OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1403 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 66 to 70 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

Because I needed to run some errands at Dhoby Gaut, bestie and I met at Kith Café at Park Mall for a quick brunch. We arrived at 11am and all the indoor seats were taken, fortunately we managed to snag a table at the alfresco area overlooking the field above Dhoby Ghaut MRT . Thank goodness it was a cool day.
The café is simply furnished and has a play area between the 2 alfresco sections to occupy children. Brunch offerings are uncomplicated and fuss-free. Service was polite and efficient.
According to M, her Latte ($4) was satisfactory and not too acidic. Upon sipping the Iced Rooibos Lemon Myrtle tea ($6.50), I immediately regretted my choice. It tasted….weird, somewhat artificial. There was not a doubt that the overwhelming lemon masked the aroma of the rooibos. How I wished I’d ordered the Iced Earl Grey Lavender instead.
Cajun Scrambled Eggs ($15). Just look at the amazing moisture of the eggs. Amidst the lushness, you’ll find Smoke Bratwurst, capsicums, onions, chilli, mozzarella, black truffle (very faint flavour though). Toast selection includes multigrain, sourdough, white, brioche, ciabatta, spelt and gluten-free toast. My pick was brioche, which was oh-so-pillowy. My only grouse would be that there was insufficient bratwurst, which gave bursts of heat and saltiness, to break the monotony of the eggs.
The fluffy and creamy Sweet Corn Omelette ($16) should please most palates. Accompanied with crispy bacon, brioche toast, healthy mixed greens with avocado and zesty tomato coriander salsa.
We’re always on the hunt for the best truffle fries. Sadly, Kith Café’s Truffle Fries ($9.50) failed to impress. While the straight cut fries were crispy and not too oily, there was only moderate truffle flavor (despite requesting for additional truffle oil). We’ve had better elsewhere.
The Salted Caramel Brownie ($8.50) was nothing to shout about. Elements include a slab of salted caramel walnut layered atop a (slightly dry) brownie, paired with a scoop of light Vanilla Gelato.

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/11/14/kith-cafe/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $32(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Totally impressed and blown away! Smile Nov 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Steaks and Grills | Paella

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/11/05/una-one-rochester/
UNA at One Rochester launches an enhanced menu, passionately designed by Executive Chef Jean-Phillppe Patruno to embody the flavours of his heritage. Raised in France by an Italian father and Spanish mother, Chef JP presents a one-of-a-kind experience, with distinctly unique flavours paying tribute to of his multi-cultural heritage.
Set in a an oasis of lush greenery frames with white trellises, there’s no doubt that UNA is the perfect place for a romantic date, or a relaxing end to the day.
We started our evening with 2 appealing signature cocktails- Bastille ($20) comprises of gin, hibiscus, Maraschino, Amaranto, fresh lemon juice while Champs de Fraise ($19) encompasses strawberry infused cognac, fresh lemon juice and sparkling wine.
The Iberico Ham Croquette ($14) took us by surprised with its creamy, melt in the mouth, soufflé textured bechamel mashed potatoes. Embedded within each golden sphere are bits of Iberico ham, which gave the croquettes addictive savoury punches.
Amazingly soft and tender was the Grilled Octopus ($22), brimming with charred smoky flavour. Beneath the tentacles, is a bed of pan-fried Ratte potatoes, with bursts of zest imparted from capers. The elements went very well together and we were totally charmed by this tapas.
A medley of wonderful flavours, the Grilled Mussels ($18) are doused in a robust broth based on a secret recipe. To prepare this dish, fresh Bouchon Mussels are placed in a pot and inserted into a pile of apple wood charcoal. Pine nuts are added to provide a contrast to the intense garlic broth with its subtle sweet nuttiness.
Incredibly juicy and tender, the Pluma Iberica ($33) was beyond words. We appreciated how straightforward the chef approached the shoulder of the Iberico Pig- skilfully grilled over apple wood charcoal with smoky sweet marinade. The result is carefully browned surface while maintaining a pinkish tone inside. The sublime dish was made completed with silky smoked mashed potatoes and pickled capsicum.
The standard of desserts we sampled were consistent with the earlier dishes. You got to be crazy to say no to Churros & Chocolat ($12). Lovingly handcrafted fluted sticks had marvellous texture- crisps on the outside, moist and fluffy on the inside. Dusted with cinnamon, the churros were accompanied with homemade honey ice cream and dark chocolate sauce.
It may take you a few mouthfuls to fully investigate the delights of Bitter Chocolat Ice Cream, Olive Oil and Sea Salt ($12). A play on textures, smooth bitter chocolate ice cream nests atop rosemary sea salt soil, drizzled with olive oil, and garnished with paper-thin tuiles. Indeed, a good chocolate dessert does wonders for the soul. However do note that this may not appeal to fans of sweet chocolate.

