OpenRice Index
  
Buffy
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended13 Recommended
Popularity120 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos6 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant51 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
Buffy  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 13 Reviews in Singapore
Very so so beef noodle OK Aug 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Noodles

I mentioned in another of my review that the same brand in the shrimp noodle shop (Le Shrimp Noodle) is very good.  So I start to get attention to this brand.  With such expectation in mind, I can't say how disappointed we were.  
First, the essence of beef noodle (which is a traditional food from Taiwan) is the SOUP.  And sorry, the soup here is no taste.  This was a sharp contrast to the good taste shrimp soup in their another brand.
Moreover very typically, Taiwanese noodle should come with some preserved sour vegetable.  There was none here, which tells me this is not a very authentic Taiwanese style shop.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Not the quality I am expecting OK Aug 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

I always love Paradise's food and Xiao Long Bao, more than DTF and CJ, since I first tried in Hong Kong Lee Theatre.
Today, we were offered a table near the Fountain and next to the queue. AC not strong enough, disturbance from queue was annoying.  The staff was kind but looked helpless (or did not care!?) to our dissatisfaction.  
Maybe the seating and staff altitude gave us some discount to the mood, we felt all the food quality was not as good as we were expecting.  
Definitely will not come back for this same branch again (especially there was a lot lot of choices in Suntec City).  
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 30, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Deteriorating quality, not price OK Jun 05, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese

My first experience with Crystal Jade was in Hong Kong, Taikoo Shing, almost 20 years ago, the first time they opened up a shop.  I was very impressed by the quality of the noodle and Xiao Long Bao.  For 20 years I can see its success, expansion, acquisition by LVMH, Michelin.  But I also see the fast deterioration of the quality.  

First the Xiao Lung Bao, it is perhaps the second best in the past behind Din Tai Feng.  Now now the skin is no longer non-burstable.
Dan Dan noodle is also my favorite, the noodle is still hand-made, I believe, but the soup is just not 'elegant' no more.  In the past, the balance of sesame paste, vinegar, and chili oil is in good balance.  Now?  either too thick or too something.....no longer in balance.

I must say I am no longer a fan of Crystal Jade and indeed I will avoid it if possible.

There is another good similar restaurant serving similar noodle and Xiao Lung Bao, and this becomes my second best Xiao Lung Bao after Din Tai Feng........
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Roasted Meat

We came from Hong Kong so guess we have an absolute qualification to judge whether BBQ Siu Mei is good or not.  We like BBQ pork and I always order fat cha siu and I can't stand cha siu with no fat.  So today we ordered a mix of "Toro" cha siu and the crispy pork.
Even though I like fat pork, I don't mind cholesterol, I like pork lard, I am a bit put off by this Toro.  The skin is good, just balance with lots of honey and not over-roasted with dark charcoal (hey the dark burnt one is carcinogenic by the way), the fatal part is - the whole 'pork' is 100% fatty tissue.  
Overall, the price is a bit expensive.  
Michelin star, mmmmmmm?
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Good but not exceptional OK May 27, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

First, the name itself is strange - it is Si Chuan, but it serves both Cantonese and Si Chuan food, which to me are two completely different menus that can hardly combine.  

We ordered:
Mala Dou Hua - just okay, the Dou Hua is not particularly smooth. 
"Dung Bo" braised pork belly - again just okay.  The pork is soft, however, the complaint is the sauce is not sweet enough.  BTW, I am not a sweet person, but this Pork must be sweet enough to make the taste good.   The key of good Dung Bo Pork Belly lies on the sauce.  And that why this dish is not good here.
Crispy rice bubble with seafood - the seafood is not abundant enough.  Surprise that the taste is a bit sour - it is absolutely okay but strange that there is a bit of tomato inside.  I think they can simply make this sour by using a good mix of vinegar.
Stir-fried scallop with asparagus and macadamia nuts.  This is again okay, but perhaps the best dish in the dinner.
Cabbage in thick stock - unfortunately, I am not a fish soup person and yet, this 'thick' soup is too strong in the fish taste that it becomes very fishy.  
Beef rice in claypot with truffle sauce.  This is a signature dish with the picture shown in many place - menu, website.  But this is actually the biggest disappointment of the night - it can never be classified as good at all if I cannot call this bad.  First, the whole point of mixing and pouring the truffle sauce in front of us is to let us see how hot the claypot is, and the claypot can make a kind of fried rice effect.  However, the claypot is definitely not hot enough.  There is no any steam, sound.  Imagine enough a Korean Bimbimbap will have a better effect than this.  Moreover, the beef is not attractive.  So this last dish brings a huge discount to the dining experience.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 26, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend