OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1376 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Newly revamped afternoon tea set Cry Aug 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : English | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/08/06/arteastiq-afternoon-tea/
Having had a positive impression on Arteastiq’s afternoon tea, I was understandably keen to check out their newly revamped set.
Located along Orchard Road, splendidly decorated Arteastiq is a popular spot for resting in between shopping, or to meet up with friends for a tête-à-tête. Art lovers can indulge in their passion in the art studio next door, whilst sipping on Arteastiq’s exquisite teas. Unlimited acrylic pain, sponges, brushes and paint palettes are provided with purchase of blank canvas.
Afternoon tea is served on a 2-tiered stand, along with 2 teas at $48++. We highly recommend the Iced Pomelo Tea, a refreshing and uplifting sweet beverage.
Savouries occupy the bottom tier. The most outstanding, was the supple Smoked Duck Breast roll, enveloped in a crispy Prata that had a beautiful charred aroma. Other savoury nibbles include Smoked Salmon Roll, Cocktail Prawns and Ham Roll.
As for sweet treats, we had Caramel Éclair, Chocolate Éclair, Baked Chocolate Tart, warm and moist Apple Cinnamon Cake (with moist apple bits), Coffee Macaron and Vanilla Macaron. While the éclairs were appealing, the portion was paltry and did not reflect the classy image Arteastiq projects of itself. I’d rather pay more to get decent sized éclairs.

Overall, we found Arteastiq's afternoon tea experience a little dissapointing. Service was slow and it was difficult to catch staff's attention. But its only $48++ which includes 2 teas which are already worth $11 each, so what more can one ask for?
Supplementary Information:
Ice Pomelo Tea
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ice Pomelo Tea
 
Table Wait Time: 40 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Salads

There’s no short of pleasing cafes in Lavender, but AEIOU deserves mention for its unique vintage atmosphere and Avocado Coffee. Located on King George’s avenue, it’s easy to miss the cafe as the previous occupant’s signboard still remains at the front facade, which confuses first time visitors (yeap, guilty here). Do take a mental snapshot of the picture below lest you get lost.

The interior is thoughtfully done up, filled with designer furniture and decorative items for sale. Generally, the vibes are cheery and service warm and efficient.

AEIOU’s Avocado Coffee ($8) is a breath of fresh air from the usual cuppas you’ll see in other cafes. Lusciously smooth avocado smoothie is presented in a recycled vodka bottle with 2 separate espresso shots. This combination is a new experience for me and boy this is delectable! I’m not a fan of coffee (tea drinker here) but could not stop myself from sneaking repeated sips from my dining companion’s cup. Thankfully, portion is generous and there was enough for both of us.

The Mushroom Soup ($8.90) with crisp garlic bread arrived on a large wooden plank in the shape of a dinosaur (the cafe’s mascot) was quite a sight. The soup is made with white button mushrooms blended to a thick, creamy consistency, garnished with sautéed shimeiji mushrooms and basil. A splash of truffle oil completes the starter. As the flavours were mellow and texture too heavy, we didn’t particular enjoy the soup and were struggling to finish it.

The French classic, Duck Confit, is not commonly served in cafes; hence we were pleasantly surprised to see it offered at AEIOU. The French Duck Confit ($24.90), accompanied with soured cabbage and cauliflower gratin, had enticing crispy skin, but alas its meat was a tad too dry. Notice the dinosaur-shaped board? Its quite impressive.

There’s nothing too complicated with the Roasted Chicken ($16.90 for half, $25.90 for whole). Stuffed with garlic, rosemary and thyme, the aroma and flavours were mouth-watering. One thing I could not overlook was the dryness of the chicken. I dunked the meat into the accompanying mustard and mushroom sauce in an attempt to conceal the dismal dryness, but gave up finishing up the chicken after a while.

Not a common flavour, but AEIOU does a mean Avocado Cheesecake ($8). Taste-wise its appealing, but I’d have liked it more if the texture wasn’t so crumbly.
The Salted Caramel Cheesecake ($7) deserves a mention. Although the portion is small for $7, its rich creamy texture and prominent, balanced salted caramel flavour made it worthwhile.

Other attractive desserts on display include Classic Tiramisu ($8.50), Summer Tiramisu ($8.50) and Lime Tart ($6). Admittedly we were disappointed with our experience at AEIOU, but don’t write if off just yet as ours could be an isolated incident.

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/06/21/aeiou/
Supplementary Information:
Avocado Coffee
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 18, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Fusion | Desserts and Cakes

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/18/dolce-tokyo/
Opened by Ministry of Food, Dolce Tokyo offers diners Japanese and Italian cuisine in a trendy setting. “Dolce” means “sweet” in Italian, but this cafe is more than a dessert place. A flip through the menu reveals riotous offerings of appetizers, all day breakfasts, burgers, pastas, pizzas, curry rice, desserts, milkshakes and so on.
For something substantial, go for the Grilled Chicken Burger ($13) with mayo sauce. The tender chicken had a nice crisp char on the skin, but because it wasn’t well-marinated, the meat was rather bland. The burger was accompanied with baked beans, fries and chilli dip.
I didn’t enjoy the Battered Fish Fillet ($17), which includes a choice of 2 side dishes (sweet corn, whipped potato, baked potato or thick-cut fries) and salad. Although the batter was well fried, the flesh had a strong fishy taste.
Tossed in a spicy tomato sauce, each mouthful of the Chicken and Asparagus Pasta ($16) was a delightful blast of flavor. The chicken skin had a nice smoky char, but the meat was too tough and dry.
The Aglio Olio with Soft Shell Crab ($17) fared better. While I felt it could do with more garlic, the pasta was pleasantly al dente, with onion slices present for additional flavor and crunch. The soft shell crab was well fried. The crustacean had quite a bit of flesh and the sweetness of the meat could be detected.
I was sorely disappointed with the Red Velvet Cake ($12.50). At this exorbitant price, one would expect an exceptional Red Velvet slice. It was far from that-too dry and paltry portion of crème cheese. Avoid this at all costs!
The Yuzu Panna Cotta ($7.90) on the other hand, was rather decent. The Panna Cotta itself was plain but creamy, with Mandarin Orange slices and Yuzu sauce lending flavour.
I wouldn’t say the food is terrible, but neither is it particularly enticing for a return visit.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointing Cry Sep 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Seafood