If you’re in search of an affordable dinner with quality ingredients and dedicated execution, set in an tranquil venue with impeccable service, UNA should be at the top of your list.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $87(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Kids-Friendly

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/10/31/dinner-canton-paradise/

One of the many concepts under the Paradise Group, Canton Paradise aspires to bring the heart-warming essence of Hong Kong to the table. With 7 outlets conveniently situated in shopping centers, quality Cantonese cuisine is readily available to the masses. Here, its happy, easy food with minimal pretences.

In this post, I’ll share our dinner experience and will do up another post on their Dim Sum. Service at the Arc branch was unobtrusive and generally fine.
Iced Yuan Yang ($3.40) was excellent; will order this again if we revisit.

Staying true to Cantonese fondness for soups, Canton Paradise offers an extensive list of nourishing broths, from double boiled chicken to fresh goby soups. We had clean-tasting Fresh Seafood and Tofu Broth ($7.80 per bowl) to warm our bellies.

Our choices for the Combination Platter ($22.80) consisted of Roasted Duck, Roasted Pork Belly and BBQ Pork Belly. The duck had crispy skin and juicy meat but flavor was somewhat lacking, a dollop of plum sauce was required to get it off the ground. Slow-roasted for 4 hours, the Roasted Pork Belly boasts tender meat with thin, crisps (not crackling as I’d prefer it to be) skin. Absolutely gorgeous is the sweet Roasted Pork Belly, beautifully caramelized, moist and tasty, with just the right amount of fat. Skip this and you’re gonna regret it!

One of the specialties here is the Firm Tofu, made from scratch in the kitchen from quality farmed soy beans. Spring water is used to prepare the tofu, as tap water would not give the ideal taste and texture. Pan-seared Hakka Stuffed Firm Tofu ($12.80) was so fresh, that we could taste the soy beans.

Drench in tomato sauce, the satiny Scrambled Eggs with Tomatoes ($8.80) is simple, yet appealing. The chef certainly did not sting on the crunchy, plump tomatoes, which provided textural balance.

We unanimously agreed that the best dish that night was Wok-fried Pork Shoulder Meat and Chinese Lettuce in Prawn Paste ($14.80). Served in a sizzling hot pot, the well-marinated slices of tender meat was bursting with flavor while the crunchy greens were done just right, coated evenly with enticing sauce.

Desserts sadly failed to shine. Not that they were awful, but I’d preferred options with more creativity. Chilled Red Bean Yam Pastry ($4.20) was smooth enough, with bits of broken beans embedded within. Subtle sweetness from the yam lingered after the former fades.

Stewed egg custard ($5) is light and easy to eat. However, I find it too bland and monotonous.

