OpenRice Index
  
spherepiece
This is spherepiece living in Jurong West. I am a UndergraduateI like to hang out in Arab Street, Chinatown, City Hall. Vietnamese, Singaporean, Malaysian, Hong Kong/ Cantonese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Rare gems and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Pannacotta, Vietnamese Beef Pho.
Member 71 First(s)
No. of Review422 Review(s)
編輯推介數目25 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3971 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos2460 Photo(s)
Upload Videos5 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant239 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1017 Following
粉絲1293 Follower(s)
spherepiece  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 422 Reviews in Singapore
Singapore: Le Halo Cafe Smile Nov 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Kids-Friendly


Don't blink - this is not your average cafe.

 
Le Halo is determined to make your tastebuds and nostalgia-seeking soul very happy, just like its name promises... 'Le' refers to the Chinese character, Joy; while 'halo' is a pun on the word 'hello' (Cue: Adele). It is definitely not your average cafe, and I am thoroughly in love with their creations, one after another after another. Is it far-fetched to say it's worth travelling down to try it? Not at all.

 

 
The moment I entered, I realized that Le Halo is half a boutique store that sells paraphernalia from yesteryear Singapore. curiously well-stocked with all kinds of childhood playthings, furniture and display decor that you might want to furnish your space with. If you're looking to get one of these things... yes, Le Halo is likely to have it.

 

 
Battered soldiers to play morbid games with - pre-meal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
No doubt there's a crazy amount of things in there, but somehow it's not too messy and visually assaulting. It serves as a good entertainment and distraction while waiting for your food to be served. Working around a tiny open-concept kitchen, it's surprising how the interior space doesn't smell of oil and food at all, which I deeply appreciate.

 
Mouthwatering and delicious, I dare say this Otak Egg (SGD9.50) tastes even better than otak itself. Inventive and fun dish that has succeeded in understanding what delicious should be, I found myself reaching for it repeatedly because I can't get enough of the taste. A slab of juicy Muah otak on toast. Never knew this combination could be this good.

 
The show-stopper must be this all-time customers favourite, Piggy Stew (SGD11.50), and it's not difficult to see why at all. I'm impressed by how truly flavourful the pork stew is from slow-cooked process, it was just so satisfying to dip in the crispy, freshly toasted bread into this. It looks oily but it doesn't bother the taste when I tried it.

 
Award-winning Eggs Benedict (SGD14.50) from Le Halo deserves all the praise it has gotten thus far, precisely because it does justice to the glorious eggs it incorporated into this dish. Two-way eggs - first is good ol' poached egg doused with in-house hollandaise sauce done to perfection, and second, a cheesy salted muffin cup with ham, egg and cheese stuffed. If all these seemed too overwhelming, take a step back with the brush of pea-paste, horse radish, cherry tomatoes and salad. It is definitely one of the best eggs benedicts around, and worth trying if you're bored of the usual version you get.

 
When the Mushroom Carbonara (SGD14.50) was first set on the table, I eyed it with queer suspicion beacause I almost always found carbonara too greasy and heavy for my liking... but guess what, this one passed my test. It was still slightly greasy but it didn't grate on my appetite, and its bacon bits were gratifying to have... as usual. Beautifully done.

 

 

 
For desserts, Le Halo's eye-catching rainbow Kueh Lapis and rainbow Cakes are their best sellers. Common reservations about rainbow desserts are about how artificial the colours are, but here, they insist that colours are carefully created by natural ingredients. While it must be painstaking to do so, it isn't easy to detect the flavours. For the Kueh Lapis, it tastes like a regular kueh lapis; for the rainbow cake, I must give it credit it does fare better than normal rainbow cakes, I would prefer to have another flavour. Stick to the mains, but at least the desserts are fun to photograph and finally, something rainbow that's safe to eat.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Singapore: BLACK&INK Smile Oct 23, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes


Understatements of cafes, undertable cakes.

