, smoked salt, black pepper, shellfish stock, cream, milk, butter and flour. I prefer salmon sashimi over smoked salmon. Thus, the smell and taste of the smoked salmon is overwhelming for my preference. But the broth less creamy compared to the first two flavours.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 13, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

For more food reviews, check out my blog: http://hazeldiary.com

I finally got the chance to try Bedrock Bar & Grill last weekend.We were rushing down before the last order at 2.30pm. The restaurant is located next to 313 Somerset and to be exact, next to Marche with a door away.

 

 

 
We settled down and browse through the menu and discover that there are lunch deals and SG50 express lunch set available. Thus, we decided to order the lunch menu instead of using the app. Complimentary flat breads were served after our orders are placed. I love the texture of the freshly breads from oven and best spread with garlic infused oil and butter.
Seafood & Poultry 3- Course Set Lunch S$38

 
As for the starter, we decided to go with Classic Lobster Bisque with chive cream. I can taste the strong seafood flavour in it and chive cream perfects the soup with its touch of creamy taste.

 
There are few choices for the mains and I decided to try Baked Barramundi Fillet served with asparagus, sundried tomato and olive tapenade. Chef did a good job on the fish with crusty skin and soft meat that absorbs the olive tapenade that gives a fragrance in it. Although the plating looks slightly oily but taste wise isn’t as it looks.

 
As for dessert, we decided to go with sticky stout and toffee pudding served with gingernut ice-cream. Absolutely one of the best I tried so far. Well-balance fine tuning that delights us for the sweet ending. There are zesty pomegranates served together as well.
SG50 Express Lunch S$50

 

 
We decided to try this limited offer deal of the month since steaks are available in the menu. Instead of ordering the usual mains, this deal seems affordable for our first try here. There are only two choices available for this SG50 menu and we opt for Slow-Cooked Oyster Blade Steak with fries and salad. Perhaps we are expecting more on the steak standard here as I find the taste wise is lack of the sparks on the expectation in me. The taste wise is reasonably good and the meat is soft and juicy with the slow cooked method. It’s my first time trying slow cooked steak and I think I will stick to grilled steak though.
This set comes with a glass of Terrazas Altos Del Plata Malbec but unfortunately it was not served. Thus, I didn’t get to enjoy it with the steak. We only realized when we left the restaurant. We emailed the restaurant and they replied on the issue. We were told that a complimentary of a glass of red wine for 2 pax and a snack bar when we dine in with them again.
Overall, the dining experience is still pleasant. The service staff was well-trained on the serving although they forget the glass of wine totally. Total amount bill inclusive of 10% service charges and 7% GST was S$103.58. 

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $51(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Revamp Menu OK Aug 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | European

Few weeks back, I was invited for the food tasting at SELA Restaurant. It is located approximately 10 minutes of walking distance away from City Hall & Bugis MRT station. SELA is a restaurant offering modern European items with mixture of modern Asian creations for the newly revamp menu by Chef Benson.
Starters

 
With the cosy and casual dining setting, we started off with Procuitto Ham & Melon S$16.00 as starter. It is nicely plated with wild rocket, compressed rock melon, pickled beetroot and balsamic gel. Sweet taste of rock melon with some greens do perks up my appetite to start the meal.

 
Soy & Beetroot Cured Fjord Trout S$16.00 served with Japanese cucumber, avocado puree, avurga caviar and smoked oil. Pretty presentation with the caviar as the topping on the salmon sashimi taste refreshing.

 
Pan-fried Foie Gras S$18.00 served with braised daikon, nashi pear, nori and lemon-miso glaze is also one of the starter choices. My favourite dish that I wish to have more than a plate. Loving the soft and tenderness of the foie grass that literally melts into your mouth with the fusion Japanese style of preparation.
Main Course

 
Kakuni Style Pork Cheek S$20.00 was well-received the night. Argula, charred corn kennel, braised leek, roasted parsnip and granny smith sauce is nicely presented on the table. The pork meat is moist and easily tears off with the fork itself.
Confit of Chicken Leg “Chicken Rice Style” S$18.00 served with watercress salad, French beans, baby carrot and chicken jus. Although the presentation is rather normal compared to the rest, the chicken meat served was tender and soft.

