OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, International are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Tapas Dinning OK Dec 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

For more details: http://hazeldiary.com/sync-korean-tapas-bar/

 
Singapore’s first ever Korean Tapas Bar is located in the heart of Serangoon Gardens. Following the success of their first outlet, a Korean bistro at Westgate, the Singaporean couple (Brian Seow and Lisa Tan) borne out of the inspirations from their frequent travels to Korea. The korean-inspired tapas menu is the brainchild of both Consultant Chef Edwin Lau, 32 and Head Chef Calista Ong, 26.

 
We started off with Soju Mojito S$9.90. Combination of soju with mint elements with tasted much like melted peppermint ice-cream with bit of minty flavor.

 
Soju Peach Shot S$7.90 has the strong flavor soju taste with the peach fruit as a finishing bite.

 
Dak-KangJung S$9.90. Deep fried sweet and spicy chicken bites, ricotta chili tempura. True enough it tasted spicy and bit of sweet taste as well. The deep fried chicken texture is tender and cripsy and best to go with soju and beer.

 
Toppoki S$9.90 which is also known as traditional rice cakes covered with sweet and spicy sauce. But in Sync, we have them with melted cheese which is very soft and chewy.

 
Samgyupsal S$10.90 is the char-grilled pork belly with scallion salad & yuzu dressing. It’s my favourite tapas dish. Although I can’t really taste much of yuzu in it, the overall salad was awesome. The chef did a great job on the char grilled pork belly. Thinly sliced and addictive after taste and doesn’t give the fattening feel.

 
Sogogi Jowl S$10.90. Char-grilled beef jowl in hoba & garlic confit. Beef jowl (cheeks) was tender and chewy. Juicy taste after bite with fresh taste of houba leaf.

 
Crackling S$9.90 is the crackling of umami cod chips. Best pairing with a beer or even soju as it is very addictive snack.

 
Move on to the main dish is their Dak Gar-bi S$38.90. Spicy chicken paella with onions, mushroom, cabbage, sausage and kimchi with 2-3 sharing. Surprisingly combination of Spanish’s paella with Korean’s kimchi.

 
Desserts are always irresistible after dinner. Hotteok S$8.90 + S$1.50 scoop of vanilla ice-cream is a pan-fried chewy sweet korean pancake with banana foster. The pancake is best to have it while hot with vanilla ice-cream.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hotteok,Samgyupsal
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 26, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

 
Tiong Bahru estates are well-known with its well-maintained architectural buildings and vintage style cafes and shops. There are quite a few lists of cafes that we can explore around the area. My friend and I decided to patron PoTeaTo for our dinner session which is just 10minutes walk away from Tiong Bahru MRT station.
The café are decorated with Halloween decorations and even came up with Halloween set. But we decided not to try on the set. We browsed through the menu and decided on our choice. Ordering and payment are made at the same time at the cashier counter. Free flow of plain water is available at a corner where all the cutleries are displayed.
Food serving time is within 15 minutes time and consider quite fast. Here are the foods that we ordered for our dinner.

 
Ala-carte Sweet Potato fries S$7.00. Generous portion served with crispy on the outside and soft in the inside.

 
Spaghetti Carbonara serves with cream sauce and crisp bacon S$12.00. The portioning is decent enough but the cream sauce is slightly diluted though. We thought that it would be nice to enhance the taste of cream sauce.
Teriyaki grilled salmon with creamy mashed potatoes and asparagus S$17.00 was pretty good. Chef did a good job with the grilled salmon. The salmon meat was soft and tender and blends well with the teriyaki sauce.

 
PoTeaTo provides a casual dinning place with average foods served and affordable pricing. However, I would suggest them to come up with more interesting dishes to attract customers in based on their potato theme concept. Nevertheless it is a nice place to relax and chill with friends as the place is not crowded with people.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 14, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Irresistible Dessert Smile Nov 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Halal | Burgers and Sandwiches

Finally visited FIX after seeing and reading reviews on instagram and social media about their cakes. The cakes are so beautiful not to be missed out in instagram which attracts quite an attention too.FIX is an alfresco poolside café located in HomeTeam NS –JOM Club. It is hidden within the neighborhood area in Ah Hood Road. It is also the brainchild by the same owners of GRUB at BishanPark and their recent newly opened supper bar, GRUB at 221 Rangoon Road.
Since my foodie partner and I wanted to try various cakes, we decided to order one main set only. Ordering and payments are to be made at the counter before foods are served to our table. We order a main set S$14.00 which consists of Beef & Kimchi Naanwich and a glass of Chocolate, Peanut Butter, Banana Milkshake. It is quite creative to use naan to replace breads for sandwiches which is filling as it uses flour to make too. The fusion combination of beef & kimchi was just nice to compliment the bland taste of naan. The golden egg yolk that flows through the beefs, sauces and naan wrapped out the whole taste. The milkshake was recommended and true enough it tasted flavorful and rich when it is served cold. However, the drink was not cold enough after a while. And the taste after that was not that nice anymore.

