OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1376 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Steaks and Grills | Brunch

For pictures and full review pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/01/29/exclusive-chefs-table-at-dolce-vita/
Mandarin Oriental’s Dolce Vita unveils a new dining concept, Chef’s Table, where guests have the opportunity to sit right at the cold kitchen counter, to watch acclaimed Italian Chef, Omar Bernardi showcase his magic.
Every Friday, for only 6 guests, Chef Omar presents an exclusive 6-course dinner in an “Omakase” fashion. The menu will be updated every month to ensure that diners are served the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Mandarin Oriental’s award-winning Sommelier, Inthran Ramasamy takes the intimate dining experience up a notch by expertly pairing each course with exquisite wines. If you prefer non-alcoholic beverages, enticing mocktails will be concocted in replacement of the wines.
We nibbled on the complimentary bakes, accompanied with Basil Cream, Tomato cream and Tomato Pesto, while Chef Omar prepared the Amuse Bouche.
Beetroot and Goat Cheese Composition. Three variants of beetroot balance out the strong notes of the ricotta and goat cheese mousse, whilst crunchy quinoa adds a resounding crackle in every mouthful. Garnished with sorrel and cress for the perfect finish.
Chef Omar takes a modern approach to a typical Venetian dish, Sweet and Sour Sardine ( Sarde in Saor). In the past, fishermen used to prepare this dish with vinegar, onion and flour in order to preserve the fish. In this appetizer, sardines from the Mediterranean Sea are fried, and served with pine nuts and raisins for a touch of sweetness.
Once again, Chef Omar takes an up-market approach to another traditional Venetian favorite-Prawns and Polenta. Accompanying the succulent seared prawns, is a cylindrical-shaped polenta with a crisps exterior and comfortingly soft interior. Made complete with garlic chips for that irresistible aroma and crunch. Simple, yet insanely delicious!
The Green Pea Risotto and Smoked Eel is something exotic and unusual. This is my first encounter such a unique dish and was pleasantly surprised that the combination came off really well. Green peas are pureed then mixed into the risotto to achieve a lush hue. Take a little bit of everything into the mouth for optimum enjoyment-the duo is enhanced with bursts of flavor from the salmon roe and butter sauce.
Seafood lovers will adore the Mullet and Langoustine. On this plate, the delicate flesh of Red Mullet from the Mediterranean Sea is paired with langoustine confit. The latter, prepared in a bath of clarified butter, herbs and garlic, then topped with foamed bisque made from its shell, was absolutely stellar. The delectable langoustine melted in the mouth like a dream!
Sweet departure arrived in the form of Milk Jam Dessert. The tongue is enthralled in symphony of milk and sugar reduction, homemade apricot sorbet, hazelnut crunch, apricot coulis and a pinch of sea salt. An elegant dessert worth pining for!

There’s no better way to wind down after a hectic work week than with Chef Omar’s “OMAR-kase” dinner at Dolce Vita. The charming chef’s approach to food is passionate and professional, staying true to his Italian roots while adding a few modern touches. In addition to the gastronomic adventure, I find it fascinating to observe execution, and enlightened when Chef Omar explains the intricacies of each dish.

 
Supplementary Information:
Chef's Table
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Waffle Specialist Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/01/16/montana-singapore/

Montana Singapore, previously branded as Montana Brew Bar, has moved from the first level of PoMo to larger outfit on the level two. Montana also revamped their menu, adding new items but at the same time, retaining classic favorites, to cater to longstanding diners.

Montana is widely recognized for their extensive savory and sweet waffle offerings, and diners can opt for fluffy or crispy texture (for selected items). The former’s waffle base, inspired by soufflé, has a soft and fluffy interior with a thin crispy crust, whilst the latter is crisps and light throughout.
All the dishes we sampled during the tasting were lovely, and there are a number items that promise to leave a deep impression.
Assam Crab Waffle ($18) is an innovative dish inspired by Kedah Laksa. These waffles are made with a blend of 8 spices, adorned with succulent crab meat and pineapple cucumber salsa, and paired with assam gula melaka mayo. Take a bit of everything and let it mingle in your mouth. Superb!

