OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1399 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood

For picture and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/03/27/umivino-seafood-wine-bar/
Umi+ Vino, a contemporary European-Japanese Seafood Wine Bar, is one of Emporium Shokuhin’s 8 dining concepts. The focus here is on fresh seafood, which comes directly from the Japanese gourmet grocer’s live seafood market.
The restaurant’s interior is modern and spacious; your conversations would not be easily overhead by others as tables are well-spaced. Service was attentive; staff are prompt to clear the used plates, bring out the next course and refilling our drinks.
We began with a complimentary amuse bouche, Salmon and Leek. Beneath the mountain of fresh leek, lies appetizing marinated raw salmon, on bed of fried leek. I love how the flavour and textures worked-harmoniously.
A La Plancha Hokkaido Scallops. Plump and juicy scallops, enhanced sprinkle of pepper, swim in a pool of Konbu Seeweed broth. The scallops were expertly grilled, and mad delish! A handful of leek is thrown in for that added dimension and textual variation. It was altogether a wonderful warm starter to line the tummy and whet the appetite.
Little Neck Clams in White Wine Broth. Here, fresh clams soak up the intense white wine broth which invigorates the senses. I never knew fennel and rocket could go so well with white wine broths. Great stuff!
Onto the mains! The 65 Degrees Chicken Roulade, with herb potatoes, was somewhat disappointing. Although the chicken breast was tender and moist, it was not sufficiently marinated, resulting in bland meat. The onion thyme jus does add some flavour to the meat; we also advice cutting a piece of the chicken and eating it together with some roasted fennel. You’ll be surprised at the results. Still, this could have been a better dish if the chicken wasn’t so plain.
I’m all about Umi+Vino’s Pan Seared Salmon. The generous slab of fish was skilfully seared to a beautiful pink hue, and its skin, rubbed with various peppers and herbs for that irresistible taste. Its accompaniments, mushroom ragout, polenta cake and juniper form, were enjoyable too. I’m so glad that this gem is part of Umi+Vino’s set lunch (more details towards the end), as I would like to have it again!
I was looking forward to the Homemade Tiramisu with biscotti but sadly it was a letdown. Wayyy to sweet, such that the coffee and alcohol notes were overwhelmed.
Umi+Vino’s Restaurant Week Lunch Menu is priced at $28++ and to be honest, I came without high expectations . However, I was blown away by the substantial portions, quality of ingredients and the execution of most dishes. If you missed Restaurant Week, fret not as Umi+Vino serves 3 and 4 course set lunches for $28++ and $34++ respectively.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hits and Misses Smile Apr 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/03/27/opus-bar-grill/
Opus Bar and Grill, located at Hilton Hotel, prides itself with it’s marbled dry-aged meats, which are aged from 14-36 days. At the dining area, is a show kitchen, where the meats are dried on a specially commission Himalayan salt tile cabinet.
Opus’s minimalist décor is neat and focuses on warm hues. In the evenings, the lights are dimmed to create an intimate, romantic atmosphere. Service here is unobtrusive and generally fine.
Our meal stared with complimentary fluffy Onion Loaf and butter.
The Amuse Bouche, Seaweed Soup with Smoked Fish tasted…peculiar. Nuff said.
Hokkaido Scallop. A single succulent scallop, paired with blood sausage lies on a bed of smooth green pea cream, capped with miso espuma. This is a combination I’ve never tried before and I’ve gotta say that the chef definitely hit the spot on this one.
The Crustacean Bisque, with a hint of cognac, is superb! I can’t stop helping myself to it.
Oh yes, a nice steak dinner. Opus’s Grain Angus Rib Eye has a seductive smoky char complementing the mouth-watering beefy taste. Perched prettily atop the beef is a huge king prawn, grilled to perfection. A drizzle of black truffle and mushroom sauce elevates this main course to another level.
I’m not a fan of pineapple hence understandably, the Grilled Honey Pineapple didn’t appeal to me. I had to make do with the sidekicks, vanilla ice cream, buttery crumble and rum. Sadly, this was the only dessert option available on the Opus’s Restaurant Week menu. On a side note, most of the dishes reviewed here part of Opus’s main menu.
On the whole, we had a pleasant experience at Opus.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/03/11/melt-cafe-mandarin-oriental/
Mandarin Oriental’s Melt Café has recently undergone a revamp and its refreshed look is gorgeous! Guests can look forward to dining in a stylish, contemporary ambiance, coupled with warm service, in the luxury hotel’s all-day dining buffet restaurant.
Upon stepping in, one’s attention will be drawn to the striking marble patisserie counter, filled with exquisitely handcrafted desserts, which are available for purchase. Proceed further into Melt Café and take in the kaleidoscope of items the buffet has to offer.
Begin your feast at the Cold Station, where you’ll find a variety of appealing salads, appetizers, sashimi and charcuterie, accompanied with a selection of homemade breads.
The Seafood Counter, where remarkably fresh crustaceans are neatly laid, is undoubtedly the most eye-catching section of the buffet.
Head for the Live Gourmet Stations to grab a bowl Drunken Prawns swimming in a flavorsome herbal broth. Don’t miss the indulgent Boston Lobster Laksa and the comforting Wagyu Shabu-Shabu.
Every self-respecting buffet will offer roasts and Melt Café is no different. From the Roast and Carving Corner, savour beef that has been roasted to a beautiful shade of pink. For guests who do not take beef, Melt Café has thoughtfully provided another red meat option- roast duck.
Melt Café’s buffet is recognized for its excellent Indian cuisine. Your taste buds will reveal in the abundance of robust flavors!
The European Spread is commendable too. Items that should be on your radar are skillfully baked Salmon ,which still maintained its moisture after undergoing the wrath of the oven, and fragrant Braised White Wine Mussels.
If Indian and European dishes do not rock your boat, Melt Café also offers an impressive Asian spread.
Desserts certainly lived up to expectations. Spoil yourself with wonderfully soft crepes and enticing treats at the Pastry Theatre. Alternatively, head for stunning Cheese Counter and indulge in the myriad of artisanal cheeses.
Now you know why I over-ate. There are too many temptations here!
 
Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bakery | Café | Kids-Friendly

For picures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/02/27/the-benjamins/
The Benjamins, previously known as Benjamin Browns, is recognized for their massive, exaggerated milkshakes. The bistro, located at Forum Shopping Mall is pleasantly decorated in an industrial-retro fashion.
Let’s start with what The Benjamin is famous for: towering, insta-worthy OTT (over the top) milkshakes adorned with a plethora of toppings. Presented in mason jar, each rendition is fatally attractive and appears diabetes-inducing. But hey, YOLO!
My vote goes to Coffee Avocado ($16), which has a lusciously creamy texture, without being overwhelming. Other milkshakes with chocolate notes are Nutella Banana ($16) and Cookies & Cream ($16). The former is lovely, but I find the latter forgettable.
If you’re not a fan of chocolate, there’s Strawberry Cheesecake ($16). Presentation wise, this is gorgeous, but taste-wise, I find its ok. Nothing extraordinary.
Other OTT milkshake options include Old School Vanilla, Tim Tams, Peanut Butter & Jelly, Milo Dinosaur and Caramel Crunch, which all goes for $16. I recommend sharing a milkshake between 2 persons, as the portions are generous and textures are rich.
Apart from decadent beverages, The Benjamins also serve decent grub.
For something substantial, go for the Sizzling Beef Chucks ($25), where well-marinated, juicy pieces of comfort sputtering furiously on a hot plate. It may look somewhat raw in this picture, but after a couple of minutes, the heat from the hot plate cooks the meat to a beautiful shade of pale pink.
Another main course that captured our hearts was the well-executed Pork Chop with Mash Potatoes ($25). Mouth-watering sauce clocks the grilled swine, which was tender and juicy, and possessed a slight smoky aroma. The sweet potato mash was a suitable accompaniment that balanced out the saltiness of this dish.
The Seafood Aglio Olio ($23) took me by surprise with its heat. It was spicy for sure, but not ridiculously spicy such that it numbs the tongue. I did not take a liking to the sour notes which made the pasta taste weird. For 23 bucks, the portion is unfortunately small, and the number of prawns and scallops (3 each) was sadly meagre.
Hits and misses at rather high prices, me thinks. While The Benjamins is not the best there is, it’s a pretty safe option if you happen to be in the area.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Coffee Avocado OTT milkshake,Sizzling Beef Chucks,Pork Chop with Mashed Potatoes
 
Date of Visit: Dec 24, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Burgers and Sandwiches

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2016/02/25/south-bronx/
South Bronx is casual dining concept by the newly rebranded Montana which offers an interesting assortment of savory and sweet burgers, as well as enticing finger food. Located on the first level of Pomo, South Bronx’s eye-catching, bright green décor and graffiti art makes it hard to miss.
Its evident South Bronx takes pride in their burgers. Buns are baked fresh daily and each components, from the meat patties to the sauces, are made in-house from scratch. What’s even better is the price point; South Bronx has kept their menu very affordable. Burgers go from $9.90-$12 and dessert burgers are no more than $6.90.
You can’t go wrong with a classic burger. The Bronx ($9.90) is a hearty treat constructed of juicy house-made beef patty, savoury smoked bacon, melted cheese and signature sauce sandwiched between potato burger buns.
Inspired by Japanese flavours, The Umami ($11) also comprises of beef patty, but this time, fragrance by the earthy aroma of miso mushrooms and jazzed up with bonito flakes. Good for peeps who crave Asian flavours in their burgers!
Despite its sloppy outlook, South Bronx’s Mac Daddy ($12) packs a gratifying punch, as well as addictive heat, with its Jalapeno mac and cheese toppings top beef patty.
For those who don’t take beef, there’s Southern Fried Chicken ($10.90) and Lemongrass Prawn ($10.90) available. I’m fond of light burgers and Thai notes, hence took a liking to the prawn burger which features Aroi lemongrass prawn patty, mango red onion coleslaw and green curry mayo.
To accompany your burger, I recommend topping up $4 for a meal combo, which include a drink, and 3 different varieties (criss cut, straight cut and curley) of fries. The fries still have the skin on, which makes its texture crispier.
Enhance your experience at South Bronx with Southern Fried Chicken Wings ($6.80), a mouth-watering side dish that’s perfectly fried. The wings are soaked in milk over night, which allows the acidity to break down the fibres, giving rise to beautifully tender meat. In addition, the wings are so well-seasoned that I personally find no use for the accompanying BBQ sauce.
We ended the meal the Red Velvet ($6.90) a unique creation comprising of hazelnut rocher ice cream, coconut nutella sauce and crunchy granola toppings sandwiched between red velvet buns. I find the coca notes overwhelming and could hardly detect vanilla, hence apart from the presentation, there’s nothing really red velvet about this. Other ice cream burger options include Black Sesame ($6.50), Thai Iced Tea ($5.90) and Berries N Cream ($5.90).
 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  The Bronx,Mac Daddy,Southern Fried Chicken Wings
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 26, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0