OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1383 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 56 to 60 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/11/saveur-art/
The latest addition to the Saveur Group, Saveur Art, is an upscale version of Saveur, encompassing the use of posh ingredients such as truffle and lobster. Conveniently located on the 4th level of Ion Orchard, Saveur Art debunks the notion that French Cuisine has to be expensive, without compromising on flavour and quality. The restaurant offers attractive value for money set lunches ($29 for 2 courses and $37 for 3 courses) and a 4-course set dinner at $52. Lunch started with an amuse bouche of Seaweed Sabayon. The server spoke softly and quickly, and all I could catch “roasted potato broth”. It was rather bland, hence we didn’t enjoy it.
Accompanied with cauliflower, horseradish and adorned with marinated ikura, the tangy Salmon Confit ($11) starter perked our appetites.
Served in a rustic wooden bowl, the Egg Confit ($10) seduced with its wobbly egg, truffle potato mousseline and browned butter. Personally, I’d have like this more without the roasted macadamia nuts, which I feel overshadowed the earthy truffle flavour. Crispy potato chips add texture to the creamy dish.
We totally devoured the fork-tender Asian Spiced Braised Beef Short Ribs ($22). Elements include jalapeno & rosemary crumbs, diced green apple complimenting the flavoursome meat and baby carrots on the side. The presentation of the Poached Maine Lobster (half for $29, whole for $49) isn’t all that appealing, but hey, don’t judge a book by its cover ! It will take you a few mouthfuls to discover the delights of this main course- juicy butter poached lobster, excellent lobster ravioli, spiced lentils de puy and lovely lobster jus. The serving for half a lobster may look small, but its surprisingly filling.
I wish I could say that I was impressed, but the Vanilla Parfait with lavender meringue ($11) was somewhat disappointing. The rhubarb was way too sour while herbs made the dessert taste bizarre.
Despite the misses, Saveur Art is pretty decent and worth a visit.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Egg Confit,Poached Maine Lobster
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable, quality fine dining  Smile May 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Italian

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/06/violet-herbs/

Occupying a 2-story shop house along Tras Street, Violet Herbs offers quality Modern European cuisine at wallet-friendly prices. The semi-formal fine dining restaurant is owned and run by husband and wife team, Chef Edward How and Danni. Chef Edward has 19 years of culinary experience, and held executive roles in the kitchens of Restaurant Ember and The American Club Singapore. Violet Herbs differentiates itself with the extensive use of herbs in all its dishes and signature cocktails. The establishment even has a herb garden on the rooftop.

We dined on the first level, a space with clean lines and purple tones, exuding easy-going charm. The second level features neutral shades of brown.

Dinner started with an amuse bouche of Beef Tender with Madeira Sauce and warm Saffron Bread.

Kindly note that the following dishes are in tasting portions.

Nesting on a bed of Parsnip puree, the Mango Scallops had a smokey touch. Decorated with mango gel and micro herbs, the appetiser was spruced up with mango salsa and potato chips. The combination of sweet and savoury in this dish were expertly balanced.

There is something intrinsically satisfying about this bowl of Parsnip Veloute -an intense and velvety soup of parsnip, crumble and herb oil. Hidden beneath the depths, lie chucks of fresh, succulent Sri Lankan Crab Meat. Superb!

Ah decadence! The Truffle Foie Gras came with a golden one hour poached egg, summer truffle, cepes reduction and shiso cress. A jab with a fork unleashes a river of sunshine. The beautifully poached egg did a good job of toning down the richness of the melt-in-the-mouth Foie Gras. I recommend taking a bit of everything and let it mingle in the mouth-you'll be pleased by the medley of flavours.

While waiting for the mains, we had a glass of zesty Yuzu Sorbet to cleanse our palates.
Lying on carefully arranged asparagus sticks, the tender Braised Kurobuta Pork Belly was elevated with spicy blood orange sauce. Not only did I enjoy the aromatic meat, I also enjoyed the crispy homemade herb fries.

I dislike miso cod as previous experiences at other restaurants turned me off with the liberal use of overwhelmingly sweet miso. Chef Edward's Marinated Red Miso Cod pleasantly surprised with the light-handed use of the marinade, which highlighted the natural sweetness of the fatty cod. The side dish, almond eggplant, wasn't all that thrilling as it was too bland.

