OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1378 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Worth a visit Smile Mar 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Hotel

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/03/22/astor-bar/

It’s impossible not to be impressed by the décor of the Astor Bar. Located on the first floor of the opulent St Regis Singapore, this Jazz bar is the perfect place chillax.
Named after John Astor IV, who founder St Regis in 1904, this bar looks like something that you would see in The Great Gatsby.

Relax in luxurious leather sofas, sip on delicious cocktails, while resident pianist-singer Ron Sinclair captivate your heart with his smooth vocals and jazz tunes.
While ambience, beverages and service were top-notch, nut and chips were rather flat. Expected more from St Regis….
St Regis Signature Cocktail- The Bloody Mary ($22) perfected in 1934 by Fernand Petiot, a bartender at St Regis New York’s King Cole Bar. An additive spicy concoction made with Vodka, tomato juice, lemon Worcestershire sauce and Cayenne pepper.
St Regis Singapore is also famous for another unique cocktail, Chilli Padi Mary, which has lemongrass, chilli padi and ginger ale, giving it a distinct spiciness which reflects Singapore’s diverse cuisine. We skipped this as we had curry fish head for dinner had enough of spicy stuff.
Singapore Sling ($21), with gin, Cointreau, cherry brandy, pineapple juice and Angostura was equally excellent.
For those who don’t take alcohol, you can choose from a range of appealing mocktails and juices.
Apple Pilar ($14): apple juice, ginger ale, mint leaves

Grapefruit Cooler ($14): grapefruit juice, soda water, grenadine syrup
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | High Tea

For Full Review and pictures of all the food, pls visit: http://madamechewy.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/museo-high-tea-buffet-part-1/

Arteastiq ‘s third establishment, Museo, had its grand opening on the 16th March at Quayside Isle, Sentosa Cove. The restaurant and barroom serves casual fine dining concept dishes, high tea buffet and an extensive range of 30 specialty cocktails, in addition to Arteastiq’s famous and unique range of teas.

The décor, ambiance and music are been carefully crafted to provide patrons with a luxurious environment to chill out, relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.

An extensive high tea buffet spread is available on Saturdays and Sundays, from 1.30pm to 5pm, at $48++ per pax. Sip teas, hot chocolates and coffees. Nibble on intercontinental dishes, afternoon treats and desserts. Admire the picturesque view of the sea whist chatting with your companion. Isn’t this a perfect way to spend a lazy weekend?

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tuna tataki,Asparaus Soup,Vongole with white wine,Crispy pork belly,Dark chocolate mousse
 
Date of Visit: Mar 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $48(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome ambience, delectable food Smile Feb 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hotel | Restaurant

For full rewiew and pictures, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/02/20/clifford/

BFF W and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Clifford and were very impressed with the offerings. I hope I’am able to book Clifford again this year for lunch. Located at the opulent Fullerton Bay Hotel, Clifford will wow you with their lavish ambience, great food and professional hospitality.

Upon stepping into Clifford, I was blown away! It’s evident that no expense was spared with the décor and furnishings- 10 meter high floor to ceiling windows, Ivory French paneling, huge mirrors, herringbone oak floors and plush chairs. The restaurant overlooks the Clifford Pier, offering diners an enchanting waterfront dining experience.

Considering this is a classy place, I was rather surprised that our table was quite small and the space between tables was not as wide as I would have preferred.

While most restaurants serve a selection of 3 courses, Clifford dishes out 4 courses for $55++.
We kicked start the meal with a basket of warm bread, served with tasty duck rillette and smooth butter.

A bowl of piping hot bowl of flavorsome Onion soup with Melted Gruyere Cheese Crouton arrived. I was glad that the serving was small as the filling soup was rich with a generous amount of caramelized onions. I like how the Gruyere Cheese mellowed down the salty soup.

Our next course was a platter of 3 beautifully presented Hors d’oeuvres prepared using high quality ingredients.

Buffalo and Pissaladiere: Marinated Anchovies, creamy Buffalo Mozzarella and Roasted Tomato Tart sits atop crispy, flaky puff pastry.

Wagyu Beef Carpaccio accompanied with grilled porcini, Arugula, and Parmesan lace. Because I don’t eat raw meat, I passed it to W who was pleased with it. The appetizing parmesan lace hid underneath the meat, waiting to give diners a surprise.

Delectable Confit Ocean Trout, which went very well with black olive dust and sour, zesty lemon cucumber crème fraiche.

W’s main course was Roasted beef with Bordelaise glaze, with cepe mushrooms and fragrant truffle fries. The best part of this dish was the fries. I had great difficulty refraining myself from nipping too many of W’s fries.

