OpenRice Index
  
Cean
This is Cean living in Jurong West. I like to hang out in Bugis, Chinatown, Jurong West. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hotel, Restaurant and Seafood, Chinese Soup, Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Love Buffet-Style.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review9 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity350 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos59 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲40 Follower(s)
Cean  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 9 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Buffet

My mum has been bugging me about the Afternoon Delight promotion at Kuishin Bo for quite some time now. Since the promo is only available on weekends and PH, and it was Christmas yesterday~ I brought her there to enjoy!  tongue

The buffet is from 3.30pm-5pm at Jurong Point. I tried to call beforehand as I was unsure if booking was required, but no one picked up the phone after 5 tries in 15 mins.  upset So we decided to go try our luck.

We reached at 3.45pm ~ and we were just brought in straight away. like Staff! (Then I realized the phone was ringing and no one bothered about it. Now I know why no one pick up liao.

Anyway, we were late for like 15 mins and most food was gone -sweats-

 
Salad bar

Salad bar

 
Dessert bar

Dessert bar

 
I went to take some sushi and soba lol 
Assorted Stuff

Assorted Stuff

 
Decorated the dessert plate, lol~
I took all desserts!

I took all desserts!

 
Best eclairs:
Yummy Chocolate Eclairs!

Yummy Chocolate Eclairs!

 
Superb Chawanmushi!
Chawanmushi

Chawanmushi

 
Cute gingerbread man deserves a praise tongue
Gingerbread man lol

Gingerbread man lol

 
Best Mango pudding heartheartheart
Best Mango Pudding!

Best Mango Pudding!

 
The mochi desserts are EWWWWW. 
Chocolate and Strawberry Mochi

Chocolate and Strawberry Mochi

 
My first time trying this fish, I have no idea what it is but it's DELICIOUS. heart I took like 8 pieces sorry too greedy cry

 

 
I didn't really take a lot of pics, 'cos I was busy eating XD I have been to many buffet (and taken many pics just lazy to do review), but this is the only buffet that had me repeatedly watching out for the time. The food runs out quickly mad so everyone is very alert. At about 4.15pm, the nice stuff from dessert bar ran out. I only took one mango pudding sick Lucky I was smart enough to get some other desserts beforehand. Otherwise, I wouldn't have gotten to eat any. Every single one of them ran out except for those that're not very nice - like the *ahem* mochi. They also have Ginseng scallop porridge which is very nice, but I forgot to take picture heheh.

Okay so overall I think the food quality is high, but the quantity is limited. Also, you need experience to eat this buffet. 
Well... Here's my hint and tip.
1) Stock up on the NICE desserts at 4pm, or else you will have NONE at the end. 
2) Keep a lookout for the fried fish (idk the name) - it runs out quickly and there's only two rounds.
3) Grab some salad before it runs out! I didn't get a chance to try ANY salad dish at all.
4) The assorted sushis are always replenished, so get something else first, like the seaweed or chawanmushi XD 
5) Also... At about 4.45pm the ice cream were all gone and we only took one scoop of green tea ice cream sad  So if you want some just eat earlier.

Also, when you see the food starts replenishing, you can't take them anymore because it's for the dinner buffet at 6pm. The staff told us that at 4.30pm it's last round of change and no more after that. 

With this experience I know where to chiong the next time I come liao. musicmusicmusic

Total bill for 2 adults was $39.78 with GST and service charge. So per head around $20.

P.s. I'm planning to try their dinner buffet with Snow Crab legs and a lot of other stuff (omg looks so delicious) so just look out for my review next time lol~

Afternoon delight promotion is only at Jurong Point outlet, from 3.30pm to 5pm. Last round of change is at 4.30pm. Grab the desserts at 4pm or you will have none at the end.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Pudding,Chocolate Eclairs
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2014 

Celebration:  聖誕節 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simple lunch OK Jul 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Steaks and Grills


This review is in two parts: FOOD and SERVICE. (No service charge for this restaurant, but read on.)

My mum and I decided to drop by Saizeriya since we were at Farrer Park MRT anyway. I remembered eating here a year ago and wanted to see if the dishes were still as cheap.

FOOD:

 
$8.90
This restaurant has got a set lunch offer till 4pm (Yes, thankfully!) and it comes with a small salad, rice, and free flow drinks. My mum ordered a Grilled pork lunch set with ginger sauce. The sauce is really sour, the meat.... I'd say I'm okay with it if I'm not too picky - shrugs - and... we ignored the corns, but managed to finish the potato -sweat- chopstick

 
Here's our small plate of salad for free.

 
$5.90
This is my Spaghetti Carbonara lunch and it's the restaurant's no.1 bestseller as stated on the menu. It says "Traditional Italian flavor of creamy egg yolk sauce with bacon"... and I couldn't really taste any of that sad I mean I've had many, many Carbonara(s) and this plate tasted just the same as the rest. I haven't tasted the best - yet.