Gratify your sweet tooth with Frozen Nougat dessert, constructed with chewy frozen nougat, lychee sorbet, chocolate soil and crumble. Mixed berries offer a tongue-tingling contrast to the sweet frozen nougat.

Violet Herbs is here for serious business. Not only are items priced reasonably, execution and quality of food are not compromised. On weekdays, Violet Herbs offer 3-course set lunches and 4-course set dinners at $32+ and $48+ respectively. Their 6 and 8 course degustation menus are at $98+ and $128+. Excellent value!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Truffle Foie Gras,Parsnip Veloute,Mango Scallops
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Come for the stunning view OK Mar 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/03/12/salt-grill-and-sky-bar/

Located on the 55th and 56th levels of the iconic Ion Orchard, Salt Grill and Sky Bar offers an unrivalled bird’s eye view of Singapore famed shopping belt. We visited during the evening and witnessed the skies turned from blue to dark. Dusk was a magical, post-card worthy sight!

Opened by Australian Chef, restaurateur and television presenter Luke Mangan, Salt Grill serves Mod Oz cuisine, where chefs embrace different cuisines which successively lead to fusion of new ingredients an and traditional techniques. Emphasis is placed on the produce, using only the best ingredients available, prepared in an un-fussed approach.

Upon seating, the friendly staff promptly brought as basket of bread, accompanied with olive oil and an appetizing dip of herbs, nuts and spices (I believe its dukkah).

Having read many positive comments on the “Glass” Sydney Crab Omelette, we were understandable eager to sample it. Don’t be fooled by its simple demeanour, this entree is pure awesomeness. The miso mustard broth beautifully complements succulent strips of crab, enveloped in fluffy omelette. The elegant starter was completed with enoki mushrooms and herb salad. Well played in the both the taste and texture departments!

Sitting on a bed of smooth Israeli cous cous, cucumber , tomato and drill broth, the fresh Grilled Snapper was skilfully executed, maintaining fork-tender, moist flesh.

W’s Cape Grim Striplion was the more outstanding main course ,bursting with juiciness and flavour. However, we had to minus points for the uneven cooking -some parts were too raw. The steak was paired with caramelized endive, eggplant, salsa verde and a selection of 4 different mustards, namely, wasabi, whole grain, peppercorn and Dijon.

We also ordered Truffle Oil and Parmesan Fries ($14) and Roast Garlic Mushroom ($15). The shoestring fries were mostly crispy, with some soggy pieces at the bottom; however the prominent truffle flavour made up for this flaw. The latter was acceptable, nothing to shout about.

The Raspberry Cheese Cake was definitely one of the better cheesecakes I’ve had in a while-rich, soft and luscious. The berries and raspberry offers a tongue-tingling contrast to the mildly sweet cake.

You can’t go wrong with the Banana Parfait, a delightfully creamy cold dessert with peanut brittle, chocolate mousse, nuts and salted caramel sauce.

Apart from the “Glass” Sydney Omelette, none of the other dishes made deep impression. I’d recommend this venue for its stunning views rather than the food. Since we dined during Restaurant Week, this dinner was a steal at $55++ per pax for 3 courses. With the 10th edition of Restaurant Week approaching, there is no better time to check out this fine-dining establishment at a bargain.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ok, but not spectacular OK Mar 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Seafood

For pictures and full review,pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/03/03/absinthe/

Absinthe is well-known for its affordably-priced classic French cuisine. Occupying 2 adjoining shop houses with 3 levels, Absinthe has different interior design for each level.
After climbing a long flight of stairs, we were lead to our seats on the second level, which had dark walls and contrasting white paintings illustrating the romance on French streets, complete with white pressed table cloth and plush velvet chairs. The space isn’t huge and tables are rather cramped together-you can hear your neighbor’s conversation clearly. If you prefer dining with a view, alfresco dining is available too.
During Restaurant Week, we usually order an additional entrée and dessert for more variety. It was a pity that the kitchen was too busy to cater to additional orders. Apart from this, service was impeccable.
Instead of Amuse Bouche, we started lunch with an Assortment of Homemade Charcuterie, gherkin and bread slices.

