OpenRice Index
  
chewbacca80
This is chewbacca80 .
Member 17 First(s)
No. of Review127 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1022 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos441 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲106 Follower(s)
chewbacca80  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 127 Reviews in Singapore
Hidden Gem Smile Nov 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

I wonder why it took me so long to find this gem. It is at a deserted part of smith street market, same section as the famous Ikan Bilis Yong Tau Food. I was drawn to the smell of fish soup and fried hor fun. When i saw the fire that erupted from the wok while the uncle was frying the hor fun, I knew that this will be good! I know this will certainly achieve the wok hei taste that is unfortunately absent in most hor fun these days. Anyway I order the bittergourd silce fish hor fun. It was certainly a deliciously addictive meal! Will be back to try the other dishes. I wish all hor fun sellers will fry their hor fun on the spot, like this stall, instead of just scooping from a bucket of pre-fried hor fun

 
and pouring gravy over it.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bittergourd slice fish hor fun
 
Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Surprising good Smile Oct 25, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

 
Okay I have to admit that i have no expectations of NYDC, been there a couple of times and thought the food wasnt fantastic. Anyway decided to try it out again as they had an one-for-one offer for main course.

Ordered the medium rare steak and it was as how i like it, medium rare... some places overdo the 'rare' and it becomes overcooked... so I am glad NYDC managed to up the steak pretty nicely.

French fries came out crispy and hot, so another plus point~
Overall a good and value for money experience. Paid about $12 each after discount.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good food! Smile Aug 21, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Seafood | Kids-Friendly


Chui Huey Lim revisited again! This is I think the 5th time I am here since its opening beginning of this year. Two reasons whiy i kept coming back. Firstly good food, secondly i had 3 or was it 4 return vouchers after my first visit. My favourite dish of the day was the char kway teow with cockles. It was marvellous. Not too sweet, moist, oily, generous in the amount of cockles. Fattening. Kaleidoscope of wonderful flavours. The dish i like the least was the prawn ball. I felt it was a little blend, not much taste of prawn or anything thing.

The first dish was a plate of goose with braised toufu. $24. My lunch company love the goose but i felt it was too 'gamey' the ducky taste was a little too strong.

 
The second dish prawn balls. - $12.

 
Char Kway Teow if i didnt remember wrong was $14! Lovely!

 
Mixed braised vegetables with scallops, fatt choy. Pretty good too! I think this was $28

 
Finally the oyster omelette. Which i must say was wonderfully executed. Good balance of oyster, eggs and the gooey stuff. Cant remember the price of this dish.

 
Total damage was $105. Had a $50 voucher though which was wonderful =D
 
Date of Visit: Aug 15, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious! Smile Aug 21, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup

Very delicious bowl of milky fish slice bee hoon! I love the texture of the noodles. It is not the usually thick ones that you find in most fish head bee hoon stall, it is slightly thinner, not too soft, cooked al-dente. I prefer this thinner version as it is not as slipperly, easier to consume! The flish slices are pretty thick and plentiful for a $4 bowl. The best part of this wonderful bowl is the mouth-watering soup. Thick, milky and very tasty with bits of fried shallots and ti poh - fried sole fish. Craving for it again!

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 18, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

disappointing! Cry Aug 21, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Roasted Meat

After feeding on kenny rogers for many years, this is the first time i am writing a review for the restaurant. One word summaries my experience of the many restaurants dotted around our little island. "Inconsistent". Well i guess inconsistent is better than terrible right, so at times it is not too bad. Anyway the experience here was bad. Chicken was served cold, the skin was stripped off the chicken. The thigh was dry and tasteless. One might have mistaken it for chicken breast if you ate with a blindfold. The best part of the meal unfortunately has never been the chicken but the baked beans. I love kenny rogers baked beans, not sure what goes in the sauce, but it sure is different from the usual beans, very tasty, not too salty. In fact it goes well with the muffins. Okay i know it is gross, but really both actually is a strange complement of each other. Usually i would have 2 servings ofe baked beans but for the first time i decided to go with the chicken vegetable soup, it was alright. Ironically the worse part of the meal is the chicken!

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0