 
4pcs = $3.95
Nothing can ever go wrong with chicken wings. As delicious as ever!

 
$2.90
Minestrone Soup, just the way I like it lol

 
This cup of cappuccino is the highlight of the day. It is ranked no.1 in my list of "top 10 hated coffee". Just thinking of it makes me sick. It's free and you can go for unlimited refills (sounds totally awesome right?) but we didn't because we couldn't even finish the first cup. Yeah, we.

SERVICE:

The staff there are very friendly and polite. They come to you with a ring of a bell or you can just simply wave. My mum and I decided that we rather enjoy having our lunch there because 1) it was really cheap, 2) quiet environment, 3) convenient location. As for food, we can always try something else on the menu and drink tea instead of coffee next time. smile
Total for this lunch is about $20+.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Grandma's awesome birthday Smile Jul 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Brunch | Kids-Friendly

We wanted to treat Grandma to a really good birthday meal this year, so my aunt suggested Canton-i, since old people normally like to eat pig and duck.

FOOD
Crispy suckling pig

Crispy suckling pig

 
This is their famous crispy suckling pig dish - we had the smallest size one, and it was solely for the pleasure of my grandma, so I didn't get to even smell it. But it was so damn good that she couldn't stop praising the chef. If you think the mini dish (about $25) is a little too small, you can always get the half-sized one, worth $98, or one whole suckling pig, worth $198, as shown in their menu.
Roasted Peking Duck

Roasted Peking Duck

 
Roasted Peking Duck

Roasted Peking Duck

 
Roasted Peking Duck

Roasted Peking Duck

 
All three images above show the famous Peking duck (my favorite!) that got me drooling all over. I swear it's that good. I ate more than half of it, ignoring my family members; pardon me for being just a little bit selfish when it comes to excellent food. tongue
Dried scallops and wild mushroom

Dried scallops and wild mushroom

 
All of us were going for the mushroom in this dish. It was gone in 5 mins! Lol.
Double boiled whole wintermelon soup with seafood treasure

Double boiled whole wintermelon soup with seafood treasure

 
Wintermelon soup, something I'll never get sick of smile
Saureed cod fish roll with brocolli

Saureed cod fish roll with brocolli

 
This fish was quite average, nothing too special to rave about it though.
Mango sago dessert

Mango sago dessert

 
They didn't have the Double Boiled Fungus with Papaya and Almond dessert that we wanted, so we went for mango sago instead, which was equally good.


SERVICE
The service was GREAT. They have very friendly staff who were polite and agreeable to requests such as dividing the soup into an extra bowl and having more sauce. One female staff even brought an abalone to my aunt just because she wanted to see what it looked like in tightly-sealed packaged form. Thumbs up.

The bill was around $250, slightly expensive, but totally worth it if you ever want to treat yourself once a year.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy suckling pig,Roasted peking duck,Double boiled whole winter melon soup
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2013 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $47(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Lunch at Hatched Smile Oct 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Brunch

My friend and I decided to lunch at Hatched before going to gardens by the bay smile

Total bill was around $30.

Their menus looked really cute and creative.

 

 

 
Smoke Royal $13 sad
This is half an English muffin, topped with smoked salmon, poached egg and Hollandaise sauce, served with homemade mash.
It was absolutely delicious, until you get your first bite of salmon. The salmon was extremely salty. The muffin alone was not enough to cover the saltiness and I've to eat parts of the salmon with the mash and vegetables. I seriously do not recommend this dish to anyone who cannot stand saltiness. My friend took on bite of it and rejected anymore of it.

 
Sir Benedict $13 smile
This is half an English muffin, topped with smoked ham, streaky bacon, poached egg and Hollandaise sauce, served with homemade mash.
Now this dish, is worth ordering for two smile Extremely delicious and will order this again when I next visit. The bacon was awesome.

Overall view:
The dishes, although delicious, are served in very small portions. It was like half of what I normally eat in a meal. Everything on the menu is costly. So be prepared to spend some amount when you walk in.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner at Dian Xiao Er Smile Oct 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing

Went to dinner at Dian Xiao Er smile Decided to order something special this visit~ ie. Jiangnan prawn. Pic is below as you read on.

Total bill amount was around $130 with discount.

 
Jiangnan prawn = $20+
I was very impressed with this dish at first. BUT, it turned out to be really plain. There was suppose to be some special wine sauce on it, but there was none. You get two very big prawns on that plate, but that's it. Nothing else. Further examination of the "sauce" turned out to be soy sauce, according to my grandmother. Complete waste of money.

 
Seafood beancurd
Delicious, and definitely worth it.

 
Fishmaw conpoy
Nothing really special, just normal fishmaw soup.

 
Shi Quan Duck = $20+
Very nice, excellent dish, and a must order every visit to Dian Xiao Er.

We also ordered Cod Fish ($20+) which is also one of the "Must orders" everytime you visit Dian Xiao Er smile However I forgot to snap a picture of it. Will do so on my next visit.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0