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/15/boston-seafood-shack/
Boston Seafood Shack is a casual dining eatery serving classic seafood dishes in a fun nautical-themed restaurant. At the Star Vista branch, diners can choose to feast indoor or at the alfresco area. Service was acceptable, not the most friendly as it was a busy evening, but nevertheless efficient.
We were ravenous and ordered heaps. There were more misses than hits and if not for the Groupon deal we purchased ($60 for $100 value), we’ll be quite upset paying full price for this mediocre standard.
Best of the lot was the Mussels and Clams in Spicy White Wine Broth ($12), served in a cute mini casserole. The broth was flavorsome and robust with loads of diced garlic. The accompanying garlic bread marred the experience as it was hard and a little stale. For this price, it’s amazing value and I won’t hesitate to order it again. Diners can opt for just clams or mussels alone, which can also be prepared in Porcini cream sauce.
Soft shell crab ($11) was too greasy and lacked crispness. Its intense lobster dip was a welcome change from the usual tartar or remoulade sauce.
Slightly falling apart is the dry Crab Cakes paired with cocktail sauce. For $8, the amount of crab meat was reasonable.
Quite disappointed with the Boston Premium Lobstah Roll ($14) as we were expecting the wow factor. Lobster chucks evenly coated with creamy mayonnaise hubbed between a lackluster bun.
Fish and Chips fans will be glad to know that at Boston Seafood Shack, you can choose from cod, wild snapper or barramundi enveloped in a crispy golden batter for $14. While the coating was good, our cod was tasteless.
Sides failed shine as well. All the fries were dry and plain salads desperately needed dressing.
Another letdown was the Grilled Prawns ($14) – dry and bland!
Finally, something gratifying! The Crabmeat Porcini Cream Sauce Pasta ($12) was doused in a light creamy sauce and crowned with a generous portion of succulent chunks of crab meat. This was only main course that lighted up our day.
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Misleading Menu Cry Dec 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/21/lady-m/#more-6627

Lady M, a famous cake boutique from New York, has opened its first outlet outside of the States. Located in The Dining Edition in Marina Square, the 5th Lady M salon can seat 56 guests at one time. The spacious open-concept cake boutique has a minimalist design with simple clean lines. Tables are spaced far apart to give diners more privacy.

Lady M is the pioneer of Mille Crepe cakes. But are they the best? With fans like Iseey Miyake (Japanese designer) and Linda Evagelista (supermodel); W, M and I arrived with high expectations.

M wasn’t too pleased with the plain décor, but W and I were ok with it. We came for the cakes!!!

A variety of coffee, tea, juices and even CHAMPAGNE are available to accompany your sweets. These days, more and more places do not serve tap water, or charge for it. Thankfully Lady M is not one of them. On a weekday afternoon, it was rather quiet; service was polite and efficient.

The famed Mille Crepe ($7.50/slice) consists of 20 layers of handmade crepes, with fluffy, frothy cream sandwiched tightly in between, topped with a caramelized finish. Layers are so thin, they melt in the mouth. The fresh pastry cream is subtly sweet and light on the palate. Prior to this, I have tried 2 other Mille Crepe cakes- one from Coffee Stars by Dao (terrible, only had 7 layers) and the other from First Love Patisserie (Ion basement). First Love has roughly the same number of layers as Lady M’s cake, but the latter’s Mille Crepe possess a more refined taste because the pastry cream is lighter and tastes less milky.

Pillow-y green tea sponge, layered evenly with green tea mousse, with a bit of cream. Lady M’s rendition of Green Tea Mousse Cake ($8/slice) is rather sweet, in fact the sweetness overpowered the green tea flavor.

I was sorely disappointed with my Strawberry Mille Feuille ($8/slice). On the menu, it states “puff pastry, whipped cream with layers of vanilla sponge and strawberries”. Look, even in the menu’s picture, you can see the layer of vanilla sponge.

But this was served. There was no vanilla sponge at all. I loved sponge cake and I ordered this because I wanted to try Mille Feuille with sponge. Previously, I had Paul’s and TWG’s Mille feuille (one of my favorite desserts). Both had no sponge cake in it, so I wanted to try something different.

I thought that there was something wrong with my eyes so I proceeded eating in hopes of detecting the vanilla sponge. W and M tried to help, but to no avail. Out of curiosity, I asked the staff and was informed that I was the first person to discover this mistake in the menu. The supervisor said that they used to have sponge cake in it, but replaced it with strawberries instead to suit customer preferences. However, they didn’t update the menu or the tag in the display. On well, I really don’t know what to say….

The only thing good about this was the fresh strawberries. The thin layers of flaky puff pastry was overwhelmed by the sheer quantity of the plain, boring whipped cream.

To us, Lady M certainly didn’t live up to the hype. I probably will only come back for the Mille Crepe.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mille crepe
 
Spending per head: Approximately $9(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0