Australian King Prawn starter, complemented with al dente angel hair pasta and pops of ikura. The entree could have been better if the prawns were fresh.

Nesting on a bed of polenta, savoy cabbage and sauteed mushrooms, the Braised Kurobuta Pork Belly had a crispy exterior. While it did not melt in the mouth, the sufficiently tender meat had just the right amount of fat and bite. However, this dish fell slightly short as it was not as juicy as we would’ve liked.

Due to its low fat content, Halibut can easily become too dry when cooking. Absinthe’s Grilled Fillet of Halibut was skillfully prepared, retaining its moisture and mild sweet flavor. The lean fish was harmoniously complemented with zucchini ribbon, crushed potatoes and chorizo foam.

A play on textures, the Trilogy of Valrhona Chocolate consists of velvety chocolate mousse on chocolate sponge, adorned with a dark chocolate strip and crunchy chocolate bits. It may take you a few mouthfuls to fully investigate the delights of this treat. We love the fact that the chocolate isn’t overly sweet and its richness isn’t cloying in the throat.

Having heard many good things about Absinthe, we were disappointed with the underwhelming food. I mean…it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t mind blowing as we expected it to be. For $40++ per pax, its good value though!

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $46(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bars/Lounges

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/02/27/o-comptoir/

There’s no lack of brunch venues in Singapore dishing out oh-so-typical breakfast fare. It kinda gets dull after a while, dont ya think? Fret not! Ô Comptoir (previously known as Le Comptoir) has recently unveiled their newly revamped brunch menu to excite your taste buds. Available on weekends and public holidays from 11am to 5pm, foodies can look forward to a taste of France at the charming creperie and bar.

You can be assured authentic and quality crepes at Ô Comptoir. Not only were staff sent to train in France for 4 months, the ingredients and equipment used to make crepes are imported from France as well. Apart from crepes, Ô Comptoir also specialises in galettes, a savoury crepe made from buckwheat.
We first sampled the Brunch Set ($32) which includes a glass of fresh orange juice, a hot beverage (coffee/ tea/ hot chocolate), a savoury crepe or galette, a dessert and another hot beverage to end. What fantastic value!
Savoury crepes are freshly made, according to your desire. First choose the base (galette/crepe/eggs), then 2 fillings (ham/ bacon/ tomatoes/mushrooms/ marinated salmon/ sautéed vegetables). Additional toppings are available for an extra $2 each (comte cheese/ prawns/ scallops/ mango/ prosciutto/ goat cheese). If you’re unsure which ingredients go well together, the friendly staff are always ready to advice.
So here’s my luxe crepe piled with prawns, scallops, mushroom and sautéed vegetables. The seafood was nicely grilled and juicy; paired with delicate crepe, its bliss with every mouthful.

My dining companion had her crepes adorned with marinated salmon, prosciutto and mushroom. Not a salmon girl usually so I’ll quote my dining companion’s (@explodingbelly) verdict: “These marinated salmon are not like any I’ve tasted. It’s so fresh, thick and chunky, and tasted just like sashimi.”

Those who like something gratifying can go for the English Breakfast Galette ($16), which consists of tomatoes, beans, egg, mushroom, pork sausage and bacon. This is my first time trying galette and I enjoyed it immensely. There’s a slight sour flavour that lingers on the palette, which is great as it lightens up the otherwise hearty dish.

Not a fan of crepes? Ô Comptoir also serves classic brunch favourites such as Omelette Ham & Cheese ($12) and Eggs Benedict ($15). We also tried the Marinated Salmon Scrambled Eggs ($14) which was beautifully lush and satiny.

Who can resist salted caramel and nutella crepes? I know for certain I can’t! Rolled and sliced into bite-sized portions, The Normady Landing ($8) had a generous spread of homemade salted butter caramel. The Chocolate Rendenz Vous ($7) nutella rendition was less outstanding but still lovely.

At Ô Comptoir, its happy, easy food with gourmet ingredients at affordable prices, perfect for the lazy weekends. Do note that it can get a little warm as the creperie has an idyllic seaside theme which has open-air concept, so it’s best to dress light.

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 17, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0