OpenRice Index
  
madamechewy
This is madamechewy .
Member 25 First(s)
No. of Review167 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity1383 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos17 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
madamechewy  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 76 to 80 of 167 Reviews in Singapore
Some misses, but overall good Smile Aug 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Bakery | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes

I have been meaning to try French inspired Becasse for the longest time. Last weekend, we spent a leisurely afternoon at its first outlet at Ion, a bakery as well as a full-service restaurant.
Since Becasse was brought in by the folks behind Jones the Grocer, I had high expectations. Glad to report that I wasn’t disappointed! Overall, brunch at Becasse is decent, with more hits than misses. Brownie point for the reasonable prices!
Generally vibes are good-I love the stylish setting. Service is great as well. The manager took time to approach every table to check if everything was ok.
Croque Madame ($16) arrived with a bubbling mini casserole dish of truffle eggs. Sandwiched between the golden crusted pillow-y brioche are savory slices of smoked leg ham and Gruyere cheese. Soft flowy eggs are what we always need on the weekends! What’s best is the prominent truffle flavor. Dip a piece of sandwich into the eggs and savor the lovely combination of flavors. Do try to finish the eggs quickly, because it will be further cooked by the hot casserole dish and solidify.
Hubby was rendezvous and wanted something more filling. Becasse’s Entrecote with frites ($24) was hearty and satisfying. Choose from Horseradish and Dijon butter, creamy mushroom sauce, black pepper sauce or Becasse secret sauce to accompany the moist, tender 300g Scotch steak. Fries were a tad too dry though.
Salted Caramel and Chocolate Tart ($4.90) was delectable and very value for money. Because the salted caramel (black flakes) is concentrated in the centre, I recommended a little stirring with a fork before tucking in.
If you like your lemon desserts face-scrunching sour, skip Becasse’s Lemon Curd Tart ($4.90). The lemon curd was too sweet and lacked that refreshing sourish punch. Tart base was not as buttery or crumbly as I’d preferred, leaning more towards doughy texture.

For pictures and full review. pls visit
http://madamechewy.com/2014/08/30/becasse/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Try the pies, skip the savories Smile Aug 21, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Windowsill in the Woods, more commonly known as Windowsill Pies is a suitably casual and cherry place to spend a lazy afternoon catching up with friends or with a lovely book. Upon pushing open the wooden door, you’ll be greeted by an vibrant display of eye-catching pies. They specialize in artisanal pies; all the pies are sweet but I’m not complaining!

The setting of the cafe reminds me of something you’d find a page of a children’s story book. Lively vibes with lots of chatter and friendly staff chirping away at the counter. Its self-service here-order at the counter and collect your mains from the kitchen booth when your buzzer beeps. There’s no GST or service charge.

Savory menu changes fortnightly. Selection is limited and we were quite disappointed with our choices. Texture of my Roast Beef Yorkshire Pudding($14) was too tough, because the meat was overcooked. Lightly seasoned, I could taste the natural flavor of the beef, which went well with the caramelized onions and Yorkshire pudding. However the corn chips were so bland, I was struggling to finish them (I don’t like to waste food).
M’s Handmade Burger ($18) fared better. Seasoning was spot on, but there were some dry areas within the beef patty. Chips were boring and we felt that $18 was too pricy for such a small serving.
W was starving and needed her dose of carbs. She went for Baby Octopus and Chicken Heart Pasta ($14), which was tossed in a spicy tomato base.
Using the Entertainment coupon, we enjoyed a one for one set of pie and pot of tea. We took some time to settle for 3 pies (oh choices, choices). The Gryphon Moscato Blanc (grape) an Aloe Vera Rooibos ($6 each) complemented the sweet pies well.

For adults only, the Banana Almond Brittle ($7) is a symphony of cognac cream, airy banana mousse on a almond brittle base. Salted caramel and crunchy nuts and another dimension in flavor and texture. Although I am not a fan of banana, I was quite fond of this particular pie.
Designed to represent a field, White Chocolate Truffle Pie ($8) was quite a complex explosion of flavors. A tango of sweet white chocolate and woody truffle, graced by a layer of cookie crumble and meringue (which represented soil and a mushroom respectively). Personally, the raisins and candied thyme kinda spoilt it for me. Upon biting into each raisin, the truffle flavour was overwhelmed and the candied thyme was just weird. Too many things going on at the same time IMHO.