Fans of Korean cuisine will adore the Bulgogi Beef Waffle ($16). This newbie on the menu had a couple of teething issues initially, mainly being too soggy due to its moist toppings. Montana has tweaked the proportion of cornflour in the Gochujang rice waffle, baked it for a longer time, then fried it, before adding well-marinated sous vide Bulgogi beef and kimchi coldslaw. A single poached egg completes this dish.

Dont be fooled by the humble presentation of the Japaleno Mac and Cheese Waffle($12.50). This a combination I’ve never tried before, but fell in love with upon the first bite. Embedded between the beautifully browned waffles, is a gooey centre of mac and cheese. Truffle oil lends a haunting aroma, while tomato relish dip adds a tangy note.

The Southern Fried Chicken Waffle ($14) is essentially a slab of tasty fried chicken tucked between crisps waffles. The slight greasiness is nullified with the tangy coleslaw, while the corn salsa side provides further refreshment for the palate. This is the ultimate comfort food that can lift even the lowest moods!

Awaken the taste buds with Spicy Bacon Pasta ($14), packed with a fiery punch enough to satisfy most spice lovers.

Desserts is something that should not be missed at Montana! Black waffles are intriguing and seductive, but they’re not something new in Singapore’s cafe scene. I’m sure most people would mistaken these for charcoal waffles, but surprise surprise, this is made with black sesame. The fragrant Black Velvet Waffle ($14) is further enhanced with black miso caramel and a scoop of intense green tea ice cream ( the other option is black sesame ice cream).

The black velvet waffle was good, but overshadowed by the exquisite Red Velvet Waffle ($14.50). An instagrammable darling, the crimson waffle is accentuated with strawberry cheesecake ice cream (which replaces the older vanilla bean version) and drizzled with white chocolate rose sauce. Love how all the elements elevate each other, as well as how the rose flavour adds a unique taste to the overall taste profile. Amazing dessert! Ingenuity at its best!

Montana is proud to be in only café in Singapore to offer coconut cold brew coffee. Costa Rica beans are brewed for 12-15 hours in coconut water, which results in a sweet, smooth and soft finish. We tried the Regular ($6.50) served with coconut ice sphere, as well as the Gula Melaka($6.80) and Yuzu ($7.80) rendition. We voted, in order of preference, the Regular, followed by the Yuzu and finally, Gula Melaka, which most of us didn’t have a thing for, due to its bitterness and acidity. If you like you coffee strong, go for the Gula Melaka.

Sincerity is the bonus ingredient added in food served at Montana, which is increasingly getting rare these days. Another commendable point is that the team is receptive to feedback and make improvements swiftly. Working or studying close to PoMo? Do take advantage of their value for money set lunches are available on weekdays from 12 noon to 2pm-only $11.90 for a pasta and a soft drink or iced lemon tea.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Red Velvet Waffles,Assam Crab Waffles,Spicy Bacon Aglio Olio,Black Velvet Waffles
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Aced the Grilled Tiger Prawns OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Hotel | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/01/17/pool-grill/
Marriott’s Pool Grill is a lovely spot to enjoy a relaxing lunch or romantic dinner. Singapore’s unforgiving weather is always a consideration when dining al fresco, hence we dressed light. However, we were surprised how cool the restaurant was, thanks to some of the air-conditioning flowing out from the hotel (especially if you sit closer to the entrance) as well as powerful ceiling fans.
I came with expectation that everything would be very casual at the Pool Grill, but again was surprised with its sophisticated elegance. Luckily, I dressed up for this lunch appointment my friend.
Service is attentive, warm and polite. However, the staff failed to inform us that they ran out of bone marrow and replaced it with vine tomatoes without checking with my friend. It’s an understatement that she was upset as she was looking forward to the bone marrow with much anticipation.
Lunch started with complimentary Onion Foccacia. We loved its soft innards and crispy exterior.
The Pool Grill Signature Caesar Salad ($19), is prepared and served at your table. The whole affair is rather pageantry, but sadly the salad tasted pedestrian. You can opt to add grilled chicken breast, smoked salmon and grilled prawns for an additional $6, $7 and $8.50 respectively. Order this if you have a thing for fanfare.
The Lobster Bisque ($17) fared much better. The robust flavors of the royal crustacean delighted the palate. We like that its texture, is light and not overly rich. Sitting in the enticing soup is a generous chuck of succulent lobster.
My one true love is grilled prawns and I came to Pool Grill specifically to try this. The Grilled Tiger Prawns ($38 for 200g) were skillfully grilled, and each mouthful rewards with an alluring smoky char, and a crunch that can only come from fresh prawns. The coriander salsa verde sauce is also superb accompaniment.
In the background, is Beer Battered Potato Fritters ($7) seasoned with truffle salt. This could have been nicer if it was less greasy.
After waiting for ages, my dining companion’s 400 day grain fed Australian Wagyu Ribeye ($69) finally arrived. She requested for medium, but it turned up well done. What’s more, the roasted bone marrow which accompanies the steak was replaced with vine tomatoes without her knowledge. Her only comfort came from the melt-in-the-mouth Foie Gras ($15) add on and lobster butter, one Pool Grill’s home-made condiments.
Do yourself a favor, skip desserts here. Both desserts we tried, did not follow through their projected image, The Banofee ($14), a dessert with toffee, banana, crumble and chocolate balls was average at best.
The Chocolate Raspberry Trifle ($14) yielded nothing but disappointment. The jelly was served warm and the sponge cake was absent of the typical moist, soaked consistency associated with trifle.

