OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1377 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/08/23/goldleaf-restaurant/
Goldleaf Restaurant, one of Singapore’s pioneer restaurants serving Taiwanese Porridge, has been around since 1971. Its ambiance is clean, comfortable and suitably decorated with Chinese paintings.
The menu features an array of heart-warming and comforting dishes that goes well a bowl of a humble porridge. Porridge comes piping hot and has a smooth consistency. It’s refillable and you can choose from plain or sweet potato.

The tender and superbly marinated Braised Pork with Preserved Vegetables ($16) tantalized our taste buds with nuances of herbs and spices. Another must-order is the Steamed Pork Patty ($16) -juicy and soft,with a hunk of dried salted fish to enhance flavors. Another classic porridge accompaniment that should not be missed is the Chye Poh Omelette ($10). I always find fluffy fried eggs with bursts of salted radish irresistible.
The Salted Egg Yolk Prawns ($16) had chilli padi and curry leaves that pierces through the creamy sauce, adding dept to the dish. The shells were conveniently removed, so you can dive straight into it, without getting your fingers dirty.
The spiciness of the Sambal Potato Leaves ($10) gives a nice burn and jolts you up instantly. I find this dish a tad too salty though. We also had French Beans ($10) with mince meat and shrimps, as well as Salted Egg ($1.50 each). Both items were simple, yet so satisfying.
On the whole, dishes were well executed, however we felt that portions quite small for the price point. A gratifying food experience, nonetheless!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Braised Pork with Preserved Vegetables,Steamed Pork Patty
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $21(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Try the Salted Caramel Brioche! Smile Aug 23, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café | Brunch

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/08/22/riders-cafe/
Concealed somewhere behind the lush greenery in Bukit Timah, Riders Cafe is thriving despite its inaccessibility. The cafe’s location is unique, situated among the facilities of a saddle club. In hopes of catching a glimpse of a pony, we requested for a table along the balcony, however after a few minutes the heat was too unbearable, so we moved.
I love cafes but due to space constraints; most cafes in Singapore are too cramped and uncomfortable. Rider’s Café is spacious, however, rather noisy, so after a while we gave up talking as it was too tiring to raise our voices all the time. As Riders Café is not air-conditioned, do dress light.
The aroma of the Chilli Lime Fried Squid ($13) with dill tartar hit our senses before it reached our table. However, its batter was not evenly coated, and wasn’t as crisps as we’d have liked. Not the best but not the worst fried squid I’ve tried but for $13, one would have expected better execution and a bigger portion.
Prepared with roasted sweet peppers, the Cheese and Forest Mushroom Omelette ($15) was moist and luscious, but taste-wise underwhelming and one-dimensional. I had hopes that the spuds could save the day but alas the potato hash was too dry.
Fried Chicken BLT ($17) fared much better. It’s constructed with well-marinated and perfectly fried chicken, savory bacon and purple slaw sandwiched between sesame buns, with kimchi mayonnaise to cut through the oiliness. The accompanying fries could have been better with a drizzle of truffle oil but they were nevertheless satisfying with a sweet chilli dip (you’ve to request for it). Super comfort food I must say.
This was what attracted me to Riders Café; was practically drooling at the monitor when I read the menu description. The Salted Caramel Brioche ($12) comes with crumbled honeycomb, butterscotch and vanilla ice cream. What a beautiful mess! It started off being superb. The toasted brioche soaked up a little ice cream and salted caramel sauce-the crumbly texture and combination of sweet and salty was irresistible! The homemade honeycomb was spot on- neither overly sweet nor hard. As we chowed along however, the dessert gets overwhelming saccharine as there was insufficient vanilla ice cream for balance.
Other dessert options (all made in-house) include Freshly Baked tea Scone ($9), Death by Chocolate Cake ($13) and Pound Cake Cinnamon Churros ($10).
Hits and misses with the food, but Riders Café’s one-of-a-kind ambiance and excellent service made up for it. As the venue is popular brunch spot during weekends, reservations are recommended to avoid disappointment. Brunch is available on weekends from 8am to 9pm.
Supplementary Information:
alted Caramel Brioche
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salted Caramel Brioche
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $34(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

For pictures and full review pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/08/19/may-may/
Keep your eyes peeled opened for May May’s white panel glass doors and purple signboard while locating the Asian fusion restaurant along the shophouses on Tras Street. Yes, it’s easy to walk pass May May without realising it *guilty here*.
Inside, one will find a little piece of oasis that makes you forget that you’re in hectic city. Service is polite and efficient.
The menu is a simple one pager (A5 size), but we had no trouble finding something that appealed to our taste buds.
Get your dose of Omega-3 from the Butter Poached Cod ($18), with wakame, oven roasted tomatoes, grilled mushrooms, pickled wasabi sprouts and wobbly soft centred egg as accompaniments. The chucks of cod are almost ethereal in its silkiness and softness, stealing my heart the moment I took the first bite.
Bestie’s Red Chilli Chicken ($16) unfortunately, didn’t fare as well. While the fried chicken pieces were well-seasoned and crispy with just the right amount of heat, the meat’s texture was too tough. Other components that make up this rice bowl are caramelised onions, toasted cashews, grilled mushrooms, oven roasted tomatoes and soft centred egg.
Buried beneath the avalanche of toppings in each donburi, lies fluffy Japanese rice. They were so good and comforting, we finished every single grain. You can top up $2 to swap the rice for quinoa and $3 for a lunch combo (available on Mondays to Saturdays) which includes a salad and beverage (soft drink, coffee or tea).
The highlight of our meal was the Liu Sha Custard Donuts ($7). Each fluffy donut has a core of warm salted egg yolk custard, which oozes out with every bite. Sinfully indulgent but worth every calorie! If you’d like to try this, visit May May during the day. We came once during dinner and were informed that May May stops serving this at 6pm.
If you prefer a lighter dessert, go for the Apple Lime Parfait ($8). It’s essentially diced apple cubes encased in lemongrass jelly on creamy lime parfait sitting atop a pile of muscovado crumble, which adds texture to the refreshing dessert. I love how sharp notes of the lemongrass jelly and zesty lime invigorate the senses.
Two thumbs up to May May’s lunch offerings, which we felt were prepared using wholesome quality ingredients in a un-fussed approach. Do note that May May is closed on Sundays and the nutritious rice bowls are only available during lunchtime as the restaurant runs a different menu during dinner.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Butter Poached Cod Donburi,Liu Sha donut
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