Nicely Pan Fried Sea bass with a golden crust atop char grilled zucchini; Mint and fresh tomato relish on the side.

Desserts, petit fours and hot beverages came together. We could select from a range of Fullerton Bay Blend coffee or TWG teas. Since I had to work the next day and didn’t want to have any trouble sleeping that night, I chose chamomile tea, which came with cute jar of honey.

I wasn’t too impressed with the dessert, because of the paltry serving. It has everything I adore-Profiterole filled with crème Chantilly, warm dark chocolate sauce and passion fruit puree. 2 small profiteroles certainly didn’t satisfy me

We round off our meal with macarons, meringues and Kueh Lapis. Erm….kueh lapis, French restaurant…we don’t understand what’s the link???

In conclusion, it was a lovely dinner, although I wish the sweets fared better. I hope to revisit sometime soon
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Truffle fries,onion soup
 
Spending per head: Approximately $64(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

For picture and full review, visit:
http://madamechewy.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/my-cousins-grand-rom-the-china-club/
(pls scroll to the middle for the food review)

The China Club is an elegant, members-only club located on the 52nd floor of the Capital Tower. The ‘windows’ are made of 16 metre tall glass; one can admire the spectacular views across Singapore while enjoying traditional Chinese food.

The China Club was set up in Singapore in 2001; it forms part of the family of The China Clubs in Beijing and Hong Kong which has become synonymous with the best of executive clubs. The décor is very oriental; furniture, curtains, lighting and paintings screams Chinese!

Assorted Dim Sum. The steamed prawn dumpling (har gao) was memorable as the prawn was huge and fresh, with a hint of sweetness.

Pan seared fillet of Kurobuta Pork Vietnamese style. Now I understand why Kurobuta pork is the most highly priced pork in Japan. The savory sauce complemented the sweet and juicy meat of the pork perfectly.

Steamed fillet of Marble Goby with pickled radish. The meat was fresh, smooth, sweet and fine.

Braised whole abalone with superior oyster sauce. I was wowed by the generous serving of this Chinese delicacy. I love the chewy texture and buttery aftertaste of abalone; the oyster sauce enhanced the flavor of the abalone well.

Stirred fried vermicelli Teochew style. From this course, we can see that the menu was well planned. Towards the end of the meal, when guests are already becoming full, a light carbohydrate dish more suitable then the usual glutinous rice, fried rice or noodles.

Chilled sea coconut with aloe vera. Since I don’t like sea coconut, I didn’t eat it. The chilled soup was refreshing and not overly sweet.

Mini Chinese Pancake. The red bean paste was extremely smooth and sufficiently moist, a lovely way to end the scrumptious meal.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sunday Champagne Brunch Smile Aug 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Hotel | Buffet

Start your Sundays right with a scrumptious brunch! Located at Capri by Fraser at Changi City, contemporary designed Caprilicious sits modestly without airs. From now until the end of November, the restaurant whips up an impressive range of quality offerings at wallet-friendly $58++. We ate so much that I nearly rolled home, but there were still so many dishes I wanted to try!

What’s Sunday brunch without bubbles? Diners can enjoy free flow champagne (Laurent Perrier), house pour wines (Indomita), cocktails, plus juices and soft drinks along with the buffet spread.

Every self-respecting buffet will offer fresh seafood and Caprilicious is no different. Choose from Baby Lobsters, Crabs, Tiger Prawns, New Zealand Green Mussels, Peruvian Half Shelled Scallops, Canadian Oysters. Hubby is a huge fan of the sea and particularly enjoyed the Norwegian Salmon, Ahi Tuna and Octopus Sashimi. My personal favourite was the crabs-juicy succulent and very sweet. Ooolala!

A short stroll across the lobby leads to the Outdoor Live BBQ Station. Select from Otak Mackerel, Sambal Stingray, mini Wagyu patties (served with sesame bun, teriyaki sauce, coleslaw) and Garlic Rosemary Lamb Cutlets.

I know most people will skip pasta at a buffet but the pasta station here is worth a go. Omelettes, scrambled and fried eggs with a variety of toppings are prepared upon request.

Finally, satisfy your sweet tooth with an array of sweet treats! My favourite was the flavorful Durian Pengat. Ah yogurt, FRESH yogurt! Yummmsss! Yes, I am that blatant for my love of this healthy dessert. Don’t forget to try the chocolate fondue and waffles too!

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/08/02/caprilicious-sunday-champagne-brunch/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0