More misses than hits with the a la carte menu at Pool Grill, but I won’t write off this place yet, simply because I love the ambiance here, which exudes resort living and is away from crowds. I’d like to return to try the value-for-money set lunch which is available from Mondays to Saturdays- $33++ for 3 courses plus free flow of ice tea or hot beverages. Set dinners are also available at $48++.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled Tiger Prawns,Lobster Bisque
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fifth Outlet in Plaza Singapura Smile Dec 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/12/12/cocoichibanya-opens-5th-outlet-at-plaza-singapura/

CoCoICHIBANYA has certainly gone from strength to strength in Singapore- the largest curry restaurant chain in the world has recently opened their 5th outlet on our sunny island at Plaza Singapura. To date, the chain has a whopping 1,400 outlets worldwide!
Located on level 3 in Plaza Singapura’s new wing and offering a view of Orchard Road (perfect for people watching), the restaurant has a modern bistro concept with private booth seats and plenty of natural light streaming through the windows.
Currently, CoCoICHIBANYA is the only curry house in Singapore boasting such an extensive menu. With countless of curry rice and omelette rice options to choose from, diners are truly spoilt for choice. What’s more, CocoICHIBANYA offers the flexibility to customize your meal-diners can specify the portion of rice, curry spice levels as well as toppings.
To whet our appetites, the tasting started with Tofu and Fried Fish Salad ($7), which comes with either Goma (sesame) dressing or Japanese Soy Sauce (Shoyu) dressing. We also sank our teeth into delicious Deep fried Chicken Gyozas ($4.20), which had the perfect ratio of crisps golden wrap and juicy chicken filling

CoCoICHIBANYA offers curry with spice levels ranging from level 1 to 5. In addition, they also cater to children and vegetarians with mild and vegetarian stock curries.

Pair the versatile curries with popular crowd-favorites such as Thinly Sliced Boiled Beef ($4), Deep Fried Pork Cutlet ($4) or tender Black Pepper Grilled Chicken ($4).

If you prefer something uncommon, there’s piquant Grilled Pork and Kimchi ($4) and Grilled Squid which emanates a smoky char.

My top pick is the Grilled Spinach, Bacon and Corn– a tango of robust savory and sweet bursts of flavors.

Desserts were nothing to shout about, but did a satisfactory job rounding up a spice laden meal as they were served either chilled or frozen. Green tea lovers can relish in the Matcha Cheese Cake ($4.80) or Single Scoop Matcha Ice Cream with Azuki beans ($3.80). My personal favorite was the Chocolate Crepe Cake ($5.50), prepared with fresh Hokkaido Milk. The premium milk makes another appearance in the Cream Puff ($5.50)- a dessert sure to be a hit with kids.

