OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1399 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 71 to 75 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Royal Tea Smile Sep 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

Enjoying some leisurely time, albeit temporary, can be really therapeutic. This time, we ticked off Lawry’s Royal Tea off our checklist. The fine dining establishment exudes old world charm and is decked with majestic 4-metre height floor to ceiling windows, offering panoramic views of Orchard Road. Afternoon tea is a more relaxed affair compared to dinner; service was unobtrusive and generally fine, contrasting with the formal butler-like style during the evenings.

Royal Tea is available from Mondays to Saturdays from 2.30-5pm, at $48++ for 2 pax. The set includes a choice of Gryphon Artisan Tea, freshly brewed gourmet coffee or homemade steeped ice tea for each person. Mocktails and Cocktails are also available with a top up of $3 and $8 respectively.

Savory morsels, namely, Prime Beef Yorkshire Roll up, Shrimp Croissant, Chicken Bruschetta and Cucumber Finger Sandwich occupy the upper tier. The most outstanding of all was the Shrimp Croissant, which was buttery and flaked beautifully. The Chicken Bruschetta was lovely too- tasty succulent chicken nesting atop a crisps bread base.

Petite desserts arrived in the form of Raspberry Cream Cheese Pancake, Carrot Cake, Banana Chocolate Parfait, Strawberry English Trifle and Homemade Scones with Devonshire Cream. The superbly moist Strawberry English Trifle gets my vote for the best sweet, followed closely behind by the decadent Banana Chocolate Parfait. Sadly, the scones were failed to enticed as they were markedly doughier than the norm.

Although Lawry’s Royal Tea did not rock my world, it was nonetheless decent and great value.

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/24/high-tea-at-lawrys/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cream of avocado...yummsss! Smile Sep 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/18/forest-%E6%A3%AE/

Restaurant week is just around the corner, I’m sure most of you foodies are just as excited as I am. From 25th Oct to 22nd Nov, top restaurants shall offer 3 course lunches and dinners at $25++ and $35++ respectively. For some restaurants, an additional charge of $15++ for lunch and $20++ for dinner is applicable. For American Express card holders, priority booking begins on 22nd Sept while booking for the public starts from 27th Sept.
During Restaurant Week earlier this year, Hubby and I visited Forest 森, and opened by local celebrity chef Sam Leong. Every aspect, from the ambiance, service and food, were excellent.

After some manoeuvring in RWS massive car park, we finally arrived at Equarius Hotel. The tranquil lobby fitted with a towering screen displaying a running waterfall, sets a calm tone to our afternoon.

Upon stepping into Forest, one cannot miss noticing the ornate “theatre” kitchen. We immediately feel at ease in this restaurant; absolutely loved dining under a forest canopy inspired ceiling, amongst lush greenery with an abundance of natural light streaming in. We felt in touch with nature, sans the sweltering Singapore heat and creepy crawlies.

The dishes at Forest blossom with Asian flavours, each one skillfully executed. Our amuse bouche was a tangy cherry tomato, plum and osmanthus sauce teaser which whet our appetites for more to come.
Duo Magnificent features huge, fresh prawns, prepared in 2 different ways. The burn in the Wasabi Mayo Prawn was just right, preserving the sweetness of the succulent fried prawn under the crisps golden coat. The Butter Lemon Prawn didn’t achieve full marks unlike its Wasabi Mayo counterpart. While its flavor is more unique compared to the wasabi mayo, the lemon so overwhelming that we could not detect any hints of butter.

With meat so well marinated I could taste the flavour right in the middle, the slow-cooked Pork Rib drenched in Sweet Vinegar sauce was divine! Adding contrasting texture to the fork-tender meat were crunchy rice pops glittered atop.

Braised Rice Vermicelli with sliced fish and preserved vegetables fared well too. Arresting our senses was the prominent ‘wok-hei’ flavour. We added in some chilli padi for mild heat and savoured each strand with delight.

