OpenRice Index
  
gmok9
This is gmok9 . French, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Desserts and Cakes.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review5 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity2661 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲0 Follower(s)
gmok9  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 Reviews in Singapore
fair chinese pancake n dumplings OK Jul 26, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

A friend chose some deep-fried dumplings (S$4) and spring onion pancake (S$4) from this Gyoza stall. Both were served with a sweet sauce, resembling a lot like our Hoisin sauce, but less thick. The deep fried dumplings were stuffed with chicken and chives, quite flavourful and tasty with black vinegar. The spring onion pancakes were pan-fried till golden-brown but managed to retain a soft texture. It was nice on its own, but quite oily.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

horfunnnnn Smile Jul 26, 2010   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Zi Char

I ordered a seafood hor fun (S$4) from a stall called Swee Ting. It was highly recommended by one of the many Singaporean food blogs I read whilst planning our trip, and so I was quite eager to try. It took, once again, forever to be sent to our table even though the stall had no queue. But my long wait this time was worth it. It arrived resembling your regular hor fun in gravy at Thai or Vietnamese restaurants in Hong Kong, but tasted very different. They were generous with the seafood on top, with shrimps, fish cakes, fish, cockles and muscles. The peppery gravy, which S and I both loved, was flavourful but not salty in any way. The hor fun was the best however. Each piece of noodle was unique random shapes of noodles with a slightly chewy texture and a very strong taste and smell of ‘wok hei’ – no wonder it took so long?? It was so good we both kept raving over the noodles =P. Best. Noodles. Ever.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

horfunnnnn Smile Jul 26, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Zi Char

I ordered a seafood hor fun (S$4) from a stall called Swee Ting. It was highly recommended by one of the many Singaporean food blogs I read whilst planning our trip, and so I was quite eager to try. It took, once again, forever to be sent to our table even though the stall had no queue. But my long wait this time was worth it. It arrived resembling your regular hor fun in gravy at Thai or Vietnamese restaurants in Hong Kong, but tasted very different. They were generous with the seafood on top, with shrimps, fish cakes, fish, cockles and muscles. The peppery gravy, which S and I both loved, was flavourful but not salty in any way. The hor fun was the best however. Each piece of noodle was unique random shapes of noodles with a slightly chewy texture and a very strong taste and smell of ‘wok hei’ – no wonder it took so long?? It was so good we both kept raving over the noodles =P. Best. Noodles. Ever.
looks ordinary, but tastes heavenly

looks ordinary, but tastes heavenly

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

stunning pastries Smile Jul 26, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Hotel | High Tea

After dinner we headed to Marina Square at Raffles to kill some time. We were quite unenthusiastic to shop after a long day and so we decided to pig out some more by going next door to Mandarin Oriental Hotel to get some pastries from Axis Lounge…. After looking at the very well crafted pastries, we decided on a Mille Feuille and Cassian’s Coffee Plantation (each S$8 before tax and service).

The Mille Feuille was comprised of three layers of crispy puff pastry. On the bottom was a thin layer of fruit jam and fresh raspberries, on the top was some Tahitian vanilla custard sandwiched between two layers of pastry. Ingredients were extremely fresh and the puff pastry was well thought-out and glazed to retain its crispiness during the day….excellent!

The Cassian Coffee Plantation was their most popular dessert according to the waitress. We could see why. Rich in chocolate and coffee, it was like drinking thick cup of smooth mocha. On the outside was a dark chocolate glaze. Inside was a brown chocolate mousse, and a white Sumatra coffee-flavoured mousse, with a thin layer of chocolate sponge sandwiched between. There was also a biscuit base and caramelized pecans to give it crunch and cut some of the richness of the mousses. Quite sweet by our standards, but a completely delight.

for original post see http://gastronomerr.blogspot.com/2010/07/singapore-day-1.html

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tasty refreshing drinks Smile Jul 23, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

On our first night of our sg trip we came to Maxwell FC for dinner. We ordered items from different stalls for food, and decided to order drinks from this particular stall.

I first ordered a small soursop juice ($1) which was a sweet and slightly sour delight.

Next we tried a fresh lime juice ($1) which was more sour but also quite sweet. We both preferred this because it was more sour and was able to cut the fullness we felt from all the food we ate!

A suggestion would be to order a half-half of soursop and lime plus a squeeze of real lime (if they have) which would make for a superb drink!
soursop juice

soursop juice

 
lime juice

lime juice

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  juice
 
Date of Visit: Jul 17, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0