 
When I returned to Singapore from land of coffee snobs, I steered clear of cafes knowing that it'll be hard for me to feel wow-ed again. Especially coffees - I'm not adept at tasting notes of coffee but I do know a good one from a bad. I came to BLACK&INK by a Sugarrush event (read: #welovesugar #sugarapp) and we were treated to an array of BLACK&INK's specialties. From the outlook, they look ordinary, but they are one of a kind mindblowing. If you self-professed to place more importance on taste than looks, this is the place to go. Note: BLACK&INK's menu does not include pork or lard, but they are not officially certified Halal. One of the cafe's founders is Muslim, so one of the motivations is to create a cafe that serves food that our Muslim friends can enjoy as well. I can't wait to be back for more this weekend, but here's what BLACK&INK has to offer:

 

 

 
I have no idea what good coffee is made of, but Big Roy from BLACK&INK knows. A friendly coffee-loving giant of a barista who really knows how to charm his customers with the many cuppas, Roy made a really neat mocha (SGD5.50) for me with sweet berry acidity and dark chocolate finish. Whatever that means, it is definitely one of the best on this sunny island. Spoil yourself silly and have a cup here.

 

 
Muffins can really be fun, as you will see two carefully curated flavours that are bound to be extremely popular - the Salted Egg Yolk Muffins and Thai Milk Tea Muffins. While you can't see the flavours through these pictures, they are thoroughly infused throughout the muffin. It is not overwhelming, not too sweet but well-balanced. The flavours are taste very natural which makes them very enjoyable.

 

 
If you're looking for mains, BLACK&INK serves their unique cafe creations, the Hot Chick Burger (SGD8.80) and Brown Cow Burger (SGD10.80). I really can't decide which one I like better, because the Hot Chick Burger is really piquant and fragrant, with hints of spiciness that is quite manageable. The Brown Cow Burger is like the comforting and classic good ol' burger sort. Both patties are quite juicy and on top of that, sauces help to make it better.

 

 
I'm two minds about sharing this limited edition Under Table Cake (I mean in limited quantities, while stocks last) because what if I don't have access to this when I need it right?! How I was initiated to this cake was pretty strange - I settled into my seat and overheard one of BLACK&INK's returning customers comment, "This is really, really very good." Of course, I am always curious when a certain food gets such high praise, and then I sneak a look over... the platter was polished clean. Damn. What is it?! Later, I got my own share and was blown away by how delicious this tiny little cake can be. I can go on forever eating it. It feels so dreamy, luscious and moist, not heavy at all (as opposed to what it looks) and really good.

 
Their Tiramisu is rum-free, but with BLACK&INK's own tweaking of the recipe, it turns out to be even better than the usual rum versions that I've had. It's very down-to-earth, moist and delicious. I love alternating between the Under Table Cake and the Tiramisu, because... let me have my cakes and eat them all!

 
They make their own Signature Gelato (SGD4/scoop, SGD5/premium scoop; additional scoop at SGD3/4 respectively) as well, definitely more expensive than most gelato places but I would say their gelato is of premium quality, smooth and rich. It is surely more value-for-money than say, if you were to order a dessert at a restaurant for around 10 bucks. BLACK&INK have some pretty unique flavours that you can't find elsewhere including Honey Lemon Sorbet (new flavour which I haven't tried), Dark Chocolate Sorbet (my favourite) and a more localized Kaya Pandan Gelato which is really lovely to have!

Follow them on their Facebook (fb.com/blackandink) and instagram @blackandink to find out the latest flavours and coffee bean sources!
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Swoon-Worthy Smile Aug 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly


Swoon... just swoon. Hearts a-meltin' just like the maguro!

