OpenRice Index
  
Domokunn
This is Domokunn living in Punggol. I work in Sengkang. I like to hang out in Bedok, Sengkang. I also love Dim Sum, Ramen, Tom Yum Soup Clear Base.
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review100 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity1835 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos702 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews26 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant22 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲159 Follower(s)
Domokunn  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 100 Reviews in Singapore
Lu Rou Fan OK Aug 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Chinese | Restaurant

i have been warned against the oily nature of the "lu rou fan", being not too friendly to the tummy. Comfortable setting is how i would describe the interior. You also see red lanterns hanging with dishes names on it around the shop. For orders, you proceed to the counter, place your order then get a queue number. i ordered the set meal which comes with one standard drink (i chose winter melon) and famous Taiwanese dish - braised pork rice. I also had a side order of honey chicken which cost $4.80, the other 2 version cost less. I wasn't impressed when i collected the rice set. Quantity looks ok but they give just one stalk of the cheap chye sim which was rather bland. Fortunately i asked for less oil when ordering so it did not turn out to be as oily as wha

 

 

 

 

 
t i've heard about. But the taste was pretty normal, the kiam chye wasn't flavorful enough as well. The winter melon drink was nice and refreshing though and it doesn't come with a lot of ice which is good. The honey chicken probably need some improvement as well. Firstly to present a dish of such quantity on a big plate is a mis match. Also i couldn't taste the honey taste n the chicken, maybe should have gone for the yan su chicken (salted) instead. They had a little red pepper as condiment but it did not enhance the chicken flavor. Certainly hope to see some improvement in this shop's offering. One thing to mention, i saw the staff kept munching away while serving and talking to client, not the best staff behavior i would think for a f& b outlet.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Royal Rumble Smile Aug 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

Was here for lunch on a Wednesday afternoon at 130pm, thank god there was no queue and only one other person ahead of me. First thing that catches the eye is the interesting menu, much depicting the different combination of poker game. I went ahead for the Royal Rumble which is supposed to include everything they have on menu. There are 2 prices indicated for all, i supposed its the take away price. One of the staff will be right at the stall front and will pass the nasi lemak set out to you.

I had asked for more chilli but the amount given was still quite little. My RR set comes with one otah (the bigger one usually sold at $2 or $3 elsewhere), one deep fried chicken wing, one kuning fish, 1 slice of cucumber . one fried egg, a bit of anchovies and fishcake (there was no more potato). Ok so RR does not include all items smile . The rice tasted pretty normal to me but it was the chix wing, ikan bilis, kuning fish and chilli that impressed. The chix wing though looking a little overly fried was super crispy with nicely cooked meat inside. It doesn't feel oily as well. The ikan bilis was also crunchy, just like the kuning fish. Now i could understand the reason behind the long queue always. But at $5.50, it may not appeal to everybody i think.

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Royal Rumble Set
 
Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Triple Treat Smile Aug 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Chinese Soup

Was here to consume my groupon voucher. It comes with Sumo Nabe Hotpot + Three-Cup Chicken Hotpot and also a Kimchi Beef Hotpot. i did not order drinks but added a yam rice to go along. I'll start with Sumo Nabe pot, probably the words to describe it are thick, rich and wholesome. This hotpot is served claypot style and packed with ingredients like carrots, chicken, cabbage and lotus roots. Soup base will look white and its the perfect dish for cold weather. The Three-Cup Chicken Hotpot is probably cooked with soy sauce, sesame oil and rice wine. Flavoring is also enhanced with basil and dried chilli. You also get some carrots and snow peas. Its my 1st time trying the Kimchi Beef Hotpot, comes with beef slices, toufu, eggs and a bit of rice cake inside as well. The yam rice was a little disappointing though, being too dry and tastes like it has been cooked for very long. I like all my 3 main dishes and thumbs-up to the nice chilli belacan as well. Mind that seats and tables are pretty small here, i would recommend this place for couple gathering more than for groups. My groupon set cost $25.80 but the food is worth in total $46.40. By the way its self order any payment at the counter , then wait to be served.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Very Fragrant Rice Smile Aug 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

First of all, I must say this outlet is pretty big, easily see 25 tables in total. came by to utilize my Groupon voucher which gives me chicken leg set, one drink and 1 dessert.

For drinks, I chose grass jelly which is served with crushed ice instead of cubes and a small pot of sugar syrup is provided, add to sweetness as per desired.

The first impression for the chicken leg is better than the nasi lemak. The chicken leg was freshly fried as it was still hot when i cut it. It also comes with sides like cucumber of chilli onion, some achar, some nasi lemak onion chilli mix. The rice was surprising fragrant, much like the usual chicken rice that we eat. I also like the sambal chilli which is left on the table in the holder, though it does not comes with ikan bilis or anchovies in it, it actually compliments the chicken leg and the small side dishes very well.

The cendol is highly recommended as well. with lots of red bean, grass jelly and milk. Only gripe is the ice is not fine enough so you still hv to make effort to crush it. But actually letting it melt a bit more then drink it like a beverage is also as good.

I did not really like the staff service though, a little too passive, i walk out of the restaurant with them looking away and not even offering a greeting or goodbye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Curry Fish Head Next Smile Aug 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Teochew

Yes, that's the dish i would definitely want to try next when i return again. Wanted to actually go to Penang Kitchen for lunch but decided to try out its neighbor instead. Initially when i was standing outside the shop, i struggled to find menu for 1 person i.e. individual portion. That's where a middle age man (i suspect he's the boss) came out and pointed to me there is a jumbo set and comes in 3 different variation. I opted for the jumbo pork chop set and chose to sit indoors. Interior wise its very much like next door, small and cosy, different combination of square and rectangular tables. The air con is sure a comfort to the sweltering heat outside. I also ordered a ice barley to quench my thirst. While seated, i observed many tables eating curry fish head, which is served on metal hotplate instead of clay-pot. And from far it looks really good. I also see the otah being a common dish ordered. From the wall deco i also see other potentials like the ngoh hiong, loh bak and sambal sotong.

When my dish arrives, i could understand why is it called a jumbo bowl, with a huge plate, you get one chicken wing, one potato, one hainanese pork chop in sweet sauce, one chap chye and a small portion of sambal belecan chilli. Curry gravy is poured over the rice, kind of reminds me of curry rice. i would like to give 2 recommendations here:
1 - to include at least 1 more potato
2 - cut the chap chye into small pieces
3 - provide more sambal chilli, the current portion is way too pathetic
4. check in advance with client whether they want curry or hainanese sweet sauce on the rice beforehand and offer more gravy if desired

#3 is suggested as that chilli packs a real good punch, comparable to those prepared by muslim counterparts for nasi padang stalls. The hainanese pork chop is also nicely prepared, with tomato and onions as well. the chap chye is nice but i really felt the vege slices was a tad too big for diners consumption. My bill adds up to be $11, $8 for the jumbo rice, $2 for drink and 10% service charge. I parked at kings centre beside this building and parking costs $1.50. I will return for the curry fish head and otah one day!

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0