OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1399 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Overall not too bad Smile May 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

For picture and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/13/la-strada/
La Strada, which means “The Street” in Italian, is a subsidiary of the award winning Les Amis Group. The restaurant serves classic Italian cuisine and is conveniently located at Shaw Centre
Its rustic interior is reminiscent of the laid-back Trattorias in Italy, providing a temporary respite from the urban rat race for all who step into its cosy premises. Despite being almost full on a weekday, staff maintained polite and efficient service standards. We went for the set lunch at $35++ for 3 courses, with 3 selections for both entrees and mains, a fixed dessert, and coffee or tea.
To start, we had Prosciutto E Manzo Stagionato, a ham and cured beef platter with toast and ratte potato salad. It’s a simple, classic dish that tastes as good as it looks
Capesante Alla Griglia was something new for me. Flashed-grilled Hokkaido Scalloped clocked in rhubarb sauce, with slices of endives. It’s a combination I’ve never tried before, but fell in love with upon the first bite.
Bistecca Alla Griglia. Char-grilled Black Angus Striplion jazzed up with argula pesto was not the most tender, but acceptable. Adding texture and variety to this main, were perfectly fried cardoncello mushrooms and root vegetables, perched prettily atop the steak. While we could smell the lovely truffle aroma, our taste buds could hardly detect it.
Admittedly, I was quite disappointed with Pancetta Di Maiale, a dish of Iberico Pork Belly, sitting in a moat of sweet white cabbage and caraway sauce. The crackling skin was spot-on-crispy and flavours were lovely. Unfortunately, the meat itself was too tough and dry.
The dessert in the set lunch menu didn’t excite us, hence we topped up $5++ each for a Tiramisu and Honey & Pine Tart. La Strada’s Tiramisu is moist and each bite fills the mouth with a explosion of coffee, chocolate and cream flavours, with a hint of alcohol. Not my kind of Tiramisu!
Toasted pine nuts, coasted with honey, are piled onto a thin pie crust and topped with a huge scoop of strawberry ice cream. The intensity of the pine nuts was rather overwhelming; I’d have like this if the ratio of pine nuts and buttery pie base were equal.
Overall not too bad, but La Strada did not leave a huge impression on me.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $47(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/11/saveur-art/
The latest addition to the Saveur Group, Saveur Art, is an upscale version of Saveur, encompassing the use of posh ingredients such as truffle and lobster. Conveniently located on the 4th level of Ion Orchard, Saveur Art debunks the notion that French Cuisine has to be expensive, without compromising on flavour and quality. The restaurant offers attractive value for money set lunches ($29 for 2 courses and $37 for 3 courses) and a 4-course set dinner at $52. Lunch started with an amuse bouche of Seaweed Sabayon. The server spoke softly and quickly, and all I could catch “roasted potato broth”. It was rather bland, hence we didn’t enjoy it.
Accompanied with cauliflower, horseradish and adorned with marinated ikura, the tangy Salmon Confit ($11) starter perked our appetites.
Served in a rustic wooden bowl, the Egg Confit ($10) seduced with its wobbly egg, truffle potato mousseline and browned butter. Personally, I’d have like this more without the roasted macadamia nuts, which I feel overshadowed the earthy truffle flavour. Crispy potato chips add texture to the creamy dish.
We totally devoured the fork-tender Asian Spiced Braised Beef Short Ribs ($22). Elements include jalapeno & rosemary crumbs, diced green apple complimenting the flavoursome meat and baby carrots on the side. The presentation of the Poached Maine Lobster (half for $29, whole for $49) isn’t all that appealing, but hey, don’t judge a book by its cover ! It will take you a few mouthfuls to discover the delights of this main course- juicy butter poached lobster, excellent lobster ravioli, spiced lentils de puy and lovely lobster jus. The serving for half a lobster may look small, but its surprisingly filling.
I wish I could say that I was impressed, but the Vanilla Parfait with lavender meringue ($11) was somewhat disappointing. The rhubarb was way too sour while herbs made the dessert taste bizarre.
Despite the misses, Saveur Art is pretty decent and worth a visit.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Egg Confit,Poached Maine Lobster
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable, quality fine dining  Smile May 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Italian

