OpenRice Index
  
Buffy
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended13 Recommended
Popularity120 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos6 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant51 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
Buffy  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 13 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

As one from HK, of course, I can have a 'better' comment on Cantonese Dim Sum restaurant.  Even I am from HK, I never tried Tim Ho Wan for one simple reason - it used to be a small shop and now expanding crazy and also regionally (to Taipei, Singapore).   This is also a sign of deterioriating quality against the speed of expansion.  To my surprise, there are a lot of positive reviews but I can only say from my first try, it is definitely just so-so Dim Sum, there are much more better Dim Sum shops in HK, well, maybe Dim Sum is a considered a rare specialty in Singapore so people just ranked them high.  Sorry, it is just plain so-so.  The portion is small, the taste is plain, the fried rice is not HK style (it added with a bit of garlic).   I understand the need of localization but I am a fan of respecting authentic and traditional recipe so sorry, this is not my restaurant and I will not come back again.  
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Completely below our expectation Cry Dec 22, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches

As normal Singaporeans do, this one was always with a long queue when it first opened.  Now the hype is over, we finally tried the first time.  
We ordered a creamy cheeseburger, chicken burger and fish burger, set with curly fries and root beer float.
I must say, I am completely surprised by the so-so standard of the food (and why people will queue up in the first beginning).
The first deadly sin is - my beef burger is COLD, okay if not cold, then room temperature.    Well we did wait for 5-10 min to get the food, and I thought it was meant to be freshly made.   I can only say all the burgers are nothing worth to try again, or to recommend.  The curly fries are crispy, but that's all.  Root beer is the signature, so I will say is okay.
Overall, this only worth to try for one time only.  
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Lack of choice, and quality Cry Aug 18, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Seafood | Buffet

I have been in F&B, and I definitely know the quality of buffet food will be inferior.  
So here, it looks like there are plenty of choices, but actually not:
- sushi and sashimi - only 3-4 choice??
- fresh cold seafood - maybe the most attractive in the whole restaurant - and one rare selling point is they have fresh oyster
- american - only pizza and grill pork, not steak.   
- tempura - 3-4 choices
- japanese grill - mainly selling salmon head - no wing no other meat
- satay - yes, typical beef and chicken
- wok fried - too many veggie but lack of meat
- long boil soup is good
- chicken rice and laska.....no nasi lemak?
- desserts - kacang, icecream, waffle etc.

I can say this is definitely for quantity, not quality.  

Not worth trying again.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

So so buffet OK Aug 18, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Buffet

From the decor and management, even though I am NOT a buffet person, but seeing it looks like a decent Japanese restaurant, I gave it a try.  We tried the family package with 2 adults 1 child.
I would say nothing special, though it is not bad, but definitely not good.
Salad - ok.
Summer special - to be honest I didn't try any as it did not look attractive.
Seafood - unlimited supply of crab leg - this is the main attraction, every table just grabbed whole lots of them.  It is not good in quality, but I suspect this is the item with the best value for your price.
Paper hot pot - the choice is limited, one good choice is to add the beef.
The other foods are so-so - curry, tempura (only shrimp), cold noodle.
In conclusion - come here only for the crab leg.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2019 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Very so so beef noodle OK Aug 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Noodles

I mentioned in another of my review that the same brand in the shrimp noodle shop (Le Shrimp Noodle) is very good.  So I start to get attention to this brand.  With such expectation in mind, I can't say how disappointed we were.  
First, the essence of beef noodle (which is a traditional food from Taiwan) is the SOUP.  And sorry, the soup here is no taste.  This was a sharp contrast to the good taste shrimp soup in their another brand.
Moreover very typically, Taiwanese noodle should come with some preserved sour vegetable.  There was none here, which tells me this is not a very authentic Taiwanese style shop.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend