OpenRice Index
  
vanessatanyl
This is vanessatanyl living in Changi. I am a StudentI like to hang out in City Hall, Somerset, Orchard. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre, Hotel and BBQ.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review65 Review(s)
編輯推介數目18 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity3669 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos210 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲56 Follower(s)
vanessatanyl  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 65 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood | Halal | Kids-Friendly

It was my first time dining at the Fish & Co. at Ang Mo Kio Hub. I went there with my boyfriend this evening for a quiet and simple dinner. Again, it was my first time and I didn't quite expect the restaurant to be so crammed, which is very unlike the other Fish & Co. outlets I have been to in the past. We were seated all the way inside, at the far end of the restaurant where the kitchen counter is.

I was quite taken aback by the mess of the area while walking towards our table. The place was lacking sufficient space for seating and both my boyfriend and I had to slowly fit ourselves into our seats without knocking into the neighboring tables.

Also, where we were seated, the staff from the kitchen and the wait staff were talking so loudly, it felt like we were at the coffee shop. I was not very happy with the ambience at all.

I must also bring up the issue of customer service. I don't know how many of you have taken notice of the exceptionally good service Fish & Co. used to have. They usually have a specific waiter who would introduce him/herself to each table and the service would be very personal. However, I have noticed that it has all disappeared along the way somehow. On top of that, the service staff never smiled once and there was no sense warmth in the way they talked and served us.

But apart from that, the food is good as usual. We ordered the Seafood Platter for 2 ($39++) and topped it up for a complete meal with an additional serving of Fish Chowder and Cola Tonic.

I will definitely return to Fish & Co., but most likely never step into the outlet at AMK Hub again. For the same price, I'd rather pay for an outlet that has at least a more decent dining ambience and friendlier service.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 23, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

True-Blue Nyonya Cuisine Smile Jun 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Peranakan / Nonya

Coming from a rich Peranakan heritage, my larger-than-life family of nearly 50 of us visited Peramakan at Keppel Club for a family gathering with relatives from all over the world.

We ordered 5 servings of several dishes, which included the following:
- Bakwan Kepiting (Pork ball soup)
- Babi Pongteh (Pork belly braised with bamboo shoots and Chinese mushroom in a taucheo gravy)
- Otak Otak Makanan Laut (Mackeral, shrimp and squid mixed with otak paste and grilled on kunyit leaf)
- Ikan Garam Assam (Red snapper fillet cooked in a spicy garam assam gravy, served with eggplant and ladyfingers)
- Beef Rendang (Beef braised in rich, spicy coconut gravy)
- Ayam Buah Keluak (Must-try! Chicken braised with Buah Keluak)
- Nyonya Chap Chye (Cabbage stewed in taucheo gravy with sweet beancake, taukee, dry lilybuds, black fungus and tanghoon)
- Durian Chendol (Homemade chendol with kidney beans, gula melaka, coconut milk and rich durian paste)

If you ask me, I would recommend everything. But then again, I believe it's subjective to our different tastes and preferences. Some of the food may be too spicy. I thought everything was just right, but the younger ones in the family had trouble with taking many dishes such as the been rendang, Ikan Garam Assam and Otak Otak.

We're a family of 4 generations of bibiks and babas, and we all really enjoyed the food. So i guess that pretty much says alot in terms of the taste and authenticity of the food.

Service wasn't up to standard though. The food arrived relatively slow, but it could be due to the fact that the restaurant was busy at that time.

Each person paid about $35 for the dinner.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Restaurant

My family of about 20 of us visited Canton Kitchen for dinner. It was a reunion with relatives from Australia, America and London and we wanted to gather for dinner at a place not only with good Asian food, but that was also affordable, comfortable and conducive for catching up.

My uncle suggested this place in Eastpoint Mall called Canton Kitchen. None of us have been there, but we were all willing to give it a shot.

The restaurant is very 'cozy'. It was relatively small in size and could only hole about 100 people at a time.

One step inside and we could tell that it was a more economical version of the typical Chinese chain restaurant.

The food was very tasty. Well, most Chinese food are anyway. Nothing great, but nothing bad either. My favourite for the night was the Deep Fried Shrimp, which i believe was dipped in slated egg yolk before deep frying. Loved the flavour and aroma of the dish.

The sweet and sour pork was good too, but maybe too normal for me. I wouldn't say it's a must-try though.

The duck skin wrapped in flour skin was disappointing. It was a little soggy for me and not the usual crisp texture we would get elsewhere.

Overall, the food was good and they were served quite fast.

I would recommend it... if you were living nearby and don't like travelling far for Chinese food.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 18, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Only for special occasions OK Jun 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly

I brought my boyfriend to Santaro thinking it would be nice to try top-quality authentic Japanese food for a change. I knew the prices were going to be steep, but I figured that the prices must mean that whatever's brewing in their kitchen, must be good.

Okay, so here's the thing. The meal was indeed delicious and authentic. The Sushi and Sashimi were extremely fresh and meticulously sliced to perfection. The Teriyaki Chicken and Unagi were beyond tasty, oozing with flavor, and melting in your mouth with every bite.

The Udon was heavenly. If you're a fan of this dish, you'll definitely have to try theirs. I swear I've never had soft and smooth udon noodles with such powers of seduction like this one.

So all in all, the food was amazing. But is it worth the price?

I personally don't think so.

The restaurant looked old, crammed and rundown. Maybe it's for the whole traditional Japanese feel - I don't know. But it felt lifeless and dull. We could even hear the kitchen from where we were sitting.

The service was much to be desired. They shouted to each other like we were in some hawker centre. Worse still, the waitress serving us spoke to us like we were in a coffee shop ordering drinks.

If the ambience was better and service up to standard, I might consider it to be a good place to go to for authentic Japanese food. But with all the negatives, I'd advice against that.

Udon

Udon

 
Terriyaki Chicken

Terriyaki Chicken

 
Grilled Unagi

Grilled Unagi

 
Sushi Platter

Sushi Platter

 
Sushi Platter

Sushi Platter

 
Menu Prices

Menu Prices

 
Restaurant Interior

Restaurant Interior

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Teriyaki chicken,Udon,Unagi,
 
Date of Visit: Jan 29, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Better Alternative to Subway Smile Jun 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches

It was my first time visiting a Quiznos. Always walked past the outlet at Orchard Central but I guess it never quite appealed to me.

This time, the only reason why I budged was to give in to my boyfriend's request to try it out.

I love the comfortable sofa seats and the very welcoming ambience (as compared to the rather 'saturated' Subway restaurant setting).

But being a first-timer, I didn't quite get the ordering system was like at Quiznos. I actually thought it was like Subway's such that you could select your bread, the vegetables and dressing... but apparently, not.

Anyway, although I did expect the meal to be even more mind-blowing than it was, I must say that the sandwich and the soup tasted really good.

It's definitely worth the try! lol

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0