OpenRice Index
  
welconz
This is welconz living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Orchard. Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines..
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review112 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity1362 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos336 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant15 My Restaurant(s)
Follow26 Following
粉絲119 Follower(s)
welconz  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 112 Reviews in Singapore
Disappointing Cry Jan 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Halal

It had been quite a while since i patronized Swensen's. I can still vividly remembered that not just they served good ice creams , they also served good food. However, my recent visit to Swensen's proved me wrong.

 
Deep Fried Shitake Mushrooms - I guess the mushroom were over fried. It was quite dry and cant really taste the mushroom flavour.

 
Baked Spaghetti Bolognise with meat balls - One of the better dish among the dishes i ordered. The sauce was quite savoury and the meat balls were chewy and flavourful.

 
Fish & Chips - Supposed to be one of their signature dishes but it was such a disappointment. It was way too dry and it was quite tasteless.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bangkok Jam OK Jan 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

Located at the new extension of Plaza Singapura, Bangkok Jam is serving authentic Thai Food with a modern twist.
The Restaurant

The Restaurant

 
I liked the modern bistro style kind of interior of the restaurant with items that makes you feel that you are Thailand, for example, the signage written in Thai.
Menu

Menu

 
Seafood Clear Tom Yum Soup

Seafood Clear Tom Yum Soup

 
Seafood Clear Tom Yum Soup ($7.90++) - Don't be fooled by its clear appearance, the tom yum soup was actually very spicy. With a very strong lemon grass flavour, the tom yum soup consists of 2 prawns, squids and a few slices of fish which were quite fresh. However, the serving was quite small.
Fried Chicken Wings with Fish Sauce

Fried Chicken Wings with Fish Sauce

 
Fried Chicken Wings with Fish Sauce ($9.50++)

The chicken wings were deep fried before frying with fish sauce. The taste of the fish sauce was quite mild, leaving a little of sweet taste. The chicken wings were tender, juicy and goes well with the sweet & sour chilli that comes with it.
Seafood Phad Thai

Seafood Phad Thai

 
Seafood Phad Thai ($11.90++) My wife is a phad thai lover and she found that the taste was just right. The noodles were springy and well flavoured by the chilli flakes, peanut and sugar.
Stirred Fried Minced Chicken with Basil

Stirred Fried Minced Chicken with Basil

 
Stirred Fried Minced Chicken with Basil Leaves ($11.90++)It was served together with a fried egg and white rice. The minced meat was a bit too salty for me when eaten on its own. But with the white rice, it was quite good and savory.

Verdict : While the food are nice, I would think that they would got to improve on their service. I had to ask for 3 times before they served my iced water which I requested for at the point of order. If the restaurant is fully occupied, I will definitely be more understanding. However, we had our meal near to their closing hours and there were definitely more serving staffs than diners. One thing for sure that they are quick was to present us our bills after the last order.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Seafood Clear Tom Yum Soup,Fried Chicken Wings with Fish Sauce,Seafood Phad Thai
 
Date of Visit: Nov 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $24(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Not as good as Jack's Place Cry Jan 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Steaks and Grills | Halal

I had been a regular visitor to Jack's Place and had always fancied the food. Eatzi Gourmet is kind of the Halal version of Jack's Place which they served almost the same menu. However, the standards really differ too much.

 
Lobster Bisque - Way too watery and salty. The soup tasted too prawny like almost abit fishy. Totally different from the one that i usually had at Jack's Place.

 
Lamb Shank - tasted ok but was disappointed that the mashed potato that was served together had turned sour.

Verdict : Visit to Jack's Place, Yes. Coming back here? NO.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for Money Set Lunch Smile Dec 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Restaurant

Had my lunch at Kim Gary.

 
Borsch Soup - Clear Tomato based soup with a few kinds of diced vegetables like cabbage, celery, carrot etc. It was quite savory with a bit of sourness from the tomato. Very appetizing.

 
Black Pepper steak with Spaghetti - The steak seemed to be marinated as it was kind of salty. The black pepper sauce was a little bit too spicy for me but still acceptable.

 
Old Yuan Yang - Coffee mixed with Tea. It was quite creamy. Not too bad

Overall , for a price of $9.50++, it is really value for money.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $11(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Plain Cry Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Café

After our team lunch, we decided to have some coffee & dessert before heading back to office. One of my colleague recommended to have it at the plain. It is along the street along craig road. It was kind of not that "obvious" cause i barely see the cafe even though i was just directly opposite it.

 
Ice Mocha - Quite disappointed with the drink. It was too bitter for me even though it had some chocolate syrup in it. I also found it too thick .
 
Date of Visit: Dec 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0