 
The most enthralling recent development in the F&B scene in Singapore has got to be the gradual launching of seven Japanese dining concepts called Eat at Seven. Eat at Seven is a thrillingly fresh concept by Global Retail Partners, a joint venture by ANA Trading, local veteran restaurateur Mr Andrew Tan from Tomo F&B Pte Ltd, and Komars Group. Japan's top airline, ANA, has managed to galvanize seven of the most popular food concepts in Japan to expand into Singapore. What does this mean?

1. Singaporeans can now enjoy much higher quality Japanese cuisine without flying to Japan.

2. Freshness guaranteed with ANA airline personally seeing to the most prompt delivery of ingredients.

3. The powerful collaboration means they can provide this quality at more affordable prices for consumers.

Hey, gather all your makan kakis who love sashimi (or Japanese cuisine at large) and head to Eat at Seven for a wonderful evening of feasting. Here is your slice of Japan, right here at Suntec City.

 
Suntec City has been slowly evolving into the most ultramodern mall in the city, shedding its vintage look with a series of overhauls. The Sky Garden is where Eat at Seven is located, housing seven of Japan's top food specialist concepts and restaurants. Hold your breaths and try not to scream in excitement - there is a sushi restaurant, warayaki izakaya, yakuniku, award-winning cafe concept and more. These seven restaurant concepts imported straight from a team of Japanese chefs, specialists and entrepreneurs have received critical praise and the hearts of the locals.

 

 

 

 

 

 
For the media launch of the MaguroDonya Miuramisakikou Sushi & Dining concept, a Japanese chef performed an entertaining and eye-opening cutting demonstration of a bluefin maguro from Nagasaki. This bluefin maguro is the freshest with absolutely the best resources from the powerful collaboration. From trawler to restaurant table, it took less than 24 hours!

The establishment has its own fleet of fishing trawlers and is able to curate the freshest maguro and sashimi from around the world and fly them directly to Singapore via air freight of the ANA airline. To ensure absolute freshness, they employ state-of the-art transport and freezing techniques. This ensures the freshest and highest-quality sashimi such as maguro, salmon, swordfish and yellowtail - that you can ever get in Singapore.

Eat at Seven promises a cutting demonstration of a bluefin maguro with every 1,000 likes on their Facebook page (read: here) as a celebration, so go ahead and 'like', then time your visit with their demonstration date. This is highly recommended for an especially memorable night.

 

 

 

 
Committed to keeping prices affordable for all to try this usually exclusive and expensive maguro cuts, they have created the Hon Maguro Megumi Trio lunch which includes the akami sashimi, chutoro steak and kama yakimono going at a steal of SGD$49 until the end of October 2015.

 

 
What can I say? I have been raving and thinking about this meal ever since I had it, and it's already been one and half weeks. I am smitten with the three different cuts of the Hon Maguro Sashimi (SGD38) and it's really more than just sashimi, it's an experience that completely changed my view on sashimi. The three cuts, namely the akami, chutoro and otoro, are immensely umami on different levels which tingles happily on my tongue. There is a marked increase of fattiness and its melty characteristic as we progressed from akami to chutoro and then to otoro. You can also opt for the five cuts version which gives you the cuts of kamatoro and mekajiki with the set of SGD49. There is the maguro sushi version which goes at SGD28/3pcs, essentially the same thing as the hon maguro sashimi cut sets except presented as sushi. Granted that the sushi is really beautifully and well-made, I would recommend that you go for the set which allows you to have absolute value-for-money as you try more maguro per dollar spent (sorry, trying not to bust your budget while enticing you to try everything). All of which is excellent so it really depends on you.

 
I am saving the absolute best for the last... 