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/06/violet-herbs/

Occupying a 2-story shop house along Tras Street, Violet Herbs offers quality Modern European cuisine at wallet-friendly prices. The semi-formal fine dining restaurant is owned and run by husband and wife team, Chef Edward How and Danni. Chef Edward has 19 years of culinary experience, and held executive roles in the kitchens of Restaurant Ember and The American Club Singapore. Violet Herbs differentiates itself with the extensive use of herbs in all its dishes and signature cocktails. The establishment even has a herb garden on the rooftop.

We dined on the first level, a space with clean lines and purple tones, exuding easy-going charm. The second level features neutral shades of brown.

Dinner started with an amuse bouche of Beef Tender with Madeira Sauce and warm Saffron Bread.

Kindly note that the following dishes are in tasting portions.

Nesting on a bed of Parsnip puree, the Mango Scallops had a smokey touch. Decorated with mango gel and micro herbs, the appetiser was spruced up with mango salsa and potato chips. The combination of sweet and savoury in this dish were expertly balanced.

There is something intrinsically satisfying about this bowl of Parsnip Veloute -an intense and velvety soup of parsnip, crumble and herb oil. Hidden beneath the depths, lie chucks of fresh, succulent Sri Lankan Crab Meat. Superb!

Ah decadence! The Truffle Foie Gras came with a golden one hour poached egg, summer truffle, cepes reduction and shiso cress. A jab with a fork unleashes a river of sunshine. The beautifully poached egg did a good job of toning down the richness of the melt-in-the-mouth Foie Gras. I recommend taking a bit of everything and let it mingle in the mouth-you'll be pleased by the medley of flavours.

While waiting for the mains, we had a glass of zesty Yuzu Sorbet to cleanse our palates.
Lying on carefully arranged asparagus sticks, the tender Braised Kurobuta Pork Belly was elevated with spicy blood orange sauce. Not only did I enjoy the aromatic meat, I also enjoyed the crispy homemade herb fries.

I dislike miso cod as previous experiences at other restaurants turned me off with the liberal use of overwhelmingly sweet miso. Chef Edward's Marinated Red Miso Cod pleasantly surprised with the light-handed use of the marinade, which highlighted the natural sweetness of the fatty cod. The side dish, almond eggplant, wasn't all that thrilling as it was too bland.

Gratify your sweet tooth with Frozen Nougat dessert, constructed with chewy frozen nougat, lychee sorbet, chocolate soil and crumble. Mixed berries offer a tongue-tingling contrast to the sweet frozen nougat.

Violet Herbs is here for serious business. Not only are items priced reasonably, execution and quality of food are not compromised. On weekdays, Violet Herbs offer 3-course set lunches and 4-course set dinners at $32+ and $48+ respectively. Their 6 and 8 course degustation menus are at $98+ and $128+. Excellent value!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Truffle Foie Gras,Parsnip Veloute,Mango Scallops
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bars/Lounges

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/02/27/o-comptoir/

There’s no lack of brunch venues in Singapore dishing out oh-so-typical breakfast fare. It kinda gets dull after a while, dont ya think? Fret not! Ô Comptoir (previously known as Le Comptoir) has recently unveiled their newly revamped brunch menu to excite your taste buds. Available on weekends and public holidays from 11am to 5pm, foodies can look forward to a taste of France at the charming creperie and bar.