 

 
We ordered a glass of Lemon Curd Milkshake S$7.00 separately. Refreshing taste when it is served cold.
And here comes the highlights of all where we had 4 different types of cakes.

 
Started off with Passionfruit, mango & coconut chiffon cake S$7.00/slice. Light, soft and tender chiffon with fruity taste. It’s almost everyone favourite list.

 
Mont Blanc S$6.00/slice that is new in the display. We ordered one to try and the sweetness was just nice and not overwhelming. But the crust was slightly hard and we have difficulties breaking it to bits to go with the topping. Perhaps it gets harder after hours of baking.

 
Butterscotch Arabica Choux S$6.00/slice. Surprising salted caramel with chocolate in the middle gives a ‘wow’ taste.

 
Cacao Barry Chocolate Truffle Cake S$7.00/slice. It was made with 70% cocoa. If you are a chocolate lover, you might not want to give it a miss.

 
Total amount S$47.00 that included GST and no service charges. Servings are within 15 minutes and well-presented. The concept original handmade goods are truly creative with the foods and desserts which can satisfy the visual and filling too. Definitely will be back for more desserts!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cacao Barry Chocolate Truffle,Butterscotch Arabica Choux
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

I am back to Morganfield’s for more this time! Morganfield’s are launching their very own version of Christmas Menu. They are introducing 2 special Christmas edition sticky bones sauces for customers to enjoy for the festive season.

 

 
Special Christmas drinks are available for the season. Red Christmas Cooler S$8.90 does not contain alcohol and has a light taste. Berry red drink is a fruity mixture of lemon, watermelon and cranberry juice and thrown in with blackberries.
If you are looking for light alcohol drink, you can try their White Christmas Sangria S$16.90.A refreshing mix of white wine, peach puree and diced apples and oranges.

 
Chrismas Hazelnut Roast Chicken S$28.90. Golden brownish whole spring chicken (800-900g) contains traditional chestnut stuffing with breadcrumbs.

 
My favourite dish of the night is their Roubon Marmalade Glazed leg of Ham S$168.90. Superb huge ham leg that weighs 4-5kg can fill up the stomach of at least 12 people or more. Amazing portion they have here!

 
Looking for more choices in a platter? Morganfield’s also served Morgan’s Christmas Feast (for 5 pax and more) S$149.90. The huge platter comes with 4 grilled sausages, Christmas Cranberry Sticky Bones (half rib slab), Christmas hazelnut Sticky Bones (Half rib slab), Bourbon Marmalade Glazed ham slices and Smoked Turkey Legs.They are also sold separately in Half $28.90 or Full Slab $43.90 and comes served as a main dish with fries and coleslaw.

 
Beer Candied Bacon S$8.90 made with the Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar beer instead of cinnamon as the beer is the secret recipe for this Christmas menu. Truly addictive and finger licking as well.

 
Basketful of Pork S$15.90 comes with a dipping sauce.Beer Candied Bacon, Pop Corn Pork and sliced pork Bratwurst are all in one basket for you to try. Order this and you will get to try a bit of everything.

 
Lovely dessert, Cranberry ‘n’ Peach Crumble S$13.90 was a great ending session. Dessert topped with butter sugar crumble and a smooth melting scoop of vanilla ice cream. The combination of warm and cold senses left a deep impression over it.

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cranberry & Peach Crumble,Beer Candied Bacon,Roubon Marmalade Glazed leg of Ham
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 12, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Burger & Beers OK Nov 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Pasta | Seafood | Burgers and Sandwiches

 

 
Squires & Scoundrels is few months old newly established restaurant and bar.Located along Duxton Road, the newly addition bar is one of the add list for affordable beer after hard work. There are two sitting areas where customers can choose the upper deck with a view of the open kitchen. There are graffiti arts around the interior of the place which added hip hop feel in it.

 
Popcorns are served while awaits for burgers and drinks to be served. We tried Cairns Gold Beer S$12.00 that contains 3.3% alcohol. The beer tasted light and smoothing for my preference.

 

 
Bombay Chicken Burger set S$18.00 served with fries and a dipper which made from roasted garlic, lemon and garlic aioli. Chicken patty is well marinated with the combination of lettuce, chorizo, grilled green peppers and garlic aioli. It's recommended to go with Tuatara Pale Ale beer.

 

 
Next, highly recommended Cuidad de Mexico with fries S$19. Understand from the co-owner, the patty comes with their special formulated wagyu beef which is indeed a special juicy taste and tender. The burger patty comes with jalapenos, oregano, green tabasco, spanish onion,cheddar cheese, lettuce and sour cream.

 
Oliver & Brent, owners of the place also started to open for lunch from 11:00 am with burger set offers for lunch. If you are working nearby and craving for burger, why not get it fix here? You can enjoy different kinds of beers that offers here too.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0