Awake your senses with face-scrunching tartness of the Strawberry Lemon Pie ($7), completed with soft torched meringue. Tangy and refreshing, it’s a perfect perk-me-up in Singapore’s sweltering heat.

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/08/20/windowsill-pies/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $27(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mikuni Degustation Dinner Smile Aug 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Sushi/Sashimi | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki | Omakase

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/08/13/mikuni-degustation-dinner/

Embark on a gastronomical adventure at Mikuni, an exquisite Japanese restaurant offering an array of set lunches, degustation dinners, plus Teppanyaki, Sushi and Robantayaki live stations, each helmed by a master chef. Dinner at Mikuni is a multi-sensory experience. Every aspect scored; well-executed sensational fresh produce, professional and unpretentious service, as well as the dramatic posh ambiance.

Executive Chef Moon incorporates a touch of modernity into traditional favorites. I’d recommend sampling one of the degustation menus, each carefully thought out by the chefs. Hubby ordered the Mikuni Grand Tasting Tour Course ($220) which has been updated, but I’ll still share it in this post to give you an idea how fantastic it is. Because I’m a fussy eater, I picked from the ala carte menu instead. The first half of this blog post will feature Mikuni Grand Tasting Course, followed by ala carte dishes and desserts.
Once seated, detach yourself from the hectic world outside and get into the mood with a relaxing lavender infused hot towel. Nibble on paper-thin spiced prawn crackers while browsing through the lengthy menu.

Otoushi (appetizer) was presented in a polished fashion. On the left, Kyoto Pumpkin layered atop heavenly smooth Egg custard adorned with Caviar and gold foil. The second item was Kumamoto Oyster and Hokkaido Uni, drizzled with Shiso Ponzu, which cut through the richness of this seafood combination.

Although I don’t know how to appreciate sashimi, I loved the pretty tiered presentation to the max. Remarkably fresh Toro, Hirame with Monk Fish Liver and Yellow tail.

Our first encounter with Nodoguro (Blackthroat seaperch/Akamustu) was a delight. Grilled to perfection, its flesh was tasty, tender and had a good amount of fat. Japanese Yam with Red Miso, chestnuts, sweet potato and Myoga (Japanese ginger) accentuated pristine flavor of the Nodoguro.

Making a statement was the tempura course- wrapped Tenshi Prawn, Hokkaido Uni, Shiso with grilled Salmon roe. Beautiful flavors, extraordinary presentation.

Exuding a grand aroma, the Hoba Miso Yaki Kagoshima Wagyu arrived on a Magnolia leaf, heated with charcoal. When the miso bubbles and thicken, stir the beautifully marbled beef with accompanying mushroom and leek. Our server informed that is best enjoyed with fluffy hot rice which was not included in the set dinner; fortunately I had an ala carte portion ($5). This combination is superb!

A bowl of heart-warming comfort, the cha soba married well with hot bonito broth. Slices of flavorsome slow cook Duck breast complete the dish.

Now, for the ala carte dishes! Every portion is substantial, meant for 2 persons.
A lovely delicate broth of Ariake Clams, the Kyushu Asari Clear Soup ($28) warmed my digestive system for more to come.

From the Robayataki live station, the Alaskan King Crab ($75) will satisfy the most discerning palates. The crustacean was simply seasoned to let its freshness take centre-stage. It’s sweet succulent flesh carried a hint of charcoal flavor and detaches effortlessly from the shell.

Teppanyaki Prawns doused in Golden Sauce ($40) which taste like mayo and egg. Personally, the golden sauce was not quite my cup of tea, simply because I dislike creamy savory food. Despite the bursts of ebiko in between bites, I found the sauce too rich and cloying. Do note that picture features only half a portion. Our server was so kind to make this arrangement because I was being greedy and ordered too much for my own good.
Mushrooms in Garlic butter ($28) were OK. I would’ve preferred more pronounced flavors though.
With complements from Chef Moon, this aesthetically presented morsel was nothing short of amazing. Didn’t quite catch the all the details; I believe its Wagyu smoked with apple wood. Our taste buds revel in the savory juices of the melt-in-the-mouth Wagyu.