TDF White Pepper Crab Smile Aug 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Asian Variety | Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/08/08/tao-seafood-asia/
If you’re after affordable seafood in a setting of chic refinement, look no further! TAO Seafood Asia, located Asia Square Tower 2, is currently my family’s favourite venue to get our crab fix. Apart from crabs, the family-run restaurant offers some excellent seafood items that almost made it seem like you’re dining straight from the sea!
My first visit to TAO Seafood Asia was during a media tasting event. I was so impressed, I took my in-laws there for dinner and they too, fell deeply in love with the quality ingredients and skillful execution.
We kicked start our meal with a plate of delectable Crispy Fish Skin with Salted Egg($10) . Ahhh, its melody in the mouth! Unlike some restaurants that just coat the fried fish skin with salted egg yolk, TAO rendition includes curry leaves and chilli padi, which add depth and dimension to the flavour profile. This certainly did a good job of whetting our appetites!
All of TAO’s sauces are whipped up in-house and the most outstanding is definitely theThai-Teochew Green Chilli Sauce, which goes well with all of the dishes in the menu.
The mere thought of the White Pepper Crab ($6.80/100g) sets my heart aflame! The heavily guarded recipe is a sure winner and we were all overwhelmed by how delectable the dish turned out. Peppery and robust, this succulent crab is guaranteed to jump start your senses! Do note that this item is off the menu, but is readily available upon request.
Singapore Chilli Crab ($6.80/100g) is another popular order. We alternate devouring the luscious white flesh and dipping the fried mantou into the sweet, tangy and spicy tomato chilli sauce. Lip-smackingly yummy!
TAO takes pride in cooking each pot dish individually, to lock in and maximise flavours (no mass cooking). The Pot Roasted Prawns with Glass Noodles ($32) was absolutely stellar. We opted for fresh river prawns instead of sea prawns, as we prefer the former’s crunchy texture. The vibrant orange crustaceans rested on a bed of springy glass noodles, elevated by TAO’s seafood essence and cloves of garlic (hidden underneath).
For a something healthier and light, go for the Pot Roasted Cod ($38), a saccharine melt-in-the-mouth fish roasted with garlic, coriander root and TAO seafood essence.
The Pot Roasted Chicken Caramelised in Rice Wine ($20) is nothing fancy. Simple and genuine, it goes well with a bowl of piping hot rice~
There’s something intrinsically satisfying about TAO’s Traditional Stir Fried Sambal Morning Glory ($16), aka Kang Kong. I suppose its the concoction of chillies, prawn paste, shallots, ginger and sambal, that makes this well-loved vegetable so enticing.
As for sweet endings, we had smooth-textured Traditional Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts ($6) and refreshing chilled Sea Coconut with Longans ($6).
There’s no doubt we’re looking forward to our next visit!
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Newly revamped afternoon tea set Cry Aug 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : English | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/08/06/arteastiq-afternoon-tea/
Having had a positive impression on Arteastiq’s afternoon tea, I was understandably keen to check out their newly revamped set.
Located along Orchard Road, splendidly decorated Arteastiq is a popular spot for resting in between shopping, or to meet up with friends for a tête-à-tête. Art lovers can indulge in their passion in the art studio next door, whilst sipping on Arteastiq’s exquisite teas. Unlimited acrylic pain, sponges, brushes and paint palettes are provided with purchase of blank canvas.
Afternoon tea is served on a 2-tiered stand, along with 2 teas at $48++. We highly recommend the Iced Pomelo Tea, a refreshing and uplifting sweet beverage.
Savouries occupy the bottom tier. The most outstanding, was the supple Smoked Duck Breast roll, enveloped in a crispy Prata that had a beautiful charred aroma. Other savoury nibbles include Smoked Salmon Roll, Cocktail Prawns and Ham Roll.
As for sweet treats, we had Caramel Éclair, Chocolate Éclair, Baked Chocolate Tart, warm and moist Apple Cinnamon Cake (with moist apple bits), Coffee Macaron and Vanilla Macaron. While the éclairs were appealing, the portion was paltry and did not reflect the classy image Arteastiq projects of itself. I’d rather pay more to get decent sized éclairs.

Overall, we found Arteastiq's afternoon tea experience a little dissapointing. Service was slow and it was difficult to catch staff's attention. But its only $48++ which includes 2 teas which are already worth $11 each, so what more can one ask for?
Supplementary Information:
Ice Pomelo Tea
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ice Pomelo Tea
 
Table Wait Time: 40 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0