Diners can count on CoCoICHIBANYA for appealing and comforting meals in a modern setting which does not hurt the wallet.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled Spinach,Bacon and Corn–
 
Date of Visit: Oct 28, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Italian | European | Japanese | Seafood | Sushi/Sashimi | Fine Dining

For pictures and full review, pls visit (cant fit my full review here):
http://madamechewy.com/2015/12/13/joie-by-dozo/
Meatless cuisine goes luxe at Joie by Dozo, a restaurant located on the roof top garden of Orchard Central. The plates offered here will change the most common conception of vegetarian cusine. My dining companion (who’s vegetarian) and I were blown away by the presentation the execution of the dishes. This was our first encounter with vegetarian fine dining in Singapore.
The elaborate menu, filled with attractive descriptions, makes one desire many dishes. Go for the set menu, which allows one to sample a myriad of creations for $38.80++ (6-course lunch) or $68.80++ (7-course dinner).
The restaurant is decked out in a contemporary fashion in grey and champagne tones. Once we settled down in the comfy armchairs, the staff handed us a fancy embossed menu and proceeded to recommend the signature dishes.
Complimentary Pastry Sticks and Passion Fruit Smoothie. Do wait for the ice to melt a little before sipping the refreshing beverage.
The Chef Platter comprises of a trio of intriguing bites. We were advice to being with the middle item, Carrot Terrine with Seaweed. The smoothness and appearance of the carrot terrine reminds me of smoked salmon. Pop the Raspberry Sphere into your mouth and enjoy the burst of sweet juices. Finally, we munched on the Seaweed Cracker, jazzed up with Shimeiji Mushroom and wasabi.
A play on crispy and soft textures, the Tempura Platter on Mash consists of charcoal coated yam, eggplant, apple, and banana, brightening up with orange sesame dressing.
The Matsutake Cake exudes an earthy aroma, courtesy of the steamed Japanese Mushroom. The rosemary gel, crème patisserie and pistachio crumbs add an interesting dimension to the dish.
Vegetarian Sashimi? I thought my ears failed me! Joie’s Vegetable Sashimi on ice with Quail Egg Glass Shooter is presented just like regular sashimi, however, the ingredients in focus are thinly sliced coconut, konjac, aloe vera and pear, while blueberry pearls represent caviar.
Structured in a striking manner, the Zucchini Tower, accompanied with beetroot sphere, is sure to catch your attentive even from afar. The zucchini tower is stuffed with crème cheese, truffle mayo and finished off with a medallion of puff pastry. Flavours are delicately light in this dish, and I could hardly detect truffle.
Ordering mushroom soup amongst other soups is a no brainer for me. The Infusion of Cepes and Truffle was a great choice! The mushroom soup was perfumed with white winter truffle oil and black truffles. We found the robust flavors and truffle notes irresistible and slurped it down to the very last drop. Soul-warming!

Both of us had mushrooms, which are loaded with nutrients to help boats energy and repair cells, for our main courses. The Bai-Ling Steak on “Pu-Ye” Hot Stone arrived sputtering, with a train of smoke lingering in its trail. Aside from its gobsmacking presentation of the mushroom steak, tempura fan (angel hair pasta) and creamy mash, what took my breath away was how juicy and delectable the mushroom steak was. Even though the Bai Ling mushroom packed a punch when dipped into the accompanying mustard sauce, it was well-seasoned hence, delicious even on its own.

The dessert we tried, Warm Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream was in line with the high standards demonstrated by the savouries. The molten lava is smooth and intense!

Sip on Joie’s captivating concoction of beverages for a relaxing finale to the meal. Both the Ice Mallow Apple Melody (blend of mallow flowers, apple and guava juice) and Ice Fruity Refresher (blend of assorted fresh fruits) were equally delightful.

Joie by Dozo is exceptional in aesthetics, taste and execution. We’ve gotta hand it to the chefs and friendly staff for the one-of-a-kind dining experience.
 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bai-Ling Steak on “Pu-Ye” Hot Stone,Infusion of Cepes and Truffle
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 26, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0