You can be assured authentic and quality crepes at Ô Comptoir. Not only were staff sent to train in France for 4 months, the ingredients and equipment used to make crepes are imported from France as well. Apart from crepes, Ô Comptoir also specialises in galettes, a savoury crepe made from buckwheat.
We first sampled the Brunch Set ($32) which includes a glass of fresh orange juice, a hot beverage (coffee/ tea/ hot chocolate), a savoury crepe or galette, a dessert and another hot beverage to end. What fantastic value!
Savoury crepes are freshly made, according to your desire. First choose the base (galette/crepe/eggs), then 2 fillings (ham/ bacon/ tomatoes/mushrooms/ marinated salmon/ sautéed vegetables). Additional toppings are available for an extra $2 each (comte cheese/ prawns/ scallops/ mango/ prosciutto/ goat cheese). If you’re unsure which ingredients go well together, the friendly staff are always ready to advice.
So here’s my luxe crepe piled with prawns, scallops, mushroom and sautéed vegetables. The seafood was nicely grilled and juicy; paired with delicate crepe, its bliss with every mouthful.

My dining companion had her crepes adorned with marinated salmon, prosciutto and mushroom. Not a salmon girl usually so I’ll quote my dining companion’s (@explodingbelly) verdict: “These marinated salmon are not like any I’ve tasted. It’s so fresh, thick and chunky, and tasted just like sashimi.”

Those who like something gratifying can go for the English Breakfast Galette ($16), which consists of tomatoes, beans, egg, mushroom, pork sausage and bacon. This is my first time trying galette and I enjoyed it immensely. There’s a slight sour flavour that lingers on the palette, which is great as it lightens up the otherwise hearty dish.

Not a fan of crepes? Ô Comptoir also serves classic brunch favourites such as Omelette Ham & Cheese ($12) and Eggs Benedict ($15). We also tried the Marinated Salmon Scrambled Eggs ($14) which was beautifully lush and satiny.

Who can resist salted caramel and nutella crepes? I know for certain I can’t! Rolled and sliced into bite-sized portions, The Normady Landing ($8) had a generous spread of homemade salted butter caramel. The Chocolate Rendenz Vous ($7) nutella rendition was less outstanding but still lovely.

At Ô Comptoir, its happy, easy food with gourmet ingredients at affordable prices, perfect for the lazy weekends. Do note that it can get a little warm as the creperie has an idyllic seaside theme which has open-air concept, so it’s best to dress light.

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 17, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel | High Tea | Buffet

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/02/10/taiwan-porridge-buffet-coffee-lounge/
Since its inception in 1984, Goodwood Park Hotel’s Coffee Lounge has been well-known for its scrumptious Taiwan Porridge. For those who love variety, do check out the a la carte buffet, which offers 31 traditional favorites to accompany the piping hot bowls of watery rice porridge or sweet potato porridge. Small eaters may wish to opt for the a la carte menu (46 selections) instead.
Gluttony us went for the a la carte buffet ($39++ per adult, $19.50++ per child), which also includes a dessert buffet. I’ll start with the must-try savory dishes….
The first wave of food arrived- Taiwan Sausage, Shredded Bamboo Shoots andWok-fried Beef with Black Pepper. The sausages were juicy and chewy, but a tad too salty for my preference. My favorite savory plate that night was the Bamboo Shoots, coated with chilli oil which added an interesting dimension to mellow vegetable. We enjoyed the tender black pepper beef very much too.
Salted fish with Salted Egg, Muy Choy with Pork, Fried Omelette with Chye Poh and Braised Pork Belly with Dark Soy Sauce should never be absent when having porridge! Mention-worthy is the omelette, which stole our hearts with its light, fluffy texture and intense bursts of flavor from the chye poh.
Like popping popcorns, I just can’t stop myself from having more Fried Chicken with Prawn Paste. Bite into the crispy skin and savour the well-marinated meat!
Everyone knows that humans have another stomach for desserts! Although the offerings are limited and some cakes not particularly thrilling, my sweet tooth was nonetheless satisfied by a couple of exceptional desserts.
Elegant and captivating, the Lychee Charlotte consist of subtly sweet moist sponge layers. The creamy and dense Cheesecake was another highlight; I couldn’t help myself from having seconds.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried Pomfret,Omelette with Chye Poh
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0