Although the 3-course set lunch ($40++) didn’t include a dessert, it was still great value. As I was famished that day, we picked another 2 items from the ala carte menu.
The star of the XO Vietnamese Rolls ($18) was undoubtedly the XO sauce. Our taste buds reveled in the abundance of flavor from robust sauce. Perch prettily atop were small slices of lobster, which were so paltry that they failed to provide bite amongst the vegetables.

To end off on a sweet note, we had chilled Cream of Avocado ($13)- a play of textures consisting of silky smooth soya bean curd pudding, walnuts, sago and red beans. I could have seconds of this elegant and healthy dessert without feeling any guilt!

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 15, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $66(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointing Cry Sep 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Seafood

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/15/boston-seafood-shack/
Boston Seafood Shack is a casual dining eatery serving classic seafood dishes in a fun nautical-themed restaurant. At the Star Vista branch, diners can choose to feast indoor or at the alfresco area. Service was acceptable, not the most friendly as it was a busy evening, but nevertheless efficient.
We were ravenous and ordered heaps. There were more misses than hits and if not for the Groupon deal we purchased ($60 for $100 value), we’ll be quite upset paying full price for this mediocre standard.
Best of the lot was the Mussels and Clams in Spicy White Wine Broth ($12), served in a cute mini casserole. The broth was flavorsome and robust with loads of diced garlic. The accompanying garlic bread marred the experience as it was hard and a little stale. For this price, it’s amazing value and I won’t hesitate to order it again. Diners can opt for just clams or mussels alone, which can also be prepared in Porcini cream sauce.
Soft shell crab ($11) was too greasy and lacked crispness. Its intense lobster dip was a welcome change from the usual tartar or remoulade sauce.
Slightly falling apart is the dry Crab Cakes paired with cocktail sauce. For $8, the amount of crab meat was reasonable.
Quite disappointed with the Boston Premium Lobstah Roll ($14) as we were expecting the wow factor. Lobster chucks evenly coated with creamy mayonnaise hubbed between a lackluster bun.
Fish and Chips fans will be glad to know that at Boston Seafood Shack, you can choose from cod, wild snapper or barramundi enveloped in a crispy golden batter for $14. While the coating was good, our cod was tasteless.
Sides failed shine as well. All the fries were dry and plain salads desperately needed dressing.
Another letdown was the Grilled Prawns ($14) – dry and bland!
Finally, something gratifying! The Crabmeat Porcini Cream Sauce Pasta ($12) was doused in a light creamy sauce and crowned with a generous portion of succulent chunks of crab meat. This was only main course that lighted up our day.
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fantastic Wagyu Burger Smile Sep 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Café

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/06/jones-the-grocer-2/
It’s the long awaited weekend and off we went to Jones the Grocer for the much-needed refueling. Located on the 4th level of Ion, the 140 seater café and food emporium looks striking from afar. Not only does Jones serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, its also well stocked with a wide range of fine foods and confectionery sourced internationally.
ones ceases serving breakfast fare after 12 noon, so we could only order from the lunch menu, which was a simple 2-pager. Not a lot to choose from but the dishes were well thought out, featuring fresh, quality ingredients. Service was very friendly, in line with my café experiences in Australia.
Long Black ($5) and uniquely refreshing Orange Earl Grey Iced Tea ($7.50)
Whenever there’s angel hair pasta, I’ll surely order it. Yes, I am that blatant for my love of this carb. Jones Angel Hair Pasta ($28) comes with a crown of sweet blue swimmer crab, chilli, rocket, garlic and grana padano (Italian cheese). Individual flavors can be tasted separately and they worked extremely well on the whole. A mild, healthy-tasting dish that is satisfactory. Personally, I felt that more chilli could be used to lift the flavor.
Tempura Barramundi ($28) paired with Jones chips and Asian tartar. Enveloped within deep-fried crisp batter lies dense, flaky meat with a mild butter flavor. A joy to savour but do be careful of tiny bones. Comes with lackluster chips.
The folks here are serious about their beef burger, and they do a very good one. Australian Wagyu Burger ($28) is accompanied with bacon, gruyere, truffle mayonnaise, pickles, mustard, bois boudran sauce and caramelized onions. The sauce was not overpowering which allowed one to enjoy the true natural flavor of the beef. Thankfully,it came with a tangy salsa dip which spruced up the boring chips.
Delectable Black forest cake ($9) with potent kirsch punch, fluffy chocolate sponge, sitting atop an ethereally light mascarpone base. Pricy, but it’s worth it!
Baked Lemon Cheesecake ($7) is something I’d like to eat over and over because it’s gratifyingly rich, yet not at all cloying because of its tangy notes.
Cotton-candy hued Salted Caramel Macaron ($2) was crisps and slightly chewy with a gooey salted caramel centre. White Chocolate and Olive Macaron ($2) was terrible-hard like a rock!
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Afternoon Tea OK Sep 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Hotel | High Tea