Dessert included in the Mikuni Grand Tasting Tour Course was Japanese traditional Anmitsu, Black Bean, Vanilla ice cream and Fruits Espuma. Best enjoyed mixed together.

My Orange Sensation ($28) was more outstanding- a refreshing palate cleanser consisting of orange cream and marmalade, orange black sesame biscuit and blood orange sorbet.

A lineup of Petite fours to complete our tummy bursting meal- white chocolate almond (light grey pebbles), dark chocolate almond (dark grey pebbles), dried orange coated with sugar and chocolate, raspberry cookies, black tea cookies, yuzu citrus marshmallow and sesame seed cookies.

My verdict of Mikuni? Marvelous and not to be missed! Amex Platinum and Far Card members can enjoy 50% off the total bill (2 diners only)
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 17, 2014 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately $138(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

A couple of months back, my family visited Cherry Garden for dim sum brunch to celebrate Mother’s Day. Located at Mandarin Oriental, this sophiticated Chinese Restaurant offers Cantonese Cuisine with an artistic modern touch. It’ impossible not to be impressed by the decor of this place. The entrance itself is very grand while the main dining area is classically designed with charcoaled teak panels to resemble an Oriental courtyard. We loved the tranquil ambience as well as the warm, attentive service.

Most buffets think they can get away with quantity and neglect quality. Cherry Garden sets itself apart by using fresh premium ingredients to elevate the standard dim sum fare. In addition to their drool-worthy morsels, the dim sum buffet brunch offers a selection of appetizers, soups, mains and desserts. It takes a while for dishes to arrive, so do exercise caution when ordering in between dishes to prevent over-ordering.

For quality dim sum in an exquisite setting, Cherry Garden is your best bet! My In-laws, hubby and myself enjoyed ourselves immensely. While prices a veer a little towards higher end, the ingredients, cooking skills and technique is well worth the $68++.

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/08/06/cherry-garden-dim-sum/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 10, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Sunday Champagne Brunch Smile Aug 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Hotel | Buffet

Start your Sundays right with a scrumptious brunch! Located at Capri by Fraser at Changi City, contemporary designed Caprilicious sits modestly without airs. From now until the end of November, the restaurant whips up an impressive range of quality offerings at wallet-friendly $58++. We ate so much that I nearly rolled home, but there were still so many dishes I wanted to try!

What’s Sunday brunch without bubbles? Diners can enjoy free flow champagne (Laurent Perrier), house pour wines (Indomita), cocktails, plus juices and soft drinks along with the buffet spread.

Every self-respecting buffet will offer fresh seafood and Caprilicious is no different. Choose from Baby Lobsters, Crabs, Tiger Prawns, New Zealand Green Mussels, Peruvian Half Shelled Scallops, Canadian Oysters. Hubby is a huge fan of the sea and particularly enjoyed the Norwegian Salmon, Ahi Tuna and Octopus Sashimi. My personal favourite was the crabs-juicy succulent and very sweet. Ooolala!

A short stroll across the lobby leads to the Outdoor Live BBQ Station. Select from Otak Mackerel, Sambal Stingray, mini Wagyu patties (served with sesame bun, teriyaki sauce, coleslaw) and Garlic Rosemary Lamb Cutlets.

I know most people will skip pasta at a buffet but the pasta station here is worth a go. Omelettes, scrambled and fried eggs with a variety of toppings are prepared upon request.

Finally, satisfy your sweet tooth with an array of sweet treats! My favourite was the flavorful Durian Pengat. Ah yogurt, FRESH yogurt! Yummmsss! Yes, I am that blatant for my love of this healthy dessert. Don’t forget to try the chocolate fondue and waffles too!

For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2014/08/02/caprilicious-sunday-champagne-brunch/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0