Read more on http://www.amiehu.com/2015/08/eat-at-seven-magurodonya-miuramisakikou.html

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Lab SG: We Experiment Smile Jan 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Halal | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
They do things their way, in a stylized hipster fashion that defies everything that has been tried and tested. They experiment with new elements... like being located in one of the smaller streets in Kampong Glam and having a sprawling fifteen feet long personalized grafitti right outside their wall. You probably wouldn't notice it if you were to enter by their main door. Or so I thought was their main door. Customers are guided to enter through a covert side door at the alley, as if they were accepted into an underground subculture. It's pretty cool and unconventional, and I liked the idea. But before that, to earn a spot in their dinner crowd, you have to bear the queue.. while sitting on overturned revamped beer cartons. The whole experience of being at The Lab begins even before you enter.Being one of the up-and-rising halal cafes in town, one-month old The Lab cafe oversees a predominantly Muslim crowd in its 30-seater space. Its popularity is evident by the queue at seven in the evening. We waited for nearly half an hour for a table, but luckily there was entertainment like taking photos with their graffiti wall and the occasional check by the service staff. I'm not sure what happens during rainy days given that the queuing area is non-sheltered. Advice: go early!

 

 

 

 

 
The Lab sports an evident and dedicated theme throughout their space that are true to their name. Amber glass jars, conical flasks, beakers are strategically positioned all over. It felt like a well-decorated haunted house with the theme of mad scientists with soothing popular beats being played in the background.

 
Their desserts rest on their cake displays, including paleo lemon pies with honey meringue and sea salt brownies. Gluten-free and grain-free without refined sugar - they don't forget about keeping it real and different in every part of their cafe. German bretzels are high on their list as entrees with the choice of salted caramel or chocolate dip. If you're feeling more than only peckish, The Lab offers many more entrees and salads for your choosing. The best part? The food there is priced very affordably, with the large serving of their signature must-try Heisenburger:

 

 

 
Burgers often won't be on my plate, unless they are as highly raved as these Heisenburger ones ($12.90). With an excellently made beef patty that is knitted tight yet retains moisture and scatters softly in every bite, I have to say it's one of the most value-for-money burgers, ever. Did I mention that there is an additional firmly-textured, cheese-laced bacon slice stuffed between the perfectly toasted buns? What's more, you get a good serving of sweet potato fries on the side which can rival truffle fries any day.

 

 

 
For more details: http://www.amiehu.com/2015/01/the-lab-sg-we-experiment.html

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 05, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Genki Sushi @ Orchard Central Smile Oct 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 
Genki Sushi is one of the places I love recommending to people who are looking for some unconventional experience while enjoying sushi. If you love Japanese cuisine - in particular sushi, it's unlikely that you haven't heard of this place. This is my third time at this place but somehow I'm only reviewing it now because I realized I haven't! Find out why it has got me raving:

 

 

 

 
1. Going electronic.

I remember the first time visiting Genki Sushi and getting all impressed with its all-electronic system that meant ordering from an iPad, receiving sushi plates on a super cute train, and sending it back by pushing a button! Clearing plates require manpower though. This makes the whole dining experience much more exciting and fun.

 
2. Varietyyyy!

Genki Sushi has quite a crazy amount of sushi choices for you to choose from, although all you see here are nigiri and gunkan (which are my favourites). Keep tabs on how much you've ordered or you're definitely going to burst your budget (whatever it is!) or your stomach space! Everything is very attractive and tapping away at the iPad screen gets pretty addictive too.

 
Photo credits: Genki Sushi Singapore Facebook page

 
Photo credits: Genki Sushi Singapore Facebook page

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
3. Value-for-money

I wouldn't say that the sushi is top-notch or as good as Itacho Sushi's (I refer to ION or Plaza Singapura's branches), but it's pretty good for the price, variety and overall atmosphere of the place. It's enough to satisfy, and definitely don't miss out on the smoked duck nigiri which I'm absolutely crazy over! If you haven't been here before, I'll say go for it!

Do note that the queue for Genki Sushi can get very long sometimes, and waiting time goes up to 30 minutes or more during peak hours. There are chairs for those waiting at the front of queue though. I guess the new branch opening at Bugis+ might ease the overcrowding a little. You can always go to Tanuki Raw for fresh oysters as a backup plan if you are already at Orchard Central.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0