Generally, all the dishes we tried were decent; I especially like the fact that the dishes were not loaded with overwhelming flavors. However, price is on the high side for such tiny portions.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/10/18/dibs/
Opened by 3 young Singaporeans (one of them is a chef), Dibs is definitely not your typical, run-of-the-mill restaurant and bar. Step in and you’ll find an unpretentious and snug space, simply furnished. Although their website describes the food to be Modern European, touches of Asian influences grace many dishes. The folks here are serious about standing out from the crowd, and Chef Leong does so by utilizing unusual ingredients, adding a touch of exoticism to the evening.
Service is friendly and fast, the young lady who served us was chirpy and accommodating.
Japanese flavors blossom in this indulgent Meat Butter ($16) – essentially veal marrow, seasoned with teriyaki, crowned with bonito and glittered with parsley. Bone marrow is acquired taste, so some may not be fond of it (M and I are not fans of this but W savored it with adoration)
With meat so tender it can be pulled apart by a fork, the Charred Lamb ($26) is definitely a carnivore’s dream. Drizzled onto the stack of lamb spare ribs, is a sauce made with yoghurt which minimize the gamey taste of the meat (this was what our server informed us, we didn’t find the lamb gamey at all). Served with root vegetables and garnished with coriander.
Steak and Radish ($34) may look dry on the exterior, but upon slicing, reveals a moist interior, with just the right amount of fat. The beef short rib is cooked sous-vide for 24 hours, which explains the beautiful moist and tender meat. Radish tempura side is a refreshing change from the classic fries or potatoes which typically accompanies. Glittered with bonito flakes and comes with a Bovril dip.
Duck Stack ($36). Nesting on a bed of mushrooms and adorned with foie gras, the sliced duck breast was quite ordinary.
All three mains could have been better if they were less oily.
Bacon and Apples ($16). Elements include an apple pie filled with chunks of not overly sweet apples, buttermilk ice cream and a strip of bacon-which all went amazingly well together. Our only grouse would be the portion- for $16, we definitely expected more.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $36(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not bad! Smile Sep 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/26/mellben-signature-tanjong-pagar/
Many years ago, along with my cousins, I braved outrageous queues and merciless heat at the original Mellben in Ang Mo Kio. It was worth it! Ahh, how I longed to savour the crabs once again, but there is no way I can achieve that with Hubby who will not queue for any food for more than 30 minutes. Plus, Ang Mo Kio and the other branch at Toa Payoh are way too far for us.
Thanks to Groupon, I discovered that another outlet has opened at Tanjong Pagar and reservations are accepted. I dialed immediately (and of course, bought the Groupon voucher).
Located next to Bestway Building, Melben Seafood is less than a 10 minute walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT. Beside the open-air coffee shop styled seating area (both indoor and outdoor available), are ample car parks. Contrary to many negative reviews with regards to the service, the young girl who served us was very pleasant and patient.
Mellben is famous for their crabs, in particular, Claypot Crab Been Hoon Soup ($55/ 1kg). As the portion of the soup and bee hoon is quite small for 4 of us, we topped up $5 for an additional bowl of soup and $3 for bee hoon. I peeled opened the shell with anticipation and was rewarded with chucks of succulent flesh. Each bite was pure bliss as the meat has absorbed the milky broth. However, the broth was not as robust as I’d have liked, but this was easily fixed with a little chilli padi and soy sauce.
This piping hot bowl of springy bee hoon brought us immense comfort.
Finger-licking good is the Butter Crab ($55/kg), drenched in an enticing creamy sauce, which was not at all cloying. Be quick to finish it, because it’s not as good once cooled down. The crustacean was well-cooked, with meat separating easily from the shell. Fried man tous were the perfect companion to this indulgent dish.
Behold! A massive crab claw. Drooling yet?
Who can ever say no to Salted Egg York Pork Ribs ($15)? Each piece of tender meat is generously coated with Salted Egg Yolk and so well marinated that I could taste the flavor right in the middle.
Pea shoots with Garlic($8) and the classic Garlic Bean Curd Combo with fresh seafood ($15) were both satisfactory and I can see them pleasing most palates.
We were quite disappointed with the Chye Poh Egg ($8) because the preserved radish came in thin shreds, hence lacked bite and burst of saltiness unlike diced chye poh.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $42(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0