Tea-time continues to refresh and entertain. It’s comforting to know that in such a frantic, fast-paced city, everything can still stop for tea. This time, we dropped by Fairmont’s glitzy Antilolote Lounge anticipating a splendid afternoon of petite treats and tête-à-tête.

The savories and desserts were generally decent. What was most unforgiving was the indifferent service. There was about 8 staff on duty and only 2 tables occupied, but none of them bothered to clear our plates after the first course. Moreover, it took ages to catch someone’s attention for the bill. Overall, we did not have a pleasant experience at Antilolote.
3 sets are available on the menu; all are the same except for the first course. Choose from black truffle scrambled eggs, assorted dim sum or salmon blinis with caviar. Each set is priced at $38++ and is inclusive of one pot of TWG tea (non-refillable). If the tea that catches your eye is worth more than $12.50, a top up of the difference is required.
From the list of close to 40 teas, we ordered a fragrant Genmaicha (Japanese green tea blended with roasted and popped rice) and ethereal White House Tea (white tea blended with fruits and roses).

The Antilolote tea set features a single scrambled egg, glittered with black truffle, made completed with crisps buttery toast sticks. The lusciously creamy egg had a distinct woody aroma which lingered. Impossible not to love!

The Oriental tea set comes with a traditional wooden basket of Scallop Siew Mai, Shrimp Har Gau, Chive dumpling which my dining companion thoroughly enjoyed.

The rest of the food arrived uniquely presented in a classy white leather jewelry drawer chest. Each drawer is packed with dainty treats. My dining companion avoids alcohol so the chef swapped the alcoholic desserts for handmade chocolate truffles

The savory drawer features 5 different varieties of sandwiches-
Prosciutto, onion jam and aged cheddar
Cucumber and dill salad, cream cheese (rye bread spoilt it for me)
Coronation curried chicken
Boston Lobster rolls with herb mayonnaise
Smoked Salmon with caviar and crème fraiche

The most outstanding was the Boston Lobster Roll, featuring chucks of fresh lobster meat hubbed by a pillowy soft bun. Every mouthful was a delight!

Fluffy, light and crusty candied ginger and raisin scones were pretty good too; I particularly enjoyed the former with the homemade strawberry jam, Devonshire clotted cream and lemon curd. The Lemon Basil Pound cake and cookies didn’t quite make an impression though.

As for desserts, we had…
An enticing Rum Baba, which was superbly moist and gratifying. It’s presentation was engaging as well, as one would have to squeeze the plastic pipette to dispense the rum.
Decadent Karukera chocolate mirror tart
Strawberry gateau, raspberry, lychee pearl
Apple delight with almond crumble
Macarons
Handmade truffles
Chocolate-dipped strawberries. The fresh strawberries grant a sweet-zesty left and offer a tongue-tingling contrast to the rich chocolate.

If you have little ones, they can join in the fun too. Antilolote serves Children’s Tea at $15++

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/09/01/antidote-afternoon-tea/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 26, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0