 
Pan-fried barramundi S$20.00 served with spring onion mash, coriander salad, crispy garlic and garlic soy sauce. This main has a slight twist of Chinese fusion in it as you can see the crispy garlic is served as the garnishing and topping of the fish. That’s really interesting way of preparation and surprisingly the combination turned out pretty well.
Desserts

 
We were served two types of desserts that night. Vanilla Custard Tau Huay S$8.00. What comes into your mind when you see the word Tau Huay? It’s the Chinese style beancurd and true enough it is but it has the mixture of strawberry gelee, lychee and lychee glaze. So, this is what happens when the east meets the west.

 
Semolina Cake S$12.00 is the passionfruit curd with torched meringue, vanilla ice-cream and passon fruit coulis. Personally it is not my favourite and I find the cake is fluffy and dry. But the combo with vanilla ice-cream was just fine and the taste is towards mild rather than our usual stronger preferences.

For more food reviews, check out http://hazeldiary.com
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

"Heritage Flavours" Buffet Feast Smile Aug 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | International | High Tea | Buffet

For more photos, check out my blogpost:http://hazeldiary.com/2015-08-ellenborough-market-cafe-swissotel-merchant-court/

August has been a fabulous month with the celebration of SG50, Golden Jubilee of Singapore and also my birthday month. I had a foodolicious over the jubilee weekend. One of the highlight is the food tasting session with foodies at Ellenborough Market Café, Swissotel Merchant Court. It was my second visit and you can read about my first visit here as a pay customer last year.

 

 
What’s so different of this month buffet is that they are having “Heritage Flavours” from 6th August till 23rd August 2015. In conjunction with Singapore reveling in her 50th birthday of the month, the dinner buffet here showcase the tastes, sights and sounds of Little Red Dot’s pioneering traditional cuisine on top of it’s usual dishes. And mega love with the bounteous offering of Fresh Durians and durian-based dishes to delight your palate.

 

 
There are live stations for satay, teh tarik ‘pulled’ right in front of you, deep-frying fried durians, pick up roasted nuts from the Kacang Puteh station and many more. What attracts me is the free flow of Mao Shan Wang durians where freshly-opened durians are served on the spot! Look at the mega display! Warning Sign: Try other dishes before indulging in durians as it can be very filling! But if you are aiming on the durian feast, this would be an ideal buffet for you too!

 
Other than the King of fruit and fried durians, there are durians and bacon fried rice to explore! It is my first time trying this and I think the durian taste mid in the fried rice. Nevertheless, it’s a good try dish for nostalgia moments. Durian Pengat and some other durian desserts are served at the dessert counter.

 
Grandma’s home cooking dishes are available during “Heritage Flavours” such as Chicken Feet Kerabu, Achar Awak (Nyonya Pickled Vegetables), Lor Ark (Braised Duck) and Steamed Patin Fish with Nyonya Sauce. Their signature slippery lobsters with black pepper sauce were well-received. It was clear every time I walked past and the staffs are quite efficient in re-filling the portions to cater to diners.

 

 
On top of these, their usual spreads are available as well. Do not miss the DIY kueh pie tee where you can customize your own ingredients for savoury. Local fried carrot cake and some of the signature hawker foods are available as well. And their chili crabs are served separately with mantou/ buns to dip with the gravy. Peranakan cuisines such as Ayam Buah Keluk is available.
Desserts stations are not to be missed. Serving all kinds of traditional and western style desserts that spoilt you with choices. There is also pandan flavored fondue instead of the usual chocolate fondue to suit the theme of the buffet.Kudos to the chef and management for being so innovative on the dishes.
There are hit and misses on some of the dishes but overall it’s worth pocket friendly buffet. Especially paying S$68.00++ for the buffet that includes international dishes and free flow durians. I would say give it a GO!

 
Supplementary Information:
Snap a Selfie Contest: Dress up in swinging 60s chic, snap a selfie, check-in at Swissotel Merchant Court and stand a chance to win a pair of Weekend High-Tea Vouchers at Ellenborough Market Café! Contest Ends 26 August 2016.

Three pairs of vouchers to be won.

Winners will be notified via Facebook.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Durians,Slippery Lobster with Black Pepper,Fried Durians
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0